Généalogie et Histoire de la famille Loughrey (Loughry, Loughery, Laughrea, Laughrey, Laughery, Loughrea, Laughry) du Canada. From ANDREW Loughry to the 15 children, born between 1826 and 1869, and the 54 known grandchildren, born between 1843 and 1877, of my great-great-grandfather PATRICK Loughry (1800-1886), and down to 47 great-grandchildren, 48 g.-g.-grandchildren, 79 g.-g.-g.-grandchildren and some of his g.-g.-g.-g.-grandchildren.
Author: Michael Laughrea, Montreal, with the help of Richard Zaidi, Pierrefonds PQ, Lavon Mayfield Brown, Jacksonville AL and Tom Boyce, Barre, VT. Je remercie le propriétaire de nodiffamation.com de me permettre la présentation de ce billet d’informations généalogiques et historiques inédites. ML
Rabbi Tarfon taught: “It is not your responsibility to finish the work, but you are not free to desist from it either.” (Pirke Avot 2:16)
1) Generation one. They had three sons: ANDREW Loughry, John Loughry, and Daniel Loughrea (1).
a) ANDREW married Belle McCordick. Her father is James McCordick (1765-1859), buried in Fairmount Cemetery, Saratoga, NY (2). Her brother is John McCordick.
b) John Loughry married Rosa Shanaghan. They had a daughter, Bridget, who married Patrick Loonan on Sept. 12 1832 in St. François (now Beauceville), Beauce. On Aug. 17 1833, a John Loughry received land in Sorel.
c) Daniel Loughrea married Ann Read. One finds a Daniel Laughrey and his wife Ann Read in St. Sylvestre, Lotbinière. He was a private, 99th regiment, who obtained a concession in township of Golburn Persh Military Settlement, Ontario.
- – - – - – - – - – - – - – - -
2) Generation two. ANDREW Loughry and Belle McCordick (McGoldrick?) had 7 sons: PATRICK (1800-1886), James (1802-), Thomas, Robert (1810-), William (1812-) Clark and Thurlow (3). In S. Séverin de Beauce, Robert Cordack and John Cordack owned 6 lots at the junction of Ste Marguerite range and the Beaurivage River in 1882; they became owners in 1835. A Henry McGoldrick and a Thomas McGoldrick lived respectively in Ste Catherine range and S. John range of S. Sylvestre in 1876.
a) PATRICK Loughry (1800 – 27 Jan. 1886 in St. Séverin) had two successive wives: Mary Patton (~1805 – 1 Jan. 1854 in St. Elzéar de Beauce), and Mary McGown (1830 – 26 July 1904 in Whitefield NH), whom he married in St. Sylvestre on 26 Jan. 1858. He, Mary P. and 5 children are thought to have landed in Canada in Nov. 1833 (see Catherine Laughry). The witnesses to the burial of PATRICK were Bernard Laughrea, Peter Boyce (probably Peter B. 1833-1909) and Frank Laughrey.
PATRICK is thought to come from Omagh, a central city of county Tyrone, Northern Ireland, according to my grandmother Lydia Cyr. The concentration of the Loughrey name is ≥ 7 times larger in Northern Ireland than in any other country or state, and 3 times larger in counties Tyrone and Londonderry than in Northern Ireland as a whole (4). Loughry College and Loughry house, in which Jonathan Swift wrote “Gulliver’s travels“, are located two km south of Cookstown, Tyrone. Loughry house, or manor, now on the campus of Loughry College, was built in 1632 by Charles Lindesay, a scottish planter owning 2831 acres of land in Tyrone. It was burnt by the Irish rebels in 1641, and rebuilt by Lindesay in 1671. Tullyhogue Fort, where the kings of Ulster were formerly crowned until 1593, is located 1 km South of Loughry house. Counties Fermanagah and Monaghan touch on Tyrone. All three are in Ulster, Fermanagah and Tyrone being in Northern Ireland, and Monaghan in the Republic of Ireland. Interestingly my Y chromosome haplogroup is R1b1b2a1a2f2, which is very frequent in Ireland and particularly in the North-West or Ireland (frequency of 17 %). A great percentage of men harbouring R1b1b2a1a2f2 could descend from an Irish King from the fourth or fifth century, such as O’Neill of the 9 hostages, who established the O’Neill dynasty in Ulster, or a contemporary thereof. Out of Ireland, R1b1b2a1a2f2 is relatively common on the West Coast of Great-Britain. At least 2 of PATRICK’s 34 grandsons and one of his 22 great-grandsons died while saving Europeans during World War I.
PATRICK was living in S. Elzéar on Aug. 15 1856, in S. Sylvestre in 1861 and 1871, and in S. Séverin in 1881. In 1882, he was living on lot 227 (now 4-219-961), Monaghan range (5) of St. Séverin. He is listed as farmer and literate in the censuses of 1861, 1871 and Ap. 14 1881, aged 60, 70 and 80, respectively, and living in a 1 story log house. PATRICK might have been born anytime between Ap. 15 1800 and Ap. 14 1801. Given the proximity of lot 227 to 21th century S. Sylvestre and S. Elzéar, one may imagine that he lived on the same lot between 1856 and 1886 and experienced two municipal changes during this time. This seems very unlikely. It is more plausible that PATRICK left his S. Elzéar farm to Bernard in 1858 and moved the same year to a farm of S. Sylvestre which eventually became part of S. Séverin. Why did Bernard leave around 1874 for a lot in Leeds East? Maybe he could not afford to purchase the S. Elzéar lot and preferred a cheaper one in Leeds. In 1873 PATRICK was 73 years old with 9 children at home, all from his second wife, whereas Bernard had 7. Both had to run a tight financial ship.
Lot 227 is equally distant from S. Elzéar and S. Sylvestre and a little closer to S. Séverin. It is one road width away from S. Sylvestre and only 600 m from the meeting point of S. Elzéar, S. Sylvestre and S. Séverin, which is also the meeting point of Lotbinière, Beauce and Mégantic counties as of 2012. The current owners of lot 227 found an old gangway (a ramp besides a barn) that they bulldozed in 2011 to allow for storage of woodpiles. Patrick’s dwelling is presumably very close to this gangway. His son James Loughery lived on Killarney range, 2 lots South-West from his own. On april 30 1835 PATRICK purchased lot #5 of Killarney range of S. Sylvestre; the notary was JJ Reny from Ste-Marie-de-Beauce. Whether or not PATRICK ever lived on that lot is not clear.
Patrick’s lot is the fifth from the Beaurivage side of Monaghan range, those of Patrick Martin (#223), James Connor (#224, #225), and J. Connor (#226) being the first four (6). Lot 223 crosses the Beaurivage River and lot 224 almost touches it. Lots 224 and 225 are separated by a Beaurivage tributary leading up to James Laughrey’s lot (#245 of Killarney range). Patrick’s lot starts at 1300 vertical feet, 200 vertical feet above the nearest point on the Beaurivage River, and ends at 1700 vertical feet on Killarney Road (7), near the top (1900 feet) of Mount Tara (8). It mostly lies between two tributaries of the Beaurivage, the southern one leading up to James Laughrey’s lot and the northern one originating from the highest peak of Tara Mountain and flowing down to 1065 vertical feet, near the bridge of Fermanagah South Road on the Beaurivage River; the northern tributary flows within Patrick’s lot. Maps based on 1924-1926 data show that a straight road called Fermanagah South Road starts at Fermanagah Road at 1250 vertical feet, crosses the Beaurivage River at 1065 feet via a bridge, continues straight South-East to Patrick’s lot and turns South-West until J. Connor’s lot. Patrick’s house was probably near the northern tributary and on Fermanagah South Road, giving him quick access to the Beaurivage River and the main road leading to S. Sylvestre and S. Elzéar: after it crosses Fermanagah Road, Fermanagah South Road becomes Fermanagah North Road, rises to 1350 vertical feet and reaches chemin Ste Marie at 1075 vertical feet (9).
Patrick’s neighbours on Fermanagah range were heirs John Gallagher (lot 791, in front of Patrick’s lot) and, going West, Francis Gallagher, William Martin, heirs James Martin, Andrew Begley, William Martin (#790 to 786) and Michael Shallow (#785-784); going East, his neighbors were John Martin (#792) and Andrew Begley (#793-794, ending at the boundary of S. Elzéar) (10). Lots 787-794 spread on both sides of the Beaurivage River; #786 touches it and #784-785 are entirely on the Eastern slope of Mont Ste Marguerite. Fermanagah South Road runs between the lots of John Martin and heirs Gallagher. Patrick’s neighbors on Killarney range were ? in the back of him (neighbors further East are not yet available on Steve Cameron’s maps) and, going West, heirs George McRae, James Laughrey, John O’Farrel, and Francis Travers (lots 244-247, none of them touching the Beaurivage River but #247 coming close).
Starting from Fermanagah/Monaghan/Killarney ranges and moving West towards Leeds, one finds 193 lots in this area of South S. Sylvestre and North S. Séverin. 181 of them (94%) were owned by Irish/English/Scottish settlers, mostly Irish, in 1876! Moving further West, one enters range 12 and 13 of Leeds East (Bernard Laughrea lived on range 12, 600 m from S. Sylvestre). There are 61 lots in these 2 ranges and 60 of them (98 %) were owned by Irish/English/Scottish settlers, mostly Irish, in 1876. By eyeball survey, Leeds and S. Sylvestre appear respectively > 95 % and ~ 90% Irish/English/Scottish in 1880. Irish clergymen James Nelligan, John O’Grady and James Neville were in charge of S. Sylvestre during 1836-1851, 1851-1858 and 1873-1893, respectively. The books of the S. Sylvestre secretarial office were in English only until 1860, in English and French between 1861 and 1895, and in French only from 1896, suggesting a massive English exodus by 1896.
Mary McGown was living in S. Séverin in 1891 but is buried in St. Matthew catholic cemetery on Dalton Road/route 142 near Whitefield, NH (11). Whitefield is 10 km North of Bethlehem NH (11), where her stepson Owen Loughrea (1831-) lived in 1900 and in 1910, 10 km South of Lancaster NH (11), where Michael Laughrea (1866-1944), son of Bernard Laughrea (1834-1914), lived in 1920, and 12 km West of Jefferson NH (11), where children of Catherine Laughry (1833-1908) lived in 1930. Mary presumably arrived in Whitefield with her children Margaret and Peter, or joined them there. Her stepson James Loughery (1826-1889) was living in Whitefield from 1883-1888 until his death; and her stepson Patrick (1844/1846-1895) died in Whitefield. Bethlehem-Whitefield-Lancaster are on a straight line, with Lancaster on the Connecticut RIver; adding Jefferson, the 4 form a triangle between the Connecticut River and the White Mountains.
b) James Laughrey (Loughrey, Loughry) (~1802 – before Oct. 7 1857) married Elizabeth Alderson (? – after Oct. 7 1857). They had a daughter Elizabeth and possibly 2 sons:
1. Elizabeth Loughry (~1828- June 18 1888). She was protestant but married Owen Murphy (Dec. 8 1827 in Stoneham – Oct. 4 1895 in Sillery) on Oct. 7 1857 in St. Patrick’s parish, Quebec City. Owen Murphy was a farmer at the time of his marriage. He became mayor of Quebec City from 1874 to 1878 and member of Quebec parliament from 1886 to 1892. He was a also a director of the Quebec Central Railway (12). The parents of Owen Murphy are Nicholas Murphy ( ~1790 – Feb. 15 1864) and Ellen O’Brien.
2. James (1835-) was living in Leeds, Quebec, in 1881, with 6 children. A James Loughry landed at Quebec city on Aug. 3 1868 on ship Peruvia.
3. Thomas Loughrey (1845-) was living in Leeds, Quebec, in 1881. He is listed as farmer with 5 children. Neither James nor Thomas are found on Steve Cameron’s 1876 map of Leeds; maybe they were not land owners or had not yet settled in Leeds in 1876.
c) Thomas Loughrey (1808-) was living in York, Upper Canada in 1832. He was private, 18th regiment.
d) Robert Loughrey (1810-) arrived from Glasgow on the Saint-George in Oct. 1865, together with his two sons, Thomas (1842-) and James (1844-).
e) William Loughrey (1812-) married Mary McCaffrey on April 23 1838 in St. Sylvestre. He landed in Saint-John, N.B. on April 18 1833, on board the 15th ship (Madawaska or Brig OmadawaskO), which had departed from Londonderry, Northern Ireland. William was a resident of county Tyrone. In 1866 he was a colonel sergeant, 7th regiment, living in London Ontario.
f) Clark Loughry was corporal, infantry company garrison, on duty in St. John Quebec (probably St. Jean sur le Richelieu), under captain James Chalmers.
g) Thurlow Laughry married Mary Walsh (1858-) in Victoria, B.C.. They had a son named John (1896-?). Mary Walsh was living in Broughton township in 1861. John married Blanche Veilleux on Oct. 18 1919 in St. François (Beauceville). My grandfather John (1860-1946) was saying “Veilleux are family”; but is it through Thurlow or Mary? John Walsh owned lots 381-385 along Fermanagah North Road in 1876.
- – - – - – - – - – -
3) Generation three. PATRICK Loughry (1800-1886 in S. Séverin) and Mary Patton (~1805- Jan. 1 1854 in St. Elzéar) had 9 children from 1826 to 1846: Bridget, James, Mary, Owen, Catherine, BERNARD, Michael, Ann and Patrick. With Mary McGown (or McGowan) (1830-26 July 1904 in Whitefield NH), he had 6 children from 1858 to 1869: Margaret, Peter, Helen, Joseph, Eliza and Frank.
PATRICK had at least 54 grandchildren and probably about 65. His 9 children with Mary P. begat 50 grandchildren from 1843 to 1877; his 6 children with Mary M. begat 4 known grandchildren from 1899 to 1905 and probably about 11 yet to be identified. Before marrying PATRICK, Mary McGown had three children with Jeremiah Mahoney: Mary (1852-), Martin (1853-?, living in S. Séverin in 1891) and Bridget (1856-?, living in S. Séverin in 1891). One brother of Mary Patton was Edward. A James Patton (1808-1896), married to then deceased Katy Sweeny, died in S. Séverin on Oct. 31 1896.
The 6 adult children of PATRICK who are of known lifespan without dying accidentally, died at the age of 76 on average: 55 (Bridget), 66 (James), 87 (Owen), 80 (Bernard), 86 (Ann), and 80 (Peter). For comparison, the 8 children of known lifespan of Bridget died at 74 on average; the 8 of Bernard at 88, the 3 of John at 76, the 6 of Cecilia at 77, the 3 of James at 75 and the 6 of his son Giles will end up dying (average in daily progress thanks to grandson Jim) at at least 73 years on average.
Among his 15 children and 52 grandchildren of known first name (13), we find 7 Patrick, 6 Michael, 5 James, 5 John, 5 Mary, 5 Ann/Anny and 4 Bridget, for a total of 37. Of these 67 children and grandchildren, 44 were born between 1855 and 1875, 41 betweeen 1850 and 1870, and 29 (24 cousins and 5 uncle/aunts) between 1860 and 1870. The greater St. Sylvestre of 1875-1880 was teeming with Loughrey cousins, uncle and aunts (14), and we have not yet started to count cousins, uncles and aunts coming from the Patton and McGown sides!
PATRICK had about 141 great-grandchildren, but only 47 are known so far (15).
19 different names sufficed for the 67 known children and grandchildren (13) of PATRICK, because of many Patrick, Michael, James etc.. However it took 25 different names for his 28 great-grandchildren of known first names: only Mary, Joseph and Edward appear twice; Michael, James, Ann/Anny and Bridget are absent! Among 48 g.-g.-grandchildren of known first names, James and Mary appear 3 times, Michael twice, Ann and John once, but Patrick and Bridget were not used.
PATRICK lived his adult life in S. Elzéar and S. Séverin; Bridget in S. Elzéar; James in S. Séverin and Whitefield NH; Mary in Leeds East; Owen in S. Patrice and Bethlehem NH; Catherine in S. Séverin for at least a long time (her husband died there in 1902); Bernard in S. Elzéar and Leeds East; Ann in S. Séverin and Rutland VT; Patrick in S. Patrice and Whitefield; Margaret and Peter in S. Séverin and Whitefield; Helen, Joseph, Eliza and Frank lived in S. Séverin in 1891 but nothing more is known on their ulterior whereabouts. Bridget, James, Mary, Owen, Bernard, Catherine, and Ann, first married in 1842, 1848, 1851, 1856, 1858, 1855, and 1870, meaning that PATRICK had only Ann (1839) and Patrick (1844) as his own children left at home soon after he married Mary McGown in 1858.
By and large, Patrick and his children did not live in S. Sylvestre, but their lots, whether in S. Patrice, S. Elzéar, S. Séverin or Leeds East, were extremely close to the border of S. Sylvestre.
At least 15 family members moved to New Hampshire and Vermont between 1875 and 1900, 14 of them to the triangle Bethlehem-Whitefield-Lancaster-Jefferson in NH. In the 1870s, Ann (1839) moved to Rutland VT and 3 sons of Owen (1831), Patrick (1857), Edward (1859) and John (1868), moved to Whitefield. In the 1880s, James (1826) and his children Michael (1860) and Bridget (1867/1868) moved to Whitefield; Owen (1831) moved to Bethlehem; Catherine’s (1833) children Susan (1860) and Thomas (1870), if not several more, moved to Jefferson. Patrick (1844/1846) probably moved to Whitefield in the 1870s or 1880s. In the 1890s Mary McGown-Loughry (1830), her children Margaret (1858) and Peter (1861), and perhaps a few more among siblings Helen (1863), Joseph (1864), Eliza (1866) and Frank (1868), moved to Whitefield. Michael (1866), son of Bernard (1834) probably moved to Lancaster in the 1890s; he was living there in 1920. Two other children of Bernard, Mary (1864) and Jim (1873), are very likely to have moved to the USA between 1891 and 1900, Jim settling in the greater Boston area in the mid 1890s.
a) Bridget Loughrey (1826/1829 – 26 Nov. 1883 St. Elzéar) married John Owen Boyce (1817-1885) on April 26 1842 in St. Sylvestre. He is the son of Michael Boyce and Nancy Slevin (perhaps Sullivan). The mother of Nancy S. is Mary Prendergast. There are Boyles but no Boyces on the 1876 S. Sylvestre map of Steve Cameron.
The 8 children of Michael Boyce and Nancy Slevin are:
- Patrick (?-? in St. Elzéar). He married Alice Heynes (Hynes, Hinds). They had 9 children, among whom Michael Boyce (1833 in S. Sylvestre -1925 in S. Sylvestre) (16), brother in law of Ann Laughrey (1839-1925).
- John Owen. He married Bridget Loughrey and had 11 children (below), among whom Michael Boyce (1846-).
- Henry. Henry married Anne McMonigle. They had many children, among whom:
- Michael Boyce (?-? in St. Sylvestre), brother in law of Bernard Laughrea (1834-1914). He married Mary Sullivan (1839-1925) on Jan 8 1861 and was the godfather of Michael Laughrea (1866-1944). Michael B. and Mary Sullivan had 11 sons and 2 daughters (17).
- Peter Boyce (1833-1909 in St. Sylvestre) (18), their third son, and fourth child. He was a witness at the burial of Mary Prendergast (?-1874) (19), mother of Cecilia Sullivan (1841-1901) and Mary Sullivan (1839-1925).
Three cousins were named Michael Boyce: Michael B. (?-? in S. Sylvestre), Michael B. (1833-1925) and Michael B. (1846-). They also had an uncle Michael Boyce and a grandfather Michael Boyce.
Bridget had 11 children and at least 7 grandchildren and 1 great-grandchild. Her 8 adult children of known lifespan died at 74 years of age on average: 87 (Annie), 39 (Marie), 85 (Catherine), 93 (Patrick), 75 (John Owen), 80 (James), 77 (Susan), and 58 (Peter E.). 79 on average if we exclude Marie. Her 11 children are:
1. Ann (Annie ) Boyce (15 March 1843 S. Marie de Beauce -1925 S. Patrice de Beaurivage). She married (m.) Patrick Camden (7 Mar 1850 Saint-Patrice-de-Beaurivage, Lotbinière – 31 Dec 1922 idem) on Nov. 5 1872 in S. Elzéar de Beauce. They had 4 children:
a- John Patrick Camden (24 Sep 1873 Saint-Séverin-de-Beaurivage, Beauce – 9 Apr 1962 S. Patrice-de-Beaurivage, Lotbinière). He m. Elizabeth Wilhelmina Bourgault (6 Apr 1875 S. Patrice – 4 Sep 1969 idem) on 27 Oct. 1896 in S. Patrice. They had 10 children:
- Mary Ann Elizabeth (13 Sep 1897 Saint-Patrice-de-Beaurivage – 30 Sep 1963 Worchester Mass.). She moved to VT in 1918. She m. George Lucia (~ 1894 – 18 Jan 1974 Worcester Mass.).
- Jane Mary (Jenny) (1 Jun 1899 S. Patrice – 1 Jun 1907 idem). She died of diphteria.
- Eugena Mary (23 Feb1900 S. Patrice – 23 Feb 1900 idem).
- Lawrence Joseph Camden (11 Aug 1902 S. Patrice – 10 Oct 1989 Garden City, Wayne, Michig.). He m. Marie Josephine (Alice) Larochelle (15 Dec 1911 Saint-Narcisse-de-Beaurivage – 21 Oct 2006 Southfield, Oakland, Michig.). They had 7 children: 1) Henry (12 May 1937 New York City – 18 Sep 1951 Detroit, Wayne, Michig.); 2) Donald (24 May 1938 N. Y. City – 8 Aug. 2002 Oceola Township, Michig.) m. Barbara; 3) Roland (19 May 1941 Dearborn, Wayne, Michig. – ) m. Gaile Manseil; 4) Irene Mary (8 Jul 1943 idem.- ) m. Roger Onoufer; 5) Lawrence Leo (16 Aug. 1944 idem -) m. Christine Greenwood; 6) Theresa Alice (14 Feb 1947 Detroit, Wayne, Michig. – ); 7) Helen Mary (26 Jun 1954 idem – ) m. Mark Ross.
- Samuel (Aug 1903 St-Patrice-de-Beaurivage – ?).
- Ann (Annie) Mary (4 Nov. 1904 S. Patrice – 26 Jul 1997 Arizona). She m. George Roy (26 Feb. 1903 Canada – 27 Jan. 1965 Spikard, MO). They had 3 children: 1) Jeannette Anna (25 Oct.. 1938 VT – 30 jan.1950 Bloomfield, Stoddard, MO, Irene (11 Feb. 1940 VT – ) m. Ray Helmer; 2) George Nelson (5 Mar 1941 Milton, Chittenden, VT – ) m. Glenda Helen Murphy; 3) James S. (23 March 1943 Long Island, Queens, NY – ) m. Rosala Keith.
- Margaret Lillian (26 May 1907 S. Patrice – 3 Sep 2001 Bristol, Hartford, CT). She m. Leo Henri Sirois (30 Jan 1911 Waterville, Kennebec, Maine – 1 Jan 2007 Bristol, Hartford, CT) in Oct. 1939 in NH. They had 3 children: 1) Leo Jules (06 Oct. 1940 Hunting, Long Island, NY – ) m. Joann Wist; 2) Mary Ann (19 July 1942 Bristol, Hartford, CT – ); 3) Raymond Albert (10 Feb 1947 idem- ).
- Albert Camden (24 Aug. 1909 St-Patrice-de-Beaurivage – 14 July 1996 idem). He m. Elizabeth Mary Burns (18 Mar. 1916 S. Patrice – 11 Dec. 1998 idem) on 29 Aug. 1945 in S. Patrice. They had 4 children: 1) Evelyn Mary (6 June 1948 S. Patrice – ) m. Domenic Tuzzolino (8 Dec 1949 -); 2) Raymond (22 April 1950 idem – ) m. Donna Lynn Maura; 3) George (2 June 1954 idem – ) m. Carmelle Bélanger; 4) Stella Mary Alice (31 Oct. 1955 in idem – ) m. Richard Anthony Klein (3 Oct. 1950 in Regina, Saskatchewan – ).
- John Joseph Paul Rosaire Camden (15 Jan 1912 Saint-Patrice-de-Beaurivage – 14 Jan 1997 idem). He m. Yvonne Roussin (1912 idem -). They had 4 children: 1) Irene (1944 idem- ) m. Marcel Bourgault (1944 idem – ) on 3 Sept. 1966 in S. Patrice; 2) Edward (26 Nov. 1945 idem – ); 3) Lorenzo (10 Sept 1947 idem – ) m. Madeline Dumas; 4) Phillip (24 March 1953 idem – ) m. Luce Capano.
- Mary Catherine Jane (Jenny) (6 Oct 1915 Saint-Patrice-de-Beaurivage – 29 Nov 1979 in Clinton, Henry, MO). She m. James Camden (2 Apr 1865 Sainte-Agathe, Lotbinière – 11 Feb 1951 Bloomfield, Stoddard, MO) probably around 1938. They had 4 children: 1) Mary Jane (25 Mar 1940 Duluth, Saint Louis, MN – ) m. Jay Luther Renfro (30 Oct 1936 Pittsburgh, Crawford, KS – ); 2) James John (9 Nov. 1941 Duluth, Saint Louis, MN – ) m. Jeanne Louise Adams (6 Dec. 1944 Kansas City, KS – ); 3) Patrick (28 July 1943 Duluth, Saint Louis, MN – ) m. Sharon Kay Elledge (25 March 1939 Cabool, Texas, MO – ); 4) Michael (24 Nov. 1949 Bloomfield, Stoddard, MO – ) m. Donna Ruth Henry (~1949 Clinton, Henry, MO – ); they eventually divorced and Michael m. Kathryn (KATY) Elizabeth Furrey (13 Dec. ? Las Vegas, Clark, NV – ). Both James and Jenny have been married twice. James Camden first m. Katherine Mullavey on 15 March 1890 in Quebec City. In her second marriage on 30 Aug. 1955, Jenny m. Estel (Jack) Wilson in Clinton, Henry, MO.
b- Bridget Camden(15 Dec 1875 St-Séverin-de-Beauce – 1962). She m. Jean Joseph Cleophas Bourgault (26 Jun 1871 Saint-Sylvestre-de-Lotbinière – 25 Jan 1947 in Saint-Patrice-de-Beaurivage), brother of Elisabeth Wilhelmina, on 2 May 1899 in S. Patrice de Beaurivage. They had 10 children:
- Patrick (1 Mar 1900 S. Sylvestre – ). He was baptised in S. Patrice. In 1930, he was married and living in Ferndale, Oakland, Michig..
- Mary Ann Clair Elizabeth (14 Jul 1901 Saint-Patrice-de-Beaurivage, Lotbinière – ).
- Wilfred (Nov 1903 idem – ).
- Angeline (~1904 idem – ).
- Cecile (Apr 1906 idem – ).
- Leo Bourgault (Jul 1907 idem – ). He m. Anne-Marie Martineau (~ 1913 Sainte-Agathe, Lotbinière – ) on 20 Sept. 1933 in S. Agathe. They had 9 children: 1) Madeleine Bourgault (~ 1938 S. Patrice - ) m. Bertrand Blais (~ 1938 idem- ) on 1 Aug. 1958 in S. Patrice; 2) Doris (~1939 idem – ) m. Jean-Thomas Sylvain (~1939 S. Patrice – ) on 27 Sept. 1958 in S. Patrice; 3) Marcel (1944 idem – ) m. Irene Camden (1944 idem – ), his second degree cousin, on 3 Sept. 1966 in S. Patrice; 4) Denis (1947 idem – ) m. Diane Breton (~1950 idem – ) on 25 July 1970 in S. Sylvestre; 5) Jeannine (~ 1947 idem- ) m. Jean-Guy Sylvain (~1948 S. Elzéar de Beauce) on 20 July 1968 in S. Patrice; 6) Gilles (~1951 idem – ) m. Madeleine Giroux (~1951 S. Bernard, Nouvelle-Beauce) on 10 Oct. 1970 in S. Bernard; 7) Normand (~1953 S. Patrice - ) m. Judith Breton (`~1953 in S. Sylverstre – ) on 29 Dec. 1973 in S. Sylvestre; 8) Roger (~1954 S. Patrice – ) m. Francine Guillemette (~1954 S. Malachie de Bellechasse – ) on 18 May 1974 in S. Marlachie; 9) Rolande (~1956 S. Patrice – ) m. Denis Jacques (~1956 in S. Sylvestre – ) on 31 July 1976 in S. Sylvestre.
- Maria Anne Suzanne (Suzie) (10 June 1908 S. Patrice – ). She m. Sauveur Dumont (~1919 idem – ) on 12 Aug. 1939 in S. Patrice. They had 2 children: 1) André (~1943 idem – ) m. Adèle Gosselin (~1943 S. Agathe de Lotbinière – ) on 8 June 1963 in S. Agathe de Lotbinière; 2) Aline (~1946 idem) m. Yoland Martin (~1943 in S. Gilles – ) on 11 June 1966 in S. Gilles de Lotbinière.
- Joseph James Rosario (Jimmy) Bourgault (7 Apr 1910 S. Patrice – 27 Feb 2008) m. Bernadette Bourgault (6 Sep 1913 idem – 20 Feb 1994).
- Joseph Evangeliste Edward (Eddy) (25 May 1912 idem – 8 Mar 1997).
- Marie Anne Rose Ruth (4 Oct 1915 Saint-Sylvestre, Lotbinière – 30 Oct 1996 idem). Her godparents were Patrick Camden and Annie Lynch, as well as Joseph Demers and Adele Bourgault. She m. Valère Therrien (~1915 S. Sylvestre – ) on 26 June 1943 in S. Patrice. They had 6 children: 1) Monique (~1946 idem – ) m. Jacques Roger (~ 1946 S. Sylvestre – ) on 21 june 1969 in S. Patrice; 2) Agathe m. Gaétan Lévesque; 3) Francine m. Michel Couture; 4) Raymond m. to Yolande Rousseau; 5) Réjeanne; 6) Richard m. Louise Savoie.
c- Patrick Peter Jr Camden (3 Jul 1880 Saint-Patrice-de-Beaurivage – ~1944 Dorchester, Suffolk, Mass.) He was a well-known automobile dealer in this district for nearly half a century. Before entering the automobile business he was an Engineer on the old Mt. Washington (NH) Cog Railway for several years. In 1922, a memorial to Mr. Camden’s father (( or Mr. Camden uncle John (1861 – )?)), who worked for the famous mountain railway for many years, was erected on the summit of Mt. Washington in the form of a cottage haven for exhausted skiers and mountain climbers ((the cottage was built in 1922; maybe it was named in honour of Camden later, like in 1944)). The cottage, called Camden cottage, has been in use for many years and is a well-known landmark. In the book of Bruce D. heald, there is a photo of Patrick Camden, then track inspector, sliding down the cog railway in 1929. Patrick arrived in the USA in 1898 and married Annie J Lynch (19 Aug 1887 in Saint-Sylvestre, Lotbinière – 15 Aug 1985 in Dorchester, Suffolk, Mass.) on 28 Feb. 1908 in Brookline, Norfolk, Mass.. She had arrived in the USA in 1903. They had 3 children:
- Howard P. (26 Dec 1911 Dorchester, Suffolk, Mass. – 12 Dec 1979 Mass.). He m. Marjorie (~1912 Mass. – ? idem) on 10 Dec. 1937 in Dorchester, Suffolk, Mass.. They had one child: Mary Ann ( 25 Nov 1941 Dorchester, Suffolk, Mass. – ).
- Rose (~1914 idem – ).
- Paul D. (26 Dec 1917 idem – 26 Dec 2006 in Braintree, Norfolk, Mass.). He had a daughter called Barbara A. (~25 Aug 1960 in Mass. – ).
d- Joseph James Camden(~1885 Saint-Patrice-de-Beaurivage – 2 Nov 1966 Sainte-Germaine, Québec). He m. Celina Fabiola Breton (30 Aug 1892 St Jean-de-Québec, Québec – ) on 28 Oct. 1912 in St-Séverin-de-Beauce. They had 2 children:
- Mary Rose Celina Lizzie Anne (~1913 S. Patrice – ). She m. Joseph Rosario Lucien Nolette (2 Apr 1907 – 4 Mar 1982 in Montreal) on 27 jan. 1937 in S. Patrice. They had 3 children: 1) Georgette (Montréal – ) m. Guy Pomminville; 2) Jacqueline m. Jacques Marchand; 3) Rose (Montreal – ) m. André Vinet.
- Joseph Edward Patrick John (15 Apr 1918 S. Patrice, Beaurivage – ).
2. Marie Bridget Boyce (21 May 1844 S. Marie de Beauce -16 March 1883 S. Patrice de Beaurivage). She m. Pierre Gagné (10 Aug. 1847 S. Sylvestre – ?) on Nov. 21 1871 in S. Patrice, in the presence of Catherine Boyce and Honoré Larivière. They had 7 children:
a- Mary-Ann Gagné (19 Aug 1872 S. Patrice – 21 Aug 1887 idem);
b- Suzanne Adeline Gagné (22 Dec 1873 S. Patrice – 12 Feb 1943 Hambleton, Tucker, WV). She m. Damase (David) Vachon (Aug 1873 Saint-Elzear, Beauce – 31 Aug 1949 in Tucker, WV) on 2 Sept. 1896 and they had moved to Tucker, WV, by 1900. They had 14 children:
- Mary Mildred (Millie) Vachon (2 Aug 1897 West Milan, Coos, NH – 15 Sep 1970 in San Francisco, Cal.). She m. Charles Nicholas Strawn (9 Jan 1903 Alpha, Boise, ID – 6 Feb 1989 San Mateo, San Mateo, Cal.) in 1925 in Tucker WV. They had one child: Charles Burton (Chuck) Strawn (19 Jan 1927 Black Fork, Tucker, WV – 25 Jul 1999 in Lubbock, TX).
- Ernest Lawrence Vachon (20 Mar 1899 Milan, Coos NH – 3 Nov 1968 Hambleton, Tucker,WV). He m. Anna Fournier in Athens, Mercer, WV.
- M Vachon (Apr 1900 Davis, Tucker, WV – 5 Feb 1901 idem).
- Patrick Leonard (Pat) Vachon (17 Mar 1902 Hambleton, Tucker WV – Sep 1970 Peoria, Peoria IL). He m. Teresa (Veronica) Kelly (27 Dec 1909 Bradford, Stark, IL – 2 Dec 1981 Peoria IL). They had one child: Louise (~1934 Peoria, IL – ).
- Joseph Thomas (Joe) Vachon (6 Mar 1904 Hambleton, Tucker WV – Jun 1970 Athens, Mercer, WV). He m. Mildred Elizabeth Gable on 28 May 1930 in Athens, Mercer WV. They had one child: David A Vachon (~1931 WV – ).
- Veronia Kathryn Vachon (16 Mar 1906 Black Fork, Tucker WV – 5 Jun 1957 in Saint Louis, Independent Cities, MO).
- Foster Charles (Toot) Vachon (16 Feb 1909 Hambleton, Tucker, WV – 22 Nov 1983 Peoria, Peoria IL). He m. Mildred Eva Cramer (30 Oct 1910 idem- 17 Mar 2005 idem). They had 4 children: 1) Nancy Ellen (16 Apr 1934 idem – 12 Sep 2005 Creve Coeur, Saint Louis MO; 2) David A. (21 Nov 1935 Peoria, IL – 22 Oct 2002 Ardmore, Delaware, PA); 3) Mary Beth (~1943 Peoria, IL – ); 4) Martha (6 Feb 1944 idem – ) married Gregory Becks (~1944 idem- ).
- Gilford Francis (Jiggs) Vachon (29 Jan 1911 Hambleton, Tucker WV – 20 Jan 1994 East Peoria, Tazewell, IL). He m. Louise Thelma Haddix (11 Mar 1916 Black Fork, Tucker, WV – 31 Jan 2002 Creve Coeur, Tazewell, IL) on 21 April 1935 in Black Fork, Tucker, WV. They had 4 children: 1) Coleen Susan (~1935 Peoria, IL – ) m. Joel T Yerby (1 Nov 1934 idem – ) on 22 June 1952 in Peoria, IL; 2) Phillip David (2 May 1936 idem – ); 3) Frances Louise (~1940 idem – ) m. Karl Albert Johnson (~1940 idem – ); 4) Gary J (~ 1955 idem – ) m. Mary Sue Crusen (~1956 idem – ) on 24 Jan. 1981 in Peoria, IL.
- Adell Francena (Dell) Vachon (29 Jan 1912 Black Fork, Tucker, WV – 8 Jan 1962 Denver, CO).
- Lela M Vachon (26 Feb 1912 Hambleton, Tucker, WV – 15 Jan 1991 Parsons, Tucker, WV). She m. Benjamin F. Long (9 Dec 1911 Clarksburg, Harrison, WV – 26 Jan 1992 Parsons, Tucker, WV) around 1938 in Hambleton, Tucker, WV.
- John Lessard (Lux) Vachon (23 Feb 1914 Hambleton, Tucker, WV – Aug 1977 Peoria, IL).
- Wilford Boyce “Honey” Vachon (28 Aug 1916 Hambleton, Tucker, WV – 21 Sep 2010 idem). He m. Vivian Juanita Williams (4 Jun 1917 idem – 24 Mar 2005 idem) on 9 June 1940 in Thomas, Tucker, WV. They had 2 children: 1) Wilford Boyce (11 May 1945 Brunswick, Cumberland, Maine – ) m. Ulrike (Ulli) Frisch (20 Feb 1947 Bad Nauheim, Wetteraukreis, Hesse, Germany – 11 Dec 2012 Portland, Cumberland, Maine); 2) Linda Ann (~1951 Brunswick, Cumberland, Maine – ). “Honey” resided in Maine at least from 1940 to 1961.
- Frank Lee Vachon (5 May 1919 Hambleton, Tucker WV – 10 Mar 2005 Phoenix, Maricopa, AZ). He m. Lona Lehmann Marsh on 9 Sept. 1950 in Black Ford, Tucker, WV.
- Louise Vachon (~1921 Hambleton, Tucker, WV – ). She m. Lutz (~1922 idem- )
c- Joseph Peter Gagné (10 Jul 1875 Saint-Patrice, Lotbinière – Aug 1966 Berlin, Coos, NH). He m. Rose Curier (Jun 1875 Canada – 30 May 1943 Berlin, Coos, NH) on 3 June 1895 in Berlin, Coos, NH. They had 11 children:
- John R (Johnnie) Gagné (Feb 1893 Clinton, Worcester, Mass. – ). He m. Lillian Laura Lefebvre (16 Apr 1900 Manchester, Hillsborough, NH – May 1986 Colebrook, Coos, NH) on 15 June 1920 in Stewartstown, Coos, NH. They soon divorced and Lillian Laura married another man in 1929.
- Mamie Gagné (3 Mar 1896 Berlin, Coos NH – 9 Mar 1921 idem. She m. George Rodrique (10 Sep 1892 St-Georges-de-Beauce -11 Sep 1947 Berlin, Coos, NH) but died soon thereafter. They had a child in 1917 in Berlin, Coos NH.
- Mabel Louise Susie Emily Gagné (30 Mar 1897 Berlin, Coos NH – 1975 Groveton, Coos, NH). She m. Joseph Emile Francis Dupuis (6 Jul 1895 Norton Mills, Essex, VT – Sep 1980 Groveton, Coos, NH) on 8 Jan. 1917 in Berlin, Coos, NH. They had 3 children: 1) Cleo (Jul 1917 idem – ); 2) Bella (Oct 1918 idem – ); 3) Roland (~ 1922 Northumberland, Coos, NH).
- Stella Gagné (21 Nov 1899 Berlin, Coos, NH – ). She married Walter Muncino (~1897 Italy – ) on 21 Apr 1917 in Berlin, Coos, NH.
- Archie Gagné (16 Oct 1901 Berlin, Coos, NH – May 1972 idem). He married M. Côté.
- Ethel M Gagné (~1904 NH – ). She married Leo Nadeau (? – 1970).
- Alfred John Gagné (21 Dec 1906 Berlin, Coos, NH – 11 Feb 1982 Hartford, Windsor, VT).
- Francis Gagné (1907 Berlin, Coos, NH – ).
- Bella Gagné (1911 idem – ).
- Peter E Gagné (~ 1913 idem – ).
- Lillie Gagné (27 Apr 1914 idem- 17 May 1995 idem). Sjhe married Alfred Omer Gagnon (29 Jul 1910 Montmagny, Quebec – 21 Sep 1990 Hartford, Windsor, VT).
d- Jean-Baptiste (6 Oct 1876 St Patrice-de-Beaurivage – 17 Feb 1878 idem).
e- Peter Michael (11 Sep 1878 St Patrice-de-Beaurivage – 7 Mar 1880 idem).
f- Infant (12 Jun 1880 – 12 Jun 1880);
g- Alexis William Gagné (17 Feb 1883 in St Patrice-de-Beaurivage – ).
3. Michael Boyce (4 March 1846 S. Marie de Beauce – 1 Dec. 1901 Ashbury Park, Monmouth, NJ). He married unknown and had one daughter named Grace (1868 S. Marie – )
4. Catherine Boyce (31 Jan. 1848 S. Elzéar de Beauce – 1 May 1933 Quebec City). She was a nun.
5. Patrick Boyce (30 Nov. 1849 S. Elzéar de Dorchester – 1 March 1942 Everett, Snohomish, WA). Patrick A Boyce, one of the substantial farmers of Snohomish county, (Washington), has had a wide and varied experience in various parts of the country and has done his fair share in the development of this locality. Born about thirty miles southeast of Quebec, Canada, in 1854, he is the son of Owen and Bridget (Loghry) Boyce, the former a native of Ireland, and the latter of Ireland and Scotland (Editor’s note: according to parish records, Patrick A Boyce was actually born 30 Nov 1849 in St Elzear, Beauce county, Quebec, Canada). [Patrick A Boyce] is of Irish, English, and Scottish descent and has exemplified in his own makeup the sterling qualities of these nations.
His parents came to Canada in childhood in the early 1830′s, and met and were married there, both dying in the Parish of [St Elzear], where the father had followed farming. There was no school in the locality where Patrick A Boyce was reared, therefore he was deprived of that advantage but has made up for it in later life by much reading and close observation of men and events, so that he is well informed on a wide range of subjects.
He remained at home until about 17 years of age, when he went to Maine and spent a year in the woods. Then, after a short stay at home, he went to Bethlehem, NH, where he spent two years in the woods. He next worked on the Mount Washington Railroad, being employed about a year as a section hand, and afterwards for eight years in the machine shop at the base of the mountain. The railroad was in operation only during the summer months, so he spent his winters at Bethlehem, NH where he was employed as a milwright. Eventually, he became master mechanic on the Mount Washington Railroad, retaining that position two years, and then for two years he had charge of the mechanical equipment of an extensive private establishment in Florida.
In 1885 he went to Mount Vernon, Washington, here he spent the winter, and then removed to Snohomish, WA, where he was employed by Blackman Brothers two years. About 1887 he and his brother, Peter E Boyce, bought five hundred (500) acres of marshland, two hundred and fifty (250) acres being the present home of Mr Boyce.
Patrick A Boyce followed mining for twenty years, having worked in the woods until 1897, when he went to Dawson, Alaska, where he established himself in business as a machinist. In 1901 he returned to the States and bought mining machinery, which he took to Alaska and cleaned up a good claim, which he later sold. From 1904 until the World War (Editor’s note: WWI) he was mining for gold in British Columbia, and during his work there learned of a molybrite claim, which he investigated and developed. He had demonstrated its value and had closed a deal through which he was to [receive] one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000 ) for it. At that time, however, the United States entered the War and Canada shut off the export of molybrite, and the deal which was with New York parties, fell through. Mr Boyce did no mining during the war and thus lost his claim to the property, not understanding that it was necessary for him to maintain its active operation.
In 1922 he returned to his place in Snohomish, WA to which he has since devoted his attention. At one time he had a bad fire in the marshland, which he fought for thirty-five (35) days, and the gas and poisioned air so affected him that he was confined to a hospital (Editor’s note: often called sanatoriums) for some time. He now has about 100 acres of his land cleared, the remaining being good pasture, but rents the place.
In former years Mr Boyce served as a member of the French Creek School Board. He was formerly a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Snohomish, and is now an active member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons there, belonging to the Blue Lodge Chapter and Commandery. He is a man of splendid personal qualities, genial and friendly, and throughout this community he is held in the highest measure of regard.
Mr Boyce’s brother, Peter E Boyce, who died on Aug 04, 1922 was twice married, first to Miss Maggie Reilly, to which union were born two children, a daughter who died at the age of three years, and Augene (Editor’s note: ‘Augene’ is actually Eugene). His second union was with Mrs. M. Killegan (Editor’s note: Abbie McKilligan, according to death records). – Source: Whitfield, William, ed. History of Snohomish County, Washington. 2 volumes. Chicago: Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, 1926. (NW 979.771 WHITFIELD), Pages 785 and 786.
6. John Owen Boyce (15 Nov. 1851 S. Elzéar de Beauce – 8 Oct 1926 Lower Websterville, Washington, VT) m. Mary Goils (Jennie Cecilia) O’Connors (19 Jul 1855 S. Sylvestre – 16 May 1936 Larchmont, Westchester, NY) on May 22 1883 in S. Séverin. John Owen, Mary Gois and their 6 children emigrated to Vermont on 22 Aug. 1896. He was a farmer and quarryman in Vermont. They had 9 children:
a- Rose Ann (23 Dec. 1884 S. Elzéar – 18 Oct. 1933 Barre, Washington, VT). She married William Donahue (8 June 1884 S. George, Charlotte NB – 14 Oct. 1933 Lower Websterville, Washington, VT) on 5 Oct. 1908 in Websterville, Washington, VT. They had 11 children:
- Loretta Mary Donahue (3 Aug. 1909 Websterville VT – 30 Mar. 1989 in Brooksville, Hernando, FL) m. James McTigue (23 Aug 1906 Milford, Worcester, Mass. – 28 Sep 1993 Waterford, New London, CT) on Sept. 19 1932. They had 9 children:
- 1) Bernard Christopher McTigue (22 Apr 1933 Barre, Washington, VT – 21 Apr 1991 Waterford, New London, CT) m. Constance Murray (18 Oct 1934 CT – ). They have 5 children: Bernard (1955 – ), Veronica (1956 – ), Susan (1958 – ), Jennifer (1960 -) and John(1967 – ).
- 2) Francis Peter McTigue (2 Jun 1934 Barre, Washington, VT – 2 Dec 2007 Old Lyme, New London, CT) m. Marie Anne Crotty (26 Aug. 1941 – ) on 22 May 1965 in CT. They have 4 children: Sean (1966 - ), Kathleen (1967 – ), Sheila (1968 – ) and Erin Elizabeth (1975 – );
- 3) Patricia Ann Elizabeth (1 Aug 1935 Barre, Washington, VT – ) m. George Wilford McLaughlin, Jr (18 Nov 1931 Provincetown, Barnstable, Mass. – ) on 9 June 1956. They divorced on 20 Nov. 1975 in New London CT. They have 3 children: a) George Wilford McLaughlin III (27 Apr 1957 New London, CT – ) m. Joan Arlene Morrison (27 Jan 1958 – ) and had 2 children: Patrick James (27 March 1991 Los Angeles Cal. – ) and Megan Arlene (11 May 1993 Orange County Cal. – ); b) Brian Matthew (3 Aug 1958 New London, CT – ); c) Geoffrey William (5 Jun 1961 idem – ). Patricia m. again on 24 Dec. 1984;
- 4) James Michael McTigue (5 Dec 1936 Waterford, New London, CT – ) m. Patricia Wrigley (1937 in New London, CT – ) and had 4 children: a) Timothy Francis (19 Oct 1962 idem – ), b) Kenneth Richard (2 Jan 1964 idem – ), c) Eloise Mary (18 Jan 1965 iidem – ); d) James Michael (27 Oct 1967 iidem – );
- 5) Theresa Mary (11 Jan 1938 Waterford, New London, CT – 15 Oct 2004 in Quaker Hill, New London, CT) m. Richard Daniel Marlowe (21 Apr 1934 Waterford, New London, CT – ) on 4 Apr. 1959 and had 2 children: a) Catherine (~1960 idem – ); b) Patricia Ann (17 Mar 1966 idem – ).
- 6) Monica Rose (4 Jun 1939 idem – ) m. Douglas Arthur Mcveigh (2 Mar 1942 New London CT – ) on 17 July 1965 in New London CT and had 2 children: a) Douglas James (24 Jun 1966 idem – ), father of Molly Orlee McVeigh (20 Dec 2007 Penn. – ); b) Nancy Marie McVeigh (14 Mar 1968 Waterford, New London, CT – ) m. Jason Jones (6 Dec. 1969 – ) and had 3 children: Mikaela (7 April 1999 – ), Jason (26 Aug 2001 – ), and Sophia (11 Oct. 2004 – ).
- 7) Margaret Joan (16 Jun 1942 Waterford, New London, CT – ) m. Charles Edwin Aldinger (16 Jul 1943 – ) on 22 Apr 1967 22 in Oakdale, New London, CT. They had 3 children: a) Ellen Louise (18 Apr 1961 Groton, New London, CT – ) m. James Peters (3 Sep 1950 – ) and had 2 children: Jamison (16 Feb. 2002 – ) and Molly (16 Feb 2002 – ). b) Gregory Charles (1 Jun 1970 idem – ) m. Anne (18 Jul 1966 – ) and had 2 children: Cameron (11 Dec 2001 – ) and Madilyn ( 16 Nov 2005 – ). c) Daniel Joseph (23 Jan 1979 idem – ) m. Tara Andrelli and had one child: Harrison Daniel (26 March 2010 – ).
- 8) William Edward (2 Sep 1943 New London, CT – ) m. Diane Marie Bardele (26 Dec 1945 Milwaukee, WI – ) in 1970 in Milwaukee WI. They had 2 children: a) Mathew James (23 Jun 1974 Norwood, Bergen, NJ – ) m. Laura Haney (12 Ap 1975?) and had one child:Milo (13 Oct. 2003 – ); b) Scott Frederick (23 Jun 1974 Norwood, Bergen, NJ – ) m. Mellissa Bruck (24 oct 1975? – ) on 4 Aug 2007.
- 9) Arthur Kevin McTigue (16 Sep 1949 Waterford, New London, CT – ) m. 3 times. With second wife Raina, he had one child: John Michael “Jake” (23 Feb 1983 – ).
- Madeline Helen Donahue (3 Feb 1911 Websterville, Washington, VT – 1947 Colchester, Chittenden, VT). She was a nun (sisters of Mercy) who pronounced her final vows in Articulo Morti;
- Agnes Mildred Donahue (27 Jun 1912 Websterville, Washington, VT – 7 Jan 1999 in Berlin, Washington, VT) m. Paul Bagalio (28 Jan 1910 Websterville, Washington VT – 29 Jul 1998 Berlin, Washington, VT) on 18 Sept. 1933 in Graniteville, Washington, VT. They had 6 children.
- 1) Barbara Rose Bagalio (20 Feb 1935 Barre, Washington, VT – 1 Jun 2001 in Vacaville, Solano, Cal.) m. Russell Seaver (23 Aug. 1936 – ) on 24 Sep 1955 in Abilene, Taylor, TX. They had 4 children. a) Bruce Leigh (3 Sep 1956 Eglin AFB, Oakloosa, FL – ) m. Teresa Brown (10 Jan 1957 Spartanburg, Spartanburg, SC – ) on 17 Apr 1976 in Travis AFB, Solano, Cal. and had on son: Kevin Russell (2 Mar 1988 Vallejo, Solano, Cal. – ). b) Douglas (24 Jan 1961 Vacaville, Solano, Cal. – ) m. Kellie Hopper (4 Dec 1960 – ) on 25 Oct. 1980. They had 2 children: Jennifer Sara (28 Jun 1985 Vacaville, Solano, Cal. – 3 Jul 1985 in San Francisco Cal.) and Sarah Barbara (28 Feb 1986 idem – ). c) Gary (20 Mar 1966 Vacaville, Solano, CA – ) m. Amy Denton (10 Nov. 1965 – ) and had 3 children: – Christopher (16 Apr 1982 idem – ) m. Nikki Lonero (17 Jan 1984 Calif. – ) on 25 Sep 2010 in Vacaville, Napa, Cal. and had Olivia Lynn (18 Oct 2012 Vacaville, Solano, CA – ); - Janae Kathleen (16 Aug 1986 Yolo, Cal. – ) m. William Lawson; - Tiffany Rose (18 Oct 1995 Vacaville, Solano, Cal. – ). d) Mark (22 Aug 1968 idem – ) m. Gina Garcia (9 Sep 1970 – ) on 8 July 1995. They had 2 children: Colten Anthony (31 Oct 1992 – ) and Carlie Danielle (28 Mar 1997 – ).
- 2) Rita Jane Bagalio (9 Jul 1937 Barre, Washington, VT – ) m. Raymond Henry Roy (23 Jul 1938 Northfield, Washington, VT – ) on 1 Dec. 1956 in Barre VT. They had 3 children: a) Deborah Jane (25 Jun 1957 idem – ) m. in 1978 and divorced in 1995 without children. b) Randall Paul (27 Dec 1959 idem – ) m. Jodi Lynn Hoskins (19 May 1968 idem – ) on 8 June 1990 in Barre. They have 2 children: Kaitlyn Elizabeth (22 Apr 1993 in Berlin, Washington, VT – ) and Jeffery Raymond (12 Jul 1996 idem – ). c) Pamela Rae (26 Mar 1966 in Barre, Washington, VT – ).
- 3) John William Bagalio (16 Oct 1938 idem – ) m. Ellinor Clare Bishop on 22 Aug. 1959 in Lower Websterville, Washington, VT. They had 3 children: a) Gregory (17 Jun 1960 Barre, Washington, VT – ) m. Sheryl Robinson on 17 Jun 1960 and had 2 children: Zachary Pasquale (26 Feb 1995 – ) and Noah Robinson (20 Nov 1996 – ). b) Sharon (29 Aug 1961 in Barre, Washington, VT – ) m. Scott Olson (1 Nov 1954 -) and had 2 children: - Benjamin Scott (15 Jan 1985 – ) m. Tacha Strom (2 Apr 1986 – ) and had Joseph Michael Strom-Olson (14 Aug 2009 Maine – ); - Isaac Scott (21 Mar 1988 – ). c) Christopher Bagalio (29 Sep 1968 Barre, Washington, VT – ) m. Lee-Ann H Gregory on 19 Oct. 1991 in Barre VT and had 2 children: Jordyn Victoria (29 Sep 1993 – ) and Cameron John (5 Feb 1995 – )
- 4) Irene Mae Bagalio (4 Apr 1940 Barre, Washington, VT- ).
- 5) Daniel Paul Bagalio (19 Jun 1946 idem – ) m. Penelope Fay DeCato (28 Mar 1958 NH – ) on 29 Oct. 1977 in Barre VT and had 2 children: a) Hollie Ann (19 Dec 1980 Berlin, Washington, VT – ) m. Eric Bosse (27 Jul 1984 – ). b) Carrie Casondra (12 Mar 1982 in Berlin, Washington, VT – ).
- 6) Paula Ann Bagalio (20 May 1952 in Barre, Washington, VT – ) m. Christopher Elstner on 17 Jun 1978 in Barre VT and had 3 children: a) David S (19 Apr 1985 Cal. – ); b) Colin Ross (20 Sep 1986 Cal. – ); c) Sean Patrick Elstner (20 Sep 1986 Cal. -)
- William John Donahue (12 Jun 1913 Websterville, Washington, VT – 14 Dec 1958 San Francisco, CA) m. Shirley Ann Ryan (1921 – 1955) and had 5 children.
- 1) Mary Divina (~1941 San Francisco Cal. – ) m. George James Bovone (22 Sep 1940 idem – ) in ~1968 in San Francisco Cal. and had 5 children: a) Shirley (30 Jan 1969 idem – ) m. Ralph King (~1968 Cal. – ) and had 2 children: Tyler (~2004 Cal. – ) and Trevor (~2006 San Francisco Cal. – ). b) Mark (21 Oct 1970 idem – ). c) Adriane (19 Sep 1972 idem – ). d) Anne Marie (5 Jul 1974 idem – ). e) Michael (1 Jun 1977 idem – ).
- 2) Sheilagh A (1 Aug 1944 idem – ) m. Ronald Joseph O’Connor (1 Mar 1946 San Francisco, Cal. – ) on 8 Oct. 1971 in San Francisco, Marin, Cal. and had 4 children: a) Kerry M (15 Aug 1973 San Francisco Cal. – ); b) Kathryn D (13 Jun 1975 idem); c) Brendan Joseph (4 May 1979 idem – ); d) Liam Joseph (8 Sep 1980 idem- )
- 3) William John (27 Sep 1947 idem – 10 Nov 1983 Marin County, CA).
- 4) Richard Dohanue (~1948 San Francisco Cal. – ) m. Pam Christopher and had one child: Stephanie Lauren (24 Mar 1994 San Francisco, Cal. – ).
- 5) Thomas (~1949 idem – ).
- Howard James Donahue (24 Oct 1915 Lower Websterville, Washington, VT – 4 Jan 1968 Barre, Washington, VT) m. Beatrice Terese Demers (23 Sept. 1920 Wilmington, Windham, VT, – ), a registered nurse, on 29 Nov. 1952 in Montpellier VT. They had 5 children.
- 1) Michael James (23 Oct 1953 Barre, Washington, VT – ) m. Paula Ann Flanigan (~1954 Maine – ) and had 2 children: a) Meaghan Elizabeth (~1986 Scituate, Plymouth, Maine – ); b) Christopher Flanigan (~1988 idem – ).
- 2) William Arthur (26 Jul 1955 Barre, Washington, VT – ).
- 3) Thomas Mark (29 Jul 1956 idem – ) m. Mary Bruce D Ketchum (~1962 NY – ) and had 2 children: a) James Tredwell (4 Jun 1994 Randolph, Orange, VT – ); b) Catherine Bruce (10 Nov 1998 idem – ).
- 4) John Patrick (13 Jul 1958 Barre, Washington, VT – ).
- 5) James Howard (28 Mar 1960 idem – ) m. Rachel Li (~1963 Dallas, Dallas, TX – ) and had one child: Jameson (26 Dec 2000 idem – ).
- Edmund Francis (11 Jun 1917 Websterville, Washington, VT – 4 Jan 1926 Barre, Washington, VT). He died of dyphteria.
- Eloise Catherine (13 Aug 1918 Websterville, Washington, VT – 19 Feb 1992 Colchester, Chittenden, VT). She was an nun: sister of Mercy.
- Eugene Henry Donahue (9 Jan 1920 Websterville, Washington, VT – 23 Dec 2007 Amesbury, Essex, Mass.) m. Eleanor Griffin (1922 Barre, Washington, VT – 21 Jul 2013 NJ) and had 4 children: 1) John ( ? Providence RI – ); 2) Kathryn (~1954 idem); 3) James (~1956 idem) m. Marilyn (~1957 Killingsworth, Middlesex, CT – ) and had 3 children: Craig (? Killingsworth, Middlesex, CT – ), Gordon (? idem – ) and Erin (~1981 idem – ); 4) Mary (~1960 in Providence, Providence, RI – ) m. Seamus O’Neill (~1960 Amesbury, Essex, MA – ) and had 3 children: Danny (~1984 idem – ), Kathy (~1986 idem – ), and Libby (~1988 idem – ).
- Monica Rose (5 Aug 1922 Websterville, Washington, VT – 5 Feb 2000 Colorado Springs, El Paso, CO) m. Ray Tittes (1 Aug 1914 – 16 Mar 1994 iidem) on 10 Oct. 1947 in Denver County CO. They had 7 children:
- 1) Ray Timothy (26 Jun 1948 Denver, Denver, CO – ).
- 2) Eloise Kathleen (19 Sep 1951 idem – ) m. Charles Hansen on 11 Mar 1989 and had one child: Clay William (12 Mar 1989 – ).
- 3) Gary Richard (16 Oct 1953 idem – ) m. Debbie and had 2 children: John and Steve.
- 4) Mary Sue (2 Apr 1955 idem – ) m. Jerry Carter Hillman.
- 5) Michael Lee (11 Apr 1959 idem – ).
- 6) Patricia Gail (4 Nov 1961 idem – ) – ) m. Scott Brian Conry (1964 – ) on 7 Jul 1997 and had 2 children: Samantha Raye (31 Jan 1988 – ) and Shannon Nicole (20 Aug 1990 – ).
- 7) Kelly Evelyn (28 May 1964 idem – ) m. John Hollingsworth and had 2 children: Tyson John (11 Feb 1994 – ) and Jordan Rose (1 Jun 1997 – ).
- Richard Cahill (26 Sep 1923 Barre, Washington, VT – 4 Sep 1975 De Quincy, Calcasieu, LA);
- Margaret Cecelia (8 Dec 1925 Websterville, Washington, VT – ) m. John Frederick Bernard (6 Sep 1923 Wellesley, Mass. – ) on 15 Feb. 1951 and had 3 children.
- 1) Shelley (13 Oct 1953 Glenridge, NJ – ) m. Timo Kuussalo
(9 Feb 1946 Tampere, Finland – ) on 26 Sep 1978 in Hartford, CT (Divorced in 1999) and had 3 children: a) Allison (30 Nov 1980 – ) m. David Gottin; b) Kate (11 Apr 1983 – ) m. W.Derek Tronzo (8 Feb 1980 Louisville, Jefferson, KY – ) on 18 May 2007 in Louisville, Jefferson, KY. They had 2 children: W.Nathan (19 Oct 2005 idem – ) and Noah Graham (22 Aug 2011 KY – ); c) Graham (21 Jul 1987 in Louisville, Jefferson, KY – ).
- 2) Jay (25 Jul 1955 Princeton, Mercer, NJ – ) m. Joan and had one child: Lindsay (~ 1991 – 2013). He next married Shelley Conolly on 1 Dec. 2003.
- 3) Peter Boyce (24 Nov 1956 Princeton, Mercer, NJ – ) m. Heather.
b-John Owen Boyce (13 Aug 1886 Saint-Elzéar-de-Beauce – 19 Jan 1950 North Smithfield, Providence, RI), He married Annie Handfield but they had no children.
c- James Patrick Boyce (5 Jan 1888 St-Elzéar-de-Beauce – 5 Nov 1976 Seattle, King, WA) m. Marion Elizabeth Funk (27 Apr 1898 Monroe, Snohomish, WA – 22 Mar 1981 Seattle, King, WA) on 19 Jan 1925 in Monroe, Snohomish, WA. They had 3 children:
- Eileen Elizabeth (7 May 1926 Seattle, WA – 21 May 2002 Bainbridge Island, Kitsap, WA) m. Edwards John Stich (7 Jan 1921 Lake Stevens, Snohomish, WA – 23 Mar 1991 Seattle, King, WA) on 1 Sept 1948 in Seattle, WA. They had 5 children:
- 1) Kevin Nicholas (19 Sep 1949 Seattle, WA – ) m. Elizabeth Ann Johnston
(16 Jun 1960 Seattle, WA – ) on 4 Jul 1987 in Seattle, WA.
- 2) Brian Christopher (26 Sep 1950 Seattle, WA – ) m. Robyn Lee Opstad
(27 Jun 1954 Seattle, WA – ) on 7 Dec 1974 in Des Moines, King, WA and had 3 children: a) Garrett James (30 Sep 1978 Seattle, WA – 26 Jul 1988 Manzanita, Tillamook, OR); b) Megan Elise (12 May 1980 Seattle, WA – ) m. KJ Arnold
(~1980 Reno, Washoe, NV – ) on 22 May 2001 in Seattle, WA; c) Brianna Lee (13 Jan 1982 in Seattle, WA – ) m. Mark Hector Gonzalez (3 Aug 1970 El Paso, TX – ) on 12 Nov 2005 in Bexar TX and had 2 children: Aziza Alexandra (2010 TX – ) and Xavier Rion (12 Aug 2011 San Antonio, Bexar, TX – ).
- 3) Shawn Michael (10 Dec 1951 Seattle, WA – 24 Sep 2010 idem) m. Alice L Porter (21 Feb 1960 Seaside, Clatsop, OR -30 Jul 2004 in Seattle WA) on 21 Nov 1987 in Seatle WA.
- 4) Darrin Edward (12 Mar 1953 Seattle, WA – ) m. Nancy Fuda
~1952 Seattle, WA – ).
- 5) Maurine Francis (3 Feb 1961 Seattle, WA – ) m. Michael Robert Chamness
(21 Mar 1948 Sacramento, Cal. – ) on 2 Jun 1990 in Seattle WA and had one child: Merce Gabrielle Chamness-Stich (10 Jan 1994 Bainbridge Island, Kitsap, WA – ).
- Richard John Boyce (28 Nov 1928 Seattle, King, WA – ) m. Patricia Jane Hodgson
(7 Nov 1931 Washington, D.C. – ) on 14 Feb 1953 in Seattle King WA (divorced in 1975 in Seattle King WA). They had 8 children:
- 1) Jeffrey Carlton (5 Oct 1953 Myrtle Point, Coos, OR – ) m. Marilyn Sue Morton
(21 June 1953 Bremerton, Kitsap, WA – ) on 4 Aug 1979 in Mercer Island, King WA and had one child: Dylan Everett (18 Apr 1989 Seattle, WA – ).
- 2) Paul Gregory (25 Aug 1954 Seattle, King, WA – ) m. Cheryl Lou Pearson
(23 May 1952 Mount Vernon, Skagit, WA – ) on 8 Oct 1983 and had 2 children: Stefan William (12 Dec 1984 in Seattle, WA – ) and Mikaela Kara (4 Mar 1986 Seattle, WA – ).
- 3) Kathryn Philomena (30 Jul 1955 Seattle, WA – )
- 4) Patrick Joseph 30 Oct 1956 idem – ) m. Mary Disharoon (30 Jan 1954 Tacoma, Pierce, WA – ) on 19 Jul 1997 in Seattle and had one child: Daniel Disharoon-Boyce
(18 Apr 1978 in Tacoma , Pierce, WA – ).
- 5) Monica Louise (5 Dec 1957 Seattle, WA – ) m. Marcus Lehman (9 Nov 1954 Seattle, King, WA – ) on 17 Mar 1978 in Mercer Island, King WA (divorced in 1992) and had 3 children: a) Heather Karina (24 Jan 1979 Redmond, King, WA – ); b) Marcus Ian (22 Apr 1982 Seattle, WA – ) m. Brittnee Short (11 Mar 1986 Shoreline, King, WA – ) on 9 May 2007 in Shoreline, King, WA and had one child: Abigail Jayde (27 Dec 2008 Wenatchee, Chelan, WA – ); c) Rebekah Rae Danielle (30 Nov 1983 Burien, King, WA – ) m. Jon McKeefrey in 2001 (divorced in 2005) and had 2 children: Hannah Marie (4 Mar 2001 – ) and Sasha Ray (9 Nov 2003 – ).
- 6) Matthew Owen (22 Jan 1959 Bothell, King, WA – ) m. Lisa Kay Shore (11 Jun 1959 Seattle, WA – ) on 17 Aug 1979 in Seattle (divorced in 2006) and had 2 children: Maxwell Shore (14 Sep 1989 Bellevue, King, WA – ) and Haley Alexandra (28 Jun 1993 Bellevue, King, WA – ).
- 7) Michael Anthony (1 Sep 1961 Seattle, WA – ) m. Kimberly Suzan Handy (30 Aug 1963 in Detroit Mich. – ) on 24 May 1986 in Mercer Island, King, WA in a Lutheran church. They had 2 children: Michael Christopher (27 Aug 1987 Bellevue, King, WA – ) and Aaron Robert (12 Sep 1989 Seattle, WA – ).
- 8) Jennifer Ann (28 Aug 1963 Seattle, WA – ) m. Robert Bruce Miller II
(19 Dec 1958 NJ – ) on 17 Jan 1987 in Seattle WA (divorced in 2005) and had 2 children: Nicholas Alan (24 Nov 1988 Seattle, WA – ) and Alexa Marie (5 Sep 1992 Seattle, WA – ).
- William Henry Boyce (29 Feb 1932 Seattle, WA – 29 Oct 2013 idem) m. Sharon Anne Heib (18 Nov 1935 idem – ) on 4 Jun 1955 in Seattle, King WA and had 3 children:
- 1) Cynthia Ann (25 May 1956 in Seattle, WA – ).
- 2) Dale Alan (5 Sep 1959 Seattle,W – ) m. Heather Tyler (28 Mar 1962 Spokane, WA – ) on 14 Mar 1986 in Lynnwood, Snohomish, WA, and had 3 children: a) Jessica Christine (12 Feb 1983 Kirkland, King, WA – ) had one child: Payton James Boyce
(1 Oct 2001 Seattle, WA – ); b) Brianna Nicole (19 July 1987 Kirkland, King, WA – ) m. Kevin John Benn 12 Nov 1984 Snohomish County, WA – ) on 14 Aug 2010 in Bothell, King, WA; c) Rebecca Lynn (4 June 1990 Kirkland, King, WA – ) m. Kyle William Morris
(4 June1986 Redmond, WA – ) on 27 Jun 2008 in Everett, Snohomish, WA, and had one child: Jacquelyn Lauren (22 May 2009 Seattle, WA – ).
- 3) Keith Evan (8 Apr 1966 in Seattle, WA – ) m. Joni Irene Hoeft (1 Sep 1966 Goodhue, MN – ) on 27 July 1991 in Seattle, WA, had 2 children: a) Christian P (23 Sep 1995 Seattle, WA – ); b) Liam (2 Dec 1997 Seattle, WA – )
d- Bridget (13 Jan 1890 Saint-Elzéar, Beauce – Sep 1957 Larchmont, Westchester, NY). She remained single. She arrived in the USA in Aug 1896, together with her siblings and her parents, and was naturalized american citizen in 1902. She became an executive in a construction firm.
e- Michael Peter (16 Jul 1892 St-Elzéar-de-Beauce – 15 Nov 1895 idem). His godmother was Catherine Laughrea. On 13 Dec 1896, he was reburied in Barre VT
f- Catherine (22 Oct 1893 Saint-Elzéar-de-Beauce -19 Jul 1950 Hartford CT). She remained single for a long time, living with her widowed mother, but was considered married in 1950. Henry Joseph is father of James Edward Boyce and grandfather of Tom Boyce (1956-) from Barre, Vermont. The parents of Mary Goils (Jennie Cecilia) are James O’Connors and Rose Ann Burke.
g- William Thomas Sr (4 Jul 1895 St-Elzéar-de-Beauce – 7 Mar 1961 in Bayside, Queens, NY) m. Margaret Mary Porter (20 Feb 1900 in Boston, MA – Feb 1976 Flushing, Queens, NY) on 15 May 1924 in Jersey City, Hudson, NJ, and had 5 children:
- William Thomas Boyce, Jr (14 Mar 1925 in Somerville, Middlesex, MA – ) m. Elizabeth Florence Ullman (27 Aug 1926 in Bayside, Queens, NY – 01 Jul 2003 in Atlanta, Fulton, GA) on 23 Ap 1949 in Bayside, Queens, NY, and had 6 children:
- 1) Margaret ‘Peggy’ (20 Feb 1954 Bayside, Queens, NY – ) m. Murray Smith
~1953 Atlanta, Fulton, GA – ) in 1976 in Atlanta, Fulton, GA, and m.Allen Lang Moss
(11 Aug 1958 Lawrenceville, Gwinnett, GA – ) on 16 Feb. 1985 in Lawrenceville, Gwinnett, GA. She had 4 children: a) Margaret (13 Jan 1977 Atlanta, Fulton, GA – ); b) Melissa (6 Nov 1978 idem – ); c) Nicholas Allen (14 Aug 1985 in Lawrenceville, Gwinnett, GA – ); d) Michael David (4 Jun 1988 idem – ) ICI-ICI
- 2) Teresa ‘Terry’ Boyce
View relationship to me
Birth 25 May 1956 in Bayside, Queens, NY, had 3 children:
- 3) Daniel Gerard Boyce
View relationship to me
Birth 24 Feb 1959 in East Meadow, Nassau, NY, had 2 children:
- 4) Elizabeth Gerard Boyce
View relationship to me
Birth 08 Sep 1960 in Bayside, Queens, NY, had 3 children:
- 5) Gerard James Boyce
View relationship to me
Birth 22 Mar 1962 in Bayside, Queens, NY, had 2 children:
- 6) Ellen Gerard Boyce
View relationship to me
Birth 27 Oct 1963 in Bayside, Queens, NY, had 4 children:
- John D Boyce, Sr
Your 1st cousin 1x removed
Birth 14 Jan 1927 in Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA had 7 children:
- James Patrick Boyce
View relationship to me
Birth 04 Sep 1928 in Bayside, Queens, NY, USA
Death 12 Feb 1962 in Fulton, Clarke, GA,
- Mary Cecelia Boyce
View relationship to me
Birth 20 May 1930 in Bayside, Queens, NY,
- Ann Boyce
Your 1st cousin 1x removed
Birth 06 Aug 1936 in Bayside, Queens, NY, had 4 children:
h- Helen Margaret (20 Dec 1897 Websterville, Washington, VT – 9 Nov 1992 Reedsburg, Sauk, WI) m. Michael Joseph Campbell (8 Apr 1892 in Broughton, Québec – 28 Feb 1961 in West Hartford, Hartford, CT) on 14 Aug 1922 in Graniteville, Washington VT. They had one child: Joan L (11 Jul 1942 West Hartford, Hartford, CT – ). She m. George Donnie Oechsle
(9 Feb 1933 Louisville, Jefferson, KY – ) on 2 Apr 1940 in West Hartford, Hartford CT and had one child: Shane K (6 Aug 1970 – )
i- Henry Joseph (25 Feb 1902 Websterville, Washington VT – 20 May 1989 Berlin, Washington VT). He m. Laura Mary Murphy (8 Aug 1903 in Barre, Washington, VT -
15 Nov 2001 Berlin, Washington, VT) on 29 Jun 1925 in Barre, Washington, VT. They had 3 children:
- James Edward Boyce (20 Apr 1926 in Barre, Washington VT – 8 Jul 1984 Berlin, Washington, VT). He was an electical engineer.They had 7 children:
- Henrietta Mary Boyce (9 Aug 1929 in Barre, Washington, VT – ). They had 4 children:
- Henry Joseph Boyce Jr (9 Aug 1929 in Barre, Washington, VT – 12 Oct 1929 in Barre, Washington, VT).
7. James Boyce (1855-1935).J ames Boyce
Your great grand uncle
Birth 29 Sep 1853 in Saint-Elzéar-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada
Death 25 Mar 1935 in Websterville, Washington, Vermont, United States He was a retired, NH Cog railroad man and farmer.
8. William Henry Boyce (1 Nov 1855 in St Elzéar/La Nouvelle-de-Beauce, Québec – 4 Feb 1856 in St Elzéar/La Nouvelle-de-Beauce, Québec),
9. Susan, or Big Susan Boyce (1856-1933).29 Dec 1856 in Saint-Elzéar-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada
Death 07 Jun 1933 in Websterville, Washington, VT Her godfather was Bernard Loughry and her godmother was Anna Loughry. Susan Boyce married James O’Connor. Her cousin, Susan Boyce married Patrick O’Connor. Thus, there were two Susan Boyce O’Connors in the family. In an effort to tell the two apart from one another the family called the taller of the two Susans, “Big Susan.” She arrived in Vermont around 1891They had 6 children:
a- Joseph William James O’Connor
Your 1st cousin 2x removed
Birth 02 Dec 1883 in St Severin, Beauce, Quebec, Canada
Death Mar 1928 in New Haven, New Haven, CT
b- Peter O’Connor
Your 1st cousin 2x removed
Birth 27 Apr 1885 in Saint Séverin, Beauce, Québec, Canada
Death 27 Apr 1947 in East Barre, Washington, Vermont, They had 6 children:
- Mildred Evelyn O’Connor
View relationship to me
Birth 07 Sep 1912 in Barre, Washington, VT, USA
Death 26 Oct 1995 in Berlin, Washington, VT They had 2 children:
- Lawrence Nye O’Connor
Your 2nd cousin 1x removed
Birth 16 Dec 1915 in East Barre, Washington, Vermont, United States
Death 26 Sep 1999 in Berlin, Washington, Vermont They had 6 children:
- Clifford Boyce O’Connor
View relationship to me
Birth 19 Sep 1919 in East Barre, Washington, VT, USA
Death 10 Aug 1990 in Northampton, Hampden, MA They had 4 children:
- Bernard Wendel O’Connor
Your 2nd cousin 1x removed
Birth 21 Oct 1921 in East Barre, Washington, Vermont, United States
Death 08 Jul 1944 in Florence, Italy
- Cecelia Edna O’Connor
View relationship to me
Birth 29 Sep 1924 in Websterville, Washington, VT, USA
Death 25 Sep 2004 in Barre, Washington, VT, They had 4 children:
- 1) Chauncey Augustus Liese
View relationship to me
Birth 27 Jul 1952 in Barre, Washington, VT, They had 2 children:
- 2) Audrey Liese
View relationship to me
Birth 1956 in Barre, Washington, VT, They had one child:
- 3) Lawrence Liese
View relationship to me
Birth 1957 in Barre, Washington, VT,
- 4) Geralyn Edna Liese
View relationship to me
Birth 22 Jan 1959 in Barre, Washington, Vermont They had 2 children:
- Helen Lucille O’Connor
Your 2nd cousin 1x removed
Birth 02 Apr 1927 in Websterville, Washington, Vermont, United States
Death 02 Jan 2013 in Plattsburg, Clinton, New York They had 6 children:
- 1) Joan Donahue. They had 3 children:
- 2) Kathleen Donahue. They had 2 children:
- 3) Mark Donahue
- 4) Martin Donahue
- 5) Miles Donahue They had one child:
- 6) Susan Donahue They had one child:
c- Mary Helene O’Connor
View relationship to me
Birth 07 Apr 1887 in St-Séverin-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada
Death 29 Aug 1967 in Old Saybrook, Middlesex, Connecticut, They had 5 children:
d- John O’Connor
Your 1st cousin 2x removed
Birth 10 Aug 1888 in Websterville, Washington, Vermont, United States
Death 25 Jan 1892 in Websterville, Washington, Vermont,
e- Anna Rose (Annie) O’Connor
Your 1st cousin 2x removed
Birth 25 Sep 1892 in Websterville, Washington, Vermont, United States
Death 16 Dec 1983 in Colchester, Chittenden, VT they had 9 children:
f- Margaret Katherine O’Connor
Your 1st cousin 2x removed
Birth 25 Jun 1895 in Websterville, Washington, VT, USA
Death Dec 1971 in New Haven, New Haven, CT, They had 3 children:
10. Bridget Boyce (1859-1876). 03 May 1859 in Saint-Elzéar-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada
Death 13 Jan 1877 in Saint-Elzéar-de-Linière, Beauce, Québec. She died of “accidental drowning by suspicious means”.
11. Peter E. Boyce (26 Jun 1864 in Saint-Elzéar-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada
Death 04 Aug 1922 in Monroe, Snohomish, Washington). Peter had 2 children: Catherine, who died at the age of 3, and Eugene, who lived in California. “Peter E. became a famous and highly successful placer miner during the Yukon and Nome, Alaska Gold Rushes. He, along with his brother Patrick A. Boyce, purchased vast tracts of land in Snohomish and Monroe, Washington, and lived very wealthy lives. ” (Tom Boyce) They had 2 children:
a- Catherine Genevieve (Geneva) Boyce
Your 1st cousin 2x removed
Birth 05 Nov 1893 in Snohomish, Snohomish, Washington, United States
Death 22 Nov 1896 in Fresno, Fresno, California,
b- Eugene Patrick Boyce
Your 1st cousin 2x removed
Birth 07 Mar 1895 in Monroe, Snohomish, Washington, United States
Death 29 Oct 1980 in Fresno, Fresno, California
b) James Loughery (1826 – Dec. 9 1889 in Whitefield NH) married Ann Gallagher (1833 – 25 Oct. 1883 in S. Séverin) on Feb. 22 1848 in St. Sylvestre. She is the daughter of James Gallagher and Mary Martin. Ann may be related to Francis Gallagher or heirs Gallagher: both are Patrick’s neighbors on Fermanagah range. In 1854-1858, James had 4 children and was living on lot 4 of Monaghan range of St. Sylvestre, i.e. probably adjacent to Patrick’s lot, which was the 5th of Monaghan range. In 1861 he was living in a 1 story frame house, whereas Patrick’s was a log house. In 1882, James Laughrey owned lot 245 of Killarney range. This lot starts half-way up the western slope of Tara Mountain, at 1400 vertical feet, just after an affluent of the Beaurivage splits into two tributaries, and ends at an altitude of 1675 feet. James’ farm includes much of the course of the two tributaries. Going from West to East, lot 245 is the third of Killarney range, after those of Francis Travers and John O’Farrel.
James moved to Whitefield NH at a time likely to be around 1883-1888: his daughter Anne died in S. Séverin in 1880, he was not located on the 1881 census, but his wife died in S. Séverin in 1883 and two of his children died in S. Séverin in 1885 and 1888 at the ages of 30 and 23 respectively. For example, widower James may have moved to Whitefield in 1886-1888 together with his son Michael (1860), his daughter Bridget (1867/1868), and his widowed step mother Mary, while Susan (1862) chose to marry in 1888 and stay in S. Séverin. The railroad reached East-Broughton in 1879 (12) and James’ brother Owen moved to the Whitefield region in 1881. According to the tombstone of the S. Matthews catholic cemetery, Dalton Road/Route 142 just outside Whitefield, James was born in 1821. He and Ann had 8 children and an unknown number of grandchildren:
1. Mary (Jan. 4 1850 in St. Sylvestre – Ap. 10 1876 in St. Séverin). She married John Harny, or Hanney, at Lévis on Sept. 16 1875. She is most likely the mother of Sara-Ann (March 5 1876 in S. Séverin-1876), who is presently attributed to Mary (1833-?).
2. James (1852 in St. Elzéar -). Sponsors were Owen Boyce and Bridget Laughrey.
3. Patrick (1855 in St. Sylvestre – Sept. 26 1885 in St. Séverin).
4. Anne (May 2 1857 in S. Sylvestre – Oct. 18 1880 in St. Séverin). During 1874-1875 and 1884-1885, a very large number of children and young adults died of epidemic diseases in S. Séverin; Mary, Patrick and Anne may have been such victims.
5. Michael Laughery (Sept. 23 1860 in S. Sylvestre -). He married Lizzie Longway (1870 in Jefferson Nh – ?) on Sept. 21 1890 in Bartlett NH, in the White Mountains. Lizzie’s parents are David Longway and Mary McCormett. A Michael Laughery lived on Beech Hill Road, Bethlehem NH near the house of Owen Loughrea, in 1910. Michael’s cousin Michael Laughery (1866-1944), son of Bernard, lived in Lancaster NH from 1920, or earlier, to 1944. Thus two Michael Laughery, grandsons of Patrick, may have lived in New Hampshire in the 1920s.
6. Susan (March 12 1862 in S. Sylvestre - Nov. 23 1936 in S. Sylvestre). She married Edward Gallagher (1852 – 25 jan. 1927) on Sept. 18 1888 in St. Séverin. Edward, widower of Ann Sheridan, is the son of Francis Gallagher (1812-18 Feb. 1908) and Ellen Mullavey, who married on Feb. 8 1847. Francis lived on Fermanagah range in front of Patrick Loughry, and is the son of Hugh Gallagher and Rose Travers. Hugh Gallagher owned two lots at the corner of Ste Marguerite Road (opened in 1852-1853) and chemin Ste Marie. The other children of Francis and Ellen were: Mary (1848- Jan. 7 1908), married to Bernard Begley, Ellen (1851-?), John, Hugh, Francis (all 3 remained single and died in 1943, 1929 and 19323), Elizabeth, married to Francis Donahue on Feb. 27 1900, and Rose. It is conceivable that Susan lived her married life on Fermanagah range, which is in S. Sylvestre. In 2013, an 81 year-old land owner of Fermanagah told me that Gallaghers had lived there. Edward and Susan may even be cousins. If Ellen and Elanore are interchangeable, Ellen Mullavey may be the aunt of Margaret Mullavey, wife of Owen Loughrea, i.e. Susan might be married to the cousin of Margaret Mullavey. We know that Edward Mullavey (1815-), father of Margaret Mullavey (1838-1870), had a sister called Eleanor (1825/1826-).
7. John (March 1 1864 – 1888, in St. Séverin). There was an epidemy of diphteria in 1889-1890 in St. Pierre de Broughton. Perhaps this explains the death of John, James and Bridget in 1888, 1889 and 1890.
8. Bridget (1867/1868 – Dec. 6 1890, in Whitefield, NH). Her godparents were Francis Travers and Mary Gallagher. Francis Travers was the second neighbor of James on Killarney range. She married Thomas Mulhebin and is buried next to her father James in the Whitefield cemetery (there is a tombstone).
c) Mary Laughery (1833-?) was born on Nov. 24 1833 and baptised on Dec. 1 1833 in S. Sylvestre according to Lavon Brown. Her sponsor was her uncle Edward Patton and (his wife?) Susan McAuley. This baptismal record may represent the earliest appearance of Patrick Loughry in Canadian records, Loughry becoming the first Canadian recorded spelling. Mary married Lewis Cowan on May 20 1851 in S. Elzéar (she was 17!) and John Harny on May 20 1861 in St. Elzéar. James Loughery and John Boyce were the witnesses at her first marriage. John Boyce was described as “friend of Mary” while he was probably the husband of Bridget Loughrey. Lewis Cowan was witness at the marriage of Catherine Laughry in 1855. He presumably died some time between 1855 and 1861. He is the son of Felix Cowan and Mary Letter. In 1878 the farm of John Harny faced that of my great-grandfather BERNARD (1834-1914). It covered both sides of the beautiful and crystal clear East Palmer River; its southern border is the route des Laughrea, also called “route Laughrea”. Both farms are in Leeds East, which later united with West Brougthon to become St. Pierre de Broughton. John Harny and Mary Laughery were living in S. Séverin in March 1873; they might have moved to the Leeds lot at about the same time as Bernard. Two brothers of John Harny were Patrick (1843-) and William (1845-). Both married in St. Sylvestre in 1873. Mary Laughery had 3 children and an unknown number of grandchildren:
1. Patrick Harny (1867-). Patrick Harny was mayor of Leeds East from 1903-1908 and from 1919 to 1923. A Patrick Harny sold the farm of John Harny in 1945.
2. Thomas Harny (1869 -). Thomas Harny was president of the school commission in 1905. Thomas Harny is recorded as owner of the farm around 1888. Maybe Patrick inherited the farm after the death of Thomas.
3. Sara Ann Harny (March 5 1876 in S. Séverin – 1876 ([Aug. 10 1876 according to one source]). She is more likely the daughter of Mary (1850- Ap. 10 1876 in S. Séverin), who married John Harny in Lévis in Sept. 16 1875. This would explain the early death of Mary (1850-), but mean that she gave birth 6 months after marrying… On the other hand, how likely was Mary (1833-?) to give birth at 43 years of age after a childless first marriage, a second marriage which took 5 years to produce a first child and which was childless for 6 years after the birth of Thomas?
d) Owen Loughrea (1831 – June 24 1918 in Boston) married Margaret Mullavey (22 Dec. 1838 – 27 april 1870 in St. Patrice section of S. Sylvestre) on Aug. 25 1856 in St. Sylvestre, and Ann Haughey (or Haughery, Haughrey, Laughrey) (1833 – 1913) on Nov. 27 1871 in S. Patrice (20). Ann is the daughter of Daniel Laughrey and Ann Reid from S. Sylvestre, creating uncertainties as to her exact family name.The parish and municipality of S. Patrice were created on Oct. 2 1871 and June 6 1872, respectively: this is why Michael was born in 1870 in S. Sylvestre and died in 1873 in S. Patrice. In 1876, Owen was listed as living in S. Patrice and owning two lots on its Belfast range. The lots of Belfast range were first purchased for the purpose of colonization between 1829 and 1835. Belfast Road was opened sometime between 1840 and 1862. Owen most likely lived during 1856 to 1881 in a section of S. Sylvestre that became S. Patrice in 1872. Owen was recorded as a mechanic living in S. Sylvestre in a 1 story log house in 1861; living in his household was James Patton (1843-), Patrick (1844) and Ann, i.e. his brother Patrick and his sister Ann (1839). The second marriage of Patrick (1800-1886) with a woman with 3 children of her own, aged 9, 8 and 5 in 1861, might have prompted Patrick, Ann and James Patton to move from Patrick’s house to Owen’s between 1858 and 1861. This way, Patrick (1800-1886) would have only his new wife and her children at home. Patrick (1844/1846-1895) might have taken care of Owen’s second lot and Ann might have helped Margaret with household duties. Owen is recorded as a widower living in S. Sylvestre in 1871; occupation: postmaster/storekeeper. Owen and Ann moved to New Hampshire in 1881 (12), seemingly after 2 or 3 of their sons had already moved there in 1875 or 1876. In 1900, Owen and Ann were living on Bethlehem Hollow Road, near the start of Beech Hill Road (now called River Road), in Bethlehem NH; Owen was a day laborer. He was naturalised american citizen on oct. 31 1890 in Bethlehem. In the 1910 census, Owen and Ann are both listed as aged 80 and 77; Owen is then retired.
Owen Loughrea was residing on 21 Gibson street in Medford when he died of arteriosclerosis on June 24 1918. Medford is a Boston suburb crossed by Highway 93. He is buried in New Cavalry cemetery in Boston. His son Daniel claimed that Owen was 94, suggesting that he was born in 1824. Most likely, he was born between 1829 and 1831.
Margaret Mullavey is the daughter of Edward Mullavey (1815 in Ireland- Nov. 5 1889 in St. Patrice) and Catherine Purcell. Edward Mullavey is the son of Neil Mullavey (1787 in Ireland- Feb. 21 1859 in S. Sylvestre) and Elenore McCaffrey (1788/1792 in Ireland- May 28 1862 in S. Sylvestre). Both were already in Quebec in 1826. The siblings of Edward are Michael (1810- July 1850 by accidental drowning, S. Patrice), Honorah (1813- Ap. 2 1897 in S. Patrice), John (1816-), Eleanor (1825/1826-), Neil (1826/1827, and James (May 6 1830-). Owen L. had 6 children (5 from Margaret and 1 from Ann), at least 11 grandchildren, at least 6 great-grandchildren and at least 4 g.-g.-grandchildren:
1. Patrick (23 oct. 1857 in St. Sylvestre – ?). He moved to Bethlehem NH in 1876, according to the 1900 census and made a 2nd move before 1894 to Chippewa Falls WI. His occupation was lumberman in 1895 and day laborer in 1900. He married Isabella McGee (June 1869 in Quebec-) on Nov. 27 1894 in Chippewa Falls and was living there in 1900. They had 5 children:
a- Mary Anna (Nov. 5 or 28 1895-);
b- Francis Edward (Feb. 15 1898-1955). He married Laura Paddon (1900-1968). They had two chidren: Jean (1926-) and Donald (1934-) who lived in Minnesota. According to another source, they had three children [Jean, Edward (1928-) and James (1934-)] while Robert (1907-), married to Celia Geiger, had two children (Donald and Robert).
c- Wilfred (1900-),Mildred K. (1904-);
d- Robert (1907-).
Isabella’s parents were Michael McGee (Sept. 1823 in Ireland- between 1900 and 1910) and Annie Hearn; her siblings were Catherine (March 1867 in Quebec-) and Edward (May 1869 in Quebec-). Michael, Annie, Catherine, Isabella and Edward moved to the USA in 1882.
2. Edward (20 Aug. 1859 in S. Sylvestre – ?). He married Katherine McHugh (Dec. 1867 in Wisconsin-) around 1890 in Chippewa Falls. They had 5 children:
a- Lillian (March 1891-).
b- Hazel (Aug. 1893-).
c- Cecile (Nov. 22 1897- May 1983 Chippewa Falls). She did not marry.
d- Edward (July 11 1902-Jan. 10 1955 Chippewa Falls). He married Mildred Inga Nelson (March 2 1915-Dec. 3 1984 Chippewa Falls). They had 4 children:
- Edward Joseph (March 15 1943-July 13 1999). He did not marry.
- Maureen (Ap. 5 1944-). Maureen married George White. They had two children: Renée (March 29 1963-) and Jeffrey (Sept. 05 1967-).
- Sharon Lucille (June 5 1946-). Sharon Lucille married Richard Thomas. They have one child: Michael (Sept. 23 1980-).
- Michael Owen Loughrea (Dec. 19 1947 in Chippewa Falls – ), who lives in Topeka KS since around 1976. He married Sharon Irene Laird (Nov. 26 1951 in Chippewa Falls -). They have one daughter, Karen (Sept. 30 1971-). Karen has 2 daughters and 1 son: Maci (Jan. 21 1993-), Lauren (2006-) and Ethan (2007-).
e- Bernice (Ap. 17 1904-July 1984 Chippewa Falls). She did not marry.
3. Mary (Nov. 7 1864- March 5 1866).
4. John Loughrey (16 march 1868 in S. Sylvestre -). In the 1900 census, he is recorded as having moved to Bethlehem NH in 1875. He was 7 years old! Owen lost his wife in 1870, leaving him with 4 children aged 9 days, 2 year, 10 years and 12 years. 19 months later, he married Ann (1833) who was already 38 years old. 12 months later Ann gave birth to Joseph Daniel (1872). 5 months later her stepson Michael (1870) died at the age of 2 years and 11 months. The surviving stepsons were then 5, 13 and 15 years old. Under these possibly stressful circumstances, they may have been eager to strike it on their own as soon as possible, which they seem to have done 2 to 3 years later. In other words, I propose that Edward (1859) and John (1868) moved to NH together with Patrick (1857) in 1875 or 1876. The fact that Patrick and Edward later moved at the same time to Wisconsin in the 1890s is consistent with having moved together to NH previously. Thus, Ann (1833) would have been without any stepchildren at home as soon as her son Joseph Daniel was 3 or 4 years old.
5. Michael (April 18 1870 in S. Sylvestre – April 15 1873 in S. Patrice). His mother died 9 days after the birth. Ann married 3 months later.
6. Joseph Daniel (14 Nov. 1872 in St. Patrice – 1938 in Boston). Daniel was living in Franklin, Merricmack County, NH in 1900, where he probably met his wife Elizabeth Maloney, and in Boston in 1917, at which date he was drafted for WWI. He was living on 20 Kimball street, Boston, in 1909 and on 349 Columbus ave, Boston, in 1918, at which time he was a conductor. He married Elizabeth Maloney, a singer, on May 6 1909. She was 30 and he was 36. Elizabeth was born in 1879 in Franklin NH; she is the daughter of John Maloney and Mary Garety. A Daniel Loughrea had a daughter Annie M. born on April 8 1897 in West Lebanon, NH.
e) Catherine Laughry (1833 “at sea” – 1908). She was born “at sea” according to her children Susan and Thomas. Tom Boyce has Nov. 1833 baptismal records suggesting that she was born several days or weeks earlier. Thus the Loughry family may have landed from Ireland during fall 1833. Birth dates for Mary and Catherine need to be harmonised. Could it be that Catherine was born in 1832? Catherine married Thomas McGee (1831 or 1837 – Oct. 6 1902 in S. Séverin) in St. Elzéar on Nov. 6 1855. Thomas is the son of Willam McGee and Bridget Monahan. Witnesses at the wedding were Bernard Loughry and Lewis Cowan (first husband of Mary Laughery). Lewis Cowan was described as “friend of Catherine and of Bernard Laughrey”. At the time of the wedding, Thomas McGee was living in S. Sylvestre and Catherine in S. Elzéar; Thomas was further more described as “minor”, suggesting that he was born after Nov. 6 1837. Catherine was living in S. Sylvestre in 1861 and St. Séverin in 1881 (possibly on same lot); she was very likely to be living in S. Séverin in 1902. On range 12, a John McGee lived in S. Sylvestre two farms North of that of Bernard Laughrea, i.e. between Bernard’s farm and the East Palmer River; a James McKee lived 2 farms South of that of Bernard, i.e. on what will later become John Laughrea’s farm; and a Henry McKee lived 3 farms South of that of Bernard. Thomas McGee is the son of William McGee and Bridget Monahan (?- 26 Aug. 1884 in S. Séverin). Catherine had 10 children and at least 4 grandchildren:
1. William McGee (1859-).
2. James McGee (1859-)
3. Susan McGee (1860 – 26 dec. 1935 in Littleton NH). She married Frank D. Glidden and lived in Jefferson NH during at least the period 1888-1930. Jefferson is 12 km East of Whitefield and Bethlehem, where her uncles and aunts James, Owen, Patrick, Margaret and Peter had moved in the late 19th century. Susan and Frank owned the only grocery store in town. They lived on Main Street, probably above the store, and had one child: Ethel Mary (Mar 23 1888 in Jefferson – Jan 1985 in Littleton, NH). Ethel married Austin J. Bedell on 24 April 1908, and they raised several children, including Edward A. (1905-1935), Margaret, Clayton, Calvin and Marion (or Marian).The Bedells lived in Whitefield, NH, and they owned an auto garage. Austin Bedell and his son Clayton were mechanics in the business and Ethel was the bookkeeper. One child of Edward is David B. Bedell (1932- March 2013). He was born in Jefferson, NH, married and lived in Lancaster, NH, and died at 80 years of age while commuting between Florida and New Hampshire as a snowbird. Survivors of David B Bedell are a son named Richard and two granddaughters named Kaiden and Emerson.
4. Bridget McGee (1863-)
5. Patrick McGee (1865-)
6. Anny McGee (1866-)
7. Michael McGee (1868-). He married Mary Couture on Oct. 17 1893 in S. Séverin. They had at least 3 children:
a- Catherine (21 Dec. 1894 in S. Séverin).
b- Freddie (18 oct. 1896 in S. Séverin), who married Elzire Labbé on March 27 1923 in S. Séverin.
c- Delina (11 June 1899 in S. Séverin).
8. Thomas McGee (1870 in S. Sylvestre-). In 1930, he was living with Susan L. and Frank Glidden in Jefferson NH.
9. Catherine McGee (1872 in S. Séverin -).
10. John McGee (28 Jan. 1875 in St. Séverin -1926, S. Pierre de Broughton).
f) BERNARD Laughrea (1834 – Aug. 23 1914 in S. Pierre de Broughton) married Cecilia Sullivan (1841-1901 in S. Pierre de Broughton) on Nov. 23 1858 in S. Elzéar, 10 months after his father Patrick married again. Cecilia was 17 and described as “minor” in the marriage documents. Bernard was born on Dec. 3 1835 according to Lavon Brown. He was living in S. Elzéar in 1866 and 1871, and in S. Séverin in 1873 (where James was born). It seems likely that Bernard lived in an area of S. Elzéar near Patrick’s lot from 1858 to 1873-1874 (maybe adjacent S. André range? maybe even Patrick’s original lot, Patrick having hypothetically moved to the lot of Mary McGown-Mahoney in 1858), by which time his S. Elzéar lot had become part of S. Séverin. Bernard moved to lot 18b of 12th range of Leeds township (21) between May 7 1873 and June 27 1875, because James was born in S. Séverin and Peter in S. Pierre de Broughton. Lot 18b is located between the East Palmer River (22) and the Palmer River, and near their junction; it starts at an altitude of 1000 feet and ends at an altitude of 1500 feet; the house was built at an altitude of 1100 feet. Bernard lived on this lot until his death in 1914. His bachelor children Tom and Pete lived there at least from 1914 until their death in the mid 1960s. Without the extension, his house had a basement for food storage, 5 rooms on the ground floor, 4 rooms on the second floor and a porch as wide as the whole house. The one-floor extension, about 12 feet deep by 18 feet wide, served various storage purposes: wood, tools, etc. The extension was built or finished by JOHN in 1890 (the initials “J L 1890″ are carved on its door). The house stayed in relatively good shape because my father Patrick (1920-1991) made essential preservative renovations in the early 1970s. But by 2013 the extension and the porch were gone, as well as much of the clapboard sidings of the first floor.
“Route des Laughrea“ extends from the 15th range Road of Leeds East to the 12th range Road of Leeds East, enters lot 18b (18a on Steve Cameron’s map) 20 m above the entrance path to Bernard’s house and exit lot 18b at the bottom of the hill. From the 12th range towards the North-West, route “des Laughrea” becomes “de la Mine” (now “des Erablières”) until Craig’s Road (Route 269), and “de Ste-Agathe” from Craig’s Road to Ste-Agathe de Lotbinière. The whole road, originally built to link Ste-Agathe to Harvey Hill mine at the 15th range, was first called “chemin des Mines” and next, until the 1950′s, “rang des Irlandais” (23). This road was the first area of Ste-Agathe to be developed. It was probably built in the 1820′s or 1830′s.
Bernard was Leeds East city councillor in 1893. Bernard and Cecilia had 9 children from 1860 to 1877 (see below). He is buried in St. Pierre de Broughton (West Broughton); the white tombstone is near the parking lot, its back side facing the Palmer River. All Laughreas in the world descend from Bernard Laughrea, as far as we know.
The parents of Cecilia Sullivan are John Sullivan (1811- 3 Nov. 1892), from Wexford, Ireland, and Mary Prendergast (1811- 3 Jan. or July 1874 in S. Sylvestre) (19). Cecilia’s sister, Mary, had 13 children with Michael Boyce (? -? in S. Sylvestre) (17). A Michael Boyce (or Boyle) was living on St-Paul range; he had the 7th farm East of Thomas Harny. But remember that Michael Boyce (?-? in S. Sylvestre) had 2 cousins of the same name: Michael Boyce (1833-1925) (16) and Michael Boyce (1846-). Lore has it that Cecilia weighted 380 pounds at the time of her death and that a door had to be forced to let her body through.
Here is an intriguing hypothesis: father Patrick and son Bernard switched houses upon their marriages. This is supported by the following facts. 1) Patrick and Bernard got married in the same year (1858), Bernard marrying for the first time in S. Elzéar and Patrick marrying a Mahoney widow in S. Sylvestre, as if the widow was living in S. Sylvestre in 1858; 2) Patrick lived in S. Elzéar in 1854, 1856 but in S. Sylvestre in 1861 and 1871, while Bernard still lived in S. Elzéar in 1871; 3) both Patrick and Bernard lived in S. Séverin in 1873. I propose that Patrick chose to move into the Mahoney house in 1858 and lend his own house to Bernard upon his marriage. This fits the fact that the S. Sylvestre home of Patrick became part of S. Séverin in 1873, but requires verifying that the S. Elzéar home of Bernard was in a part of S. Elzéar that got annexed to S. Séverin in 1873. It is known that S. Sylvestre and S. Elzéar lost land to the benefit of S. Séverin at the creation of S. Séverin on 22 Jan. 1873.
g) Ann Laughrey (Jan. 23 1839 – 3 May 1925 in Rutland Vermont). Her sponsors were John and Mary Boyce. She was not listed with Patrick in 1861; she is most likely the Ann living with Owen at that time. Ann married James Gould on July 26 1870 in St. Sylvestre. They had at least 3 children and an unknown number of grandchildren: Ann, born on Sept., 10 1873 in S. Séverin, and at least 2 sons, born outside S. Séverin, who fought in World War I (I am assuming that they died but this remains to be checked) and whose names are recognized on a stone statue in the middle of Rutland (located at the town offices). James Gould sold his farm on 14 Aug. 1873 or 21 Dec. 1874 . Soon thereafter, they moved to West Rutland, VT. Rutland grew tremendously during the 1850s, 1860s and 1870s. Third largest city in Vermont, it is known for its marble quarries.
James and Mary Gould are two children of William Gould (1800-Oct. 26 1858, Leeds protestant cemetery) and Margaret Mitchell (?-June 1 1871). Mary married Michael Boyce (1833 in St. Sylvestre – 1925 in St. Sylvestre) on 29 Jan. 1862 in St. Sylvestre. Michael, son of Patrick Boyce and Alice Heynes, is thus the nephew of Bridget Loughrey, as his 2 other cousins named Michael Boyce.
William Gould and Margaret Mitchell (24) were married on 4 Oct. 1833 in Leeds (St. Jacques de Leeds). It is claimed that Margaret Mitchell poisoned William after he refused, yet again, to have the children baptized as Catholics. James Gould or more plausibly his mother Margaret donated land to build the church of S. Séverin, which was consecrated on 26 June 1877. Presumably, James Gould, who had married Ann Laughrey 10 months before Margaret died, inherited the Margaret Mitchell farm minus the space alloted for the S. Séverin church, sold everything 1 or 2 years later and moved to Vermont, leaving some with the impression that the gift was his.
h) Michael (Feb. 11 1841 in Leeds – Feb. 14 1841). Why Leeds? Another source says S. Elzéar. His godparents were Lawrence and Susan McElroy.
i) Patrick (1844/1846 – Nov. 24 1895). He owned or tended a farm near Owen’s in 1871 in S. Sylvestre. It became part of S. Patrice in 1872. He died in Whitefield NH from accidental drowning.
j) Margaret (Nov. 28 1858 – after 1944, living in S. Séverin in 1891). She was born less than 10 months after her father married Mary McGown. Her godparents were William Crawford and Rosa Quinn. A Margaret Loughery lived in Whitefield NH. Cecilia Laughrea (1870-1963) visited “aunt Maggie” in Lancaster in 1945. Margaret (Nov. 28 1858 – after 1944) was indeed the aunt of Cecilia, and Lancaster NH is next to Whitefield. This is where Michael Laughrea (1866-1944), brother of Cecilia, lived for many years, and died in 1944.
k) Peter Laughery (Feb. 16 1861 in St. Sylvestre – Aug. 20 1941 in Whitefield NH). He married Catherine (Kate) Gormley (1865 in S. Sylvestre- ?). A James Gormley lived along Fermanagah North Road, near the Beaurivage River. Peter Loughery was living in S. Séverin in 1881, but not in 1891. He lived on Brown street, Whitefield NH for 30 years. One of his occupations was railroad section man. He was a boarding house keeper in 1899. Since he and Kate G. had 4 children who were all born in Whitefield NH, Peter must have lived in Whitefield from the late 1880s to 1941. Perhaps Peter and sister Margaret lived in the same house. His children all died rather young and without progeny:
1. Annie Marguerite Laughrey (Sept.15 1899 in Whitefield-?).
2. William (1893 in Whitefield – March 29 1925 of tuberculosis).
3. Allen (July 31 1898- March 20 1921 of pulmonary tuberculosis).
4. Lawrence (1905-Aug. 18 1921 of meningitis and anemia).
l) Helen (March 25 1863 in S. Sylvestre -). She married James Monaghan in S. Séverin on Oct. 25 1887. Her witness was Frank Loughry. James is the son of Patrick Monaghan and Elizabeth McKervey (McGregy) of Cheboygan MI. In 1876, Patrick Monaghan, Michael Monaghan and Thomas Monaghan owned lots in S. John range of S. Sylvestre; a James Monaghan owned lots 685/686 at the North end of Ste Catherine range in S. Sylvestre; a Patrick Monaghan and heirs Monaghan owned the two northernmost S. Séverin lots of Ste Marguerite range, which next enters S. Sylvestre. Their farms abutted Fermanagah range on the East and touched the corner of Monaghan range; they were the 4th neighbors of Patrick Loughry. These farms, located on the West side of the Beaurivage River, started at 1300 feet in altitude on the Eastern slope of Mount Ste Marguerite and ended up at 2000 feet in altitude, near the top of Mount Ste Marguerite (22). Ste Catherine range is immediately West of Ste Marguerite range and in S. Sylvestre; it is located on the Western slope of Mount Ste Marguerite and is bordered by Leeds East at the South end and S. Séverin on the East.
m) Joseph (1864-). He lived in S. Séverin in 1891.
n) Eliza (Liza, Elisabeth) (Feb. 25 1866 in S. Sylvestre-). She lived in S. Séverin in 1881 but was not listed in 1891. Was she married by then?
o) Frank (Francis) (Sept. 7 1868 in S. Sylvestre-). He lived in S. Séverin in 1891. The 4 siblings Frank, Joseph, Bridget (Mahoney), Martin (Mahoney), and their mother Mary McGown all lived in S. Séverin in 1891. Censuses for 1901 and 1911 remain to be “mined”.
- – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – -
4) Generation four. BERNARD Laughrea (1834-Aug. 26 1914) and Cecilia Sullivan (1841- Nov. 7 1901) (19) had 9 children from 1860 to 1877: John, Patrick, Mary, Michael, Thomas, Cecilia, James, Peter and Ellen. BERNARD and Cecilia also had 25 grandchildren, at least 41 great-grandchildren and at least 75 g.-g.-grandchildren. Of the 25 grandchildren of BERNARD and Cecilia, 17 were born between 1895 and 1920; we have yet to find the years of birth for the 8 others. The 8 children of known lifespan of BERNARD and Cecilia died at 88 years of age on average: 86 (John), 92 (Patrick), 84 (Mary), 78 (Michael), 98 (Thomas), 93 (Cecilia), 84 (James) and 89 (Peter). One source gives 13 dec. 1835 and 16 jan. 1836 as birth dates for Bernard and Cecilia.
a) JOHN Laughrea (Ap. 2 1860 in S. Elzéar – Aug. 14 1946 in Thetford-Mines), my grandfather. His Godparents were James Laughrey and his wife Ann Gallagher. JOHN and siblings Mary (1964), Michael (1866) and Cecilia (1870) were not listed in the 1891 census, as opposed to siblings Thomas (1868), James (1873), Peter (1875) and Ellen (1877). It is known that JOHN spent quite a bit of time in the USA before marrying Lydia Cyr (June 21 1880 – Oct. 26 1977) (25) in S. Pierre de Broughton on June 10 1906, at the age of 46. JOHN was president of the Leeds East school board from 1910 to 1915. BERNARD, Patrick and JOHN had adjacent farms on the Palmer side of the hill separating the East Palmer River from the Palmer river. “Route des Laughrea” crosses each of their farms; starting at the East Palmer river, it crosses BERNARD’s lot, then Patrick’s, then JOHN’s. To celebrate their marriage, JOHN and Lydia erected in 1906 a croix de chemin on route des Laughrea on Patrick’s lot. A wide family celebration, which I remember attending, was held in 1956 for the 50th anniversary of the cross. When JOHN had a taste for trout, he would walk down to the Palmer River, which his lot almost reached, fish downstream until it meets the East Palmer River, fish upstream the East Palmer until it crosses the route des Laughrea before penetrating the farm of aunt Mary Laughery-Harny, and walk the road until the third house, the first two being those of Bernard and Patrick; he also killed a deer from inside the kitchen. JOHN owned a grocery store in S. Sylvestre within the years 1906-1925; it was located at the North-East corner of rue principale and rue Côté. Lydia worked hard both in the store and on the farm, which may explain why her first 3 pregnancies ended up in miscarriages or early deaths of newborns. JOHN and Lydia had 3 children between 1914 and 1920 and 9 grandchildren between 1938 and 1959. Their children died at 76 on average: 65 (Gérard), 92 (Lucillle) and 71 (Patrick). JOHN moved to S. Sylvestre around 1920-1922, then to Thetford-Mines around 1924-1927, and sold his farm in 1929. The inscription on his tombstone in Thetford-Mines is “John Laughera, époux de Lydia Cyr”.
Lydia was by far the youngest of 9 children: Célina (1859-), Moise (1860- March 8 1940; married Modeste Poulin on Aug. 9 1880), Marie-Zéline, Joseph ( ? – before 1929), Alphonse Léopold, Georgiana (1865-), Louis-Richard (Dec. 22 1869 – Sept. 15 1940; he married 3 times—in 1899, 1924 and 1938), Delvina (1870-) and Marie-Elodie (Lydia) (1880-1977). Moise (1860- March 8 1940) and Modeste Poulin had 9 children; their son Louis-Richard married in 1912 and had 17 children. Thetford dentist Oliva Cyr (30 August 1888 in Capelton – Nov. 20 1980) is son of Joseph and nephew of Lydia.
Lydia is 6.25 % Acadian through her g.-g.-grandfather Pierre Cyr (1737- ?), who was 100 % Acadian and left Acadia for New France in 1755 (26). She descends from at least 21 pioneers who landed in New France before 1640 and at least 6 pioneers who landed in Acadia before 1640 (26). (Jean Guyon is an ancestor of Céline Dion, Stéphane Dion and former US secretary of state Hillary Clinton.) Lydia told us she was the cousin of Louis Cyr, reputed to be the strongest man in History. So far, I have found no evidence for this connection.
1. Anonymous male (March 22 1910 in S. Pierre de Broughton – April 23 1910 in S.Pierre de Broughton).
2. Gérard (March 26 1914 in S. Pierre de Broughton - Sept. 6 1979 in Longueuil). Witnesses at birth were Moise Cyr and his wife Modeste Poulin. He married Marie-Jeanne Doyon (1914-1991) on Oct. 27 1937 in Thetford-Mines. They had 3 children:
- Stanley (1938-). He married Rose-Marie Alain in 1963 and has 2 children:
- Sandra ( Sept. 24 1965-). She is a psychologist. She married Glimond Lapointe on July 10 1999 and has one child: Sébastien Laughrea (1999-), Laughrea being his last name, a generous allowance from her husband.
- Kathleen (Sept. 28 1968-). She is also a psychologist.
- Guy (1941-199?). He married Nicole Aird. They have one child: Linda ( Nov. 1964-).
- June (1947-). She married Serge Fournier and has one child: Nadia.
3. Lucille (Ap. 8 1917 in S. Pierre de Broughton - Jan. 18 2009 in East-Broughton). Witnesses at birth were Michael Laughrea and Cecilia Laughrea. She married Gérard Gagné (June 26 1914-19 Jan. 2004 in Thetford-Mines). Gérard was chief of the Police and Fire Department of Thetford-Mines from 1965 to 1979. They had 3 children:
- - Claudette (1943-). She is a teacher. She married Jean-Guy Tremblay in 1964. They have one child: Pierre-Alexandre.
- - Lise (1944-).She married Muzaffar Zaidi in 1967. They have 3 sons and one daughter:
- - Jean-François (1956-). He married Josée Gagnon in 1978. They have two daughters: Caroline and Marie-Claude.
4. PATRICK (May 21 1920 in St. Pierre de Broughton – June 7 1991 in Kuujjuaq, buried in Thetford-Mines), my father. Witnesses at birth were Patrick Laughrea Suzanne McCaffrey. On June 8 1950, he married Suzanne Labbé (Jan. 1 1925 in Thetford-Mines -), daughter of Annie Lachance (Feb. 26 1888 in S. Pierre de Broughton – Ap. 6 1962 in Thetford-Mines) and Tancrède Labbé (June 18 1887 in East-Broughton – Dec. 13 1956 in Thetford-Mines) (27), who was mayor of Thetford-Mines (Feb. 1931- Feb. 1937; May 1946- May 1951), member of Parliament (1935-1939; 1940-1956) and minister of Mines (1944-1956) in the Government of Quebec. Tancrède is 3.12% Acadian through his maternal g.-g.-g.-grandfather Pierre Poirier (1772-?) (28). Annie shares an ancestor with US secretary of state Hillary Clinton (28). Note that Lydia Cyr lost her father when she was 9 (26), Annie lost her father when she was 5 (29) and Tancrède lost both father and mother when he was 12 years old (28). Patrick and Suzanne were engaged on Dec. 8 1949; in early 1950 Patrick purchased his first house. His mother Lydia lived with him in Black-Lake from 1948 to 1950.
Though it is probably the last thing she would want me to say of her, Suzanne was 1998 female personnality of the year, region of Thetford-Mines (MRC de l’Amiante), and 2008 laureate “ainés-solidaire” of the Centraide Québec Campaign, an honor bestowed by the Lieutenant-Governor of Quebec. During the electoral campaign of 1944, Suzanne spoke on behalf of Union Nationale and her father at CHRC radio station of Quebec City. Suzanne is the second degree cousin of Laurent Beaudoin (13 may 1938 – ), who was chairman and chief executive officer of Bombardier Inc. from 1966 to 2008.
PATRICK wrote his name “Laughera” until he was about 20 years old and changed thereafter to Laughrea. He was defence man in the hockey team of Séminaire du Québec and in the hockey team of Laval University (or the Faculty of Medicine of Laval; to be checked). He studied Medicine (1943-1948) and Anesthesiology (1952-1954) at Laval University, which had opened in 1946 in Hôtel-Dieu de Québec the first Canadian Chair in Anesthesiology under Dr. Fernando Hudon (30). Patrick won the prix de ? while a rhetoric student in Séminaire de Québec, and he won the Morrin prize (31) twice while a medical student; he also published a paper in Union Médicale du Canada in 1955. At Séminaire de Québec, PATRICK was usually ranked second, sometimes third, in a class of 74 students; he was also, not unexpectedly, one of its 17 “academicians”; he graduated Magna Cum Laude. His cousin Oliva Cyr (30 August 1888- Nov. 20 1980) lent him the money that allowed him to go to Séminaire de Québec and Laval Medical School; Oliva would lend whatever Patrick would ask (basically food, clothing and tuition). Oliva was my dentist, pro bono, from 1956 to 1974 (he was then 86!). Oliva was échevin from 1924 to 1926, mayor of Thetford-Mines from 1929 to 1931, president of the Thetford School Board (1948-1950 and 1951-1954), and Conservative candidate at Federal elections of 1949 (he ran 2nd with 30 % of the vote). He married Wilhemine Gagnon and Marie-Reine Trudeau. PATRICK was a general practitioner in Black-Lake from 1948 to 1952, and chief anesthesiologist at the Centre Hospitalier de la Région de l’Amiante from 1954 to 1980. From 1980 to 1986, he worked half-time at the same institution. From 1988 to 1991, he worked 2 to 3 months a year in Kuujjuaq and Povungnituk in 2-weeks stints as an anesthesiologist in a dental clinic. His 1990-1991 schedule was as follows: 16-30 March 1990 and 1-15 Feb. 1991 in Povungnituk, 10-24 Feb. 1990, Aug. 23 to Sept. 9 1990, Nov. 24 to Dec. 8 1990, 9-23 March 1991, 1-11 May 1991, and 1-13 June 1991 in Kuujjuaq.
PATRICK was president of Club Richelieu Thetford in 1958 and 1978-1979; governor of Club Richelieu International in 1960-1961 and administrator of Club Richelieu International from 1962 to 1965. He was member of Club Kiwanis from 1948 to 1952.
PATRICK and Suzanne lived in Quebec City from Sept. 1952 to Sept. 1954, and on Labbé Street (Labbé in memory of my grandfather) from Sept. 1954 to June 1956. Then PATRICK gave the Labbé street house to my aunt Lucille and moved to a newly constructed dwelling at 515 Fecteau Nord, where the family, my parents and my mother lived until 2008, when Suzanne moved to a condo on Pie IX avenue. Spring 1956 was probably the time when the private road to the Lac-à-la-truite cottage was built; for sure, that was done before Tancrède died in Dec. 1956. Tancrède’s brother, Ti-blanc, cut the trees whose sale paid for road construction. I remember when explosives were used to break large stones that could not be moved by machinery.
PATRICK and Suzanne had 3 children between 1952 and 1959 and 9 grandchildren between 1984 and 1991. These 3 children are 25 % Irish, because Patrick is 50 % Irish; they are also 2.34 % Acadian because Patrick and Tancrède are each 3.12 % Acadian.
- - Michael (May 29 1952 in Thetford-Mines -). Biophysicist and professor of Experimental Medicine at McGill (…) I am “cousin Mike from Montreal” in the book “Here Comes a Miracle” of Lavon Mayfield-Brown (Tate publishing, 2005), and seen as “un appui de taille” in the book “Mailloux Le Paradoxe” of Dr Pierre Mailloux (Editions La Semaine, 2012). I married Hilda Magalhaes (Magellan) Lima (June 16 1954 in Rio de Janeiro – ) on Feb. 21 1987. (…) We have 3 children: Isabel (Dec. 23 1988 in Montreal -), Elisabeth (Apr. 27 1990 in Montreal-) and Patrick (July 11 1991 in Montreal-). (…)
- - Patricia-Ann (July 13 1956 in Thetford-Mines – ). Ophtalmologist. She married Pierre Douville (Dec. 9 1954 or 1955- ) on Oct. 2 1982. . They have 3 children: Xavier (Sept. 20 1985 – ), Patrick (July 26 1987 – ), and Marielle (Aug. 27 1989 – ). (…)
- - John (Sept. 3 1959 in Thetford-Mines – ). Pneumologist. He married Ann Laflamme (Aug. 21 1958 – ) on June 12 1982. They have 3 children: Marie-Christine (Dec. 7 1983-), Catherine (June 18 1986 – ) and Sophie (Nov. 4 1987 – ). (…)
b) Patrick (1862 – May 5 1954 in St. Pierre-de Broughton). ). His godparents were Michael Boyce and Ann Laughrey. He was city councillor. Bachelor, no children. BERNARD, Patrick and JOHN had adjacent farms, from West to East along the “route des Laughrea”. The houses of JOHN and Patrick no longer existed by the eartly 1960s. During his declining years, perhaps starting in the late 1940s, Patrick joined Tom and Pete and lived with them in Bernard’s house.
c) Mary (1864-1948). She married Joseph Kellow on June 5 1894 in St.Paul, Minnesota, and had a daughter Mabel Lucille Kellow on 6 july 1899 in St. Paul. One source says that Lucille married a Granger. Mary was not listed in the census of 1891, suggesting that she had moved to the USA by then.
d) Michael (23 Nov. 1866 in S. Elzéar – 24 Aug. 1944 in Lancaster NH). Another source says Ap. 20 1866 in S. Sylvestre. Michael Boyce (?-? in S. Sylvestre) (17) and his wife Mary Sullivan (23) were his godparents; none of them could sign their name. Michael L. emigrated to the USA in 1888; thus he was not listed in the census of 1891. He was living in Lancaster NH in 1900 and 1920. On the other hand, he was witness at the birth of of Lucille Laughrea. Michael L. married Elizabeth or Margaret Castillo (1875 – >1940). They had 6 daughters and one son: Margaret G., Esther, Gen* (1896 – ), Estel (1900 – ), Beatrice (1902 – ), Kathleyn (1911 – ), and Bernard (1918 – ) who apparently did not marry. All of this children, but Margaret G. and Esther, were living at home in 1900.
Beatrice married Pilgrime Bortolot and they had a daughter Elisabeth Margaret Bortolot who married Beverley Owen Salsbery on Ap. 1948 in Derby Vermont. My father Patrick (1920-1991) wrote about “uncle Mike and Beatrice” in 1943. My uncle Gérard Laughrea (1914-1979) wrote on May 30 1945: “Beatrice et ses 2 filles ont été à Lancaster aujourd’hui pour mettre l’épitaphe de mon oncle Mike”. Beatrice was clearly the daughter of Michael.
A John Costello owned lot 288 at the junction of S. André range and the Filkars River, West of Craig’s Road. A Michael Laughrey lived in Lancaster in a 1920 census. He is listed on the 1940 US Census for Lancaster as a laborer working 10 hours weekly at age 73 and living with his spouse: the age fits his date of birth, as Michael would have reached 74 only on 23 Nov. 1940.
Godfather Michael Boyce (17) is the son of Henry Boyce and Anne McMonigle, the nephew of Bridget Loughrey and the brother in law of Bernard Laughrea. Michael B. is the husband of Mary Sullivan (1839-1925), and the father of 13 children. Mary is the sister of Cecilia, wife of Bernard Laughrea. Henry is the brother of John Boyce, who is married to Bridget Loughrey. Not to be confused with his cousin Michael Boyce, who is the son of Patrick Boyce and Alice Heynes (13). The first child of Patrick and Alice was Bridget Boyce. She married the Big Patrick O’Neil — the person many people claim was responsible for the murder of Robert Corrigan — resulting in The Corrigan Affair.
Lancaster is the first town North of Whitefield-Bethlehem, where uncles James Loughrey and Owen Loughrea, as well as cousin Michael Laughery (son of James), lived.
e) Thomas (Nov. 18 1868 in S. Elzéar - Jan. 8 1966 in St-Pierre de Broughton). Bachelor; no children. From around 1875, he lived all his life in Bernard’s house.
f) Cecilia Laughrea (De. 8 1870 – Dec. 14 1963 in St-Pierre de Broughton). She married James Custeau (June 28 1870- June 9 1955) on Sept. 8 1894 in St. Pierre de Broughton. Their farm, located in the 15th range of Leeds township and South of the Palmer River, is a beautiful place that borders Thetford township and is crossed by a stream in which one could catch trouts by hand during periods of drought. This stream is a tributary of Perry stream, which is itself a tributary of the Palmer River. Cecilia was school teacher. She and James were also postmaster at the Custeau Post Office from 1914 to 1931, at which time mail started to be home delivered. Patrick (1920-1991) spent a number of summer weeks there and he also visited sometimes during winter, by skiing from Thetford-Mines to the farm. There are many photos of Cecilia’s family in the book “Saint-Pierre de Broughton 150 ans d’histoire 1856-2006″. The same 69 000 volts high voltage electric line crossed Cecilia’s farm on the 15th range as well as Bernard’s farm, Patrick’s farm, and John’s farm on the 12th range; it was operational from 1930 to 1994. James Custeau is the son of Jacques Custeau (1834-1922) and Bridget Boyce (1840-1906). Jacques Custeau, coming from S. Elzéar, first settled Cecilia’s lot, or the lot facing it (range 1 of Thetford) in 1859. He married Bridget Boyce in S. Elzéar on Oct. 22 1860 (32).
Cecilia and James had 7 children (all boys) between 1895 and 1913 and 22 grandchildren between the 1930s and 1962. Their 6 children who are of known lifespan without dying accidentally died at 77 years of age on average: 90 (Joseph), 84 (James), 46 (William), 98 (Eddie), 49 (Georges) and 95 (Albert). Three of Cecilia’s sons married 3 Gagnon sisters!
1. Thomas (Aug. 2 1895 – 1918) was killed overseas during World War I.
2. Joseph (June 30 1902 – Nov. 23 1992) married Louise McCauliff in fall 1940. They had one daughter, Kathleen.
3. James (March 4 1905 – Dec. 3 1989) married Atice Wintinner on Sept. 15 1930. They had one son, James Jr., presumably born in the 1930s.
4. William (Nov. 15 1907- May 9 1953) married Irena Gagnon on June 19 1940. They had 4 children:
- - Willie (Bill) (Ap. 11 1941-). He married Micheline Gagnon on July 19 1969. They have 2 children: William (July 16 1974-) and Mélanie (Aug. 25 1976-).
- - Louise (June 19 1944-).
- - Wilfrid (Aug. 24 1947-).
- - Anne (Sept. 20 1951-). Soon after Irena became a widow, Cecilia moved with her in the village and stayed with her until her death in 1963. The move probably occurred in 1955, after Cecilia herself became a widow. Otherwise, both Cecilia and James would have moved with Irena between 1953 and 1955, the house on the 15th Range getting crowded with Albert’s numerous children.
5. Edward (Eddie) (Nov. 2 1909 – 2007). He married Iréna Huppé in 1939 but she died in 1945. He next married Mary Gagon (?- Jan. 25 2001) in 1949. They had 5 children and 6 grandchildren:
- - Judith (Aug. 12 1950-). She married Lennox Béland on Sept. 1 1973. They have 3 children: Thomas (June 14 1974-), ?, (Sept. 1977 – Sept. 1977), and Jason (July 25 1979).
- - Mary (Sept. 1959-Sept. 1959).
- - Barbara (Dec. 8 1960-). Barbara married Douglas Sullivan on July 11 1992. They have 3 children: ? (June 1 1993 – June 1 1993), Lynzey (June 13 1994-), and Kody (June 26-).
- - James and Joseph (both born and deceases in Feb. 1962).
6. Albert (July 6 1911 – 2006 in S. Pierre de Broughton) married Rita Gagnon (Aug. 10 1922-) on June 18 1941. They had 9 children and 19 grandchildren:
- Mary (Feb. 23 1942- March 14 1942).
- Léo (May 19 1943- ). He married Gisèle Goulet on July 14 1973. They have 3 children: Eric ( June 9 1975-), Ricky (Jan. 27 1979-) and Melissa (Oct. 20 1991). Léo cultivates Albert’s 15th range farm.
- Gérard (April 19 1946-). He married Gisèle Nutbrown on July 22 1967. They have 4 children:
- Nancy (Aug. 28 1968-). Nancy married Denis Couture on June 20 1992.
- Tina (Oct. 14 1972-). She is a bachelor.
- Sandra (July 25 1975-). She married Mario Hallée on June 3 1995. They have 2 children: Dave and Judy.
- Cindy (June 2 1978-). She married Jamie Dupuis on July 28 2001.
- Evelyne (March 7 1947-). She married Don Beattie on Aug. 23 1969. They have 2 children: Donald and Debra
- Lawrence (Feb. 2 1948-). He did not marry.
- Edna (Jan. 19 1952). She married Kevin Campbell on Aug. 3 1973. They have 3 children: Jennifer, Julie and Emily.
- Liliane (Jan. 31 1954). She married Christian Noel on Aug. 19 1978. They have 3 children:
- Annie (Ap. 5 1981-). She married Dany Bolduc (Feb. 19 1973-)
- Christina (Feb. 22 1985-).
- Jonathan (Aug. 22 1988-).
- Shirley (Oct. 18 1959-). She has 2 daughters: Jessica and Marissa.
- Carole (Aug. 25 1960). She married Alain Thivierge on Aug. 20 1983. They have two children: Sara and Laura.
Albert always lived the house of Cecilia and James. Albert would do sugaring on his farm for 75 straight years. I visited Albert a number of times. He was still very fit at 90 years of age. Around 1970, after Patrick (1920-1991) had purchased Bernard’s farm, Albert, Patrick and myself walked the perimeter of Bernard’s farm.
7. George ( Ap. 13 1913 – March 30 1962) married Cecilia Gagnon (Jan. 12 1926-) on Oct. 2 1948. Cecilia was a teacher in S. Pierre de Broughton for a periode of 40 years. They had 2 children and 2 grandchildren:
- - Vincent (July 20 1950 – July 20 1950).
- - Bernard (Nov. 23 1952-). He was a journalist at La Tribune of Sherbrooke. Bernard married married Francine Grégoire (July 14 1950-) on Aug. 25 1979. They have 2 children: Jennifer (Feb. 10 1981-) and Jonathan (July 15 1983-). Jonathan became a journalist at La Tribune.
g) James Laughrea (May 6 1873 in S. Séverin – June 9 1957; St. Patrick cemetery in Watertown MA.). He was living in Leeds in 1891. He married Josephine Sands (1871-June 16 1957) on June 18 1894, and moved to Greater Boston. He became an american citizen in 1899. They had 4 children between 1896 and 1903. The 3 adult ones died at 75 years of age on average: 63 (Joseph), 73 (Giles), 88 (Frances). James and Josephine had at least 8 grandchildren, 6 of whom were born between 1922 and 1938.
1. Joseph (1896-1959). He married Julia Lyons and had 2 daughters:
- - Mary.
- - Virginia (deceased).
2. Giles (1898 – 1971). He married Irene Marsh (1902-1991) and had 6 children. Their 5 oldest ones died at 72.5 years of age on average: 64 (Ursula), 73, (Mary), 69 (Giles Jr.), 81 (William) and 75 (Thelma).
- Ursula (1922-Feb. 26 1986). She married Robert Darnell (1923-2012) and had 8 children: John, Deborah, Thomas, Catherine, Kevin, Mary, Alice (deceased), William and Ronald.
- Mary F. (1923 – Dec. 27 1996). She married Joseph F. O’Connell (18 av. 1923 Mass. – 1 nov. 2001 Waltham Mass.) and had 5 children: James, Maureen, Jay, Patricia, Eileen (deceased) and Michael.
- Giles Jr. (1924-1993). He married Alice Hyde. They had 2 children:
- Ann-Marie Laughrea (), married to ? Powell ().
- Jim Loughrea ().
- William (Billy) (1928-2009). He married Marie Loughlin (1927-) in 1955 and had 3 children:
- William Jr (1958-),
- Nancy (1959-). She married George Downing. They live in Richmond, Virginia, and have 2 daughters: Molly (1989-) and Megan (1992-).
- Robert (1963-). He married Cindy Holle. They live in Florida and have 2 daughters: Cassandra and Courtney.
- Thelma (1930- Nov. 30 2005). She married James Leary and had 3 children: Amanda, Patrick and Kerry (deceased).
- James (1938-). He married Pauline Berard. They live in Sandwich, Cape Cod, Mass., and have 3 children:
- David (1962-). He married Suzanne Packard. They live in California and have 2 sons: Jim and Matt.
- Susan (1964-). She married Michael Melisi. They have 4 sons: Zachary, Sam, Brad and Nicholas.
- Donna (1966-). She married Stephen Milliard. They have one daughter: Allison.
3. Frances (1901-1989). She married Mason Foley.
4. Mary (1903-1926). She died in a sledding accident.
James and his son Giles visited often the S. Pierre de Broughton area during summer times. This tradition continued with his two grandsons Giles Jr (1924-1993) and William (Billy) (1928-2009): both had summer cottages in S. Pierre de Broughton even though they worked in the Greater Boston area. As a result, Ann-Marie, daughter of Giles Jr, married a native Quebecker and lives in St. Agathe de Lotbinière. All “Laughreas” in the world appear to be descendants of James (1873-)and John (1860-). The others spell the name differently.
h) Peter (June 28 1875 in S.Pierre de Broughton – March 13 1964 in St. Pierre de Broughton). Witnesses at birth were Thomas Forestall and Anna Forestall. Bachelor; no children. He lived all his life in Bernard’s house.
i) Ellen (Oct. 22 1877 in S. Pierre de Broughton – around 1910). Witnesses at birth were Joseph Ford and Anna Mullen. She married Bartholemey McCaffrey (Aug. 8 1867-around 1933) on Sept. 30 1900 in Broughton. They had 3 children:
1. Margaret (1903-after 1992 in Montreal). She did not marry and came to Montreal in 1933 after the death of her father. She was a blonde and blue-eyed woman whom I met at Father Dowd nursing home a few years before her death.
2. Owen (1905-1923). He died of accidental drowning in a lake.
3. Wilfrid (1906-?). Restaurant owner, he married Loretta Rachele Paré and had 2 children. Note that Margaret, Owen and Wilfrid were around 7, 5 and 4 years old when Ellen died.
Bartholemey McCaffrey is the son of Owen McCaffrey (1832-) and Margaret Johnston (1837-). The two married on June 12 1855 in S. Sylvestre, and had 6 children:
- Joseph (~1856-).
- Mary (Nov. 28 1858 in S. Sylvestre-1908).
- Owen (~1860-).
- Patrick (~1862-).
- James (~1865-).
- Bartholemey (1867-).
Owen (1832-) is son of Charles McCaffrey (1805-), who was mayor of S. Sylvestre in 1864 and 1865; the brothers of Owen (1832-) are Patrick (1827-), John (1836-), Philip (1838-) and Richard (1840-). Charles (1805-) is the son of Patrick McCaffrey and the brother of Sarah (1801-) and Owen (1805-). Owen (1805-) sells land in S. Sylvestre on Aug. 11 1826. Owen McCaffrey (1805-?; 1832-?; 1860?) owned lots 133 and 135 at the corner of route King and Craig’s Road in 1880. A Patrick McCaffrey owned lots 574-579, lots located on both sides of the bend of the East Palmer. These lots end at the border of Leeds and are 600 m from the lot of Bernard Laughrey and 100 m from that of Thomas Harny.
- – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - -
(1) Whether or not they were brothers remains to be more firmly established. At the least, they are Loughreys that emigrated to Canada at around the same time.
(2) Independent confirmation would be useful. It seems surprising that her father would have emigrated, but not her. Maybe James McCordick is her brother. On the other hand, McCordick is a rare name and there cannot have been that many “Belle McCordick”…
(3) It should be better confirmed whether James, Thomas, Robert, William and Clark are brothers of Patrick.
(4) See article “Laughrea, Patton, Sullivan and Prendergast are Northern Irish, Scottish, Southern Irish and Southern Irish names” on my Facebook page. According to Scopus, Laughrea (all orthographs accepted) is 7, ≥ 20, 30 and 50 times more frequent in Northern Ireland than in the Republic of Ireland (R of I), any place out of Ireland, Canada and the USA, respectively. Patton is most frequently found in Scotland. There, it is 2.5, 4.5, 5.3 and 13 times more frequent than in Northern Ireland, England, the USA or the R of I. Strictly Patton (no other orthograph accepted) is most frequently found in Northern Ireland. There, it is 3, 3, 5 and 5 times more frequent than in Scotland, the USA, England or the R of I. The most common spellings for the Laughrea name are, in descending order: Loughrey (20), Laughery (10), Loughry (9), Laughrey (4), Laughrea (3), Lockery (3), Loughery, Lochery, Lochry, Lockrey (1 each), Laughry, Loughrea, Loughera, Lochrey, Laughera, Laugheray, Lockry, Loughary, Laughary, Loughray, Loughrie (0 each).
According to the World Book of Loughreys (strictly Loughrey recorded), the Loughrey name is 3.3 times more frequent in the North-West of Northern Ireland (i.e. counties Tyrone + Londonderry) than in Northern Ireland in general. Among the 26 cities with the greatest number of Loughreys, one finds:
- 10 Northern Irish cities: Londonderry with 28 households, Coleraine with 17, Belfast with 14, Portstewart with10, Magherafelt with 9, Limavady with 8, Strabane with 8, Portrush and Omagh with 6 each, and Cookstown with 5);
- 7 English cities (London with 20, Birmingham with 10, Manchester with 8, Liverpool with 6, York, Bradford and Northampton with 5 each);
- 4 American cities (Saint-Paul-Minneapolis with 24, Oswego NY and Kittaning PA with 10 each, and Wilmington DE with 5);
- 2 Republic of Ireland cities (Dublin with 34 and Cork with 5), 1 Scottish city (Glasgow with 22), and 1 Canadian city (Toronto with 5).
(5) Monaghan range is surrounded by Fermanagah range (S. Sylvestre) Northward, S. Elzéar Eastward, Ste Marguerite range Westward and Killarney range Southward. West of Ste Marguerite range is again S. Sylvestre, indicating that Monaghan, Killarney and Ste Marguerite ranges form a wedge taken away from S. Sylvestre at the foundation of S. Séverin in 1873. On June 6 1872, S. Sylvestre lost territory to the benefit of S. Patrice; on January 22 1873, both S. Sylvestre and S. Elzéar lost territory to the benefit of S. Séverin. From West to East, Monaghan range starts at the Beaurivage River and rises on the Western slope of Mount Tara (8), now Mont S. André, until it reaches S. Elzéar. The Beaurivage River flows between Mount Ste Marguerite on the West side and Mount Tara on the East side. North of Fermanagah is a range bordered on the North by chemin Ste Marie, which was opened in 1817, to connect Craig’s Road to Ste Marie de Beauce, and gave rise to S. Sylvestre (1828) and S. Elzéar (1835) along it; these two ranges are separated by Fermanagah Road. South of Killarney is S. George range; the Ste Marguerite range, whose road opened in 1852-1853, runs perpendicularly to Monaghan, Killarney and S. George.
(6) These 5 lots were first purchased in 1835 by Michael Martin (#223-225), Mary Kerr (#226) and W m. Monoghan (#227).
(7) Killarney Road starts on the Eastern slope of Mount Tara (8), rises to 1800 vertical feet to cross Tara Mountain, descends towards the Beaurivage River without reaching it, and separates Monaghan from Killarney ranges. Access to Patrick’s lot via Killarney Road would have been treacherous; I suspect that Killarney Road served mainly residents of Killarney range, hence its name, just as Fermanagah road may have served only residents of Fermanagah range. Like farms North of Fermanagah Road, Patrick’s lot was road accessible at both ends in 1882, but probably not when he first settled. Anyhow, Killarney Road, also called Xavier-Moisan Road in the 1920s, was at best a private trail or road from 1883 to perhaps the 1950s. On July 2 1883, S. Séverin planned to open Killarney Road, but it was at best only sporadically opened to circulation from 1883 to presumably the 1950s (33).
(8) Mount Tara is very similar in shape and height to the Hill of Tara, an important burial site in Ireland. Mount Tara and ranges such as Fermanagah, Monaghan and Killarney stress that most settlers of its western slope and the upper Beaurivage River were Irish. It may be the only mountain in Quebec with such an extended Irish connection. St. Séverin can be seen as located on a south-eastern slope of the Mount Tara massif.
(9) Fermanagah Road was opened sometime between 1840 and 1862. It is probable that, once Fermanagah South Road and the bridge were constructed, Patrick would reach his farm from S. Elzéar by riding up the S. Elzéar-S. Sylvestre road until 1000 vertical feet, turning left on S. André range until 1200 vertical feet, then right on Fermanagah Road to cross the Beaurivage at 1025 vertical feet, then up Fermanagah Road to 1250 feet and down Fermanagah South to the bridge at 1065 vertical feet, cross the river and climb to his farm at 1300 feet. Before that time, he might have followed the Beaurivage from 1025 vertical feet and gradually move up to his farm; or he might have followed S. André range until about 1300 vertical feet, then turn right through the forest and reach his lot.
(10) The Gallagher, Martin, Begley and Shallow families have owned these lots since 1835 or 1836.
(11) On top of benefiting from mills and good agriculture, Lancaster, Whitefield, Bethlehem and Jefferson were then popular touristic attractions because of the cool clean mountain air, the proximity of the White Mountains and the easy train access from Boston and New York City, a rail line reaching Bethlehem in 1867. The Mountain View Grand Resort and Spa was established in Bethlehem in 1866. Thirty hotels would line Bethlehem main street at some point, with seven trains arriving daily. Many Inns and Hotels were also found in Whitefield. Jefferson was a popular summer resort, boasting one of the largest “grand hotels” in the White Mountains—the Waumbek, with accommodations for nearly 300 guests. At tourism’s peak in the pre-automobile era, Jefferson had over 30 inns and boarding houses.
(12) The Quebec Central Railway line, built to originate from Sherbrooke in 1875, follow up the St. Francis River and join the Lévis & Kennebec railway at Vallée-Jonction, on the Chaudière River, in 1881, reached Disraeli and Coleraine in 1877, Thetford-Mines and Robertsonville in 1878, and East Broughton in 1879. Thus, starting in 1879, residents of West Broughton, East Leeds and St. Séverin had a facile access to Sherbrooke, New Hampshire, Portland Maine and Boston. By a stroke of luck, the railway line passes within 1 or 2 km of the yet to be discovered or exploited asbestos mines of Coleraine, Black-Lake, Thetford-Mines, Robertsonville and East Broughton. The original purpose of the line was exploitation of forest resources and colonization. It operated a passenger service from Sherbrooke to Lévis from 1881 to 1967, and a freight service from 1881 to 1994. Despite the fancy name, the Lévis & Kennebec railway was simply a line joining Lévis to St. Joseph de Beauce in 1876. The Lévis & Kennebec line was purchased by the Quebec Central railway in March 22 1881 for $192 000.
(13) We have the names and years of birth for 52 of the 54 known grandchildren, but no name and no year of birth for the 2 sons of Ann Laughery (1839 – 1925). There is a 90 % probability that these two sons were born before 1878, if we judge from the ages at which Ann’s sisters gave birth.
(14) Seven of PATRICK‘s children were born after he had become grandfather. The years when 2 or more children and grandchildren were born, for a total of 41 in 15 years, are the following.
- 1844: granddaughter Marie (Br), and son Patrick.
- 1855: grandsons James (Br) and Patrick (Ja).
- 1859: grandchildren Bridget (Br), William (Ca) and James (Ca), and daughter Margaret!
- 1860: grandchildren Michael (Ja), Edward (Ow), Susan (Ca), and John (Be).
- 1862: grandchildren Susan (Ja) and Patrick (Be).
- 1863: granddaughter Bridget (Ca), and daughter Helen.
- 1864: grandchildren Peter (Br), Mary (Ow), and Mary (Be), and son Joseph.
- 1865: grandsons William (Br), John (Ja) and Patrick (Ca).
- 1866: grandchildren Anny (Ca) and Michael (Be), and daughter Eliza.
- 1868: grandchildren Bridget (Ja), John (Ow), Michael (Ca), and Thomas (Be).
- 1869: grandson Thomas (Ma) and son Frank.
- 1870: grandchildren Michael (Ow), Thomas (Ca), and Cecilia (Be).
- 1872: grandchildren Daniel (Ow) and Catherine (Ca).
- 1873: grandchildren James (Be) and Ann (Ann).
- 1875: grandsons John (Ca) and Peter (Be).
Uncle Frank (1869-) was younger than 36 of his nephews and nieces, and 26 years younger than his niece Annie (Br). Uncle and aunts Margaret, Peter, Helen, Joseph and Eliza were each younger than at least 17 of their nephews and nieces. The Patricks of PATRICK, James (1826-1889) and Bernard (1834-1914), and the Michaels of PATRICK and Owen (1831-), had no children. But the Patricks of Owen (1831-) and John (1860-1946), and the Michaels of James (1826-1889) and Bernard (1834-1914) were fruitful…
(15) To get 141, we extrapolate from the progeny of his grandchildren blessed with a complete record, namely Peter E (Br) (item 1 below), Patrick (Ow) (item 2), etc., and Susan (Ca) (item 10). These 10 grandchildren had 38 children, an average of 3.8 each. We also extrapolate from the fact that at least 15, i.e. probably ~18, of 39 sufficiently documented grandchildren were childless (items 14 and 15).
Overall, we estimate that 23 (43 %) of the 54 known grandchildren were childless and that 31 (57 %) procreated, namely 13 (items 1 to 13) plus 9 (item 15) plus 9 (item 16). 31 x 3.8 = 118 great-grandchildren. Of the ~ 11 grandchildren who are yet to be identified (they are all from Mary McGown), we assume that 6 procreated. 6 x 3.8 = 23 great-grandchildren (item 15). 118 + 23 = 141. Details below.
- Peter E (Br) had 2 children;
- Patrick (Ow) had 5 from 1895 to 1907;
- Edward (Ow) had 5 from 1891 to 1904;
- John (Be) had 3 from 1914 to 1920;
- Michael (Be) had 7;
- Cecilia (Be) had 7 from 1900 to 1913;
- James (Be) had 4 from 1896 to 1903;
- Ellen (Be) had 3 from 1903 to 1906;
- Joseph Daniel (Ow) had 1 daughter in 1897;
- Susan (Ca) had 1 child in 1888;
- John Owen (Br) had at least 5 children.
- Michael (Ca) had at least 3 children from 1894 to 1899.
- Mary (Be) had at least 1 child;
- At least 15 grandchildren did not procreate, or were unlikely to have, because:
- Bridget (Br), Mary (Ja), William H (Br), Sara Ann (Ma), Mary (Ow), Michael (Ow) and Lawrence (Pe) died prematurely;
- Patrick (Be), Thomas (Be) and Peter (Be) were bachelors.
- Bridget (Ja) died soon after marrying; Patrick (Ja), Anne (Ja), John (Ja), and Allen (Pe) died at the ages of 30, 23, 23 and 24 without any evidence of marriage.
15. Twelve grandchildren reached middle adulthood but we know no more. They are Annie (Br), Marie (Br), Catherine (Br), Patrick (Br), James (Br), Susan (Br), Michael (Ja), Susan (Ja), Patrick (Ma), Thomas (Ma), John (Ca), and William (Pe). We assume that 9 procreated and 3 did not, producing 34 great-grandchildren.
16. For 15 grandchildren, we only know their year of birth. They are Michael (Br), James (Ja), John (Ow), 8 of the children of Catherine, ≥ 3 children of Ann, and Annie (Pe). We assume that nine procreated and six did not, producing 34 great-grandchildren.
17. Mary McGown and PATRICK begat Margaret, Peter, Helen, Joseph, Eliza and Frank. We assume that 4 procreated and had 11 grandchildren, 11 of whom are yet to be identified (Peter had 4 children but none of them had progeny). We assume that 6 of these 11 procreated, producing 23 great-grandchildren.
(16) The 9 children of Patrick Boyce and Alice Heynes are, according to Tom Boyce:
1) Bridget. She married Patrick O’Neil (some claim he was responsible for killing Mr. Corrigan in St. Sylvestre, resulting in the “Corrigan Affair“). They begat five children: Charles, John, Alice, James and Patrick (who died during infancy). Bridget and her children moved to Cheboygan MI. She had many grandchildren.
2) John Patrick. He married Catherine Osborne. They had no children but brought up many of the Boyce family orphans. Catherine died at 58 years of age and was buried in St. Elzear. After her death, John Patrick moved to Websterville VT and, later, participated in the Yukon Gold Rush with his cousins Patrick and Peter E., sons of Bridget Loughrey. He came back to Websterville and lived with Boyce and O’Connor (originally from St. Sylvestre) relatives for several years. He, then moved to Bethel, VT where he worked his newly purchased farm. After his death in 1907, his nephew William A. Boyce, son of Michael (1833-1925), claimed John’s body and, by train transported it to be buried in Saint Monica’s Cemetery, Barre, Vermont.
3) Michael Boyce (1833 in S. Sylvestre -1925 in S. Sylvestre). He married Mary Gould on Jan. 29 1862 in S. Sylvestre. After Mary died at the age of 30, Michael married Katherine McVey. Michael lived his entire life in St. Elzear, St. Severin and St. Sylvestre. Mary Gould, buried in St. Séverin, is the sister of the James Gould, husband of Ann Laughrey (1839-). Michael Boyce and Mary Gould. had seven children:
- Margaret Ann. Never married, buried in S. Sylvestre.
- Patrick James. He married Julia Brennan. They begat Marion Boyce and Francis Allan Boyce (1920 in St. Sylvestre-June 7 1944, probably over France; flying officer of the Royal Canadian Air Force). Marion Boyce married Joseph Donahue and is the mother of John Donahue, professor of Spanish and Irish at Concordia University. Patrick James died in Quebec.
- Joseph William; died in Quebec
- William A. He moved to East Barre VT. He married Hannah Conway.
- Marie Alice; she moved to Wilmington MA
- Mary Helene; died in Quebec
- Mary Belia Isobel Boyce; she moved to Cheboygan and, later, Graying MI.
Katherine McVey divorced Michael B. and moved to Cambridge, MA with their only son, John (Jack).
4) Peter Boyce. He married Mary Byrnes and, after her death at a young age, married Sarah McMahon, producing six children.
5) Annie. She married John Owens and begat three children, Thomas Hageon, John Franklin and Alice L , who were all born in Moscow or Bingham, Maine.
6) Catherine. She died at the age of 9.
7) Patrick Jr.. He married twice. First, to Mary Ann O’Leary, begatting four children: William Patrick (died in infancy), Joseph John (died in Montreal), Elizabeth Alice (died in Verdun, PQ) and Mary Ann Josephine Boyce (died in Sillery, just outside Quebec City). Second, to Anastasia Brown from Sillery, Quebec.
8) Mary. She married Joseph Pooler (Poulin in Quebec records, but Pooler in United States records ). They had 9 children — Rose E, William H (1871-1873 in Moscow, Maine), Joseph Elwin, Alice M, Mary A, Florence G, Lawrence G, Birdena B, and John Boyce — all born in Aroostook County, Maine. Mary and Joseph are buried in Moscow, Maine.
9) William. He died at the age of 23 years while in the United States.
(17) The 13 children of Michael Boyce (?-? in S. Sylvestre) [son of Henry Boyce and Ann McMonigle] and Mary Sullivan (1839-1925) are:
11) Edward Francis, born a few minutes before his twin Michael Peter.
12) Michael Peter, known as “Red-Mike”. He was the chief engineer on the Cog Railway on Mount Washington in Bretton Woods, NH. He married Ida Gibbons (from Newfoundland) and they begat three children: Catherine, Mary and Clarence Michael. Only Clarence Michael survives to this day in Keene, NH.
13) Francis, born 2 years after Michael Peter.
(18) Peter Boyce (1833-1909 in S. Sylvestre) had 6 children with his second wife Sarah McMahon (his first wife died in 1877):
- Mary Ann. She died at 18 years.
- William John. He married Mary C Walsh. They begat three children — Mildred, Ethel, and Wilbert.
- Michael Peter. He married Mary E. Lynch, one of the Lynch girls from St. Giles and St. Sylvestre. They they lived in Dorchester, MA and had three children —Charles Gerard, Allen F, and Robert — all born in and around the Boston, MA area. This family was very good friends of the O’Rourke/Boyce family from S. Sylvestre and S. Severin (O’Rourke’s wife was Henry Boyce’s daughter), who settled in Salem, MA, and of the Twomey/Boyce family from Frampton and St. Elzear, who settled in Wilmington, MA.
- Joseph James. He died soon after birth.
- Katharine, well known as Katie Boyce. She married Francis Lynch of St. Giles and St. Sylvestre. They had nine children: Margaret, Sarah Ann, Mary Celia, Katharine, Thomas, an anonymous stillborn child, a second Margaret, Theresa, and Frank Hugh Travers.
- Joseph Francis Xavier. He died an early death in Rosetown, Saskatchewan.
(19) John Sullivan (1807 or 1811- 3 Nov. 1892) married Mary Prendergast (?- Jan. 3 1874 in S. Sylvestre) on Aug. 13 1833 at Notre-Dame de Québec, and settled in 1835 on lot 235 of St. Paul range in S. Sylvestre (531 on map of Steve Cameron). John is the son of Denis Sullivan and Margaret Dunn. Mary Prendergast is the daughter of Margaret Walsh and Thomas Prendergast (? – 1 Aug. 1848 in S. Sylvestre) or Patrick P. according to a secondary source (Patrick P. was a smith and he settled on lot 476 of St. André range in 1829).
John S. and Mary P. were living in S. Sylvestre in 1871. They had 10 children:
- Eliza (1837-?) married Michael Hogan on 17 Jan. 1865 in St. Sylvestre.
- Margaret (1839-?) married Patrick Noran on 8 Apr. 1856.
- Cecilia (1841-1901) married Bernard Laughrea on Nov. 23 1858 in S. Elzéar.
- Patrick (1842-?).
- Mary (1839-1925 in S. Sylvestre) married Michael Boyce (?-? in S. Sylvestre) on 8 Jan. 1861; they had 13 children (17).
- Anasthasia (1846-?) married Thomas Quinn on 13 Apr. 1858—dates seem a bit improbable!); The parents of Thomas Quinn are John Quinn and Rosanna Tonery.
- Thomas (1848-?) married Ellen O’Donnell on 2 June 1877.
- Catherine (7 Nov. 1848-?).
- Catherine (2 Aug. 1850-?). Her godparents were Hugh O’Donnel and Ann Rourke.
- John (1852- after 1874).
John and Mary died at 84 and 66, respectively, suggesting that both were born in 1808. The witnesses to Mary’s mass and burial were John Sullivan (1852-), Bernard Loughrey (1834-1914) and Peter Boyce (1833-1909), both brothers in law of Mary Sullivan (1839-). The witnesses to John’s were Michael Boyce (?-? in S. Sylvestre), nephew of Bridget Loughrey and cousin of MIchael Boyce (1833-1925) and Michael Boyce (1846-), and John Loughrey (1860-1946). Note the spelling of the Laughrea name.
In 1854/1858, a John Sullivan had lot 6 on St. Peter range of S. Sylvestre; I suspect that his lot extended from St-Paul Road to St-Pierre Road. A Lawrence Dunn owned lot 523 on S. Paul range, 6 farms West of John Sullivan and 5 farms East of Michael Boyce. An Andrew Dunn lived in range 11 of Leeds, 4 lots South of Broughton Road. A Lawrence Dunn owned a lot located between that of Thomas Harny and the border of S. Sylvestre; and also a Thomas Dunn. A John Walsh lived along Fermanagah North Road, the next road East being St. André Road; and a James Walsh lived on S. Pierre range. A Michael Hogan had lot #569 on the South side of St.-Paul Road, i.e. three lots East of the bend of the East Palmer in the Handkerchief. While following an affluent of the East Palmer, I walked until his farm without knowing. A Michael Hogan also had lot 697 in Ste Catherine range.
(20) Novelist Madeleine Ferron mentions Owen Loughrea and Ann in her 1983 novel “Sur le chemin Craig“, but she has this Ann be the wife of Robert Corrigan before his murder in 1855. In reality, the wife of Robert Corrigan was Catherine Morton.
(21) The municipality of “Leeds and Thetford Township”, as well as the municipality of “Broughton township”, were created in 1855. Leeds and Thetford Township was divided ini 1874 into two municipalities, “Leeds township” and “Thetford township”. Leeds township was further divided in 1881 into the municipalities Leeds and Leeds East. Leeds East included ranges 12 to 16 of Leeds township plus parts of ranges 1 to 4 of Thetford township. Broughton township was divided in 1877 into two municipalities, East-Broughton and West-Broughton (S. Pierre de Broughton). Leeds East and S. Pierre de Broughton united in 1973 to form one municipality named S. Pierre de Broughton. However, for religious purposes, Leeds East has been part of the parish of S. Pierre de Broughton since its foundation in 1856. Note that the township of Thetford and Leeds, as opposed to the municipalities, were established in 1801 and 1802.
(22) Going West to East, or South to North, Mount Handkerchief separates the East Palmer from the Filkars River, Mont Ste Marguerite separates the Filkars from the Beaurivage River, and Mount Tara separates the Beaurivage River from the Chaudière valley. The Filkars River flows between Mount Ste Marguerite and Mount Handkerchief.
(23) Harvey Hill copper mine operated in the 15th range of Leeds from 1856 to 1903 and from 1973 to 1976. It was the first underground copper mine in Quebec, one of the earliest mines in the Chaudière-Appalaches region, and its first copper mine. Copper was discovered there in 1850, and the samples sent to London for analysis in 1853 contained 39 % copper. ”De 1858 à 1866, le minerai était expédié en Angleterre depuis le port de Québec”: it most probably transited through the “route des Laughrea” (From Ministère des Ressources Naturelles du Québec: http://www.mrn.gouv.qc.ca/chaudiere-appalaches/mines/mines-activite-exploitees.jsp.)
“C’est à partir du chemin Craig que fut construit le premier chemin qui se dirigeait vers le territoire qui devait former plus tard, la paroisse de Ste-Agathe. Ce chemin a longtemps été nommé Harvey Hill ou encore chemin des Mines parce qu’il partait de la mine de Harvey Hill, située au sud du Craig et traversait ce dernier pour se diriger vers Ste-Agathe.
Ce chemin avait été ouvert aux prospecteurs pour leur permettre de trouver des gisements de cuivre ou d’autres métaux. On peut lire dans Mines et Canada qu’il y eut dans ces années beaucoup de prospections dans les environs dans le but de trouver des gisements importants. Le tout a été abandonné et la mine Harvey Hill fut fermée définitivement en 1899.
Suite à la construction de ce chemin, quelques colons en ont profité pour s’établir et s’adonner à l’agriculture. Ce sont surtout des Irlandais qui se sont regroupés le long de ce chemin. Encore dans les années 1950, plusieurs personnes l’appelaient le rang des Irlandais. Un autre indice qui nous prouve que c’est la partie de la paroisse qui s’est développée la première, c’est que l’on a établi une commission scolaire et on l’a nommée commission scolaire no 1 ou commission scolaire des Irlandais. Elle comprenait deux écoles, la première étant construite à l’intersection du rang St-Michel et du chemin des Mines. L’autre école était située à environ deux milles plus au nord, sur le même chemin.” (From Web site of Ste-Agathe de Lotbinière).
(24) The Mitchells of St. Sylvestre settled in Barre, VT and Rutland. They currently own the second largest newspaper in Vermont called the Times Argus/Rutland Herald.
(25) Lydia’s father, Richard Cyr ((~1830 [?] - Ap. 30 1889), established himself in the 10th range of Broughton in 1854. He married Celina Caron (?- before 1906) on May 1 1855 in S. Sylvestre. He worked in various mines (Harvey Hill, Capelton, Black-Lake) and lost an arm in 1878 while working in Harvey Hill mine (23), 2 years before the birth of Lydia. He died when Lydia was 9 years old. This means that three of my grandparents lost their fathers between the ages of 5 and 12 and one lost his mother at 12. Lydia told us that her mother was 52 or 54 when she was born and that she was much younger that her next youngest sibling.
Her brother Louis-Richard (Dec. 22 1869 – Sept. 15 1940) discovered soapstone in ranges 15 and 11 of S. Pierre de Broughton in 1923. In 1924 he founded the Broughton Soapstone Quarry, a quarry that employed 75 people at its peak. In 1944 it was the most important sopastone mine in Quebec. The famous Christ the redeemer of Rio de Janeiro is made of soapstone. Louis-Richard managed and administred the company for many years. His nephew, dentist Oliva Cyr (30 August 1888- Nov. 20 1980), was from the beginning an important shareholder. The mine closed in 1976. Louis-Richard started his productive life as a miner in Harvey Hill mine (23), became a foreman in Black-Lake mine, and helped exploit a Chromium mine in Coleraine between 1914 and 1918, accumulating some capital. After the war he became a prospector, which led him to discover soapstone in 1923. He married 3 times: Léa Langlois on Feb. 13 1899 in Black-Lake; Marie Bilodeau on March 1 1924 in Thetford-Mines and Amanda Morin in Thetford-Mines in1938. From this first marriage, he had a daughter, Juliette, who married Charles Latimer.
Lydia’s brother Moise (1860 – March 8 1940) owned a lot on the 13th range of Broughton. He married Modeste Poulin (1858- Sept. 18 1950) on Aug. 9 1880. They had nine children: Joseph (died young), Onésime (M. Alma Fortier in 1911), Louis-Richard (married Valéda Fecteau in 1912 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had 17 children), Moise-Albert (M. Emilienne Vachon in S. Pierre de Broughton), Kilda (M. Francis Lavallière), Georgianna (M. Hilaire Hébert), Rose-Anna (M. Alphonse Pomerleau), Marie-Anne (died young) and Malvina (M. Wilfrid Morissette).
(26) The ancestors of Lydia Cyr (1880-1977), up to 124 of her (great)5-grandparents, 188 of her (great)6-grandparents, 138 of her (great)7-grandparents and a number of her (great)9-grandparents are found at:
(27) Tancrède married Annie on June 27 1911. Soon after, Annie’s mother, Olive Collet, moved into the house of Tancrède and lived there until her death. The brothers and sisters of Annie were Gédéon, Laura and Jean. Gédéon staid in Lowell MA (29); the other brothers and sisters returned to Canada. Annie Lachance was working in the Magasin Général of Léonidas Beaudoin, cousin of Tancrède Labbé, when she met Trancrède. Gédéon had at least 3 children: Olivette, Rolande and Jean-Marc, all living in Lowell. They would often come to live for weeks in the house of Tancrède during summer time. Olivette’s french was excellent.
The brothers and sisters of Tancrède were Odélie (M. Pierre Gravel), Emilie (M. Généré Perron and Alyre Lessard), Raymond (M. Adélia Vallée), Théophile (M. Marie-Louise Bolduc), Arthur (M. Maria Joséphe) and Joseph (M. Laura Lafrance), who was injured in combat during World War I. Odélie, Emilie, Raymond and Théophile had 148 grandchildren, while Tancrède, Arthur and Joseph had only 16. Tancrède moved to the house on Notre-Dame street in 1926. This house is now the property of his son François (Sept. 23 1928- ). François is a pioneering Canadian mass media owner who started the first commercial French language radio network in Canada, the Réseau des Appalaches, in 1972. He married Marthe Loubier (22 sept. 1930 – ), sister of Gabriel Loubier (1932- ), who was leader of the opposition in the National assembly of Quebec from 1971 to 1973. They had 4 children [Marc, Marie (Jacques Vachon), Annie (Réjean Charette) and Paul] and 5 grandchildren.
Tancrède and Annie had 7 children but 5 died prematurely. Daughter Colette died of tuberculosis on 21 June 1935 at the age of 21 years and 8 months. Daughters Marguerite, Françoise and Denise died of infectious diseases on Jan. 1 1919, in 1919 and on Jan. 2 1919, at the ages of 7, 5 and 1.5 years, respectively. Note that spanish flu hit Thetford-Mines in Oct. 1918. Son Jean-Marc (1917-1948), father of 5 children with his wife Jeanne D’Arc Dubois (19 oct. 1921- ), died of accidental drowning in Lac-à-la-Truite on July 4 1948 at the age of 31 years 4 months. The family was living in a large 4-floor house on Cyr street. All 5 children were born there. They kept living in this house for at least the next 25 years after the death of Jean-Marc. Tancrède had lent the money for the purchase of the house and assumed the cost of the house after Jean-Marc’s death. The 5 children of Jean-Marc are Colette, Andrée, Pierre (1944-2004), France and Louise.
Tancrède lost his father and his mother in 1899 when he was 12 years old. Tancrède is the cousin of:
- Leonidas Beaudoin, father of Arthur Beaudoin who started Laiterie Beaudoin in Thetford-Mines.
- Jos T. Beaudoin, manufacturer of “sacs de jute et de coton” and mayor of Thetford-Mines sometime between 1937 and 1946.
- Pierre-Aurèle Beaudoin, father of Laurent Beaudoin, who was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Bombardier Inc. from 1966 to 2008.
- Jean-Robert Beaudoin, father of Louise Beaudoin (26 sept. 1945 – ), minister of various offices between 1995 and 2003 within the government of Quebec, and of Maurice Beaudoin, owner of a printing company in Thetford-Mines.
(28) The ancestors of Tancrède Labbé can be found at http://nodiffamation.com/2013/10/04/genealogie-et-histoire-des-ancetres-de-tancrede-labbe-1887-1956-ministre-des-mines-1944-1956-dans-le-gouvernement-du-quebec/
(29) The ancestors of Annie Lachance can be found at http://nodiffamation.com/2013/11/09/genealogie-et-histoire-des-ancetres-dannie-lachance-1888-1962-epouse-de-tancrede-labbe-1887-1956/
(30) Hudon was a famous professor of Anesthesiology who discovered a new anesthetic (a halothane/ether mixture) and developed the naso-tracheal intubation. He was president of the Canadian Anesthesiologists’ society in 1949-1950 and vice-president of the American Society of Anesthesiologists in ?-?. From 1953 to 1958 he trained 110 physicians in Anesthesia.
(31) A prize given yearly since 1859, and based on an endowment from Joseph Morrin. http://www.biographi.ca/009004-119.01-e.php?id_nbr=4611
(32) Jacques Custeau and Bridget Boyce had 5 sons and 2 daughters who reached adult age:
- James, married to Cecilia Laughrea.
- Michel (Mike) (1865-Dec. 7 1941) had a lot on the 14th range of Leeds East. He married Mary-Ann Monahan (?-Feb. 17 1953) on Oct. 8 1894. Mary-Ann is probably the daughter of Thomas Monahan (1831- Aug. 13 1917) and Ann McTeague (1834- June 16 1924), who had a lot on the 15th range of Leeds East.
- Joseph (Dec. 4 1867- May 3 1941). Bachelor. He had a lot on the 14th range of Leeds East.
- Henry (1875- Feb. 16 1953). Bachelor
- John (?- Oct. 12 1916). Bachelor. Died accidentally.
- Mary-Ann. (June 1877- Ap. 12 1960). She married John Coarr (1880- Ap. 23 1942) in 1909. They lived on a lot 23, 15th range of Leeds, a lot touching the boundary of S. Sylvestre. They had a daughter Dorothy (nov. 27 1918- after 2005) who married Gérard Goulet on Sept. 21 1944. John Coarr is son of Thomas Coarr (1838- Sept. 28 1905) and Ann Ogle (1841- July 28 1933). They married on Feb. 12 1879. Lot 23 was first settled by John Coarr, grandfather of John (1880-). The two brothers of John (1880-), Francis and Henry, moved to the Canadian West.
- Margaret. She married James Connolly in 1918. James is son of Edward Connolly (1851- Ap. 24 1928) and Alice Fahey (1840 – June 15 1922). Edward is son of Terence Connolly (1800- Dec. 15 1884) and Alice Fahey (1823- Jan. 23 1901). They married on Jan. 9 1849. Three of their 4 sons remained bachelors. Terence had already established himself in 1845 on lot 8 of 1st range of Thetford, i.e. adjacent to 15th range of Leeds East.
(33) ”Le 2 juillet 1882 ou 1883, un règlement est adopté pour l’ouverture d’une route dans le rang Monaghan, route qui a fait parler d’elle dans les années 1921, 22 et 1923, sous le nom de route Xavier-Moisan. Cette route fut-elle jamais ouverte à la circulation? Les délibérations du conseil dans les années 1920 laissent bien entendre qu’elle ne le.fut jamais. En 1898, le 5 septembre, une résolution du conseil, suite à une requête présentée par M. Xavier Moisan, ordonne de réouvrir et entretenir la route dite Killarney. II a déjà été question de cette route en 1883, et il en sera encore question beaucoup plus tard, ce qui laisse bien supposer que les règlements ou résolutions concernant cette route ne furent jamais appliqués, puisque le 7 novembre de cette même année, une autre résolution dit que la route qui passe sur la terre de Xavier Moisan sera entretenue par les intéressés, mais non clôturée avant que la route de St-Sylvestre, qui lui fait suite, ne soit entretenue. En 1925, vu que la route Xavier-Moisan est définitivement fermée, une requête des contribuables intéressés aux routes St-Richard et St-Charles demande l’aide des contribuables du rang Monaghan à l’entretien de ces deux routes. Après plusieurs séances orageuses et plusieurs votes des conseillers, la requête est accordée.” (Livre du Centenaire de St-Séverin 1871-1972).
- – - – - – - – - – - – - – - -
Acknowledgements: this genealogy would have been much shorter without the generous contributions of Richard Zaidi, grandson of Lucille Laughrea-Gagné (1917-2009), Tom Boyce (1956-), g.-g.-grandson of Bridget Loughrey-Boyce (1826-1883), Lavon Brown, member honoris causa of the Laughrea family, Billy Laughrea (1928-2009) and Jim Laughrea (1938-), grandsons of James Laughrea (1873-1955) and great-grandsons of Bernard Laughrea (1834-1914), Michael O. Loughrea, great-grandson of Owen Loughrea (1831-after 1910), and Steve Cameron of Sainte-Agathe de Lotbinière.
Michael Laughrea (1952-), grandson of John Laughrea (1860-1946) and great-grandson of Bernard Laughrea (1834-1914).