The cog road of the Mount Washington Cog Railway was inaugurated in Jul 1869. It is the first and oldest cog railway in the world, as well as the second steepest cog road in the world. In the steepest portion of the railroad, the vertical rise is four feet for every ten feet on the horizon; the average rise is 1300 feet to the mile. The base station is at an elevation of 2700 feet and the summit at 6288 feet.
b) James Loughery(1826 Ireland – 9 Dec 1889 Whitefield NH) married Ann Gallagher(1833 Ireland – 25 Oct 1883 S. Séverin) on 22 Feb 1848 in S. Sylvestre. She was fifteen years old! Her parents are James Gallagher (~1795 Ireland — 24 Mar 1847 S. Sylvestre) and Mary Martin (~1796 Ireland — 28 Oct 1866 S. Sylvestre). Ann may be related to Francis Gallagher and heirs John Gallagher, whose lot is on Fermanagh range and faces a Monaghan lot owned by James Loughery in 1855/57 and by PATRICK in 1882. I suspect she is the cousin of Francis Gallagher—husband of Mary Mahoney and son of Rose Martin. James and Ann lived on Killarney Road from their marriage until the death of Ann in 1883 (one month from Bridget’s) and the departure of James for Whitefield a few years later. In 1861 they lived in S. Sylvestre in a one story frame house, whereas PATRICK’s was a log house. From at least 1855/57 to 1882, James owned lot 245 of Killarney range. It faces lot 225 of Monaghan range. PATRICK owned lot 227 of Monaghan range in 1882. Lot 245 starts half-way up the western slope of Tara Mountain, at 1400 vertical feet, just after an affluent of the Beaurivage splits into two tributaries, and ends at 1675 vertical feet. James’ farm includes much of the course of the two tributaries. Going from west to east, lot 245 is the third of Killarney range, after those of Francis Travers and James McCrea, who killed George Ogle in 1874 (see below). According to James’ tombstone in S. Matthew’s Catholic cemetery, Dalton Road/Route 142 just outside Whitefield, James was born in 1821 because “68 years” was inscribed as his age at death. Perhaps the real age was 63 and 68 was inscribed by mistake.
James’ farming operation from 1851 and 1871. In 1851 he had 90 arpents of land on Killarney range: 78 forest, 9 pasture and 3 for harvest. His only crop was 100 minots of potatoes. He had eight animals: one horse, four cows, one swine and two sheep. In 1861, he had 135 acres of land: most likely the 90 arpents on Killarney range plus another 45 arpents on Monaghan range. It was 115 acres forest, 12 pasture and 8 for harvest. He had eight animals: one horse, two cows and five sheep. His farm had a value of $200 and his two cows had a value of $30. It is possible that James’ Killarney lot in 1851 was the same as PATRICK’s Killarney lot in 1835, even though they were called “lot 3″ and “lot 5″ (“lot 245″ and “lot 243″in 1882). At worst, both lots are very near each other.
In 1871 James had 90 arpents of land on Killarney range: 76 forest, 8 pastures and 6 for harvest. He had seventeen animals: two horses, six cows, one swine and eight sheep. The number of items produced progressed from one in 1851 to six in 1861 (potatoes, oats, barley, haystacks, butter, wool) and nine in 1871 (the already named + maple sugar, buckwheat and peas). He had 26 cords of firewood in 1871. 1871 details are at 00246.jpg, 257.jpg, 261.jpg, 265.jpg, and 269.jpg of Canadian census for James Laughery. For more details and context, see Chapter Six.
James moved to Whitefield, Coos, NH in 1888 or 1889: he was not located on the 1881 census but his wife died in S. Séverin in 1883 and two of his children died in S. Séverin in 1885 and 1888 at the ages of 30 and 24 respectively. James may have moved to Whitefield in 1888 together with Michael (1859), Bridget (1867) and Catherine (1872). Susan (1862) m. in S. Séverin in 1888 and stayed thereafter in S. Sylvestre, perhaps as close to S. Séverin as Fermanagh range. The railroad reached East Broughton in 1879. In 1888, James’ half-siblings and neighbors Peter (1861) and Elizabeth (1866) moved to Whitefield and his nephew Michael Laughrea (1866) moved to nearby Lancaster. By 1888, James’ siblings Owen and Mary had already been living in Coos Co., NH for seven and eighteen years respectively, and at least five of Catherine’s children were already living there. James’ recently widowed stepmother Mary McGown and several of her children moved to Whitefield in 1891 or soon after.
50% of James’ adult children and 83% of his adult Quebec grandchildren moved to the USA. James had nine children. Five died between 1876 and 1890 at the ages of 23 to 31. Two could not be tracked beyond the ages of 29 and 9 respectively, and two are known to have lived more than 31 years. These last two married: Susan stayed in S. Sylvestre all her life and Michael moved to New Hampshire. Susan had six children and Michael had one. James had ten grandchildren of known lifespan. They were all children of Susan, born in Quebec, but only six lived more than 25 years. Five of them moved to the USA between 1920 and 1923 at the average age of 26: Freddy and Mathilda moved to Berlin NH in 1920, Pierce William arrived in West Stewartstown, Coos, NH after 1921, and Anna and Joseph settled in Woodstock VT in 1922 or 1923.
Epidemic diseases in S. Sylvestre and Megantic county between 1873 and 1890. From 1873 to 1878, a smallpox epidemic swept Canada East. In 1874-1875, there was a diphteria epidemic in Broughton, Leeds and Inverness townships: 56 children of less than ten years died in S. Séverin, out of a total population of 800 then. (In 2012, the population of S. Séverin was 300.) In 1881 there was a scarlett fever epidemic in S. Sylvestre and in Leeds township. In 1884-1885, a very large number of children and young adults died of epidemic diseases in S. Séverin. There was an epidemy of diphteria in 1889-1890 in S. Pierre de Broughton.
James lost four children between 1876 and 1888. His niece Mary Boyce of S. Patrice de Beaurivage lost four children between 1878 and 1887. Losing eight children in twelve years may have stimulated migration out of apparently disease-infested Beaurivage and Bécancour River valleys. James’ emigration may have happened too late. He died in 1889. His daughter Bridget died in 1890, which means that James lost five of nine children as young adults between 1876 and 1890 (their ages at death ranged from 22 to 30). His neighbor and half-brother Frank died in 1991. The two surviving children of Mary Boyce moved to West Virginia and New Hampshire in the 1890s.
James built the church of S. Séverin. The church of S. Séverin is connected to Ann Laughrey and James Loughery. Ann’s husband donated land to build the church. James and eight other churchwardens constructed it from 1873 to 1877. The parish and municipality of S. Séverin were respectively created on 26 Jun 1872 and 22 Jan 1873. On 3 Feb 1873, it was decided to build a church at the corner of rang S. Marguerite Road and 1st range Road. Rang S. Marguerite Road connects S. Marguerite Road to 1st range Road. First range Road, also called S. Richard Road, leads to Killarney Road. Based on rough drawings, “James Laughrey”, Joseph St-Hilaire, Elzéar Pomerleau, Ferdinand Pageau, Moïse Huppé, Jean Lessard, Augustin Couture, François Jacques and Jean-Baptiste Thivierge took charge of construction. This must have started with cutting trees, shaping wood and gathering foundation and wall stones. They took care of everything except stone cutting, which was reserved for specialized workers paid 10 cents an hour. The annual construction budget was $300. The job was done after four years. The church was consecrated on 26 Jun 1877. S. Séverin lies mostly on the Chaudière side of the Beaurivage and Chaudière Rivers watershed. Only its Monaghan, Killarney and S. Marguerite ranges, all three located on the Beaurivage side of the watershed, had numerous Irish settlers in the mid 1870s.
Religious life before church construction. In the late 1840s, a small chapel, S. John the Evangelist, was built by the Anglican community in the middle portion of the S. Séverin part of S. Marguerite range. It was along S. Marguerite Road, three lot widths west after crossing the Beaurivage River and nine km southeast of the S. Sylvestre church. Robert Corrigan, who was beaten to death at a fair in 1855, lived in S. Marguerite range since at least 1848 (Hill Search The Robert Corrigan Story).
In 1860, catholic residents started pressing the Quebec archdiocese for the right to establish a chapel and presbytery fourteen km southeast of the S. Sylvestre church and nine km south of the S. Elzéar church. Their demand was rejected but the resident priest of S. Sylvestre supported the initiative. In Dec 1863, he was permitted to celebrate weekday mass in the area. Mass was celebrated in Jean Lessard’s house from Mar 1864 to Dec 1871. To get there, the priest took S. Marie Road (opened in 1817 to link S. Marie to Craig’s Road), S. Marguerite Road (opened in 1832) and rang S. Marguerite Road. The house was at the southeast extremity of S. Marguerite range, namely the junction (9) of S. Marguerite and S. George ranges, twelve km southeast of the S. Sylvestre church.
S. Marguerite range and its adjoining ranges: Fermanagh, Monaghan, Killarney and S. George. Much Laughrea history relates to this block of ranges which is centered on the upper course of the Beaurivage River, covers the eastern slope of Mount S. Marguerite (summit 2250 feet) and the western slope of Mount Tara (summit 1900 feet), and straddles S. Séverin and S. Sylvestre. PATRICK lived on Killarney Road, which separates Monaghan range from Killarney range. James and Catherine lived on Killarney range. James’ daughter Susan probably lived on Fermanagh range. Mary Laughery and Ann Laughrey lived on S. Marguerite range. Mary was on the next to last lot before entering S. Séverin from S. Sylvestre. S. Marguerite range runs from north to south. Fermanagh, Monaghan, Killarney and S. George ranges are contiguous, parallel, and run from west to east, starting at the eastern border of S. Marguerite range. Fermanagh and Monaghan ranges end at the western border of S. André range, where BERNARD had his farm from 1858 to early 1875. Killarney and S. George ranges end at 1st range Road, which separates them from the western border of S. Anne range. S. Marguerite range was settled in the early 1830s. It consists of 31 lots, at least 28 of which were Irish owned in the early 1830s. The twelve northern lots, together with Fermanagh range, remained in S. Sylvestre in 1873. The nineteen southern ones, together with Monaghan, Killarney and S. George ranges, were granted to S. Séverin. In the late 1870s, only four of the 31 lots of S. Marguerite range had French-Canadian owners. S. Marguerite Road passes through the middle of nearly every lot of S. Marguerite range. Walking upstream along the Beaurivage river, one crosses fourteen of the nineteen S. Marguerite lots located in S. Séverin, and one crosses S. Marguerite Road seven lots from the south end of S. Marguerite range.
Manslaughter in S. Séverin in Oct 1874 involved James, PATRICK, BERNARD, Thomas McGee and three Boyce family members. It occurred on the evening of 11 Oct 1874 on the farm of James McCrea, immediate neighbor of James Loughery. There was a fight between James McCrea and George Ogle. In 1855/57, James McCrea owned lots 244 and 246 of Killarney range and George Ogle lived on Monaghan range right in front of lot 244. James Loughery provided proper lighting and a team of horses to carry home the fatally wounded George Ogle, who was godfather of Catherine Loughery (1872 — after 1881) and appears to be the neighbor of PATRICK. Bernard Laughrea, Thomas McGee (husband of Catherine Laughry), John ‘son of Jack’ Boyce, Peter Boyce (1833), and Michael ‘son of Henry’ Boyce, i.e. Michael Boyce (1835-1918), were members of the coroner’s jury of 12 Oct 1874. The three Boyces are nephews of Bridget Loughrey. Michael (1835-1918) is also brother-in-law of Bernard Laughrea. The coroner’s jury accused James McCrea of manslaughter in the death of George Ogle in S. Séverin. The members of the jury were all neighbors of the players involved. Thomas McGee lived at the corner Killarney range and 1st range Road and Bernard Laughrea lived on S. André range with the usual access to his house from Killarney Road. This indicates that Bernard moved to Leeds East after 12 Oct 1874, consistent with his selling his S. André lot in Jan 1875. The trial was held in Quebec City on 4 and 5 Nov 1874. PATRICK and James Loughery testified. On 5 Nov the jury found James McCrea not guilty of manslaughter (Hill tales… Still Searching).
The 9 children of James Loughery and Ann Gallagher, and 40 descendants. James had nine children between 1850 and 1872, and at least 11 grandchildren, 19 great-grandchildren, 7 (g.)2-grandchildren and 3 (g.)3-grandchildren. The surnames of his grandchildren are: Gallagher (9), Laughrea (1), Harny (1). The surnames of his great-grandchildren are: Hogan (8), Gallagher (7), McGee (3). Doyle (1). The surnames of his (g.)2-grandchildren are: Gallagher (5), Flower (2). I present below his nine children.
- Mary Ann Loughery(2 Jan 1850 S. Sylvestre – 10 Apr 1876 S. Séverin). Her godparents were Thomas Martin and Anastase Fortier. Witnesses at burial were Thomas Jacques and Paul Labbé. She m. John Harny (Harney) (? — 27 Aug 1930 Sillery, QC) in Lévis on 16 Sep 1875 (witnesses were James Harney and Sarah Harney), gave birth to Sara Ann (5 March 1876 S. Séverin – 10 Aug 1876 Lauzon, Lévis) less than six months after marrying, and died 35 days later, probably from sequels of childbirth. In the baptismal records of Sara Ann, Mary is described as “Mary Laughrey de Québec” (maybe she gave birth while visiting S. Séverin). John Harny subsequently m. Mary Ann Kelly on 24 Oct 1881 in Québec City.
John Harny is the son of William Harny and Sara Berryman (~1825-1880). He has two brothers: Patrick (1843-?) and William (1845-?). Both married in S. Sylvestre in 1873. John Harny might be the uncle of Patrick Harny (1867-?) and Thomas Harny (1869-?). Thomas Harny’s farm faced that of my great-grandfather BERNARD (1835-1914) in 1888. It included both sides of the beautiful and crystal clear East Palmer River. The southern border of Harny’s farm is Laughrea Road and its eastern border is 12th range Road, which separates it from BERNARD’s farm. Both farms are in Leeds East, which united in 1973 with West Brougthon to become the municipality of S. Pierre de Broughton (the parish of S. Pierre de Broughton was founded in 1856 and included the municipality of Leeds East). My grandfather JOHN Laughrea (1860-1946) used to say: “Harny down the road are family”. Thomas might be the nephew of Mary Ann Loughery, who was the cousin of JOHN. A Patrick Harny sold the farm of Thomas Harny in 1945 to a Guay family. Maybe he had inherited the farm at the death of Thomas. Patrick Harny was mayor of Leeds East from 1903 to 1908 and from 1919 to 1923. Thomas Harny (1869 -) was president of the Leeds East school commission in 1905.
- JamesLoughery (4 Nov 1852 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar – after 1881). Sponsors were Owen Boyce and Bridget Loughrey.
- Patrick Loughery(2 Nov 1854 S. Sylvestre – 24 Sep 1885 S. Séverin). The godparents were Bernard Laughrea and Catherine Laughry. The witnesses at death were his brother Michael and James O’Connor. James is probably the husband of Patrick’s cousin Susan Boyce (1856): James O’Connor and Susan Boyce lived in S. Séverin until summer 1887, before moving to Websterville, Washington, VT.
4. RoseAnne Loughery (30 Apr 1857 S. Sylvestre – 18 Oct 1880 S. Séverin). Her godparents were Michael Laughrey and Rose Gallagher. The witnesses at death were her brothers Michael and Patrick. Godfather Michael Laughrey is neither a known cousin nor a known brother of James. The godparents of Michael Conn (1859 S. Sylvestre — ) are “Michael Laughrey and Cecilia Sullivan, his wife”. Therefore “Michael” is an alternative first name for Bernard Laughrea’s (1835-1914) just as Edward might be an alternative first name name for PATRICK’s. During 1874-1875 and 1884-1885, a very large number of children and young adults died of epidemic diseases in S. Séverin. Mary Ann, Patrick and Rose Anne Loughery may have been such victims.
- Michael Loughery(21 Sep 1859 S. Sylvestre — after 1890 but probably before 1911). His godparents were Thomas McGee and Mary Martin. Michael married Elizabeth (Lizzie) Longway (1870 Jefferson NH – after 1890) on 21 Sep 1890 in Bartlett, Caroll, NH, in the White Mountains. Lizzie’s parents were David Longway (30 Apr 1848 Black Brook, Clinton, NY – 20 Dec 1889 Jefferson, Coos, NH) and Mary McCormick (8 Sep 1850 Keeseville, Essex, NY – 18 Sep 1942 Jefferson, Coos, NH). In 1910, a Michael Laughery lived on Beech Hill Road, Bethlehem NH near the house of Owen Laughrea. Michael’s cousin Michael Laughery (1866-1944), son of BERNARD, lived in Lancaster NH at least from 1920 to 1944. Two Michael Laughery, grandsons of Patrick, may have lived in northern New Hampshire in the early 1900s. Michael and Lizzie had a daughter: Gertie M. (Aug 1891 NH — ). In 1900 she lived with her grandmother Mary Longway, suggesting that Michael and Lizzie were deceased.
- Susan Loughery (9 Mar 1862 S. Sylvestre – 23 Nov 1936 idem). Her godparents were Michael Martin and Mary Laughery. She married Edward Gallagher (1 Dec 1852 idem – 13 Jun 1927 idem) on 18 Sep 1888 in S. Séverin. The witnesses were her brother Michael, Edward’s brother John (~1856-1943) and Arthur Vachon. Susan may have lived her married life on Fermanagh range, at or near the farms of her father-in-law Francis Gallagher and heirs John Gallagher, and almost in front of PATRICK’s lot. Consistent with this, the 1911 census describes Susan as living in S. Sylvestre East and Fermanagh range is the easternmost range of S. Sylvestre. In 2013, an 81-year-old land owner of Fermanagh told me that Gallaghers had lived there. Edward and Susan are 2nd degree cousins if Mary Ann Gallagher is the cousin of Francis Gallagher. Edward was previously married to Ann Sheridan (21 Feb 1861 S. Sylvestre – 13 Jan 1886 idem). Edward Gallagher and Ann Sheridan had four children between 1882 and 1886. Susan Loughery and Edward Gallagher had nine children between 1889 and 1906:
a- John Arthur (or Albert) Gallagher (13 Jun 1889 S. Sylvestre – 5 Jul 1913 idem). His godfather was uncle John Gallagher (~1856-1943).
b- Frederick (Freddy) Gallagher (16 Apr 1891 S. Sylvestre — 20 Jun 1961 Berlin, Coos, NH). His godparents were his aunt Catherine Loughery and James O’Neil. Freddy arrived in Berlin in 1920, but was listed in the 1921 census of S. Sylvestre. He was a steam fitter in a paper mill in 1940, earning $500 for 26 weeks of work at 40h/week. He had a 2nd grade elementary education. He m. Elizabeth Hogan (8 May 1897 S. Sylvestre – 13 May 1943 Concord, Merrimack, NH) on 28 Jun 1920 in Berlin NH and had seven children:
- Edmond (2 Jun 1921 Berlin, Coos, NH – Nov 1986 idem), indicating that Freddy and Elizabeth had arrived in the USA by 1921. Edmond m. Mildred Judson (16 Jan 1924 Berlin, Coos, NH – ) and had five children (10).
- Raymond (23 Jun 1923 NH — 4 May 1961 Berlin, Coos, NH).
- Stanley Paul (9 Jul 1925 Berlin NH — Feb 1967 Springfield, Hampden, Mass.) m. Gladys Evelyn Wistner (~1904 Lyme NH — ) on 12 Jul 1946 in Haverhill, Grafton, NH.
- Rita Emma (~1927 NH — ) m. Theodore Tatangelo(~1922 Berlin NH — 1967 Springfield, Hampden, Mass.) on 29 Sep 1947 in Berlin NH.
- Norman Vincent (10 Dec 1929 NH — 16 Nov 1966 Long Island National Cemetery, as a member of the army).
- Dorothy Gallagher(~1932 NH — ).
- Helen Elizabeth Gallagher(6 Feb 1934 Berlin NH — 29 Mar 2006 Voorhees, Somerset, NJ).
c- Anna (Anne) Lizzie Agnes Gallagher (17 Aug 1892 S. Sylvestre – 13 May 1967 Woodstock, Windsor, VT). Her godparents were her uncle Hugh Gallagher (1849-1929) and her aunt Ellen Gallagher (1851-~1930). She married her 2nd degree cousin Frederick James McGee (21 Aug 1890 Jefferson, Coos, NH – 4 Jul 1967 Taftsville, Windsor, VT) on 14 Oct 1919 in S. Sylvestre, even though Frederick James’ father had lived in New Hampshire since 1877. This indicates a degree of traveling back and forth between Québec and New Hampshire. Frederick James had a 2nd year high school education. He was a grain merchant in Woodstock in 1930. In 1940 he earned $2080 for 52 weeks of work at 54h/week and lived in Woodstock in a house valued at $2250. Anna and Frederick James had 3 children, 2 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren (11).
d- Joseph Gallagher (18 Apr 1894 S. Sylvestre – 6 Dec 1941 Woodstock, Windsor, VT) arrived in VT in March 1923 and lived in Anna Gallagher’s house in 1940.
e- Edward Gallagher (19 Apr 1896 S. Sylvestre, Lotbinière – after 1921). The godparents were his uncle James Sheridan and his aunt Mary Ellen Gallagher (1851-~1930). He lived at home in 1921.
f- Anonymous (7 Sep 1898 S. Sylvestre – 9 Sep 1898 S. Sylvestre).
g- Pierce William Gallagher (12 Apr 1900 S. Sylvestre – Jun 1987 West Stewartstown, Coos, NH). Godparents were Charles O’Neil and Mary Gallagher (1848-1908), widow of Bernard Begley and 2nd degree cousin of his mother Susan Loughery. Susan and Mary signed the document but Charles could not sign. In 1921 Pierce lived with his parents in S. Sylvestre.
h- Mathilda Suzanne Gallagher (4 Feb 1902 S. Sylvestre – Aug 1972 Berlin, Coos, NH). Godparents were Frank Begley, 2nd degree cousin of the father, and Annie Dunn. Both undersigned. Mathilda arrived in Berlin, Coos, NH in 1920 and m. James P. Hogan (19 Jun 1899 S. Sylvestre – 2 Dec 1942 Berlin, Coos, NH) on 28 May 1923 in Berlin Coos, NH. Mathilda had a 6th grade elementary education. James P. had a 7th grade education and he was a power operator at Cross Power Mill in 1940, earning $1612 for 52 weeks of work at 40h/week. Mathilda and James P. had eight children between 1923 and 1935 (12). James Hogan is the brother of Elizabeth Hogan. The seven children of Freddy Gallagher and the eight children of Mathilda Suzanne Gallagher are 1st degree cousins in two ways because they share four grandparents: Suzanne Loughery, Edward Gallagher, Terence Hogan (~1870 Canada — 4 Sep 1944 Berlin NH) and Mary Daly.
i- Emily Gallagher (8 Nov 1906 S. Sylvestre – 5 Dec 1986 Sillery, QC). Her godparents were Thomas James Begley, third cousin of her father, and Rose Begley, sister of Thomas James. Rose signed. Emily m. Joseph Alexander Doyle (~1905 S. Patrice – ) on 11 Mar 1938 in S. Patrick’s church of Quebec City and had one child, possibly adopted: Mary Audrey (25 May 1940 S. Patrice – ). It is tempting to think that Emily lived with her mother Susan in S. Sylvestre until 1936 and moved to Quebec City after Susan’s death.
- John Loughery(1 Mar 1864 S. Sylvestre – 7 Apr 1888 S. Séverin). His godparents were Bernard Laughrey and Cecilia Sullivan. There was an epidemic of diphteria in 1889-1890 in S. Pierre de Broughton. Perhaps this explains his death in 1888, his father’s in 1889, his sister Bridget’s in 1890 and his uncle Frank’s in 1891. Witnesses at death were his brother Michael Laughery (1859) and his uncle Francis (Frank) Laughrea (1868).
- Bridget Loughery(30 Apr 1867 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar – 6 Dec 1890 Jefferson, Coos, NH, of consumption). Her godparents were Mary Gallagher and Francis Travers (second neighbor of James Loughery on Killarney range). She married Thomas Mulhebin (20 Jul 1867 S. John, New Brunswick — ) on 26 May 1890 in Whitefield, Coos, NH, and is buried next to her father James in the Whitefield cemetery (there is a tombstone). Baptizing two children in S. Elzéar made sense because Killarney Road is closer to S. Elzéar than to S. Sylvestre. In 1871, the Irish constituted 54% of the population of S. John, New Brunswick, 40% of the population of the Miramichi River valley and 35% of the population of New Brunswick as a whole.
- Catherine Loughery(12 Mar 1872 S. Sylvestre — after 1881). The godparents were George Ogle, who was accidentally killed in a fight on Killarney range in 1874, and Mary Ann Monaghan.
The Gallagher connection. The name Gallagher originates from Donegal. It is most common in north-west Ulster and particularly Donegal. Edward Gallagher is the son of Francis Gallagher (~1813 in Ireland – 14 Feb 1908 S. Sylvestre) and Ellen Mullavey (~1826 Ireland – ~1899 S. Sylvestre), who married on 8 Feb 1847. Ellen is the daughter of Neal and Eleanor McCaffrey. Francis lived on Fermanagh range almost in front of PATRICK Loughry’s Monaghan lot. He is the son of Hugh Gallagher (~1785 Drimrock, Donegal – ~ 1860 S. Sylvestre) and Rose Travers (~1792 Drimrock, Donegal – ). Hugh Gallagher owned two lots at the corner of S. Marguerite Road and S. Marie Road. The other children of Francis Gallagher and Ellen Mullavey are:
- James (9 Feb 1848 S. Sylvestre – 17 Sep 1867 idem), a bachelor. Mr Begley was witness at the burial.
- Hugh (25 May 1849 idem – 7 Apr 1929 idem), a bachelor.
- Ellen (16 Jan 1851 idem – ~1930) m. John Murphy.
- Rose (1 Oct 1854 S. Sylvestre – 29 Sep 1915 Bartlett, Carroll, NH in a train accident), m. Henry Gorman.
- John (~1856 S. Sylvestre – 1943), a bachelor.
- Elizabeth (11 May 1860 S. Sylvestre – 4 Apr 1939 idem) m. Francis Donahue on 27 Feb 1900 in S. Sylvestre.
- Francis Gallagher(25 May 1864 S. Sylvestre – 29 Apr 1932 idem), a bachelor.
- Catherine Gallagher(17 Sep 1866 S. Sylvestre – 25 Feb 1889 USA in an accident).
If Ellen and Elanore are interchangeable, Ellen Mullavey may be the aunt of Margaret Mullavey, wife of Owen Loughrea. Thus Susan Loughery might be married to the cousin of Margaret Mullavey. We know that Edward Mullavey (1815), father of Margaret Mullavey (1838-1870), had a sister called Eleanor (1825/26-?).
James Loughery next to daughter Bridget Loughery
c) Owen Loughrea(1831 Ireland – 24 Jun 1918 Medford, Middlesex, Mass.) married Margaret Mullavey(22 Dec 1838 S. Sylvestre – 27 Apr 1870 S. Patrice section of S. Sylvestre, nine days after giving birth) on 25 Aug 1856 in S. Sylvestre, and Ann Haughey (Haughery, Haughrey) (3 Apr 1834 S. Sylvestre – after 1910 probably Bethlehem, Grafton, NH) on 27 Nov 1871 in S. Patrice (13). Witnesses at the first marriage were James A Quinn (who had a farm on S. Patrick range), Thomas Purcell (probably an uncle), Mary Anne Boyce, Bridget McCaffrey (probably a cousin of Margaret’s father) and her uncle James Mullavey. At the 2nd marriage: Honoré Larivière and Catherine Boyce, who were also witnesses at the marriage of Owen’s niece Mary Boyce to Pierre Gagné six days earlier in S. Patrice. Ann is the daughter of Daniel Haughey (~1805 Ireland — 1879 S. Sylvestre) and Ann Reid (~1805 Scotland — 1868 S. Sylvestre) from S. Sylvestre.
In 1861, Owen was a mechanic living in S. Sylvestre in a one story log house most likely on Des-Chutes range. Living in his household were his brother Patrick (1843), his sister Ann (1839) and his cousin James Patton (1842-). The union of PATRICK (1800-1886) with a woman with three children of her own, aged six, four and two at the time of this 2nd marriage, might have prompted Patrick and Ann, then fifteen and nineteen, to move from PATRICK’s house to Owen’s between 1858 and 1861. This way, PATRICK would have only his young wife Mary McGown and her children at home. Alternatively, Patrick and Ann might not have wanted to move from S. Elzéar to Killarney Road (the 1861 census indicates that the lot of Owen was worth eight times the lot of PATRICK). As for James Patton, he was the son of an apparently eccentric father who may have used megaliths as a basis for a secondary abode in the hilly part of his farm.
In the 1871 census, Owen is recorded as a widower living next to his brother Patrick on Des-Chutes range in S. Sylvestre. Occupation: storekeeper/postmaster. His lot was located in the village at the junction of Mill Road (the road from S. Sylvestre to S. Patrice) and the road that follows the Beaurivage River, i.e. at the junction of Des-Chutes and S. Patrick ranges. In 1877, Owen also owned two lots on Belfast range of S. Patrice, one lot length away from his store. The lots of Belfast range were first purchased for colonization purpose between 1829 and 1835. Belfast Road was opened some time between 1840 and 1862.
Owen’s farming operation from 1861 to 1871. In 1861 Owen had 0.5 arpent of land which nevertheless had a value of $800. He had nine large animals (one horse, two cows and six swine) and no sheep. The horse was valued at $100 (a horse was then typically valued at $50). He is listed just above the end of S. Patrick range, consistent with the idea that he lived on Des-Chutes range.
In 1871, Owen and Patrick Loughery had separate houses on the same land on Des-Chutes range. Owen was a merchant and his brother Patrick was a farmer. They had 90 arpents of land: 48.5 forest, 20 pasture and 21.5 for harvest. Patrick had twenty-eight animals: eighteen large ones (two horses, one oxen, eleven cows, four swine) and ten sheep. Owen had five animals: one cow, two swine and two sheep. They produced 570 pounds of butter and 90 cords of firewood. They also produced one minot beans, four minots carrots and two minots flax or hemp that was not mentionned in Chapter Six. 1871 details are at 00087.jpg, 0117.jpg, 0127.jpg, 0135.jpg and 0146.jpg of Canadian census for Owen Loughery and Patrick Loughery. For more details and context, see Chapter Six.
His S. Patrice years (~1856-1881): farmer, storekeeper and postmaster. The parish and municipality of S. Patrice were respectively created on 2 Oct 1871 and 6 Jun 1872. This is why Owen’s son Michael was born in 1870 in S. Sylvestre and died in 1873 in S. Patrice. The municipality and parish of S. Patrice lie largely along both sides of the Beaurivage River. One hundred and twenty four lots reach the river. They are mostly located in Embarras West, Embarras East, Des-Chutes, S. Charles, S. Patrick, S. David and S. John ranges. The only ranges not touching the river are Craig Road West, Craig Road East, Petit-Lac, Belfast and S. James, but each is only one range away from the river.
Owen lived at least from 1866 to 1881 in a section of S. Sylvestre that became S. Patrice in 1872. This may also apply to the years 1860 to 1865, but apparently not to the years 1856 to 1859: in Histoire de la paroisse de Saint-Patrice de Beaurivage 1871-1946, Owen is not mentioned among those owning land in 1859 on S. Patrick, S. David, S. John, S. Charles, S. James, Belfast, Embarras East, Embarras West, Craig Road East, Craig Road West, Petit-Lac or Des-Chutes ranges. This suggests that he then lived in a section of S. Sylvestre that remained S. Sylvestre. The village lot where stood his store was one lot width away from the church and the present house of his great-great-grandnephew Lewis Camden, mayor of S. Patrice from 2009 to 2013. Owen’s putative cousin James Patton owned in 1877 a lot on S. David range running along the border of S. Sylvestre, i.e. perpendicularly to most other lots of S. David range.
Owen Loughrea was the first postmaster of S. Patrice, holding this position from 1 Jan 1867, when he was postmaster of S. Sylvestre, to March 1876. He was followed by George Camden, postmaster from 1876 to 1879. George is possibly connected with Annie Boyce, daughter of Bridget Loughrey and wife of Patrick Camden of S. Patrice. It is also possible that Owen was the first storekeeper of S. Patrice.
Two connections to S. Patrice church. In 1859 the Irish formed > 90% of farmers on S. Patrick range and on each neighboring range, namely S. David, S. John, Belfast and Embarras East. They pressed religious authorities to divide S. Sylvestre and establish a new parish six km north of the S. Sylvestre church, but they faced a net refusal. They nevertheless started construction of a chapel in May 1860 under the leadership of James Mullavey (1830), uncle-in-law of Owen, and Patrick Gormley, Edward Fitzpatrick, John Monaghan and Joseph Marquis. The chapel was closed on order of religious authorities. Permission to open was obtained only in Sep 1865. A 255 pound bell was consecrated in Jun 1866. Margaret Mullavey, wife of Owen, was one its three godmothers. She was described as “Dame O’Loughrey”. The first resident priest arrived in Sep 1871. In S. Patrice the church preceded creation of the parish while in S. Séverin the church was built after creation of the parish.
Two connections to S. Patrice municipal politics. The first meeting of the S. Patrice municipal council was held on 11 Feb 1873. Edward Mullavey (1815-1889) and James Mullavey, father-in-law and uncle-in-law of Owen Loughrea, were municipal councillor and secretary in 1873. James Mullavey was involved in municipal affairs for the next fourteen years: as secretary from 1873 to 1874, as mayor from 1875 to 1879, and as secretary from 1879 to 1887. Minutes of the S. Patrice municipal council were written in English until 21 May 1888. Edward and James Mullavey owned adjacent lots on S. Patrick range, barely outside the village and four lot widths away from the church. James Mullavey was also the neighbor of Owen on Belfast range.
His American years (1881-1918). In 1881, Owen, Ann and their children John and Daniel moved to Bethlehem New Hampshire, seemingly after their sons Patrick and Edward had already moved there in 1876. However both Patrick and Edward were listed together with Owen, Ann, John and Daniel in the 1881 census, suggesting a fair amount of movement back and forth on the part of Patrick and Edwards between 1876 and 1881. Owen was naturalized American citizen on 31 Oct 1890 in Bethlehem. In 1900, he was a day laborer living with Ann on Bethlehem Hollow Road, near the start of Beech Hill Road (now called River Road), in Bethlehem, Grafton, NH. Bethlehem is just 4 km south of Coos county. In the 1910 census, Owen and Ann are both listed as aged 80 and 77; Owen is then retired in Bethlehem. Owen resided on 21 Gibson street in Medford, Middlesex, Mass. when he died of arteriosclerosis on 24 Jun 1918. Medford is a suburb north of Boston. It is crossed by Highway 93. Owen is buried in New Calvary cemetery in Mattapan, Boston. His son Daniel claimed that Owen was 94, suggesting that he was born in 1824. He was most likely born between 1829 and 1831.
The imprint of Owen, Bridget and the Irish on S. Patrice (Saint Patrick). Annie Boyce and Mary Boyce, the two oldest children of Bridget Loughrey, started living in S. Patrice in 1871 and some time between 1876 and 1880, respectively. Many of their descendants still live in S. Patrice. In 1859, 70% of lot owners of future S. Patrice were Irish, Scottish or English, and overwhelmingly Irish: all owners in S. John, Belfast, and Embarras East ranges were Irish and > 90 % of owners in S. Patrice and S. David ranges were Irish. The three brothers Edward, James and Neil Mullavey each had a lot in S. Patrice range. By 1901, the population of S. Patrice was 68% French-Canadian, 30% Irish and 2% Scottish. The chapel constructed by Owen’s father-in-law served the community until 1902 when it was replaced by a larger church. Its last resident priest was also its best remembered: Patrick O’Reilly was curé of S. Patrice for 47 years, from 6 Jun 1895 to 13 Jun 1942.
The Mullavey connection. Margaret Mullavey is the daughter of Edward Mullavey (1815 Ireland – 5 Nov 1889 S. Patrice) and Catherine Purcell (1818 Mayo, Ireland — 5 Mar 1897 S. Patrice). Edward is the son of Neil Mullavey (1787 Ireland – 21 Feb 1859 S. Sylvestre) and Elenore McCaffrey (1788/92 Ireland – 28 May 1862 S. Sylvestre). Both were already in Quebec in 1826. The siblings of Edward are Michael (1810 — Jul 1850 by accidental drowning, S. Patrice), Honorah (1813 – 2 Apr 1897 S. Patrice), John (1816-), Eleanor (1825/26-), Neil (1826/27-), and James (6 May 1830-). The nine siblings of Margaret Mullavey were all born in S. Sylvestre. They are Ellen (1 Jan 1841 — 18 Sep 1841 S. Sylvestre), Michael (30 Jul 1842 — ), John (15 Jul 1844 — ), Catherine (29 Jul 1846 — ), Neil (12 Jul 1848 — 19 Jan 1865 S. Sylvestre), Jane (21 Sep 1850 — ), Mary (20 Oct 1853 — ), Elizabeth (10 Nov 1855 — 1879 S. Patrice) and Anne (5 Jul 1859 —21 Sep 1903 Québec City). John Mullavey and Catherine Mullavey were godparents of John Loughrey (Loughrea) (1868-1942) and Mary Loughrea (1864-1866), respectively.
The 6 children of Owen Loughrea, and 40 descendants. Owen L. had six children between 1857 and 1872 (5 from Margaret and 1 from Ann), and at least 11 grandchildren, 15 great-grandchildren, 11 (g.)2-grandchildren and 7 (g.)3-grandchildren. Four of his six children reached adult life. Three (Patrick, Edward, Daniel J.) married. John was a bachelor. Patrick, Edward and Michael had five, five and one children, respectively. The surnames of Owen’s grandchildren are: Loughrea (11). The surnames of his great-grandchildren are: Loughrea (9), Bushland (5), Gokey (1). The surnames of his great-grandchildren are: Loughrea (6), Hadfield, White (2 each), Thomas (1). The longevity of his four children and nine grandchildren who lived longer than 40 years is 72 and 60 years, respectively. I present below his six children.
- Patrick Laughrea (23 Oct 1857 S. Sylvestre – 25 Jul 1935 S. Paul, Ramsey, MN). His godparents were Bernard Laughrey and Mary Ann Boyce [either Mary Ann (1828-1917) or Mary Ann (1839-1926)]. He immigrated to the USA (Bethlehem NH ?) in 1876 according to the 1900 census. He moved to Chippewa Falls, Chippewa, Wisc. before 1894 and married Isabella McGee (23 Jun 1864 S. Sylvestre – ) on 27 Nov 1894 in Chippewa Falls. He resided there in 1900, 1910 and 1920, and in S. Paul MN In 1930 and 1935. He was lumberman in 1895, day laborer in 1900 and carpenter in 1920. Chippewa Falls is located ten km north of Eau Claire and 120 km east of Minneapolis/S. Paul MN. Isabella’s parents were Michael McGee (Sep 1823 Ireland — between 1900 and 1910) and Annie Hearn. Her siblings were Catherine (March 1867 Quebec — ) and Edward (May 1869 Quebec — ). Michael, Annie, Catherine, Isabella and Edward McGee moved to the USA in 1882. It is plausible that Isabella McGee was born in the S. Patrice area of S. Sylvestre. A Michael McGee lived in S. David range of S. Patrice in 1877, not far from Owen’s lots. Michael Hearn and John Hearn owned four lots located between the two lots of Michael McGee on S. David and S. John ranges. One of the two lots of Michael Hearn contacted the S. David lot of Michael McGee. There is also a James Hearn, on S. Patrick range, whose lot was adjacent to those of John Monaghan and James Patton. Patrick Loughrea and Isabella McGee had five children between 1896 and 1906 (three of them teachers), 5 grandchildren, 4 great-grandchildren and 4 g.-g.-grandchildren :
a- Mary Anna (5 Nov 1896 Wisc. — 22 Jul 1956 Ramsey MN) m. Alexander (Chester) McNabb (24 Apr 1898 Wisc. — 28 Oct 1972 S. Paul, Ramsey, MN) in 1937 in S. Paul MN. They had no children. In 1940 Alexander was a salesman earning $1800 for 32 weeks of work at 44h/week; Mary Anna was a teacher working 40h/week and earning $1880 in S. Paul MN. Mary Anna had a 4th year high school education and resided in Eau Claire MN in 1935.
b- Francis Edward Loughrea (15 Feb 1898 Chippewa Falls, Wisc. – 6 Jun 1955 S. Paul MN, buried in Ft. Snelling National Cemetery, Minneapolis) served during World War One. He resided in Chippewa Falls in 1920, Buhl, S. Louis MN in 1930, rural S. Louis MN in 1935 and Deer River, Itasca MN in 1940. Deer River is near Grand Rapids; Buhl is 80 km north of Duluth MN. He m. Laura Paddon (Payden) (14 Jun 1900 Mineral Point, Iowa, Wisc. — 2 Sep 1967 Minneapolis MN) after 1920. Paddon is most likely an alternative spelling of “Patton”. Francis Edward was a teacher in 1930, 1935 and 1940, working 40h/week and earning $2000 per year in 1940. He had a 5th year college education. He and Laura had 3 children, 4 grandchildren and 4 great-grandchildren:
- Jean Anne (1926 Wisc. — ) m. Charles Hadfield, lived in Minnesota and had two children:
- 1) James m. Patricia Burke and had two children: Brian and Dan.
- 2)George m. Nancy Cornwell and had two children: Michael and Gregory.
- Edward R. or P. (12 Sep 1927 Wisc. — 7 May 1986 Dayton Ohio) m. Adeline Hendrickson and had two children: Jan S. and Edward R.
- James E. (1934 — ) m. Susan Nelson.
c- Wilfred (Oct 1899 Chippewa Falls, Wisc. — 9 Feb 1944 S. Paul MN) resided in Chippewa Falls in 1910 and 1920.
d- Mildred K. (8 Jan 1904 Chippewa, Ashland, Wisc. — 16 Jun 1975 S. Paul MN). The town of Chippewa (not the county!) is partly located in the Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest, near Lake Superior. Mildred resided with her parents until at least 1930: in Chippewa Falls in 1910 and 1920 and in S. Paul in 1930. In 1940 she was a grade school teacher working 40h/week and earning $1836 per year. She was then single and lived in S. Paul MN in the house of Alfred E. Hakanson (~1889- ) as his sister-in-law (!), i.e. as sister of Viola K. Hakanson (~1890- ). She had a 4th year college education and joined the armed forces in 1944.
e- Robert J. Loughrea (5 May 1906 Chippewa Falls, Chippewa, Wisc. — 8 Feb 1965 Ramsey MN) was a commercial traveler (sporting goods) living with his parents in 1930. He m. Celia Geiger (22 Nov 1901 Hinckley MN — 27 Feb 1998 West S. Paul, MN) after 1930 and had two children:
- Donald (1934 — ) lived in Minnesota.
- Robert J. resided in S. Paul MN in 1930, 1941 and 1948.
- Edward Loughrea(20 Aug 1859 S. Sylvestre – 30 May 1929 Chippewa Falls, Wisc.) m. Katherine McHugh (15 Dec 1866 Chippewa Falls — 1946 idem) on 30 Sep 1889 in Chippewa Falls and lived thereafter in Chippewa Falls, where he was cook in 1920 and carpenter in 1926. Wisconsin became a state in 1848. Edward and Katherine had 5 children:
a- Lillian (Mar 1891 Chippewa Falls, Wisc. — 18 Mar 1914 idem).
b- Hazel Loughrea (22 Aug 1893 idem — 22 Mar 1982 idem) had a first year high school education and lived with her parents in 1920. She m. Edwin Matthias Bushland (27 Nov 1893 Wisc. — 22 Oct 1978 Chippewa Falls, Wisc.) soon after 1920 and had 5 children: Mary Ann (1923 — ), Beverly (1925 — ), Margorie (1927 — ), John (1929 — ) and Robert (1930 —).
c- Cecile (22 Nov 1897 Chippewa Falls Wisc.— May 1983 idem) did not marry. She was a bookkeeper in 1920.
d- Edward Loughrea (11 Jul 1902 Wisc. – 10 Jan 1955 Chippewa Falls) m. Mildred Inga Nelson (2 Mar 1915 – 3 Dec 1984 Chippewa Falls). They had 4 children, 4 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren (14).
e- Bernice (17 Apr 1904 Chippewa Falls – Jul 1984 idem) did not marry.
- Mary Loughrea(7 Nov 1864 S. Sylvestre – 5 Mar 1866 idem). Her godparents were Patrick Laughrey and Catherine Mullavey.
- John Loughrey (Loughrea)(16 Mar 1868 S. Sylvestre — 11 Oct 1942 Duluth, S. Louis, MN). His godparents were his uncle John Mullavey and Ellen Mullavey. In the 1900 census, John L. and his father Owen are recorded as having spent time in Bethlehem NH in 1875. John emigrated to the USA in 1890 and was single in 1920. He was dishwasher in a restaurant and servant in a rooming house of Duluth, S. Louis MN, on the shore of Lake Superior.
Owen lost his first wife in 1870, leaving him with four children aged nine days, two years, ten years and twelve years. Nineteen months later, he married Ann (1834) who was already 37 years old. Ann gave birth to Daniel J. (1872) twelve months later. Her nearly three-year-old stepson Michael (1870) died in Apr 1873, i.e. five months later. The surviving stepsons were five, thirteen and fifteen years old. Under these possibly stressful circumstances, the two oldest may have been eager to strike it on their own, which Patrick (1857) did in 1876. I propose that Edward (1859) and Patrick (1857) moved together to NH in 1876, by which time they were at least sixteen and eighteen years old. The fact that Edward and Patrick later moved to Wisconsin before 1889 and 1894, respectively, is consistent with a previous joint move to NH. On the other hand, Patrick and Edward were both listed in S. Patrice with the rest of the family at the census of 4 Apr 1881.
- Michael (18 Apr 1870 S. Sylvestre – 15 Apr 1873 S. Patrice). Godparents were Thomas Moran and his spouse Anne McGee. Michael’s mother died nine days after his birth. Ann Laughrey (1839) married three months later and left Owen’s house. In 1877, Thomas Moran owned a lot on Belfast range.
- Daniel J. Loughrea(14 Nov 1872 S. Patrice – 1938 Boston). Godparents were Catherine Laughry and Edward Fitzgerald. Daniel m. Elizabeth Maloney (Apr 1879 Franklin, Merrimack, NH — 19 May 1936 Peterborough, Hillsborough, NH) on 16 Sep 1896 in Franklin NH. She was seventeen years old and two months pregnant. They divorced on 7 Dec 1904, remarried on 6 May 1909 in Boston but had redivorced by 1910. Elizabeth is daughter of John Maloney (~1848 — between 1901 and 1909) and Mary Garety (~1855 — ). Daniel and Elizabeth had a daughter Annie M. (for Moloney) (26 Oct 1898 Franklin, Merrimack, NH — Mar 1973 idem). In 1900 they lived in Franklin, Merrimack in the house of Elizabeth’s parents John and Mary Moloney. In 1910 Elizabeth and her mother still lived there but Daniel had moved to 20 Kimball street, Boston in 1909 and to 349 Columbus ave., Boston in 1918, at which time he was a conductor. In 1920 Elizabeth was a singer and divorced lodger living in Boston with Annie M.. Annie M. m. Frederick Russell Gokey (17 Dec 1903 Bronx NY — ), an engineer, on 3 Jun 1929 in Peterborough NH. In 1940 he lived in Baltimore Maryland, earning $4200 per year. In his house was his wife Annie M., their daughter Mary E. G. Gokey (~1934 —) and his mother Grace I. Gokey (~1870 —). Annie M. had a 3rd year high school education.
d) Catherine Laughry-McGee(1832 Ireland or at sea – 5 Sep 1908 Jefferson, Coos, NH, from hemorrhage related to stomach carcinoma). The birdthdates of Catherine and Mary Laughery indicate that PATRICK and his family most likely arrived in the New World around summer 1832. The birthdate of Catherine is known only from census data and age at death. If everything is taken at face value, one gets an average of 1832 as her year of birth. This fits well with the facts that Owen was born in 1831 and Mary in 1833. Combined with a tradition that she was born at sea, this would give May to Sep 1832 as likely dates of birth. Catherine died at 78 in Sep 1908, suggesting she was born in Jan to Aug 1830. But age at death is often exaggerated in the absence of records. It is more likely that she was 76 in Sep 1908. If born in Ireland or at sea in May to Aug 1832, Catherine would reach 20 in 1852, 29 in 1861 and be 48 and 58 on 4 Apr 1881 and 6 Apr 1891. In censuses, she declared that she would become 20 in 1852, 28 in 1861 and that she was 49 and 58 on 4 Apr 1881 and 6 Apr 1891, indicating that she was born in 1832, 1833, 1833 and 1832, respectively. The 1881 census was the first where age on last birthday was given rather than age on next birthday (15). Catherine may have mistakenly given in 1881 the age she would reach in a few months. Together with her age at death, this gives the combination 1832/1833/1832/1832/1830 as years of birth. The 1871 census is too anomalous to be taken seriously: Catherine Laughry and Thomas McGee were listed as reaching 35 and 30 in 1871, as if they were born in 1836 and 1841. But their relative age is to be taken seriously because the difference is highly consistent: in the 1861, 1871, 1881 and 1891 censuses, Thomas is declared three, five, five and three years younger than Catherine, or four years younger on average. Given that his birth date was 13 Apr 1836 according to Drouin records, this again strongly suggests that Catherine was born in 1832.
In all censuses, Catherine and Thomas McGee are respectively declared born in Ireland and Quebec, except in the 1861 census when Thomas declared Ireland, as if he misunderstood the question. Thomas McGee was declared 71 when he died in Oct 1902, as if he was born in 1831. This is strongly contradicted by the 1861, 1871, 1881 and 1891 censuses, which are fully consistent with 13 Apr 1836 as birth date. Maybe with time people came to believe that Thomas could not be younger than Catherine, who was 70 in 1902 and believed by some to be 72.
Catherine married Thomas McGee (13 Apr 1836 S. Sylvestre – 3 Oct 1902 S. Séverin) in S. Elzéar on 6 Nov 1855. Witnesses were Bernard Loughry and Lewis Cowan (Louis Conn), husband of Mary Laughery. Lewis was described as “friend of the groom”. Thomas is the son of Willam McGee (~1778 — 20 Dec 1853 S. Sylvestre) and Bridget Monaghan (~1806 — 26 Aug 1884 S. Séverin). Thomas and Catherine lived in the eastern part of S. Sylvestre which became S. Séverin in 1872. They resided in the easternmost lot of Killarney range, i.e. at the border of S. Elzéar from 1855 to 1872 and within S. Séverin thereafter, until Thomas died in late 1902. After the death of Thomas, Catherine moved to Jefferson, Coos, NH where she probably lived in the house of one of her children.
McGee is an Ulster name which is more usually written Magee. The large isthmus on the east of Lough Larne, in Antrim, is called Island Magee and was at one time the possession of the Magees. Back in Quebec, on the 12th range of Leeds township, a John McGee lived two lots north of BERNARD Laughrea, near the East Palmer River. A James McKee lived two lots south of BERNARD, i.e. on what will become JOHN Laughrea’s farm. A Henry McKee lived three lots south of BERNARD. In 1877, Patrick McGee, Michael McGee, James McGee, John McGee and William McGee had adjacent lots on S. David range of S. Patrice. Michael McGee had also a lot on S. John range of S. Patrice. These McGees may be brothers of Thomas. John Monaghan and Terence Monaghan had three adjacent lots on S. Patrick range of S. Patrice. Seven of these nine lots touched the Beaurivage River.
Catherine’s farming operation from 1861 to 1871. In 1861, Catherine, her husband Thomas McGee and their three children shared 90 acres of land with Bridget Monaghan-McGee, mother of Thomas. Bridget Monaghan had four daughters at home, aged 15 to 28 or 14 to 20 depending on which census is used to calculate birthdate, and a son aged nine. Bridget and Catherine lived in different houses but land allowance and farm production was split precisely fifty/fifty for census purposes, strongly suggesting that the farm was a joint operation. This made sense since Thomas was the only adult man of these two houses. We consider the whole farm as one entity here and in Chapter Six. The farm was 68 acres forest, 13 pasture and 9 for harvest in 1861. It had had a value of $290. Catherine and Bridget had 41 animals: two horses, two oxen, thirteen cows and 24 sheep. In 1871 they had 90 arpents of land: 30 forest, 30 pasture and 30 for harvest. They had eleven animals: one horse, four cows and six sheep. They had 48 cords of firewood. Not surprisingly, they produced less butter and less wool than in 1861. 1871 details are at 247.jpg, 257.jpg, 261.jpg, 265.jpg, 269.jpg of Canadian census for Thomas McGee and Bridget McGee. For more details and context, read Chapter Six.
90% of Catherine’s children and 50% of her Quebec grandchildren moved to the USA. Of her ten children who reached adult life, nine moved to New Hampshire in 1887 (average) at the age of 22 (average). They are William, James, Susan, Bridget, Patrick, Anny, Thomas, Catherine and John. Thomas remained bachelor. The other eight married and had 5, 2, 1, 0?, 6, 3, 0? and 0? children, respectively. Michael McGee (1867-1929) stayed in Quebec and had two children who are sufficiently documented. One, Delina (Lina), emigrated to Maine at the age of 20. The other, Alfred (Freddie) stayed in Quebec and died in Thetford Mines.
The 11 children of Catherine Laughry and Thomas McGee, and 69 descendants. Catherine had eleven children between 1856 and 1875, and at least 20 grandchildren, 24 great-grandchildren, 10 g.-g.-grandchildren, 11 (g.)3-grandchildren and 4 (g.)4-grandchildren. The surnames of her grandchildren are: McGee (16), Gravel (3), Glidden (1). The surnames of her great-grandchildren are: McGee (14), Bedell (5), Dumais, Gravel (2 each), Henley (1). The surnames of her (g.)2-grandchildren are: Bedell (7), Flower (2), Eggleston (1). The longevity of her seven children and five grandchildren who lived longer than 40 years and are of known lifespan is 75 and 82 years, respectively. Her first ten children, born between 1856 and 1871, were baptized in S. Elzéar. The likely reason is that her farm was 40% closer to the S. Elzéar church than the S. Sylvestre church. Three other reasons are to be considered: 1) she married in S. Elzéar; 2) she lived in S. Elzéar until 1858; 3) her siblings Bridget and Bernard lived in S. Elzéar until early 1875; 4) S. Elzéar is only five km from S. Marie, which is a central parish canonically erected in 1737 and soon to benefit from a rail line northward to Quebec City (in 1875) and southward to New Hampshire (in 1881). I present below the eleven children of Catherine.
- Mary McGee(Oct 1856 S. Sylvestre — 2 Apr 1857 S. Elzéar). Her baptismal record was not found. Witnesses at burial: James Loughery and Thomas McGee.
- William McGee(15 Jan 1858 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar — 9 Nov 1942 Carroll, Coos, NH). Godparents were Anne Loughery and Augustin Couture. William was at home in 1881, arrived in NH in 1884 and m. Catherine Monaghan (9 Feb 1866 S. Sylvestre – 13 Dec 1933 Concord, Merrimack, NH) on 29 Apr 1889 in Whitefield, Coos, NH. He lived at least from 1900 to his death in Carroll, Coos, and on the Bethlehem road of Carroll from at least 1920 to 1940. He was a farmer and railway engineer in 1920 and he lived in a $3000 house in 1940. He had a 6th grade education. Caroll is very close to Mount Washington. Catherine’s father is Thomas Monaghan. James Monaghan (1858-1930), husband of Helen Loughrey (1863-1956) and son of Patrick Monaghan (?-1868), may be a cousin of Catherine Monaghan. William and Catherine had five children based on the 1900, 1910 and 1920 censuses:
a- William T. (1892 — after 1920)
b- Edward F. (1893 — after 1920)
c- Charles J. (1895 — after 1910)
d- Herbert J. (1896 — after 1920)
e- John A. (John V. in some records) McGee (1900 Carroll — after 1940) m. Mary McGee (~1902 Maine — after 1940) based on census records. They lived in the house of John’s father William at least from 1930 to 1940 and therefore plausibly from their marriage around 1923.They had at least eight children:
- Irene (~1924 Maine — after 1940),
- Phyllis (~1926 Carroll — after 1940),
- Stella (~1928 Carroll — after 1940),
- John R. (1930 or 1925 Carroll — after 1940, where he was described as sixteen years old, as if he was five years old in 1930 rather than five months old),
- Pauline (1932 Carroll — after 1940),
- Herbert (1935 Carroll — after 1940),
- Catherine (1937 Carroll — after 1940),
- Janet McGee(1939 Carroll — after 1940).
f- Estella C. McGee (1902 Carroll — before 1910?) was not mentionned in the 1910, 1920 and 1930 censuses, suggesting she died before 1910.
- James Bernard McGee (15 Jan 1858 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar – 28 May 1926 Woodstock, Windsor, VT). Godparents were Bernard Laughrea and Philomène Couture. James emigrated in 1877 but was listed in the 1881 Canadian census. He m. Josephine Fowler (Aug 1861 Prince Edward Island – 14 Feb 1935 Woodstock, VT) on 9 Nov 1886 in Portland, Cumberland, Maine. He was a farmer in Jefferson, Coos, NH at least from 1889 to 1920. The population of Prince Edward Island was 23% Irish in 1881. James Bernard and Josephine had two children:
a- Frances M McGee (17 Feb 1889 Jefferson, VT – 20 Aug 1963 Woodstock, VT) m. William P. Carr on 23 Oct 1906 in Whitefield NH.
b- Frederick James McGee (21 Aug 1890 Jefferson – 4 Jul 1967 Taftsville, Windsor, VT) m. his 2nd degree cousin Anna (Anne) Lizzie Agnes Gallagher (17 Aug 1892 S. Sylvestre – 3 May 1967 Woodstock, Windsor, VT) on 14 Oct 1919 in S. Sylvestre. The godparents of Anna were Hugh Gallagher and Ellen Gallagher. Frederick James was a grain merchant in Woodstock in 1930. In 1940 he lived in Woodstock in a $2250 house and earned $2080 for 52 weeks of work at 54h/week. He had a 2nd year high school education. Frederick and Anna had 3 children, 2 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren (16).
- Susan McGee (26 Oct 1859 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar – 26 Dec 1935 Littleton, Grafton, NH, buried in Whitefield NH). Godparents were Lewis Conn and Mary Laughery. In the 1861 census, William, James and Susan are described as two years, two years and one year old. Susan lived in S. Sylvestre at census time in 1881. She arrived in Lancaster, NH in 1881 or soon after, married Franklin Ora (Frank) Glidden (2 Feb 1864 Whitefield, NH – 12 Dec 1938 Jefferson, Coos, NH) on 13 Sep 1886 in Lancaster NH and lived in Jefferson from 1888 to 1935, though she died in Littleton. Susan and Franklin owned the only grocery store in Jefferson. They lived on Main street, probably above the store. In the 1930 census, Susan declared that her mother Catherine was “born at sea”. Jefferson is twelve km east of Whitefield and Bethlehem, where her uncles and aunts James, Owen, Patrick, Margaret and Peter had moved between 1881 and 1888. Littleton is twelve km southwest of Whitefield and six km west of Bethlehem. Lancaster, Jefferson, Littleton and Bethlehem form a 250 square km rectangle in the center of which is Whitefield. Susan and Franklin had one child: Ethel Mary Glidden (Mar 23 1888 Jefferson, NH – Jan 1985 Littleton, NH). Ethel married Austin J. Bedell on 24 April 1908 in Littleton and had 5 children, 8 grandchildren, 8 great-grandchildren and 2 g.-g.-grandchildren (17).
- Bridget McGee (9 Feb 1862 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar – 25 May 1902 Jefferson, Coos, NH). Godparents were James Laughrey and Mary McGee. She lived in S. Sylvestre in 1871 and 1881, and m. Edward J. Murphy (1859 S. Agathe QC — 10 Dec 1923 Bangor, Maine) on 27 Dec 1884 in Lancaster, NH. Edward was a manager in the lumber industry. In 1920 he had two stepsons at home related to a second marriage.
- Patrick McGee(17 Oct 1863 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar – 3 Apr 1949 Berlin, Coos, NH). Godparents were Michael Boyce and Ann McGee. He emigrated in 1881 and m. Fanny Murphy (~1860 S. John New Brunswick — 8 Dec 1888 Jefferson NH) on 29 Apr 1884 in Lancaster NH. He next m. Mary Ellen Sheehe (~1873 NH —13 May 1917 Berlin NH) on 25 Apr 1892 in Lancaster NH. He resided in Berlin in 1900, 1910, 1920 and probably for the rest of his life. He was a blacksmith in a paper mill in 1920. Patrick and Mary Ellen had at least six children based on the 1900, 1910 and 1920 censuses:
a- George William McGee (Feb 1896 NH — after 1920).
b- Joseph Irwin (Ivan) McGee (1899 Berlin — after 1920).
c- Everett A. McGee (1908 Berlin — after 1920).
d- Catharine (Katharine) M. McGee (1905 Berlin — after 1920).
e- Leo D. McGee (1907 Berlin — after 1920)
f- Gertrude McGee (1910 Berlin — before 1920: she was not recorded in the 1920 census).
- Anny (Ann) McGee(1 Jun 1865 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar — 31 Dec 1931 Berlin, Coos, NH). Godparents were Patrick Boyce and Mary Boyce. She immigrated in NH in 1885 and m. Thomas Gravelle (Gravel) (3 Sep 1862 AuSable Forks, Clinton, NY — 19 Sep 1941 Berlin, NH) on 14 Feb 1886 in Lancaster NH. They lived in Berlin, NH at least from 1900 to their death and had three children :
a- James Gravel (1887 — after 1920) m. Jessie (~1890 NH — ) and had two children: James Jr. (~1917 NH — ) and Philis (1920 NH — ).
b- Albert Gravel (1890 — after 1940) still lived at home In 1930 and 1940.
c- May Gravel (1903 — after 1930) m. Trever Henley (~1892 Mass. — ) and had one child: Aline (~1914 NH — ). In 1930 May, her brother Albert, Trever and Aline lived in the house of Anny and Thomas.
- Michael McGee (1 Sep 1867 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar — 27 May 1929 East Broughton). His godparents were Owen Loughery and Bridget McGee. He m. Marie Anne Couture (2 Jun 1872 S. Séverin, Beauce – before 1929) on 17 Oct 1893 in S. Séverin. Marie Anne is the daughter of Thomas Couture (10 Aug 1830 part of S. Elzéar or S. Sylvestre which eventually became S. Séverin – 14 Feb 1911 S. Séverin) and Catherine Boyce (29 Jan 1842 S. Elzéar – 27 Jan 1914 S. Séverin), who married on 17 Jul 1871 in S. Elzéar. Catherine is the daughter of William Boyce (~1805-1879), brother-in-law of Bridget Loughrey (1825-1883). Thus Bridget Loughrey is the aunt of Michael McGee and the grandaunt-in-law of Marie Anne Couture. Thomas was previously m. to Angélique Lehoux from 1857 to her death around 1870. In 1861 he was the neighbor of Bernard Laughrea on S. André range of S. Elzéar. The first child of Thomas and Angélique was Thomas Couture. Augustin, Philomène and François Couture, respectively godfather of William McGee (1858), godmother of James Bernard McGee (1858), and witness at the marriage of Helen Loughrey (1863) with James Monaghan, probably belong to the same family. Michael and Marie Anne lived in S. Séverin in 1911, perhaps in S. Frédéric in 1923, and had at least three children :
a- Catherine (Mary) McGee (21 Dec 1894 S. Séverin – after 1911).
b- Alfred (Freddie) McGee (18 Oct 1896 S. Séverin – 24 Mar 1977 Thetford Mines) m. Elzire (Elsine) Labbé (Oct 1895 QC — ) on 27 Mar 1923 in S. Frédéric, Beauce. Elzire is therefore probably from S. Frédéric. She is the daughter of Alphonse Labbé and Perpétue Cloutier. Freddie and Elisine had three children: Chantal, Jeanne D’Arc and Monique.
c- Delina (Lina) McGee (11 Jun 1899 S. Séverin — Oct 1982 Dover, Strafford, NH) m. Wilfred Dumais (1 Mar 1899 Somersworth, Strafford NH — 8 Feb 1943 idem) on 27 Oct 1919 in Berwick, York, Maine. They had two children: Armand (~1918 NH — ) and Rita (~1920 NH — ). The family lived in Somersworth in 1940. One descendant of Catherine, Freddie or Delina is Bob (email@example.com). Let’s hope Bob will eventually add to this.
- Thomas McGee (14 Jun 1869 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar — after 1940). Godparents were James Loughrey and Mary Loughrey. Thomas lived with his parents in 1891. He was a servant in Carroll NH in 1900. He lived in Jefferson NH at least from 1910 to 1940, residing with his brother James in 1910, his sister Susan in 1930, and being a lodger in 1940. He did not go to school. In 1940 he was a farm laborer earning $350 for 35 weeks of work at 48h/week.
- Catherine McGee (14 Apr 1871 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar — 28 Jul 1902 Jefferson NH, of childbirth). Sponsors were John Boyce and Catherine Boyce. She m. Darius Rayfus on 10 Oct 1894 in Whitefield NH. They had no children as of 1900. Catherine died two years later, one month before her father.
- John McGee (28 Jan 1875 S. Séverin – 21 Dec 1959 Rochester, Strafford, NH) emigrated to NH in 1895. In 1900, he lived in Berlin NH in the house of his brother Patrick. He m. Léonie (Lena) Richard (26 Jun 1881 S. Adolphe de Dudswell, Wolfe, QC — 15 Aug 1916 Berlin NH) on 17 Jun 1907 in Rochester, Strafford, NH. They were childless as of the 1910 census, when they lived in Farmington, Strafford, NH. In 1940 he lived in Somersworth, Stratford, NH, worked 20 weeks and earned $500. He had a third grade education.
Salaries and house values of PATRICK’s American descendants in 1940. In the 1940 census, twenty-one American grandchildren or great-grandchildren of PATRICK, or their husbands, revealed both their income and their line of work. They worked on average 42h/w. Their average income, adjusted for full-time work, i.e. ~50 weeks at 40h/w, was $1878 per year: $2036 for the fourteen who worked full-time and $1561 for the seven who worked part-time or part of the year. Seven mentioned both income and home value: their average income was $1961 and the average home value was $3500. On average, the house was valued at 2.1 times the income. Eleven mentioned home value but not income: it was $4477 on average, indicating that those with higher incomes tended not to reveal it in the census. Here are the twenty-one who declared income and line of work:
- Construction mechanic: $5000 (52w, 40h/w) in Bronx NY. Arthur Yockel, husband (h.) of Mary Overbeck (1896 Berlin NH)
- Engineer: $4000. Frederick Godey, h. of Annie M. Loughrea (1898 Franklin NH)
- Superintendant for maintenance: $2870 (52w, 50h/w); house valued at $6500. John Owen Boyce (1886 S. Elzéar)
- Postmaster: $2400; house valued at $1750. Annie Marguerite Laughery (1899 Whitefield NH)
- Mailman: $2100 (52w, 40h/w). Joseph Laughrea (1896 Watertown Mass.)
- Grain merchant: $2080 (52w, 54h/w); house valued at $2250. Frederick James McGee (1890 Jefferson NH)
- Teacher: $2000 (40h/w) Francis Edward Loughrea (1898 Chippewa Falls Wisc.)
- Teacher: $1880 (40h/w) Mary Anna Loughrea (1896 Wisc.)
- Teacher: $1836 (40h/w) Mildred Loughrea (1904 Chippewa Wisc.)
- Salesman: $1800 (32w, 44h/w); $2925/yr if full time. Alexander McNabb (1898 Wisc.), h. of Mary Anna Loughrea (1896 Wisc.)
- Power operator: $1612 (52w, 40h/w). James P. Hogan (1899 S. Sylvestre), h. of Mathilda Gallagher (1902 S. Sylvestre)
- Derrick man: $1340 (40w); $1742/yr if full-time; house valued at $2000. Joseph Cleary (1887 S. Basile, Portneuf), h. of Anna O’Connor (1892 Websterville VT)
- Auto mechanic: $1200 (40w, 54h/w); $1560/yr if full-time; house valued at $3500. Henry Joseph Boyce (1902 Websterville VT)
- Crane operator: $1200 (50w, 40h/w). Pete O’Connor (1885 S. Séverin)
- Watchman: $1080 (50w, 42h/w); house valued at $6500. Michael Campbell (1892 S. Pierre de Broughton), h. of Helen Margaret Boyce (1897 Websterville VT)
- Steam fitter in a paper mill: $ 500 (26w, 40h/w); $1000/yr if full-time. Frederick (Freddy) Gallagher (1891 S. Sylvestre)
- Laborer: $450 (50w). Almer Kelley, h. of Anne Gould (1873 S. Séverin); he was 66 years old
- Farm laborer: $350 (35w, 48h/w); $520/yr if full-time. Thomas McGee (1869 S. Sylvestre); he was 71 years old
- Section hand for railroad: $240 (17w); $734/yr if full-time. Henry Carbery (1896 Jefferson NH)
- Truck driver: $225 (26w); $450/yr if full-time. Frank Geerholt, h. of Florence Mary Kelley (1901 South Wallingford VT)
- General work: $200 (10w, 20h/w); $2000/yr if full-time; house valued at $2000. Michael Laughrea (1866 S. Elzéar); he was 74 years old
Here are the eleven children, grandchildren or great-grandchildren of PATRICK who declared home value but not income:
- Bridget Boyce (1890 S. Elzéar): $8000 house in Mamaroneck NY
- Joseph Patrick Gould (1877 East Broughton): $8000 house in East Providence, R.I.
- James Laughrea (1873 S. Séverin): $5700 house in Watertown, Mass.
- Mary Laughrea (1864 S. Elzéar): $5000 house in S. Paul MN
- Helen (Ellen) Loughrey (1863 S. Sylvestre): $5000 house in Duluth MN in 1930
- Patrick Jr Camden (1880 S. Patrice): $4500 house in Boston, Mass.
- William Thomas Boyce (1895 S. Elzéar): $4000 house in Bayside NY
- Rose Ann Boyce (1874 S. Elzéar): $3500 house in Barre VT in 1930
- William McGee (1858 S. Sylvestre): $3000 house in Carroll NH
- Peter Laughery (1861 S. Sylvestre): $1750 house in Whitefield NH
- Suzanne Adeline Gagné (1873 S. Patrice): $800 house in Tucker WV
The “Little Canada” effect: Canadian family members who emigrated as bachelors to the USA and married in the USA wedded another Canada-born immigrant 50% of the time. Nineteen descendants of PATRICK emigrated as bachelors to Coos NH or adjacent Essex VT and married in the USA. Thirteen married a bride or groom born in Canada and six married one born in the USA. Eighteen descendants emigrated as bachelors to other USA areas, such as middle and southern VT, southern NH, Massachusetts, Wisconsin and Minnesota. There the ratios were inverted: twelve married a USA-born bride or groom, five married one born in Canada and one married an American immigrant born in Ireland.
The “Little Canada” effect is very marked for those who lived in Coos NH or Essex VT. Less so elsewhere. Overall, thirty-seven descendants emigrated as bachelors to the USA and married in the USA. Eighteen married immigrants born in Canada, eighteen married USA-born partners, and one married an American immigrant born in Ireland. Three of these bachelor immigrants were children of PATRICK, twenty-three were grandchildren of PATRICK and eleven were great-grandchildren of PATRICK. These thirty-seven family members are listed below. When the descendant resided in Coos NH or Essex VT (at the Coos border) at the time of marriage, this is indicated by an (*).
- Michael Loughery (1859): bride born in the USA (*)
- Frederick Gallagher (1891) — son of Susan Loughery (1862): bride born in Canada (*)
- Mathilda Gallagher (1902) — daughter of Susan Loughery (1862): groom born in Canada (*)
- Bridget Loughery (1867): groom born in Canada (*)
- Patrick Loughrea (1857): bride born in Canada
- Edward Loughrea (1859): bride born in the USA
- Daniel J. Loughrea (1872): bride born in the USA
- William McGee (1858): bride born in Canada (*)
- James Bernard McGee (1858): bride born in Canada
- Susan McGee (1859): groom born in the USA (*)
- Bridget McGee (1862): groom born in Canada (*)
- Patrick McGee (1863): bride born in Canada (*)
- Ann McGee (1865): groom born in USA (*)
- Delina McGee (1899) — daughter of Michael McGee (1867): …USA
- John McGee (1875): bride born in Canada (*)
- Mary Ann Conn (1856): groom born in Canada (*)
- James Conn (1861): bride born in USA (*)
- Bridget Conn (1863): groom born in USA (*)
- Catherine Conn (1865): groom born in Canada (*)
- Anne Gould (1873): groom born in USA
- Peter Henry Gould (1876): bride born in USA
- Margaret Loughrey (1858): groom born in Canada (*)
- Peter Laughery (1861): bride born in Canada (*)
- Elizabeth Loughrey (1866): groom born in Canada (*)
- Patrick Jr Camden (1880) — son of Annie Boyce (1843): bride born in Canada
- Joseph Peter Gagné (1875) — son of Mary Boyce (1844): bride born in Canada (*)
- Michael Boyce (1846): bride born in USA
- Rose Ann Boyce (1884) — daughter of John Owen Boyce (1851) : groom born in Canada
- John Owen Boyce (1886) — son of John Owen Boyce (1851): bride born in USA
- James Patrick Boyce (1888) — son of John Owen Boyce (1851): bride born in USA
- William Thomas Boyce (1895) — son of John Owen Boyce (1851): bride born in USA
- Peter O’Connor (1885) — son of Susan Boyce (1856): bride born in USA
- Mary Helen O’Connor (1887) — daughter of Susan Boyce (1856): groom born in USA
- Peter E. Boyce (1859): bride born in the USA
- Mary Laughrea (1864): groom born in Canada
- Michael Laughrea (1866): bride born in the USA- (*)
- James Laughrea (1873): bride born in Northern Ireland
e) Mary Laughery-Conn (23 Nov 1833 S. Elzéar, Beauce, but baptized in S. Sylvestre – 14 Apr 1903 Groveton, Coos, NH, buried in Bloomfield VT) was born on 23 Nov 1833 and baptized on 1 Dec 1833 in S. Sylvestre according to p. 21 of Registres paroissiaux, collection Drouin. Her godparents were her presumed uncle Edward Patton andSusan McAuley. The full baptismal record from the Drouin records reads thus: “Marie Laughery. Le premier Décembre 1833 nous prêtre sous-signé avons baptisé Marie née il y a huit jours du légitime marriage de Edward Laughery cultivateur et de Marie Patton de cette paroisse. Parrain Edouard Patton et marraine Suzanne Macauley.” This indicates that PATRICK was sometimes called Edward. It is not surprising that Mary (1833) and her siblings Bernard (1835), Ann (1839) and Patrick (1843) were baptized in S. Sylvestre or in S. Marie even though they lived in S. Elzéar. There was no chapel or church in S. Elzéar before 1845 and no resident priest before spring 1846. S. Elzéar did not exist in 1833. It was canonically erected in 1835 and the land now covered by S. Elzéar was then religiously part of S. Marie. For civil matters, the territory of S. Elzéar was actually known as Linière from 1829 until 1835.
Mary is the first Laughrea born in Quebec and her baptismal record represents the earliest Canadian record mentioning PATRICK and Mary Patton. In the rest of Canada, and considering all possible other Laughreas (Chapter Ten), Mary Laughery is preceded only by four sons of Barnabus Lockery (~1803 Ireland — after 1871): John (~1829 Ont.), Robert (~1831 Canada), Charles (~1833 Ont.) and George (~1833 Ont.) Lockery (Lockrey). Mary married Lewis (Louis) Conn (sometimes Cowan) on 20 May 1851 in S. Elzéar at the age of seventeen. Witnesses were James Loughery and John Boyce. John Boyce was cryptically described as “cousin of Mary”. John Boyce was the cousin of Mary Patton, mother of Mary Laughery. We are only aware of two “John Boyce”: John Owen Boyce, brother-in-law, and John (Jack) Boyce, brother of John Owen. Lewis Cowan (~1822 Canada – 7 Jun 1899 Bloomfield, Essex, VT) was witness at the marriage of Catherine Laughry in 1855. He is the son of Felix (Philip) Cowan from Pennsylvania and Mary Letter from Holland, Cowan and Conn being deformations of the German name Kuhn. Lewis Conn owned a lot in the S. Sylvestre section of S. Marguerite range in 1876. It was the next to last lot before entering S. Séverin. The first two lots upon entering S. Séverin were those of heirs Patrick Monaghan, i.e. where lived James Monaghan, future husband of Helen Loughrey (1863).
Mary and Lewis moved to Stratford, Coos, NH in late 1869 [she was godmother of Thomas McGee (14 Jun 1869 S. Sylvestre – )] or in 1870. They lived there or within ten km of Stratford for the rest of their lives. Stratford is fifteen km north of Lancaster, Many of the children and grandchildren of Mary lived along the Connecticut River in the northern half of Coos Co. which is located north of Lancaster and is centered on North Stratford and the VT villages of Bloomfield and Brunswick facing North Stratford on the east shore of the Connecticut River. Their towns also included, from north to south in NH along the Connecticut River: West Stewartstown, Stewartstown, Colebrook, Columbia, North Stratford, Stratford, Groveton and Northumberland. North Stratford is 15 km south of Stewartstown and 18 km north of Northumberland. Brunswick, Essex, VT is home to six mineral springs that made the town a popular resort destination for the 19th century. The land of the springs is now owned by the Abenaki people. The presence of Mary and many of her children in and near Brunswick and Bloomfield might have fed a rumour that Mary was half-Abenaki. Lewis Conn was section man on a railroad in 1870, living in a $300 house. He was a farm helper in 1880.
Mary’s farming operation in 1861 in S. Marguerite range of S. Sylvestre. She had 90 arpents of land: 75 forest, 11 pasture and 4 for harvest. The land was valued at $150, i.e. less per arpent than the land of PATRICK, James or Catherine. Mary had two animals: one horse, and one cow. She produced four items: 50 minots oats, 7 minots barley (potatoes not scored), 1.5 ton hay and 200 pounds maple sugar. More context in Chapter Six.
The 10 children of Mary Laughery and Lewis Conn, and their 50 known descendants. Mary and Lewis had ten children between 1853 and 1873 and at least 18 grandchildren, 27 great-grandchildren, and 12 g.-g.-grandchildren. Seven of Mary’s children are known to have reached adult life. The seven moved to or were born on either shore of the upper Connecticut River, i.e. within Essex VT and northern Coos NH. Mary Ann, James, Bridget, Catherine, Annie, and Sarah Jane married and had 4, 2, 3, 4, 3 and 2 children, respectively. Charles was bachelor. The surnames of Mary’s grandchildren are: Ladoo (4), Dexter, Kennedy, Liberty (3 each), Conn, Lawrence (2), Gaynor (1). The surnames of her great-grandchildren are: Dexter (12). Hamilton (7), Burbridge, Conn (3 each), Lawrence, Straw (1). The surnames of her (g.)2-grandchildren are: Limbacher (9), Hamilton (3). The longevity of her five children and nine grandchildren who lived longer than 40 years is 68 and 73 years. I present below the ten children of Mary.
- Patrick Conn(8 Jan 1853 S. Sylvestre, Lotbinière – after 1870). Godparents were Michael Martin and Catherine Laughery.
- Susan Conn(~1855 S. Sylvestre – 9 Feb 1856 idem).
- Mary Ann Conn(12 Dec 1856 idem – 16 Dec 1925 Bloomfield, Essex, VT, from cancer of the uterus; buried in the North Stratford Catholic cemetery, Coos, NH). Godparents were James Loughery and Mary Martin. She m. Alfred Ledou (Ladoo, Ladeau) (13 Jul 1852 Stukely QC — 19 Sep 1922 Montpelier VT) on 24 Oct 1875 in Bloomfield VT and had four children:
a- Willie (1876 Colebrook, Coos, NH — 14 Apr 1887 Bloomfield VT);
b- Charles (~1884 Bloomfield — 25 Apr 1899 East Montpelier VT);
c- Phillip Frank (1877-1965);
d- Dennis (?-1955).
After divorcing on 5 Jan 1891 in NH, Mary Ann m. Joseph Gonyer (Gagné) (1859 Canada — ) on 5 Mar 1891 in Colebrook, Coos, NH. According to her obituary in the Coos County Democrat of 23 Dec 1925, she was born on 12 Dec 1857. She acted as a pastry cook in many hotels and boarding houses. She left “a husband, two sons, two brothers and two sisters”. According to our records, the 2nd sister (Sarah Jane) died one year before Mary Ann.
- Michael Conn(12 Feb 1859 S. Sylvestre – ) (1857 Canada – 17 Jul 1889 Bloomfield, VT according to the website caroljbryant.com). Godparents were Michael Laughrey and his wife Cecilia Sullivan. He lived in North Stratford NH in 1870. This indicates that Bernard was sometimes called Michael.
- James Conn(7 Mar 1861 S. Sylvestre – 20 Dec 1942, Conn Cemetery, Brunswick Springs, Essex, VT) lived as a farmer in the Brunswick/Bloomfield VT area from the 1890s to his death. In 1900 he was a farm day laborer and a river driver. He m. Laurena (Irena) Louise Paschal (17 Jan 1858 Brunswick, Essex, VT — 11 Dec 1927 idem) in 1886 and had two children:
a- Ralph Glen Conn (12 Jul 1897 Brunswick, Essex, VT — Apr 1971 Meredith, Belknap, NH) was a truck driver with a 6th grade education. In 1920 he lived in Bloomfield VT as a hired man. In 1935 and 1940 he lived in a rented house in Laconia, Belknap NH. Meredith is on the shore of Lake Winnipesaukee while Laconia is ten km east of the Lake. He m. Alita May Moore on 11 Feb 1922 and had three children. He later m. Mary Evelyn Gibson (~1909 Pike, NH — ) on 24 Aug 1938 in Laconia NH. The three children of Ralph and Alita are:
- Ralph Lewis (2 Nov 1922 Brunswick, VT — 1 Nov 1985 Littleton, NH)
- Jean Harriet (29 Jun 1924 Brunswick, VT — 28 Nov 1971 New Haven, CT)
- Harold C. (11 Oct 1926 Brunswick — 1986 Florida)
b- Ray Lewis Conn (2 Sep 1899 Brunswick VT —18 May 1946 Berlin, Coos, NH) resided with his parents in 1920 and 1930 and in Stratford, NH in 1935 and 1940. He died in the hospital of Berlin and was buried in Brunswick, VT.
- Bridget Conn (30 Sep 1863 S. Sylvestre – 5 Apr 1893 Stratford, Coos, NH). Godparents were Owen Laughrey and his wife Margaret Mullavey. Bridget m. William O. (or C.) Dexter (~ 1858 Alton, Maine – ) on 4 Jun 1881 in Bloomfield VT. He is the son of Loren Dexter and Emma Jackson. Much of my information on the descendants of Bridget and William come from the caroljbryant.com website. At the time of marriage, William was a millman living in Stratford while Bridget lived as a servant in the Meriam household in North Stratford in 1880. In 1920 William was a teamster in a pulp and paper mill. His 2nd wife Annie was a waitress at an asylum. The (g.)6-grandfather of William was Thomas I. Dexter (~1594 Bristol, England — 9 Feb 1676 Boston). Bridget and William had three children (Loren George, William L. and Clara) from 1882 to 1887 but these children were separated at an early age when Bridget died in 1893 and William remarried. William L. and Clara, eight and six years old in 1893, were sent to live with their uncle James Conn (1861) in Bloomfield. James had no children in 1894 despite eight years of marriage. The three children of Bridget Conn and William Dexter are:
a- Loren George Dexter (13 Apr 1882 North Stratford, Coos, NH — 6 Aug 1957 Bellows Falls VT) m. Jeny Irene Rafuse. Loren went away to work at a logging camp. There was a lot of bitterness on the part of Loren Dexter towards his father. Loren and Jeny had ten children:
- Loren Dexter (1908-1908).
- Frank Louis (13 Dec 1909 — 18 Jan 1997 McKenney TX) m. Gladys Struthers Dickerman on 1 Feb 1935.
- Dorothy Mae Dexter(28 Apr 1912 — Jan 2005 Keene, Cheshire, NH) m. Alexander Robert Mileski.
- George Leland Dexter(18 Jan 1914 Wilmington, VT — 21 Sep 2002 North Westminster, VT) m. Elaine Katherine Cray ( — Nov 2000) on 18 Jun 1938
- Annie Rafuse (31 Jan 1915 — ) m. Charles M. Priest on 7 Apr 1935 and Ray Turner on 18 Feb 1951.
- Allan Douglas Dexter(27 Sep 1917 Wilmington, VT — 21 Mar 2000 Stockton, Cali.) m. Joanne Jane Jividen on 27 Jun 1946.
- Maurice William Dexter(19 Nov 1918 VT — 21 Apr 1961 Bellows Falls, Windham, VT) m. Anne Margaret Kiniry on 14 Jun 1951.
- Richard Harding Dexter (12 Dec 1920 — 26 Jan 1992 Hanover, NH) m. Lanna Barbara Neronsky on 17 Jul 1948.
- Kenneth Dexter (1922-1922).
- Claude Nieman Dexter(6 Sep 1926 — ) m. Evangeline Frances Sencabaugh on 29 May 1948.
b- William L. Dexter (Jul 1884 VT — ) m. Betsy Woodrow. In 1900 William worked as a farm laborer and lived as a boarder in the house of his aunt Annie Conn-Kennedy (1870) in Stratford NH. In 1920 he was a farm laborer and his mother-in-law as well as his sister-in-law Flora, age eighteen, lived in his house. But there is no mention of Betsy (was she deceased?). William and Betsy had two children: Dorothy (~1914 — ) and Marjorie (~ 1916 — ).
c- Clara Charlotte Dexter (22 Mar 1887 North Stratford, NH — Jan 1980 Franklin, Norfolk, Mass.) lived as a lodger in the house of her uncle James Conn (1861) in 1900; she was thirteen and attended school. She m. Fenton Warren Straw (15 Feb 1886 Hereford, Compton, QC — ~ 1921). They lived in a little house between Stratford and Colebrook. Fenton put in hard wood floors in the mill houses and later worked in Franklin, Mass., where they lived thereafter. Clara worked as a matron at Dean’s College in Franklin Mass. Her leisure time was spent knitting. Fenton Straw is the (g.)5-grandchild of William Straw (1660 Nottinghanshire, England — ~1714 Amesbury, Mass.). Clara and Fenton had one child: Gwendolyn Geneve Straw (9 Dec 1914 Ray, Piscataquis, Maine — 31 Dec 1971). She m. Harold Frank Limbacher (20 Dec 1911 New Haven, CT —18 Jan 1972 Fontana, San Bernardino, Cali.) on 4 Nov 1933 in Hartford, CT and had nine children:
- Charlotte Evelyn Limbacher (31 Mar 1934 — Apr 1934).
- Evelyn Limbacher(31 Mar 1934 — Apr 1934).
- Jacquelyn Pearl Limbacher(~1935 CT — after 2006).
- Carol Joan (15 Oct 1939 CT — after 2008). She m. ? Bryant and is the author of the comwebsite.
- Bruce Warren Limbacher(15 Oct 1939 CT — 20 Mar 1982).
- Shirlee Claire Limbacher(? — after 2006).
- Penelope A. Limbacher(? — after 2006).
- Scott Dexter Limbacher(? — after 2006).
- Clark Anthony Limbacher(? — after 2006).
- Catherine Conn (18 Oct 1865 S. Sylvestre – 1933) resided in Stratford, Coos, NH in 1870 and 1880, in Northumberland, Coos NH in 1900 and 1910 and in Braintree, Norfolk, Mass. in 1930 and 1931. She was a servant in the Perry boarding house in 1880. Shem. Thomas Liberty (~1858 Canada — before 1892) in 1882 in Bloomfield VT and had three children with him. She subsequently m. Joseph G. Gaynor (Apr 1864 Fredericton, New Brunswick — 1934), a stockroom clerk, on 3 Jul 1892 in Brookfield VT and had one child with him. The four children of Catherine are:
a- Ardeth M. Liberty (`1885 Groverton, Coos, NH — ) m. Wilson Burbridge and had three children:
- Leland Wilfred Burbridge(20 Dec 1903 Haverhill, Essex, Mass. — Jan 1971 Stillwater, Saratoga, NY)
- Evelyn Delores Burbridge (1905 Haverhill, Essex, Mass. — 2 Aug 1905 idem)
- Anita Burbridge(~1906 idem — )
b- Sarah Jane “Sadie” Liberty (15 Aug 1886 Bloomfield VT — ) m. Thomas Hogan (~1875 Canada — ) on 20 Jul 1903 in Groverton NH and divorced on 28 May 1908 in NH.
c- Thomas Jr Liberty (18 Jul 1889 Bloomfield, Essex, VT — 10 Jun 1892).
d- George Clifford Gaynor (9 Oct 1896 Groverton NH —1958 Quincy, Norfolk, Mass.) m. Esther M. in 1920 in Somerville, Middlesex, Mass.. He lived in Somerville in 1930 and 1935 and in Middlesex Co. in 1942. The greater Boston area includes Suffolk Co. as well as parts of Middlesex, Essex and Norfolk Co.
- Ann (Annie) Conn(13 Mar 1870 Stratford, Coos, NH – 26 Mar 1909 Dedham, Norfolk, Mass.) m. William Kennedy (May 1859 New Brunswick, Canada – 1927 Dedham, Norfolk, Mass.) on 7 Jul 1886 in Bloomfield, Essex, VT. William emigrated in 1881. In 1900 he lived in Stratford NH and worked as a day laborer. Annie and William had three children:
a- Charles Kennedy (Jul 1887 Bloomfield, Essex, VT – ) resided in Stratford in 1900.
b- Elizabeth Maud (Lizzie) Kennedy (5 Oct 1889 Bloomfield, Essex, VT – 22 Jan 1951 Boston, Suffolk, Mass.) m. Oliver Francis Hamilton (2 Dec 1882 Dedham, Norfolk, Mass. – 17 Sep 1922 Boston, Mass.) on 1 Apr 1908 in Rhode Island and had 7 children, 3 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren and one g.-g.-grandchild (18).
c- Lester L Kennedy (Mar 1894 Bloomfield, Essex, VT – ).
- CharlesConn (7 Jan 1871 Stratford, NH – 16 Jan 1941 Stewartstown, Coos, NH) worked in a sawmill in Victory, Essex, VT in 1900. He was single in 1910 and 1941. Victory is 22 km west of Lancaster NH and 15 km northeast of S. Johnsbury VT.
- SarahJane Conn (13 Sep 1873 Stratford, Coos, NH – 1924 Braintree, Norfolk, Mass) m. Frederick Burton Lawrence (15 May 1868 Nova Scotia, Canada — 30 Dec 1959 Weymouth, Norfolk, Mass.) on 7 Dec 1896 in Rumford, Maine. Nova Scotia was 17% Irish in 1767 and about one third of them were Protestant. Sarah Jane and Fredericd had two children:
a- Stanley Donald Lawrence (10 Aug 1898 NH — 25 May 1986 Norwell, Plymouth, Mass.) m. Frances and lived in Quincy, Norfolk, Mass. in 1930 and 1940.
b- Leland Winfield Lawrence (9 Nov 1899 Boston, Suffolk, Mass. — 27 Dec 1969 Augusta, Kennebec, Maine) m. Olive Rossiter (~1901 — ) on 8 Oct 1927 in Claremont, Sullivan, NH and had one daughter: Sara R Lawrence (12 Jul 1928 Braintree, Norfolk, Mass. — 7 Aug 1998 Strafford, Orange, VT)
f) BERNARD Laughrea(3 Dec 1835 S. Elzéar but baptized in S. Sylvestre, Lotbinière – 23 Aug 1914 S. Pierre de Broughton) was born in 1834 according to his tombstone in the cemetery of S. Pierre de Broughton. His godparents were Terrence Martin and Rose Martin while those of Cecilia Sullivan were John McNally and Mary Maloney. People born in S. Elzéar before 1846 were typically baptized in S. Sylvestre, Lotbinière or S. Marie, Beauce (see Chapter Two). Bernard married Cecilia Sullivan (16 Jan 1836 S. Sylvestre — 7 Nov 1901 S. Pierre de Broughton) on 23 Nov 1858 in S. Elzéar, ten months after his father PATRICK married Mary McGown in S. Sylvestre and five days before the birth of his half-sister Margaret. Witnesses were John Sullivan and Catharine Stewart. Lore has it that Cecilia was obese at the time of her death. Bernard was Leeds East city councillorin 1893. His white tombstone is near the parking lot of the church, its back side facing the Palmer River. All Laughreas in the world descend from Bernard Laughrea.
BERNARD and Cecilia had nine children from 1860 to 1877 (John, Patrick, Mary, Michael, Thomas, Cecilia, James, Peter and Ellen), 25 grandchildren and at least 43 great-grandchildren and 72 g.-g.-grandchildren. Michael and James moved to the USA before the age of 22, married before the age of 27 and had respectively six and four children. John, Patrick, Thomas and Peter stayed in S. Pierre de Broughton. None married except my grandfather, who can be counted as almost a bachelor since he m. at the age of 46 but had three children. The three daughters married. Mary moved to Minnesota at the age of 19 while Cecilia and Ellen stayed in S. Pierre de Broughton. They respectively had two, seven and four children. The grandchildren of BERNARD were born between 1895 and 1920. Among his g.-g.-grandchildren, 47 were born in Quebec and 25 in the USA. His 37 g.-g.-grandchildren of known birth dates were born between 1958 (William Jr Laughrea, great-grandchild of James) and 1994 (Lynzey Sullivan, great-grandchild of Cecilia). Details on the descendants of BERNARD are provided in Chapter Eight. The surnames of BERNARD’s grandchildren are: Laughrea (14), Custeau (7), McCaffrey (3), Kellow (2). The surnames of his great-grandchildren are: Custeau (18), Laughrea (14), Gagné (3), McCaffrey (2), Bortolot (1). The surnames of his (g.)2-grandchildren are: Laughrea (17), Custeau (13), Darnell (9), O’Connell (5), Zaidi (4), Campbell, Douville, Leary, Noel (3 each), Beattie, Béland, Gagné, Sullivan, Thivierge (2 each), Fournier, Tremblay (1 each).
The Sullivan and Prendergast connection. The parents of Cecilia Sullivan are John Sullivan (1811 Co. Wexford, Ireland – 3 Nov 1892 S. Sylvestre) and Mary Prendergast (5 Dec 1809 Mooncoin, Co. Kilkenny, Ireland — 3 Jan or Jul 1874 S. Sylvestre). Kilkenny and Wexford are adjacent counties in the southeast corner of Ireland. Kilkenny forms a wedge separating Co. Waterford on the west from Co. Wexford on the east. Only five km separates Waterford and Wexford counties near the ocean. John is the son of Denis (Dennis) Sullivan and Margaret Dunn. They m. on 10 Nov 1800 in Enniscorthy, Wexford, Ireland. Enniscorthy is in the geographical center of Co. Wexford and its second largest town. Mooncoin is one km from Co. Waterford, eighteen km from Co. Wexford and 54 km from Enniscorthy. The name Dunn originates from Leinster and is found in largest numbers there. Mary is the daughter of Thomas Prendergast (~1785 Ireland – 1 Aug 1848 S. Sylvestre) and Margaret Walsh (~1791 Ireland – between 1861 and 1871 S. Sylvestre). Jonathan Swift studied at Kilkenny College between 1674 and 1686. The common southeast origin of John and Mary may have favored a rapprochement on the ship or upon arrival in the New World. Enniscorthy was an important center of the 1798 Irish rebellion. For a time the rebels controlled the triangle formed by Wexford town, Enniscorthy and Gorey. The battle of Enniscorthy on 28 May 1798 ended in victory for the United Irishmen while the battle of Vinegar Hill on 21 Jun 1798 in Enniscorthy ended in victory for the 15,000 British troops who launched the attack. About 25% of the population of Co. Wexford was killed during the rebellion. At least 25% of the Irish of Frampton (Dorchester) come from Co. Wexford and at least 4% come from Kilkenny. It is impossible to know if my Sullivan, Dunn, Prendergast and Walsh ancestors were on the loyalist or rebellious side. Historically, the rebellious tended to be killed and the loyalists tended to survive, but the rebellious also tended to leave Ireland after defeat. In 1798, the British Forces were made roughly of one third regular British army units, one third Irish local militia (75% of its members Catholics) and one third local yeomanry (largely Protestant). Ironically, my Laughrea and Patton ancestors come from the last place in Ireland to be conquered (Ulster and particularly Tyrone) while my Sullivan and Prendergast ancestors come from the first place in Ireland to be conquered (details in the next section).
Sullivan is by far the commonest surname in Munster (southwest of Ireland). In all Ireland, it is the 3rd commonest surname. It comes after Murphy and Kelly. Almost 80% of the Sullivans in Ireland today live in the counties of Cork and Kerry. There are eighty Sullivans for one Laughrea (all spellings accepted) in the Republic of Ireland, but 60% more Laughreas than Sullivans in Northern Ireland (19). Walsh is the 4th commonest surname in Ireland.
John Sullivan and Mary Prendergast m. on 13 Aug 1833 at Notre-Dame de Québec. They settled in 1835 on lot 235 of S. Paul range in S. Sylvestre but are not found in the 1842 and 1851 censuses (the John Sullivan of the 1851 census has no wife and the names of his children don’t match). According to his reported ages in the 1861, 1871 and 1881 censuses and at death in 1892, John was born in 1811, 1811, 1809 and 1808 (average of 1810). According to her reported ages in the 1861 and 1871 censuses and at death in 1874, Mary was born in 1811, 1811 and 1808 (average of 1810). John Sullivan was on lot 531, S. Pierre range, S. Sylvestre in 1876/79. S. Paul Road separates S. Pierre range to the north from S. Paul range to the south. Witnesses at Mary’s burial were her son John Sullivan (~1852), her son-in-law Bernard Loughrey (1835) and Peter Boyce (1833-1909), brother-in-law of daughter Mary Sullivan (1838-1925). Witnesses at John’s burial were his grandson John Loughrey (1860-1946) and his son-in-law Michael Boyce (1835-1918). Both are nephews of Bridget Loughrey. Note the spelling of Bernard’s surname.
In 1861 Margaret Walsh-Prendergast (~1791) lived in the house of her daughter Mary Prendergast and her husband John Sullivan. In 1871, Margaret no longer lived there, suggesting she died between 1861 and 1871. In 1881, John Sullivan, 72, was a widower and his youngest child John Sullivan (~1852) lived with him. In 1891 John Sullivan and Mary Boyce, respectively 81 and 80, lived in the house of their children, the couple Mary Sullivan (1838) and Michael Boyce (1835). A smith called Patrick Prendergast settled on lot 476 of S. André range of S. Sylvestre in 1829 with his wife Margaret Murphy. Since Prendergast wasn’t a rare name in the southeast of Ireland, a Thomas Prendergast married a Margaret Prendergast on 23 Jan 1812 in Co. Waterford and had a daughter called Mary on 14 Dec 1812 in Co. Waterford.
A Norman knight in the family via Mary Prendergast; her two parents are of Norman origin. Mary Prendergast is of dual Norman origin through her father Thomas Prendergast and her mother Margaret Walsh. Mary Prendergast descends from Norman knight Maurice de Prendergast (?-1205 Dublin, Ireland), an important member of the first Norman expedition in Ireland. Robert FitzStephen and Maurice de Prendergast landed in Ireland in early May 1169, each respectively leading three and two ships. The Normans had landed at the request of my (g.)28-grandfather Diarmait Mac Murchada (Dermot MacMurrough) (1110-1171), King of Leinster from 1126 to 1167. Prendergast took part in the conquest of Wexford and Ossory in 1169 and Waterford in 1170. Nowadays, Prendergast is a suburb of Haverfordwest, in the southwest tip of Wales. It is located nine km east of the ocean and eleven km north of Milford Haven. Ossory roughly corresponds to Co. Kilkenny.
In 1167, MacMurrough was overthrown by Ruaidri (Rory, Roderick) O’Connor and his ally Tiernan O’Rourke. MacMurrough fled to Wales with his daughter Aoife (Eve). He succeeded in reaching my (g.)25-grandfather Anglo-Norman King Henry II in Aquitaine and obtained from him the permission to seek help from the Anglo-Norman and Cambro-Norman lords of his English kingdom. (King of England Henry II spoke only French and spent most of his time in France.) Back in Wales, MacMurrough convinced Robert FitzStephen, Maurice FitzGerald and my Norman (g.)27-grandfather Richard FitzGilbert de Clare (nicknamed “Strongbow“) to rescue him. To secure Strongbow’s agreement, MacMurrough offered him his daughter Aoife in marriage and the prospect of the kingdom of Leinster on MacMurrough’s death. FitzStephen and FitzGerald were promised the town of Wexford plus 200 townlands (200,000 acres). FitzStephen and FitzGerald were the children of Welsh princess Nesta, described as “the most beautiful woman in Wales” and nicknamed “Helen of Wales”. About the 1st of May 1169, FitzStephen left Milford Haven in Wales and landed at Bannow Bay, halfway between Waterford and Wexford, with three ships and a force of thirty knights, sixty armsmen in half-armor and 300 archers. He knew that Wexford was impregnable by sea and that Bannow was far enough to permit an unresisted landing. The local chieftains O’Duggan and O’Larkin were favorable to MacMurrough. The next day Prendergast landed at the same spot with two ships and a force of ten knights, sixty archers and a total of about 200 men. This force merged with about 500 soldiers commanded by MacMurrough and marched to Wexford. The siege of Wexford in May 1169 was the first major clash of the Norman invasion of Ireland. Although the attackers did not breach the town’s walls, Wexford surrendered after almost two days. Next, MacMurrough proposed an expedition against the King of Ossory. It was no doubt due to the defection of Ossory and other chieftainries that MacMurrough was unable to make a stand against his enemies in 1166. In a memorable battle, the Norman and Irish troops were under the respective command of Maurice Prendergast and Donnel Kavanagh, son of MacMurrough. The Irish troops fled in panic through the woods, leaving only 43 knights and at least 50 archers with Prendergast against the 2000 men of Donnell Mac Gillapatrick (MacGiolla Phadraig), King of Ossory. Prendergast urged his men forward as rapidly as possible to gain the hard open country on the upper slopes of the hills, where the cavalry could act. The flight of the invaders was turned into the defeat of the pursuers (but not yet the end for Ossory). Seeing Prendergast victorious, Kavanagh’s men returned in the melée, cutting off 200 heads with their broad axes and bringing them to MacMurrough who inspected each head only to tear away with his teeth the nose and lips of the one he was looking for. Soon after, Prendergast and about 200 men (one third of the Norman contingent) deserted MacMurrough and left for Wales despite MacMurrough’s oppostion, only to come back in 1170 with Strongbow and conquer Waterford.
Maurice de Prendergast was a chivalrous warrior who would keep his word even with an enemy. He may have been troubled by Dermot’s brutality, unreliability or obnoxiousness after victory over Ossory (not to mention his behavior towards dead Irish enemies). In order to leave for Wales safely, Prendregast had to offer his services to Mac Gillapatrick and fight against 500 men of Donnell Kavanagh. In consequence of his services, Prendergast was named Maurice of Ossory by the King of Ossory.
In the fall 1169, FitzGerald landed with two ships, ten knights, thirty mounted retainers and 100 archers on foot. On 23 Aug 1170, Strongbow and Prendergast landed with 200 knights and 1000 soldiers. Theirs was the fourth landing of the invasion, the first three being those of FitzStephen and Prendergast in May 1169, FitzGerald in fall 1169 and Raymond Legros, nephew of FitzStephen and FitzGerald, on 1 May 1170. Each expedition started from Milford Haven in Wales. Strongbow, Prendergast and Legros breached the walls of Waterford and conquered the city, which means that Prendergast conquered both Wexford and Waterford. It is there that Dermot MacMurrough gave Aoife in marriage to Strongbow and made him heir-in-succession of the kingdom of Leinster and the towns of Dublin, Wexford and Wateford (Dublin had already submitted to MacMurrough). MacMurrough broke Irish law on succession: his sons and brothers should have had priority. Anyhow, MacMurrough’s son and grandson were hostages of Rory O’Connor, who put them to death (the taking of family hostages as fidelity insurance was a common practice).
MacMurrough died in May 1171. Strongbow became King of Leinster and the first Norman lord in Ireland. This stimulated a united Irish revolt against him. Sensing danger, Strongbow wrote to Henry II, offering him all of his Irish possessions. Strongbow resisted the Irish until Henry II landed on 17 Oct 1171 with at least 240 ships, 500 knights, 4000 men-at-arms, archers and huge stocks of provisions and equipment. There was immediate submission of most Irish kings and the whole Irish hierarchy. Henry II may have appeared to the Irish as a savior who came to protect them from the marauding and rapacious Cambro-Norman barons. Most Irish kings who submitted to Henry II received back their own territories. Only the Irish kings of mid and west Ulster refused to submit. Strongbow was confirmed as feudal lord of Leinster. Henry II left Ireland on 17 Apr 1172 after waiting six weeks for favorable winds. Strongbow died in Dublin in 1176 and was buried in Christ Church, Dublin. His daughter Isabel de Clare (~1172-1220) married William Marshal (Le Maréchal) in Aug 1189. Marshal then became the 2nd Norman lord of Leinster and he succeeded to Strongbow’s possessions in Ireland and Pembroke, Wales. Isabel and William are my (g.)26-grandparents. Strongbow is the son of Gilbert de Clare, earl of Pembroke since 1138. The grandfather of Gilbert, Richard de Clare, fought at Hastings in 1066. William Marshall was considered the best knight that ever lived and “one of the finest human products of the feudal system: brave, generous, upright. He engaged in no war or fight in Ireland. His work was entirely one of construction” (Ireland Under the Normans). While in Ireland, he chose the town of Kilkenny as his principal place of abode.
Maurice de Prendergast joined the order of the knights of S. John of Jerusalem, became prior of the Order’s house in Kilmainham (now part of Dublin) around 1200 and died there in 1205. The priors of Kilmainham sat as spiritual peers in the Irish parliament and played an important role for 300 years in the civil and military history of Ireland. Maurice de Prendergast was a brave and honorable soldier who saved the life of Mac Gillapatrick, King of Ossory. In 1598 the Prendergasts were listed among the leading gentry of Counties Waterford, Wexford, and Tipperary. Interestingly, Mary Prendergast’s husband comes from Wexford! Philip, son of Maurice de Prendergast, obtained land in and around Enniscorthy, and was probably the builder of Enniscorthy Castle, on the west side of the Slaney River between 1190 and 1205. In 1227 he obtained the part of Enniscorthy which lies east of the Slaney River. The Prendergasts lived there for 300 years. The castle remained a private dwelling until 1951.
Dermot MacMurrough is responsible for the compilation of the Book of Leinster. He founded the Augustinian monastery at Ferns. He married Mor, the only daughter of Murtough O’Toole, King of the southern half of Co. Kildare. Together they had Aoife and four other children.
The military superiority of the Normans had already been demonstrated in England, Wales, South Italy and Palestine. The Irish with their light axes, short swords, spears and no armour were no match against knights in armour with long swords and lances, men-at-arms in half-armour and the far-flying arrows of the Cambro-Norman archers. This military superiority was accompanied by construction superiority: their ability to rapidly throw up impregnable castles soon after conquest.
Henry II (1133-1189), Aoife (~1145-1188), Richard Strongbow (~1130-1176 Dublin), William Marshall (~1146-1219) and all of their forefathers are my ancestors because they are the progenitors of my (g.)9-grandmother Anne Convent (Couvent) (~1604, Espié—now Epieds, Aisne—, S. Quentin, Soissons – 25 Dec 1675 Québec City), who is the ancestor of each of my three French-Canadian grandparents. These ancestors include kings of Leinster over much of the 11th and 12th century, namely:
- Murchad Mac Diarmuid (1035-1070), King of Leinster from 1052 to 1070;
- Donnchad Mac Murchada (1065-1115, killed in battle against the Norse in Dublin), King of Leinster from 1098 to 1115;
- Dermot MacMurrough, King of Leinster from 1126 to 1167. These three are the great-grandfather, grandfather and father of Aoife. Aoife MacMurrough is the progenitor of George Washington, Marie-Antoinette, Charles Darwin et Winston Churchill.
Henry II, also known as Henry Curtmantle or Henry Plantagenet, is not related to Richard Strongbow. Henry is the great-grandson of William the Conqueror (1027-1087). He is also the grandfather of Blanche of Castille (1188-1252) and the great-grandfather of Fernando III El Santo (Saint Ferdinand). Both Blanche and Saint Ferdinand (~1199-1252 Seville) are the ancestors of Anne Convent. Strongbow is the great-great-grandson of Henry I of France, King of the Franks from 1031 to 1060.
The 11 children and many grandchildren of John Sullivan and Mary Pendergast. John and Mary lived in S. Sylvestre from 1834/35 to their death They had ten children:
- Elizabeth (Eliza) (~1833 S. Sylvestre? – after 1865) m. Michael Hogan on 17 Jan 1865 in S. Sylvestre. Witnesses were James Hogan and Anne Sullivan.
- Margaret (~1834 S. Sylvestre? – after 1856) m. Patrick Noran on 8 Apr 1856.
- Cecilia Sullivan (16 Jan 1836 S. Sylvestre — 7 Nov 1901 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Bernard Laughrea on 23 Nov 1858 in S. Elzéar. They had nine childrendescribed in Chapter Eight.
- Anasthasia (25 Feb 1838 S. Sylvestre – after 1858) m. Thomas Quinn on 13 Apr 1858 in S. Sylvestre; the parents of Thomas Quinn are John Quinn and Rosanna Tonery.
- Mary Sullivan (28 Dec 1839 S. Sylvestre — 20 Dec 1925 idem) m. Michael Boyce(2 Nov 1835 S. Marie, Beauce – 30 May 1918 S. Sylvestre), son of Henry Joseph, on 8 Jan 1861 in S. Sylvestre. They had thirteen children, nine of whom reached adulthood and are described in the next section. As already mentioned, Michael Boyce (1835-1918) had three cousins of the same name: Michael Boyce (1832-1927 S. Sylvestre) son of Patrick, Michael Boyce (1835-1907 Sillery QC) son of John (Jack) (further details in Chapter Eleven) and Michael Boyce (1846-1901 Kings Co., NY) son of Bridget Loughrey. Two of these cousins spent some of their adult lives in S. Sylvestre. Michael (1835-1918 S. Sylvestre) owned a farm on S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar in 1871 while Michael (1832-1927 S. Sylvestre) had a farm in 1871 on the part of S. Marguerite range that eventually became S. Séverin. He may have moved to S. Sylvestre after 1890. A Michael Boyle lived on S. Paul range in 1876/79. He had the 7th farm east of Thomas Harny. We doubt that this is a corruption of Michael Boyce’s name.
- Patrick (24 Apr 1841 S. Sylvestre -?).
- Thomas (9 Dec 1846 S. Sylvestre – after 1877) m. Ellen O’Donnell on 2 Jun 1877.
- Ann (~ 1847 S. Sylvestre – ?)
- Catherine (7 Nov 1848 S. Sylvestre – ?).
- Catherine (2 Aug 1850 S. Sylvestre — ?). Her godparents were Hugh O’Donnel and Ann Rourke. One presumes that the first Catherine was dead by Aug 1850.
- John (~1852 S. Sylvestre – 25 Aug 1936 Plymouth, Grafton, NH ).
The 9 adult children and descendants of Mary Sullivan and Michael Boyce. Michael Boyce (2 Nov 1835 S. Marie, Beauce – 30 May 1918 S. Sylvestre) m. Mary Sullivan (28 Dec 1839 S. Sylvestre – 20 Dec 1925 idem) on 8 Jan 1861 in S. Sylvestre and had nine children who lived beyond the age of seven, all boys. These cousins of my grandfather John Laughrea (1860-1946) all moved to the USA, usually New Hampshire, before 1909 on average and at the average age of less than 40. Two of them died while working on the Cog Railway of Mount Washington. One of them is the father of the first female pharmacist in New Hampshire. The nine children of Mary Sullivan and Michael Boyce are:
a- Henry Joseph (2 Oct 1861 S. Elzéar – 20 Jul 1940 Haverhill, Grafton, NH, but buried in Lancaster, NH) m. Margaret Jane Monahan (May 1870 Lunenburg, Essex, VT – 15 Dec 1935 Lisbon, Grafton, NH) in ~1896 in Lisbon, Grafton, NH. From 1910 to 1940, he lived in four different New Hampshire towns: Whitefield, Coos; Livermore, Grafton; Lisbon, Grafton and Plymouth, Grafton.
b- John (26 Apr 1863 S. Elzéar – 10 Sep 1888 Zeeland, Coos, NH, but buried in S. Sylvestre). The godparents were Bernard Laughrey and Mary Boyce. He died accidentally while working on the Cog Railway of Mount Washington. He had married Mary McMonigle (? – 1901 S. Sylvestre).
c- Patrick Michael (2 May 1867 S. Elzear, Beauce – 9 Jul 1949 Plymouth, Grafton, NH) m. Annie Doherty (28 Sep 1871 S. Sylvestre, Lotbinière – 16 Apr 1955 Plymouth, Grafton, NH) on 13 Jun 1899 in S. Sylvestre. They moved to New Hampshire in 1929 and had three children who lived longer than four years:
- Ethel (26 Aug 1900 S. Sylvestre – 29 Mar 1976 Ashland, Grafton, NH) was the first woman pharmacist in New Hampshire.
- Mary Agnes (20 Mar 1908 S. Sylvestre – 24 Feb 2004 Manchester, Hillsborough, NH) m. Thomas P McCartney(28 Mar 1904 Plymouth, Grafton, NH – 20 Aug 1993 idem) on 25 Jun 1935 in Plymouth and had two children:
- 1)Richard Thomas (17 Jul 1936 Plymouth, Grafton, NH – after 2013) m. Ann Boucher (~1939 NH — ). He was school principal from 1970 to 1990.
- 2)Robert F (~ 1938 Plymouth, Grafton, NH – ).
- John Joseph Norman (8 Jun 1910 S. Sylvestre – 7 Jun 1985 Wake Forest, Wake, NC) m. Mildred Morrison (31 Aug 1912 NH – 8 Jun 1993 Wake Forrest, Wake, NC) on 22 Sep 1935 in Plymouth, Grafton NH and had one child: Beverely Boyce (6 Sep 1936 Raleigh, Wake, NC – ) m. Robert Winslow on 31 Dec 1974 in Raleigh.
d-Thomas Joseph (18 Sep 1869 S. Elzéar – 13 Sep 1953 Chicago, Cook, Ill.) m. twice. First, he m. Annie Jane Coyle (Nov 1883 Berlin, Coos, NH – 10 Sep 1915 Gorham, Coos, NH) on 15 Dec 1907 in Berlin and had two children:
- Walter Earl (26 Dec 1909 Lincoln, Grafton, NH – 18 May 1980 Woodsville, Grafton NH);
- Barbara Ann (5 Jun 1911 Plymouth, Grafton, NH – 17 Feb 2007 Duxbury, Plymouth, Mass.), a philanthropist who established a scholarship in Education. She m. Howard Edward Oakes on 23 May 1938 in Plymouth and had one child: Deborah Ann Oakes (22 Jun 1941 Mass. – ).
Second, he m. Lulu Irene Hargreaves (22 Feb 1891 Nashua, Hillsborough, NH – 14 May 1975 Plymouth, Grafton NH) on 17 Jun 1912 in Nashua, Hillsborough, NH. They had two children:
- Henry Irving Boyce (19 May 1920 North Woodstock, Grafton, NH – 14 Mar 2008 Palm Bay, Brevard, FL) m. Jean Mavis Phillips (30 Nov 1923 Port of Spain, Trinidad, British West Indies – after 2013) and had two children:
- 1) Linda Kathryn (11 Nov 1947 Plymouth, Grafton, NH – ) m. Peter Allan Major (18 Oct 1943 Erie, Erie, Penn. – ) on 6 Sep 1969 in Plymouth, Grafton, NH and had two children: a) Kevin Joseph (8 Mar 1970 Erie, Erie, Penn. – ) m. Terra Ornelas (18 Mar 1970 Erie, Erie, Penn. – ) and had one child: Ciara Major ( 2007 Phoenix, Maricopa, AZ – ); b) Karen Jean Major (1 Feb 1971 Erie, Erie, Penn. – ) m. Robert Klimczyk (12 Oct 1964 – ) on 1 Nov 2003 in Valparaiso, Porter, Ind., and had two children: Grace (16 Apr 2005 Valparaiso, Porter, Ind. – ) and Charlotte Julia (27 Jun 2007 idem – ).
- 2)Charles Thomas (7 Nov 1949 Plymouth, Grafton, NH – ) m. Linda Recos (21 Mar 1950 Plymouth, Grafton, NH – ) in Nov 1969 in idem and had two children: Charles Thomas Jr (9 Jul 1970 idem – ) and Jennifer Ann (19 Jan 1973 – ).
- Patricia Arlene (12 Oct 1927 Plymouth, Grafton – 10 Apr 2007 Smith Center, Smith, Kansas) m. Elmore Keith (Keith) Cochran (18 Dec 1928 Smith Center, Smith, Kansas – 2 Nov 2012 Plymouth, Grafton, NH) on 5 Jul 1952 in Cook Co. Ill., and had three children:
- 1)Thomas Joseph (30 Aug 1953 Great Lakes, Lake, Ill. – ) m. Healy (~1956 Rumney, Grafton, NH – ) and had one child: Joseph (~1980 Rumney, Grafton, NH – );
- 2)Nancy Jean (8 Oct 1954 Great Lakes, Lake, Ill. – ) m. unknown and had one child: David Travis (24 Dec 1975 Plymouth, Grafton, NH – );
- 3)Joseph (7 Nov 1957 Plymouth, Grafton, NH – );
- 4)Caleb (22 Apr 1965 Great Lakes, Lake, Ill. – )
e- Michael (7 Dec 1876 S. Sylvestre, Lotbinière – ).
f- William Francis (7 Dec 1876 S. Sylvestre – ~1950 Portland, Cumberland, Maine). Thomas Sullivan was godfather. William Francis m. Grace M Trask (Aug 1873 Deering, Cumberland — ~1950 Portland, Cumberland) on 15 Sep 1906 in Portland, Cumberland. They had one child: Arnold Francis (21 Apr 1909 Portland, Cumberland, Maine – ).
g- Edward Francis (31 Jul 1880 S. Sylvestre – 15 May 1941 Plymouth, Grafton, NH) was born a few minutes before his twin Michael Peter. He resided in Lisbon, Grafton, NH in 1930.
h- Michael Peter (31 Jul 1880 S. Sylvestre – 5 Jun 1952 Whitefield, Coos, NH), known as ‘Red’ Mike. He was for many years the chief engineer on the Cog Railway on Mount Washington in Bretton Woods, NH, and he worked for that railway for at least 42 years. He was a fireman at the Cog Railway in 1910 when he experienced the shift from wood to soft dusty coal to fuel the engine. He started running engines in the summer of 1913 and was involved with the repair of Jacob’s Ladder after the 1938 hurricane. During the winters, ‘Red’ Mike worked on the mainlines: at first on the Grand Trunk out of Island Pond, Essex, northern VT, and from 1929 as a machinist for the Boston & Maine Railroad, out of Keene, Cheschire, southern NH. Boston & Maine was the parent company of the Mount Washington Railway. During the summers, ‘Red’ Mike and his family resided in one of the cottages available at the base station of the Cog Railroad. The famiy owned a Pontiac in 1938. On 5 jun 1952 ‘Red’ Mike succumbed from severe injuries he received a week earlier, the result of a tragic accident on the Cog Railway. He was pinned between the maintenance car (Flat Car) and his #6 Engine. ‘Red’ Mike Boyce’s right leg was severed at the hip. Many of these details come from Operating Details & the Mechanism of the Steam Locomotive of the Mt. Washington Cog Railway, by Norman and Tim Lewis. ‘Red’ Mike m. Ida Gibbons (22 Dec 1899 S. Mary’s/S. Vincent’s Bay, Avalon peninsula, Newfoundland – 3 Oct 1991 Keene, Cheshire, NH) on 19 Jan 1921 in Cambridge, Middlesex, Mass. She was working at the Summit House on the top of Mount Washington when they first met. From 1700 to 1850, the majority of the population of the Avalon peninsula of Newfoundland was Irish and Catholic. In the 1830s, more than half the population of Newfoundland and two-thirds of the population of S. John’s, its capital and largest city, were Irish and Catholic. The early immigrants to Newfoundland came from the counties to the south and east of Ireland, such as Wexford, Waterford, Tipperary. When the European codfish market collapsed about 1815, many Irish Newfoundlanders moved to Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and New England (The Untold Story: the Irish in Canada). ‘Red’ Mike and Ida had three children:
- Catherine (21 Nov 1921 Whitefield, Coos, NH – 23 Sep 2009 Keene, Cheshire, NH) became an operator in Keene for New England Telephone;
- Mary (15 Jul 1923 Island Pond, Essex, VT – 12 Aug 2007 Keene, Cheshire, NH);
- Clarence Michael (4 Jun 1925 Island Pond, Essex, VT – ) was a projectionist at Keen’s Scenic Theater in the early 1950s. The family lived in Keene, NH from 1929.
i- Francis (Frank) (4 Oct 1882 S. Sylvestre, Lotbinière – 9 Jan 1970 Chicopee, Hampden, Mass.) was servant in a Hotel in Carroll, Coos, NH in 1910. He was a bachelor living in Lincoln, Grafton, NH in 1920. He still lived in NH in 1951.
The lots of Sullivans, Dunns, Walshes and Hogans in S. Sylvestre. In 1876/79, John Sullivan had lot 6 on S. Peter range of S. Sylvestre. It extended from S. Paul Road to S. Pierre Road. Lawrence Dunn owned lot 523 on S. Paul range, six lots west of John Sullivan and five lots east of Michael Boyce. Andrew Dunn lived in range 11 of Leeds, four lots south of Broughton Road. Lawrence Dunn and Thomas Dunn owned lots located between that of Thomas Harny and the border of S. Sylvestre. John Walsh lived along Fermanagh North Road, the next road east being S. André Road. James Walsh lived on S. Pierre range. Michael Hogan had lot 569 on the south side of S. Paul Road, i.e. three lots east of the bend of the East Palmer in the Handkerchief. While following an affluent of the East Palmer, I walked until his farm without knowing. Michael Hogan also had lot 697 in Ste Catherine range.
Longevity of the children and grandchildren of BERNARD and Cecilia: 88 and 78 years. The eight children of BERNARD and Cecilia who lived longer than 40 years died at 88 years of age on average: 86 (John), 92 (Patrick), 84 (Mary), 77 (Michael), 97 (Thomas), 93 (Cecilia), 84 (James) and 88 (Peter). Their nineteen grandchildren known to have lived longer than 40 years died at 78 years on average (84 if one eliminates the three who died, perhaps accidentally, before 50). Eleven of these nineteen grandchildren died between the ages of 84 and 98.
Bernard’s farming operation in 1871 in S. André range of S. Elzéar. He had 80 arpents of land: 40 forest, 10 pasture and 30 for harvest. He had eleven animals: one horse, four cows, two swine and four sheep. He produced eight items: 100 minots potatoes, 50 oats, 20 buckwheat (all minots), 1500 haystacks, 200 pounds butter, 40 maple sugar, 10 wool (all pounds) and 11 yards textile. He killed or sold four swine and four sheep for butchery or export. He had two carriages and sleighs, four cars, wagons and sleds, and two ploughs. More context in Chapter Six
BERNARD’s farm in the Leeds East section of S. Pierre de Broughton. Bernard moved to lot 18b of 12th range of Leeds township between 13 Oct 1874 and 27 Jun 1875 because he was part of the S. Séverin manslaughter jury of Oct 1874 and because Peter (1875-1964) was born in S. Pierre de Broughton. Lot 18b is located between the East Palmer River (20) and the Palmer River, near their junction. It starts at 1000 feet of altitude and ends at 1500 feet. The house was built at 1100 feet. Bernard lived on this lot until his death in 1914. His bachelor children Peter and Thomas lived there until their death in 1964 and 1966. His two story frame house had a basement for food storage, five rooms on the ground floor, four rooms on the second floor, a porch as wide as the house and a one floor extension, ~thirteen feet deep by twenty feet wide, which served storage purposes (wood, tools, etc.) The extension was built or completed by JOHN Laughrea (1860-1946) in 1890: the initials “J L 1890″ are carved on its door. The house stayed in relatively good shape because my father Patrick (1920-1991) made essential preservative renovations in the early 1970s. By 2013 the extension, the porch and much of the clapboard sidings of the first floor were gone. Unbeknownst to us, renowned painter Jacques Fugère made a painting of Bernard’s house in the 1970s or 1980s. This painting is now in my living room.
67% of Bernard’s children and 100% of his Quebec grandchildren stayed in Quebec. Of his nine children who reached adult life, three moved to the USA in 1889 (average) at the age of 21 (average): Mary went to S. Paul, Minnesota, Michael to Lancaster, NH and James to Watertown, Mass. Of the six who stayed in Quebec, three married. The bachelors Patrick, Thomas and Peter lived and died on or next to Bernard’s farm in S. Pierre de Broughton. Of the three who married, John and Ellen moved to Thetford Mines at the ages of 64 and 30 and spent the rest of their lives there, while Cecilia lived and died in S. Pierre de Broughton. John’s children lived most of their adult lives in Thetford Mines (Lucille and Patrick) and Longueuil (Gérard). Ellen’s children lived most of their lives in Thetford Mines (Owen and Wilfrid McCaffrey) and Montreal (Margaret McCaffrey). The seven children of Cecilia are thought to have lived most of their lives in S. Pierre de Broughton but this remains to be verified for two of them.
From “Leeds and Thetford” to Leeds, Leeds East and S. Pierre de Broughton: a tale of moving municipal borders. The municipalities of “Leeds and Thetford Township” and “Broughton township” were created in 1855. “Leeds and Thetford Township” was divided in 1874 into two municipalities, “Leeds township” and “Thetford township”. Leeds township was further divided in 1881 into two municipalities, “Leeds” and “Leeds East”. Leeds East included ranges 12 to 16 of Leeds township plus parts of ranges 1 to 4 of Thetford township. Broughton township was divided in 1877 into two municipalities, East Broughton and West Broughton. Leeds East and West Broughton merged in 1973 to form one municipality named S. Pierre de Broughton. For religious purposes, Leeds East had been part of the parish of S. Pierre de Broughton since its foundation in 1856. The village of S. Pierre de Broughton is basically at the border of Broughton and Leeds townships, and slightly north of the meeting point of Leeds, Broughton and Thetford townships. The townships of Thetford and Leeds were established in 1801 and 1802. The number of births in S. Pierre de Broughton peaked at over 140 per year in 1870 and it was over 100 every year between 1864 and 1872. In the 1990s the number of births had gone down to ten per year, a 10-fold reduction compared to the time Bernard moved to S. Pierre de Broughton.
Laughrea Road leads to Harvey Hill copper mine. “Route des Laughrea” starts at the 15th range Road of Leeds East, crosses the 14th range Road, enters BERNARD’s lot twenty meters from the entrance path to his house, exits his lot upon reaching the 12th range Road and ends at the East Palmer River. From the East Palmer River towards the northwest, Route des Laughrea becomes “de la Mine” (now “des Erablières”) until Craig’s Road (Route 269), and “de Ste Agathe” from Craig’s Road to S. Agathe. The whole road, originally built to link S. Agathe to Harvey Hill mine at the 15th range, was first called “chemin des Mines” and next, until the 1950s, “rang des Irlandais”. This road was the first area of S. Agathe to be developed. It was probably built in the 1820s or 1830s. The celtic cross of S. Agathe is located along the S. Agathe section of the road.
Harvey Hill copper mine and the “rang des Irlandais”. Harvey Hill copper mine operated in the 15th range of Leeds from 1856 to 1903 and 1973 to 1976. It was the first underground copper mine in Quebec, one of the earliest mines in the Chaudière-Appalaches region, and its first copper mine. Copper was discovered in the 15th range in 1850. The samples sent for analysis in London in 1853 contained 39% copper. From 1858 to 1866 the copper ore was sent to England from the Quebec City harbour. It most probably transited through Laughrea Road ( http://www.mrn.gouv.qc.ca/chaudiere-appalaches/mines/mines-activite-exploitees.jsp ).
The Web site of S. Agathe de Lotbinière gives these interesting details: “C’est à partir du chemin Craig que fut construit le premier chemin qui se dirigeait vers le territoire qui devait former plus tard, la paroisse de Ste-Agathe. Ce chemin a longtemps été nommé Harvey Hill ou encore chemin des Mines parce qu’il partait de la mine de Harvey Hill, située au sud du Craig et traversait ce dernier pour se diriger vers Ste-Agathe. Ce chemin avait été ouvert aux prospecteurs pour leur permettre de trouver des gisements de cuivre ou d’autres métaux. On peut lire dans Mines et Canada qu’il y eut dans ces années beaucoup de prospections dans les environs dans le but de trouver des gisements importants. Le tout a été abandonné et la mine Harvey Hill fut fermée définitivement en 1899. Suite à la construction de ce chemin, quelques colons en ont profité pour s’établir et s’adonner à l’agriculture. Ce sont surtout des Irlandais qui se sont regroupés le long de ce chemin. Encore dans les années 1950, plusieurs personnes l’appelaient le rang des Irlandais. Un autre indice qui nous prouve que c’est la partie de la paroisse qui s’est développée la première, c’est que l’on a établi une commission scolaire et on l’a nommée commission scolaire no 1 ou commission scolaire des Irlandais. Elle comprenait deux écoles, la première étant construite à l’intersection du rang St-Michel et du chemin des Mines. L’autre école était située à environ deux milles plus au nord, sur le même chemin.”
g) Ann Laughrea-Gould (23 Jan 1839 S. Elzéar, Beauce, but baptized in S. Sylvestre – 3 May 1925 West Rutland, Rutland VT, of cerebral embolism). Her godparents were John Boyce and Catherine Boyce. She was not listed with PATRICK in 1861. She is most likely the Ann living in Owen’s house at that time. Ann married James Gould (23 Aug 1840 Québec City [but the family was normally living in S. Sylvestre] — 7 Jun 1906 West Rutland VT) on 26 Jul 1870 in S. Sylvestre. Their witnesses were Owen Loughrea (Loughery) and Damase Pomerleau. They had 6 children and at least 6 grandchildren and 7 great-grandchildren. They married ten months before James’ mother Margaret Mitchell died in Jan 1871. In the 1871 census of S. Sylvestre, James and his wife Ann Laughrey lived on Marguerite range in the same house as Margaret Mitchell and James’ brother Francis, who lost his wife in 1868. This suggests that James’ farm was in fact that of his mother Margaret, and that he inherited it a few months later when she died. As will be suggested by the places of baptisms of James Gould’s siblings, the farm of Margaret and James was in the section of S. Marguerite range that became part of S. Séverin in 1872, and very likely near the extreme south of this section. This located their farm quite far from the S. Sylvestre church, explaining the baptisms in S. Marie or S. Elzéar of several siblings of James Gould. Catherine Laughry’s farm was in a similar situation.
James Gould sold his farm on 14 Aug 1873 or 21 Dec 1874. The family apparently moved to East Broughton. (Soon after, BERNARD moved from S. Elzéar to Leeds East.) In 1880, James and Ann moved to the USA and Ann resided in Rutland county, VT at least from 1900 to her death in 1925. She lived in West Rutland, Rutland in 1900, Tinmouth, Rutland in 1910 and Rutland, Rutland in 1920. Third largest city in Vermont, Rutland it is known since 1851 for its marble quarries. It grew tremendously during the 1850s, 1860s and 1870s, and its population doubled between 1880 and 1920. After the death of her husband in 1906, Ann lived with her daughter Anne Gould-Kelley (1873) in 1910 and with her son Peter H. (1876) in 1920 and 1925. It is reported that two of her sons (or grandsons?) fought in World War I and have their names recognized on a stone statue in the middle of Rutland (located at the town offices).
Ann’s farming operation in 1871 in S. Marguerite range of S. Sylvestre. She had 90 arpents of land: 45 forest, 17 pasture and 28 for harvest. She had nineteen animals: two horses, five cows, two swine and eleven sheep. She produced eight items: 150 minots potatoes, 50 oats, 40 barley (all minots), 200 haystacks, 500 pounds butter, 130 maple sugar, 23 wool (all pounds) and 16 yards textile. She killed or sold three cattle, one swine and nine sheep for butchery or export. She had one carriage or sleigh, two cars, wagons and sleds, and two ploughs. More context in Chapter Six.
Séverin church connection. James Gould donated land to allow building of the church of S. Séverin, whose construction was decided on 3 Feb 1873 under the leadership of James Loughery and seven others. James Gould, who had married Ann Laughrey ten months before his mother Margaret Mitchell died, presumably inherited his mother’s farm on S. Marguerite range in 1871 and donated part of another lot (purchased by him or inherited from his mother) to allow erection of the S. Séverin church.
The Gould connection. James Gould is son of William Gould (1800 Scotland according to the answer James gave in the 1900 census – 26 Oct 1858 Leeds Protestant cemetery) and Margaret Mitchell (~1809 Ireland – 1 Jun 1871 S. Sylvestre). William and Margaret (21) m. on 4 Oct 1833 in Leeds Presbyterian church and had six children. The five siblings of James Gould were all born in S. Sylvestre between 1836 and 1852, suggesting that James was born in Quebec City for very circumstantial reasons, such as a punctual visit there. The five siblings of James Gould are:
- Anne (13 Aug 1836 — ) was baptized in Leeds Anglican church on 18 Aug 1836 and rebaptized in S. Sylvestre Catholic church on 28 Jul 1854.
- Francis (4 Sept 1836 — ) m. Ann Kinavan (~1844 S. Pierre de Broughton — 26 Feb 1868 idem) on 30 Apr 1867 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had son William J. Gould (20 Feb 1868 S. Pierre de Broughton — ). The death of Ann from childbirth explains the presence of Francis and William J. in the house of James Gould, Ann Laughrey and Margaret Mitchell in 1871. Ann Kinavan is daughter of James Kinavan (~1804 Ireland — 12 May 1879 Coaticook, QC) and Bridget Davine (~1807 Ireland — ~1890 Coaticook).
- William (~1842, may have been baptized in Leeds — ).
- Mary (24 Oct 1844 S. Sylvestre, but baptized in S. Marie — 27 Aug 1875 S. Séverin, Beauce). The baptism in S. Marie is not surprising because there was no chapel or church in S. Elzéar before 1845 and no resident priest before spring 1846. Mary married Michael Boyce(1832 Ireland – 1927 S. Sylvestre), son of Patrick, on 29 Jan 1862 in S. Sylvestre. Michael is thus nephew of Bridget Loughrey, as his three other cousins named Michael Boyce, and also brother-in-law of Ann Laughrey. Michael Boyce (1832-1927) had seven children (Chapter Eleven).
- John (20 Jan 1848 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar — ).
- Peter (10 Jul 1852 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar — ). Baptism in S. Elzéar suggests that their farm was closer to the S. Elzéar church than to the S. Sylvestre church.
A William Gould was born in Limerick, Ireland on 29 Jun 1796 (Church of Ireland). He was the son of Stephen Gould and Mary. Another William Gould was born in Mar 1809 in Derry, Ireland. He was the son of Alexander Gould.
The 6 children of Ann Laughrey and James Gould, and 13 descendants. Ann had six children between 1871 and 1877, and at least 6 grandchildren and 7 great-grandchildren. All six children reached adult life. They moved to or were born in Rutland VT. William James, Anne, Michael, Peter Henry, and Joseph Patrick married and had 1, 3, 0?, 0, and 2 children, respectively. Mary Ann was bachelor. The surnames of Ann’s grandchildren are: Gould, Kelley (3 each). The surnames of her great-grandchildren are: Geerholt (4), Underwood (3).
- Mary Ann Gould(7 Jun 1871 S. Sylvestre – 30 Dec 1942 Brattleboro, Windham, VT) Her godparents were James Loughery and Mary Gallagher. She lived with her parents in West Rutland in 1900. In 1910 she was a patient in the Brattleboro retreat for the insane, in southern Vermont, and stayed there until her death. She had a 6th grade education and remained bachelor.
- William James Gould(5 Jul 1872 S. Frédéric, Beauce – after 1925). Godparents were John Gould, perhaps his uncle John (1848- ), and Catherine Gould. Ann Laughrey and James Gould lived near the meeting point of S. Séverin, S. Frédéric and East Broughton. S. Frédéric, located seven km southeast of S. Séverin, was canonically erected in 1851. Its vast territory included land that was later incorporated into S. Séverin, East Broughton, S. Jules and Tring Junction. William m. Anna (possibly Gould) (1878- ) in 1896. They lived in Clyde, S. Clair, Michig. in 1900 and Chicago Ill. in 1925. They had one child: William R. Gould (1897- ).
- Anne Gould (10 Sep 1873 S. Séverin – ~1955 Wallingford, Rutland, VT) m. Almer Alonzo Kelley (25 Oct 1874 South Wallingford, Rutland – 26 Feb 1942 idem) on 3 Dec 1895 in Pawlett, Rutland. They lived in West Rutland in 1900, Tinmouth, Rutland in 1910 and Wallingford for the rest of their lives. Alonzo and Anne respectively had a 6th and a 7th grade education. In 1920 and 1930 Alonzo was a farmer owning a dairy farm. In 1940 he earned $450 for 50 weeks of work as a laborer. Anne and Alonzo had three children:
a- Florence Mary Kelley (24 Feb 1901 South Wallingford, Rutland, VT – 20 Feb 1983 Great Barrington, Berkshire, Mass.). Godparents were James Boyce and Susan Boyce. She m. Francis (Frank) Ernest Geerholt (13 Nov 1899 Stephentown, Rensselaer, NY – Dec 1965 Pittsfield, Berkshire, Mass.) on 12 Feb 1923 in Wallingford. Stephentown and Pittsfield are fifteen km from each other. Florence was a typist with a 2nd year college education. Frank was a truck driver with an 8th grade education. He earned $225 for 26 weeks of work in 1940. They had four children:
- Paul Francis (25 Sep 1924 Pittsfield, Berkshire, Mass. — 13 Oct 2008 idem).
- Charlotte Nina(13 Sep 1928 Pittsfield, Berkshire, Mass. – 30 Oct 2010 idem)
- Melvin Joseph(~1928 Pittsfield, Mass — ).
- Mary Theresa (~1932 Pittsfield, Mass. — ).
b- Hazel Irene Kelley (10 Jan 1906 South Wallingford, Rutland, VT – 8 Jun 1949 Rutland hospital) most likely had no children. In 1940 she was single and lived in the house of her sister Florence.
c- Helen Agnes Kelley (10 Jan 1906 South Wallingford, Rutland, VT – 29 Jan 1942 Rutland, Rutland VT) m. Frank Underwood (~1905 Wallingford, Rutland, VT – ) on 19 Apr 1925 in Wallingford, and had three children:
- Richard (6 Sep 1926 South Wallingford – 12 Feb 1929 Springfield, Windsor, VT).
- Irene Eleanor(13 Jun 1927 South Wallingford – 18 Nov 1992 Springfield, Windsor, VT) m. William T. Congdon (~1925 Wallingford, Rutland – ) on 14 Jul 1945 in Wallingford.
- Carroll Joseph (6 Nov 1933 South Wallingford, Rutland, VT – 31 May 2003 North Springfield, Windsor, VT).
4. Michael Gould(4 Apr 1875 East Broughton – 25 Jun 1936 Proctor, Rutland VT). Starting in 1871, there was a resident priest in East Broughton. Either Ann and James preferred East Broughton for baptisms after 1873 or they had moved to East Broughton by then. Michael lived with his parents in West Rutland VT in 1900, was a divorced boarder in West Rutland in 1920 and a single boarder in Proctor, Rutland, VT in 1930. Proctor, West Rutland, Wallingford, Tinmouth, South Wallingford and Pawlett are all located between Route 7 and New York State, and along a 35 km line in the north to south direction. Proctor andWest Rutland are six km northwest and seven km west of Rutland. Wallingford is ten km south of Rutland. Tinmouth, South Wallingford and Pawlett are six km west, seven km south and twenty-two km southwest of Wallingford.
- Peter Henry Gould(26 Jul 1876 East Broughton – 5 Mar 1932 Rutland, Rutland) m. Annie E. Eustace (~1882 Rutland, Rutland – ) on 20 Apr 1903 in West Rutland, Rutland and lived in Rutland, Rutland thereafter. They had no children. In 1930 he was a stone setter in a marble monument shop, probably not that of his brother Joseph Patrick since Joseph Patrick lived in Providence R.I. at that time. In 1920 and 1925 widowed Ann Laughrey lived with them in Rutland, Rutland, VT.
- Joseph Patrick Gould (26 Nov 1877 East Broughton – 11 Jan 1931 East Providence, Providence, R.I.). Godparents were Bernard Laughrea and Margaret Connolly. He arrived in West Rutland in 1880 and m. Mary Ellen Byrnes (Barnes) on 17 Sept 1907 in Lincoln, Providence Co., R.I. They had two children: Agnes R. (1909 Rhode Island — ) and Mary E. (25 Dec 1913 Rhode Island – ). He resided in Providence Co. at least from 1907 to his death. In 1910 and 1920 the family lived in the house of Joseph Patrick’s parents-in-law Joseph H. Byrnes (1862- before 1930) and Mary A. Byrnes (1853- after 1930). In 1930 Joseph Patrick owned a monument shop and lived in a house valued at $8000 in East Providence, Providence Co. Mary A. Byrnes then lived with them.
h) Michael Loughrey(11 Feb 1841 S. Elzéar but baptized in S. Sylvestre – 17 Feb 1841 S. Elzéar). His godparents were Lawrence McElroy and Susan McElroy.
i) Patrick Loughrey(25 Sep 1843 S. Elzéar but baptized in S. Marie where he was registered as Patrick Early – 24 Nov 1895 from accidental drowning; buried in S. Matthew cemetery Whitefield NH) was the last child of Mary Patton (~1802-1854). His godparents were John (Jack) Boyce and his wife Susan Duffy. John Boyce signed but his signature looked like Jo… Coyce, as if he had learned it by heart. In 1871, Owen and Patrick Loughery had separate houses on the same lot of Des-Chutes range in S. Sylvestre. This lot became part of S. Patrice in 1872. See “Owen’s farming operation from 1861 to 1871″ and Chapter Six for mode details. Note that Annie Boyce (1843), Mary Boyce (1844) and Michael Boyce (1846) were also baptized in S. Marie. Recall that there was no chapel or church in S. Elzéar before 1845 and no resident priest there before spring 1846.
j) Margaret Loughrey-Overbeck(28 Nov 1858 S. Sylvestre but baptized in S. Elzéar – 16 Dec 1947 Bronx, New York City, NY) was born less than ten months after PATRICK married Mary McGown. Her godparents were William Crawford and Rosa Quinn. William is a neighbor of PATRICK on Killarney Road. Rosa Quinn is probably Williams’s wife. The name Quinn is most commonly found in Tyrone. Margaret lived in S. Séverin in 1891 but m. Peter Francis (Frank P.) Overbook (8 Sep 1864 Prince Edward Island, Canada – before 1930) on 28 Jun 1892 in Whitefield, Coos NH and spent at least some time in Whitefield in 1889. Frank P. is the son of Charles S. Overbeck and Bridget Broderick. Margaret resided in Berlin NH from 1894 to 1923 and in Bronx NY, with her son-in-law Arthur W. Yockel, in 1930 and 1940. Cecilia Laughrea (1870-1963) visited “aunt Maggie” in Lancaster NH in 1945. Margaret (1858-1947) is indeed the aunt of Cecilia and Lancaster is next to Whitefield, but Cecilia most likely visited “Maggie” Morin-Laughrea (1875-1948), the recently bereaved wife of Cecilia’s brother Michael Laughrea (1866-1944). “Maggie” Morin-Laughrea resided in Lancaster at least from her marriage in 1893 to her death in 1948. “Maggie” Morin-Laughrea is one of three Margaret Laughreas simultaneously living in the Lancaster-Whitefield-Berlin area. The third is Margaret (1899-1982) daughter of Peter Laughery and niece of Margaret (1858-1947). Margaret Loughrey (1858) had an 8th grade education and three children. They were born in Coos NH and reached adult life. Sherman married but we don’t know if he had children. Charles James and Helen were bachelors:
- Charles JamesOverbeck (27 Apr 1893 Whitefield, Coos, NH — after 1942) was single in 1930 and 1940. He resided in many different places: Cartright, Manitoba in 1925, Togus, Kennebec, Maine in 1929, Richardson, Oxford, Maine in 1930, Berlin, NH in 1935, Chelsea, Kennebec, Maine, in 1940, and Wor, Mass. in 1942. He had a 6th grade education and worked for the Veterans’ administration in 1940.
- Sherman JOverbeck (12 Dec 1894 Berlin, Coos, NH — 7 Apr 1931 Manhattan, New York City, NY) m. Minnie Byrnes (~1902- ) on 29 Nov 1919 in NH.
- Mary Alice HelenOverbeck (3 Apr 1896 Berlin, Coos, NH — Feb 1979 Long Island City, Queens, New York City, NY) m. Arthur William Yokel (25 Oct 1897 New York City, NY — 1954 idem) around 1924, resided in Bronx, New York City, from 1925 to 1940, and had no children. Thereafter Helen moved to Long Island. Arthur had an 8th grade eduction and was a construction mechanic in 1930 and 1940, earning $5000 in 1940 for 52 weeks of work at 40h/week. Margaret Loughrey lived with them in 1930 and 1940. According to the 1930 census Arthur’s father was born in Germany and his mother was born in Iireland, while Helen’s father was born in Belgium.
k) Peter Laughery (16 Feb 1861 S. Sylvestre – 18 Aug 1941 Whitfield NH, buried on 20 Aug in S. Matthew cemetery) lived in S. Séverin in 1881, arrived in the USA between 1882 and 1888 and m. Catherine Gormley (30 Jul 1863 S. Sylvestre — 20 Dec 1950 Whitefield, Coos, NH) in 1887 or 1888. Catherine emigrated in 1885 and their first child was born in Aug 1889 in Whitefield. They lived in Whitefield at least from 1889 to 1941 and on Brown street, Whitefield, at least from 1910 until Peter’s death. Peter was a boarding house keeper in 1899, a section hand for Boston and Maine Railroad in 1920 and a trackman for the same company in 1930. He lived in a house valued at $1200 in 1930 and $1750 in 1940. His daughter Margaret (1899) and Catherine’s sister Mary Anne (1859) lived with them in 1940. Peter did not go to school. In 1871, none of the children of PATRICK, James, Catherine and any other resident of Killarney Road was going to school. A school became available in their area only in the late 1870s, perhaps explaining BERNARD’s move to Leeds East (there was a school at Harvey Hill Copper Mine starting in the early 1860s) and explaining why the three 15-year-old children of PATRICK, James and Catherine were at school in 1881 together with their six-, eight- and nine-year-old brothers and sisters. One has to presume that Margaret Loughrey’s “8th grade education” was obtained as an adult, unless she embellished reality in the census.
The Gormley and McCaffrey connections. In Ireland, Gormley is a common name in north-west Ulster and particularly Donegal, while McCaffrey is a branch of the MacGuires of Fermanagh. McCaffrey is found mainly in Fermanagh and Tyrone. The parents of Catherine are James Gormley (~1822 Ireland —19 Oct 1905 Whitefield, Coos, NH) and Mary McCaffrey (~1825 Ireland — between 1882 and 1904). They m. on 1 Feb 1848 in S. Sylvestre and resided in S. Patrice in 1881. The grandparents of Catherine Gormley are:
- Patrick Gormley(~1798 Ireland — 24 Apr 1885 S. Patrice de Beaurivage) and Mary McGuire (~1803 Ireland — 22 Apr 1870 S. Sylvestre).
- Edward McCaffrey (~1787 Ireland — 8 Aug 1847 S. Sylvestre, Lotbinière) and Sarah Patton (~ 1799 Ireland — 17 Jan 1874 S. Patrice de Beaurivage).
The six uncles and aunts of Catherine are, on the Gormley side:
- Thomas Gormley(~1828 Ireland — 12 Mar 1888 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Sarah McCaffrey (23 Dec 1823 Ireland — 12 Oct 1908 S. Pierre de Broughton) on 30 Oct 1854 in S. Sylvestre and resided in S. Patrice in 1881. Sarah is the daughter of Bartholomew McCaffrey (~1788 Ireland — 9 Aug 1867 S. Sylvestre) and Eleanor “Nellie” Doonan (~1788 Fermanagh, Ireland — 3 Jul 1860 S. Sylvestre). It is not known if Edward McCaffrey (~1787) and Bartholomew McCaffrey (~1788) are related. Thomas and Sarah had seven children who lived more than three weeks: Sarah (1852-1938), James (10 Jun 1857 Lotbinière — 12 Aug 1926 S. Pierre de Broughton), Ellen Mary (1859-1936), Mary Ann (1860-1943), Thomas B. (1864-1929), Owen J. (1866-1938) and Edward (1869-1907). Sarah and James remained in Quebec. Mary Ann moved to Vermont. Ellen Mary, Thomas, Owen and Edward moved to New Hampshire.
- Patrick (Oct 1831 S. Sylvestre, baptized on 21 Mar 1832 — 1903 Saint Croix Co., Wisc.) moved to Wisconsin with his four children and had three more children there. The different birthplaces of Thomas and Patrick indicate that Patrick Gormley (~1798) immigrated between 1829 and 1831.
- Catherine (22 Jan 1833 S. Sylvestre — after 1861).
- Edward (1835- after 1861).
- Mary (1838- after 1861).
- Elizabeth (1839- after 1861).
Catherine had three siblings who lived more than 22 years:
- Peter J. Gormley (18 Feb 1857 S. Sylvestre — 18 May 1923 Whitefield, Coos, NH) m. Susan Mullavey (20 Feb 1857 S. Sylvestre — 7 Jun 1901 Whitefield, NH). Susan is daughter of James Mullavey (~1813 Ireland — ) and Mary Lawn (~1928 Ireland — ).
- Mary Anne Gormley (3 Feb 1859 S. Sylvestre — 27 Oct 1951 Whitefield, NH) lived in the house of Peter Laughery in 1900, 1920 and 1940 but not 1910. She worked as a stitcher in 1920.
- Edward Gormley (28 July 1861 S. Sylvestre — 8 Dec 1934 Fabyan, NH).
Of eighteen grandchildren of Patrick Gormley and Mary McGuire that we retraced [four children of James (~1822), seven of Thomas (~1828) and seven of Patrick (1831)], sixteen emigrated to the USA and only two, both children of Thomas (~1828) and cousins of Catherine Gormley, stayed in Quebec. As already mentioned, they are Sarah (1852) and James (1857) Gormley. James Gormley (1857) is the cousin of: 1) Catherine Gormley wife of Peter Laughery; 2) Bartholomew McCaffrey (1868-1932) husband of Ellen Laughrea; 3) Sarah McCaffrey (1862-1937) mother-in-law of Helen Margaret Boyce, Helen Margaret being granddaughter of Bridget Loughrey. Ellen, Peter and Bridget are my grandaunt, great-granduncle and great-grandaunt. James is also the great-grandfather of my Classical College classmate Walter Gormley.
Catherine’s cousin James Gormley (1857) m. Mary Cecilia Tuite (9 Jan 1869 Lotbinière — 6 Nov 1900 S. Pierre de Broughton) on 25 Nov 1889 in S. Pierre de Broughton. They had five children between 1890 and 1899. Everyone stayed in Quebec. Two retain our attention: 1) Thomas John Gormley (10 Jun 1892 S. Pierre de Broughton — 13 Oct 1952 Laval Hospital, Québec City; buried in S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Emma Ina Custeau (19 Sep 1898 S. Pierre de Broughton — Oct 1999 Wainwright Alberta), niece of Cecilia Laughrea (1870-1963), and had four children (section d of Chapter Eleven). 2) Michael Owen Gormley (14 Feb 1897 S. Pierre de Broughton — 7 Apr 1963 Thetford Mines) m. Marie-Anne Lettre, had twelve children and is the grandfather of Walter Gormley.
The McCaffrey link uniting Ellen Laughrea, Bridget Loughrey and James Gormley will be detailed in Chapter Eight under “The McCaffrey connection“. Suffice it to say that Bartholomew McCaffrey (~1788) is the grandfather of James Gormley (1857), Sarah McCaffrey (1862-1937) and Bartholomew McCaffrey (1868-1932). Overall, James Gormley (1857) is: 1+2) cousin by alliance of Peter Laughery and Ellen Laughrea (i.e. Peter and Helen m. cousins of James); 3) father-in-law of the niece of Cecilia Laughrea; 4) cousin of the mother-in-law of the granddaughter of Bridget Loughrey. In the late 1870s, James Gormley owned a lot on Fermanagh North Road, near the Beaurivage River, and another in S. John range of S. Patrice. Thomas Gormley owned a lot in S. John range of S. Patrice. They are probably the father-in-law and uncle-in-law of Peter Laughery.
Peter Laughery and Catherine Gormley had six children, all born in Coos NH and most born in Whitefield, but they have no known progeny. At least four children lived less than 36 years, only one of them having married. The fifth, a bachelor, lived more than 35 years. The sixth could not be traced after the age of 26, when he was registered for World War One. Edith, William, Allan and Lawrence died at the respective ages of 35, 32, 22 and 16. At least two of them were victims of tuberculosis. The six children are:
- Edith Laughery(Aug 1889 Whitefield — 30 Oct 1924 idem). Edith Fournier and Amédé Fournier, aged 30 and 28, lived in Peter Laughery’s house in 1920, Edith being described as his daughter. Thus Edith was married to Amédé Fournier. But she died four years later at age 35. If she had no children between 1920 and 1924, Peter Laughery had nograndchildren unless Francis (Frank) or William had progeny. In 1920 two extended family members lived in Peter Laughery’s house: son-in-law Amédée and sister-in-law Anne.
- Francis (Frank) Laughery(10 Mar 1891 Jefferson, Coos, NH — after 1917) was in Whitefield with his parents in 1900 and 1910 but in Windham VT in 1917 according to World War I registration cards.
- William Laughery(1893 Whitefield, NH – 29 Mar 1925 idem, of tuberculosis) was not at home in 1920.
- Allen (Allan) J. or C. Laughery(31 Jul 1898 Whitefield – 20 Mar 1921 idem, of pulmonary tuberculosis).
- Annie Marguerite “Margaret” Laughery(15 Sep 1899 Whitefield – Jul 1982 S. Matthew cemetery, Whitefield) lived in Peter’s house as a bachelor until 1940 and continued to live there, with her mother, after 1941. She was a bookkeeper in a furniture store in 1930 and a postmaster earning $2400 per year in 1940. Billy Laughrea (1928-2009) met a Margaret Laughrea in Whitefield who knew her ancestors came from S. Sylvestre, but nothing more about them. It must be her that he met. Margaret had a 4th year high school education.
- Lawrence C. Laughery(1905 Whitefield – 18 Aug 1921 idem, of meningitis and anemia).
Consistent emigration patterns emerge from on our data on Loughrey, Boyce, Gormley and McCaffrey patriarchs. We have already seen that 70% of the 76 grandchildren of PATRICK (1800 Tyrone —1886 S. Séverin) emigrated or were born in the USA (Chapter Four), that 100% of the nine children of Michael Boyce (1835-1918) and Mary Sullivan emigrated, and that 90% of eighteen grandchildren of Patrick Gormley (~1798-1885) emigrated (this chapter). We will see in Chapter Eight that 75% of the twelve children of Owen McCaffrey (1822 Tyrone — 1913 South Portland, Maine) left Quebec, seven emigrating to the USA, one moving to Ontario and the other to Saskatchewan. In Chapter Eleven, we will see that 68% of the grandchildren of the patriarchs Patrick (1795), John (Jack) (1799), William (~1805), Henry (1809) and Catherine (1818) Boyce emigrated or were born in the USA.
l) Helen (Ellen) Loughrey-Monaghan(25 Mar 1863 S. Sylvestre — 25 Apr 1956 Calvary Cemetery, Duluth, S. Louis Co. MN). Her godparents were Thomas Patton (a cousin or uncle) and Cecilia Sullivan. She m. James Monaghan (Monahan) (Jan 1858 S. Sylvestre — 9 Jun 1930 Duluth, S. Louis, MN) on 25 Oct 1887 in S. Séverin. Her witnesses were Peter Laughery and François Couture. She arrived in Minnesota in 1887 and resided in Duluth MN at least from 1900 to 1956. Minnesota became a state in 1857. Ellen had an 8th grade education while James Monaghan did not go to school. But Ellen was not attending school in 1871 and 1881 even though she was then at home in S. Séverin. Did she attend school from 1872 to 1880? It would be nice to know when schools opened around Killarney Road of S. Séverin. I doubt that schools opened before the late 1870s. In the 1871 and 1881 censuses, none of the children of Bernard were reported attending school even though they were all at home at the time of the censuses.
James Monaghan owned a grocery store in Duluth in 1920 and a $5000 house in 1930. He is the son of Patrick Monaghan (?-1868) and Elizabeth McKervey (McGregy). In 1876/79, Patrick Monaghan and heirs Monaghan owned the two northernmost S. Séverin lots of Ste Marguerite range, at the border with S. Sylvestre. Because Patrick Monaghan died in 1868, it is most likely that James Monaghan lived his childhood and adolescence on one of these two lots, making him the neighbor of Mary Laughery and Lewis Conn until 1870. These Monaghan lots abutted Fermanagh range on the east and touched the corner of Monaghan range, putting them four lot widths away from PATRICK Loughry. These “Patrick Monaghan and heirs Monaghan” farms were entirely located on the west side of the Beaurivage River. They started at 1300 feet in altitude on the eastern slope of Mount Ste Marguerite and ended up at 2000 feet in altitude, near the top of Mount Ste Marguerite. Ste Catherine range is immediately west of Ste Marguerite range and in S. Sylvestre. It is located on the western slope of Mount Ste Marguerite and is bordered by Leeds East at the south end and S. Séverin on the east.
In Ireland, the family name Monaghan (Monahan) is chiefly found in Galway, Mayo and Fermanagah. In 1876/79, Patrick Monaghan, Michael Monaghan and Thomas Monaghan owned lots in S. John range of S. Sylvestre. A James Monaghan (not our James) owned lots 685/686 at the north end of Ste Catherine range in S. Sylvestre, near its junction with S. Paul range Road. Helen Loughrey and James Monaghan had two children. They were born in Michigan and may be without progeny. One was single and the other lived with her parents at the age of 31:
- Mary Ellen Monaghan(21 Apr 1889 Cheboygan, Cheboygan Michig. — after 1920) was a stenographer living with her parents In 1920.
- Lilian C. Monaghan(12 Oct 1894 Michig. — Nov 1986, Mount Dora, Lake, Florida) was a clerck at a grocery store (probably her father’s) in 1920 and a saleslady in 1930. She was single, living with her parents in 1930 and her mother in 1940. Lilian had a 4th year high school education.
(( -) Joseph (~1864-). He seems unlikely to be a son of PATRICK. He is not listed as a member of PATRICK’s household in the 1871 and 1881 censuses, but in the 1891 census Mary Laughrey (60) is listed together with Bridget (35), Martin (33), Margaret (30), Joseph (27) and Frank (22), all of them being classified as her children; all five children were listed as literate.))
m) Elizabeth Johanna (Eliza, Lizzie) Loughrey-Carbery (25 Feb 1866 S. Sylvestre – 27 Nov 1913 Berlin, Coos, NH, buried in S. Matthew cemetery, Whitefield, Coos, NH). Her godparents were Patrick McGunty and Catherine Travers. She lived in S. Séverin in 1881, arrived in the USA in 1888 and m. Patrick Carbery (Barbery) (Jan 1866 Welford, Kent, New Brunswick – after 1936) on 18 Nov 1889 in Whitefield, NH. They resided in Whitefield in 1900, in the house of her half-sister Bridget Mahoney-McKillop, and in Berlin in 1910 and 1913. Patrick Carbery still lived in Berlin in 1936. They had three children, all born in Jefferson, NH. These had six children. We have details only for one of the six: she married but we don’t know if she had children. The three children of Elizabeth are:
- Baby boy Carbery (1894 Jefferson, Coos, NH — 26 May 1896 idem).
- Ernest Joseph Henry Carbery (21 Dec 1896 Jefferson, NH — Apr 1977 Gorham, Coos,NH) was a boarder in Berlin NH in 1920, lived in Gorham, Coos, NH from 1930 to 1977, working in a paper mill in 1930 and as section hand for a railroad in 1940 with a salary of $240 for 17 weeks of work. Henry reached the 2nd year of high school, m. Mary L. Berry (1905- ) in Berlin NH on 1 Jan 1925 and had five children: Clifford (~1926- ), Elizabeth (~1927 NH — ), Patricia (~1932 Gorham NH — ), James (~1936 Gorham NH — ) and Harold (~1937 Gorham NH — ).
- Evelyn Carbery (~1901 Jefferson NH – ) m. James E. Howley (21 Oct 1894 Portland, Maine — 1957) on 22 Feb 1917 in Boston at the age of seventeen but divorced in 1930. They had one daughter six months after the wedding: Eleanor Elizabeth (16 Aug 1917 Portland Maine — 28 Jul 1994 idem) m. George H Gribbin (6 May 1910 Portland, Maine — 8 Mar 1990 idem) on 12 Jan 1940 in Maine.
n) Francis (Frank) Loughrey(7 Sep 1868 S. Sylvestre – 10 Nov 1891 Whitefield NH). His godparents were Hugh Connors (O’Connor?) and Anne Connors. He lived in S. Séverin in 1891 together with his mother Mary McGown, his sister Margaret and his half-siblings Bridget (Mahoney) and Martin (Mahoney).
Socio-economic status and daily life, between 1851 and 1871, of the Laughreas, the Boyces and my Sullivan, Labbé, Collet and Nadeau ancestors.
The 1851, 1861 and 1871 censuses are detailed enough to provide good snapshots of the daily life of 8 Laughrea families, 8 Boyce families and 8 non-Laughrea non-Boyce families between 1851 and 1871. Eleven families lived on S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar, four on Killarney Road of S. Sylvestre, four in S. Pierre de Broughton, and three on S. Marguerite range of S. Sylvestre. Two or three of these censuses are fully available for five Laughreas (PATRICK, Bridget, James, Owen, Catherine) and four other families [John (Jack) Boyce, William Boyce, John Sullivan, Michel Labbé]. The data presented here for each of these farmers is the average over the two or three censuses whenever an item was recorded over two or three censuses. For example, PATRICK had 130 arpents on S. Olivier range in 1851 but 45 arpents on Killarney Road in 1861 and 1871. We used 73 arpents as the size of his farm during 1851-1871. Another example: James produced no recorded oats in 1851, 25 bushels of oats in 1861 and 50 bushels of oats in 1871. We entered 37 bushels as his oat production. James produced no recorded maple sugar in 1851 and 1861 but 120 pounds of it in 1871. We entered 120 pounds as his maple sugar production. Depending on context, arpent designates a length of 192 feet or a surface area of 36864 square feet (192 feet by 192 feet). 1 arpent = 0.85 acre. One minot (most census data were in minots) equals 1.107 bushels and about 35 liters. Production means what was in storage at census time, which usually was in springtime.
The changing circumstances of PATRICK, Bridget, James, Owen and Catherine over time have been described in the sections specifically devoted to them in Chapters Three and Five. The present chapter aims at providing a bird’s eye view. Data for 1861 are unavailable for Bridget, Bernard and the Boyce brothers because the agricultural census for S. Elzéar was left blank in 1861. Here is the list of families, their locations, the censuses used, and how surnames were spelled in the census entries when different from our adopted spellings:
- PATRICK Loughry, S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar in 1851; Killarney Road of S. Sylvestre in 1861 and 1871; Laughry, Loughery andLaughery in 1851, 1861 and 1871.
- Bridget Loughrey-Boyce, S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar in 1851 and 1871; Bridgette Boyce in 1851, Brigitte Lumery in 1861; Owen Boyce was spelled Dune Boyce in 1851 and Ervin Boyerin 1861.
- James Loughery, Killarney range of S. Sylvestre in 1851, 1861 and 1871; Jas Caghrey, James Lougheryand James Laughery in 1851, 1861 and 1871.
- Owen Loughrea, Des Chutes range of S. Sylvestre in 1861 and 1871; Lacyhy in 1861 and Lougheryin 1871. In 1871 Owen and his brother Patrick (1843) were essentially sharing the same land.
- Mary Laughery-Conn, lot 776 of S. Marguerite range of S. Sylvestre in 1861; Laughryin 1861; Lewis Conn was spelled Louis Coss. Their lot touches Fermanagh range at its east end.
- Catherine Laughry-McGee, Killarney range of S. Sylvestre in 1861 and 1871; Catherin Laugheryin 1861 and Catherine McGee in 1871.
- Bernard Laughrea, S. André range (with access to Killarney Road) of S. Elzéar in 1861 and 1871; Bernard Laughryin 1861 and Barney Laughrey in 1871.
- Ann Laughery-Gould, S. Marguerite range of S. Sylvestre in 1871; Anne Gould.
- Patrick Boyce, S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar in 1851 [Patrick was retired and lived with his son John (1830) in 1871]; Bayerin 1861.
- John (1830) Boyce, S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar in 1871.
- Peter (1833) Boyce, S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar in 1871.
- Michael (1832-1927) Boyce, S. Marguerite range of S. Sylvestre in 1871. His lot became part of S. Séverin.
- John (Jack) Boyce, S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar in 1851 and 1871; Jack in 1851 and John in 1871.
- Henry Boyce in 1851, and his son Michael (1835-1918) in 1871. Both from S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar; Michael Bone in 1861, Michael Bosse in 1871. Michael may have moved to S. Sylvestre.
- William Boyce, S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar in 1851 and 1871; Boyerin 1861.
- Neil Patton, S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar in 1851.
- Jeremiah Mahoney, S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar in 1851; Mahony in 1851. First husband of Mary McGown.
- John Sullivan, S. Pierre range in S. Sylvestre in 1861 and in 1871; Sulivanin 1861. My (g.)2-grandfather.
- Michel Labbé (1814 S. Joseph, Beauce — 1898 East Broughton), 1st range of S. Joseph in 1851; 1st range Northwest of S. Marie in 1861; 6th range of Broughton section of S. Pierre de Broughton in 1871. My (g.)2-grandfather.
- François Nadeau (1788 S. Joseph, Beauce — ), 1st range of S. Joseph in 1851. My (g.)3-grandfather.
- Joseph Collet (1821 S. Marie, Beauce — ), 8th range of Broughton section of S. Pierre de Broughton in 1871. My (g.)2-grandfather.
- Jacques Custeau, S. Elzéar in 1861, 1st range of Thetford section of S. Pierre de Broughton, in 1871; Cuistoin 1871. Jacques is father-in-law of Cecilia Laughrea (1870) and my great-granduncle.
- Richard Cyr (1833 S. Marie, Beauce — 1889 S. Pierre de Broughton), 11th range of Broughton section of S. Pierre de Broughton in 1871. Richard is father-in-law of John Laughrea (1860) and my great-grandfather. Note that S. Pierre de Broughton includes ranges from Leeds, Broughton and Thetford townships
17 animals per farm. Our twenty-four families of interest had an average of 17 farm animals each: 10 large ones (1.2 horses, 1.3 oxen, 5.9 cows, 1.7 swine) plus 7 sheep. The range was 5 to 30 animals in 84% of the farms: 4 to 17 large ones plus 1 to 13 sheep. To stay short and simple “cows” represent cows + calves/heifers.
The eight Laughrea families had an average of 14.4 animals each: 1.1 horses, 0.5 oxen, 4.5 cows, 1.75 swine, 6.6 sheep:
- PATRICK, 9 animals: 1 horse, 3 cows, 1 swine, 4 sheep
- Bridget, 16 animals: 1 horse, 2 oxen, 3 cows, 2 swine, 8 sheep.
- James, 11 animals: 1 horse, 4 cows, 1 swine, 5 sheep.
- Owen, 21 animals: 1 horse, 1 oxen, 7 cows, 6 swine, 6 sheep.
- Catherine, 26 animals: 1 horse, 1 oxen, 9 cows, 15 sheep
- Mary, 2 animals: 1 horse, 1 cow.
- Bernard, 11 animals: 1 horse, 4 cows, 2 swine, 4 sheep
- Ann, 19 animals: 2 horses, 5 cows, 2 swine, 11 sheep.
The eight Boyce families had an average of 21.6 animals each: 1.25 horses, 1.9 oxen, 7.25 cows, 1.75 swine, 9.5 sheep:
- Patrick Boyce, 24 animals: 2 oxen, 8 cows, 2 swine, 12 sheep
- John (1830) Boyce, 21 animals: 2 horses, 2 oxen, 8 cows, 1 swine, 8 sheep.
- Peter (1833) Boyce, 26 animals: 1 horse, 2 oxen, 7 cows, 3 swine, 13 sheep.
- Michael (1832) Boyce, 7 animals: 2 oxen, 3 cows, 2 sheep.
- John (Jack) Boyce, 26 animals: 2 horses, 2 oxen, 7 cows, 2 swine, 13 sheep.
- Henry Boyce, 16 animals: 2 horses, 2 oxen, 5 cows, 1 swine, 6 sheep.
- Michael (1835) Boyce, 32 animals: 2 horses, 2 oxen, 10 cows, 4 swine, 14 sheep.
- William Boyce, 21 animals: 1 horse, 1 oxen, 10 cows, 1 swine, 8 sheep
The eight non-Laughrea non-Boyce families had an average of 16.8 animals each: 1.1 horses, 1.5 oxen, 6 cows, 1.75 swine, 6.4 sheep. The five French-Canadian families among them had an average of 19.8 animals each: 1.4 horses, 2 oxen, 6.4 cows, 2 swine, 8 sheep. The four French-Canadian families living in Broughton or Thetford townships had an average of 11.5 animals each: 1 horse, 0.5 oxen, 3.75 cows, 2 swine, 4.25 sheep.
- John Sullivan, 26 animals: 1 horse, 2 oxen, 11 cows, 3 swine, 9 sheep
- Michel Labbé, 30 animals: 2 horses, 2 oxen, 11 cows, 2 swine, 13 sheep. In West Broughton (1871), Michel Labbé had 19 animals: 2 horses, 6 cows, 3 swine, 8 sheep
- François Nadeau, 42 animals: 3 horses, 6 oxen, 12 cows, 3 swine, 18 sheep.
- Jacques Custeau, 17 animals: 1 horse, 2 oxen, 5 cows, 1 swine, 8 sheep.
- Neil Patton, 6 animals: 1 horse, 3 cows, 2 sheep.
- Jeremiah Mahoney, 3 animals: 2 cows, 1 swine.
- Joseph Collet, 5 animals: 1 horse, 3 cows, 1 sheep.
- Richard Cyr, 5 animals: 1 cow, 4 swine; Richard was a laborer, not a farmer.
PATRICK, Mary, Michael (1832) Boyce, Joseph Collet, Neil Patton and Jeremiah Mahoney were small farmers. François Nadeau was a big farmer. So was Michel Labbé in S. Joseph and S. Marie, but not in West Broughton. PATRICK was average relative to the average farmer of S. Olivier range or Killarney Road:
- The average Olivierfarm had 10 animals in 1851: 0.8 horse, 0.7 oxen, 3.1 cows (i.e. 1.9 cows + 1.2 calves/heifers), 1.6 swine and 3.8 sheep (average of 45 lots).
- The average Killarneyand Monaghan farm, just south of S. André, S. Charles and S. Anne ranges, had 7 animals in 1871: 0.8 horse, 0.5 oxen, 3.3 cows, 0.8 swine and 2.3 sheep (average of all 19 lots—Killarney Road is a 2.5 km road separating Killarney from Monaghan ranges).
- The average farm in André, S. Charles, S. Alexandre and Haut S. Anne ranges, all between S. Olivier and Killarney ranges, had 9.6 animalsin 1851: 0.8 horse, 0.7 oxen, 2.8 cows, 1.8 pigs and 3.5 sheep (50 lots including all those of S. André range, all those of S. Charles range as well as lots from S. Anne range and 13 lots from S. Alexandre range).
- The average farm on S. Jacques range, just north of S. Olivier, had 7 animals in 1851: 1.1 horses, 2.1 oxen, 5.2 cows, 2.5 pigs and 8.8 sheep (average of 47 lots).
- The average farm on S. Thomas range, just north of S. Jacques had 29 animalsin 1851: 3.6 horses, 3.1 oxen, 8.3 cows, 3 pigs and 11 sheep (average of 51 lots). In 1871, it had 34 animals: 1.7 horses, 3 oxen, 11.5 cows, 4.2 pigs, 14 sheep (average of 51 lots).
Killarney, Monaghan and S. André ranges (7.7 to 9.6 animals) cover the Mount Tara massif separating the Chaudière River watershed from the Beaurivage River watershed. Moving towards the Chaudière River from Mount Tara, one successively crosses Haut S. Anne, S. Olivier (10 animals), S. Jacques (19.7 animals) and S. Thomas ranges (29 animals), S. Thomas being located one range away from the Chaudière River. This range-to-range comparison shows that the most prosperous farms were the closest to the Chaudière River (S. Thomas range), and that the least prosperous were at the highest altitude. The 1851 average for PATRICK, Bridget, Neil Patton and the four other Boyce brothers, who were all living on S. Olivier range, was 16 animals: 1.1 horses, 1.3 oxen, 4.3 cows, 1.1 calf/heifers, 1.3 swine and 7 sheep. The 1871 average for the four Laughrea families living on Killarney road or S. André range (PATRICK, James, Catherine, Bernard) was 12 animals: 1 horse, 2 cows, 2.5 other cattle, 1 pig, 5.5 sheep.
116 arpents per farm, 48 of which were cultivated. The farms of our 23 families were 116 arpents large on average, of which 48 arpents (41%) were cultivated. In every instance, forest covered the non cultivated part. Richard Cyr is not included because he was not a farmer, though he produced 45 yards of textile. He was a miner at Harvey Hill copper mine: he rented his house and his rented land was only 0.5 arpent large. In the 1881 census he is described as a “laborer”. All other family members owned their house and at least 45 arpents of land.
The eight Laughrea farms were 89 arpents large on average, of which 36 arpents (40%) were cultivated: 73 (34 cultivated) for PATRICK, 90 (53 cult.) for Bridget, 112 (17 cult.) for James, 90 (41.5 cult.) for Owen, 90 (45 cult.) for Catherine, 90 (15 cult.) for Mary, 80 (40 cult.) for Bernard and 90 (45 cult.) for Ann.
The eight Boyce farms were 128 arpents large on average, of which 63 arpents (49%) were cultivated: 180 (100 cultivated) for Patrick, 90 (50 cult.) for John (1830), 120 (88 cult.) for Peter (1833), 90 (35 cult.) for Michael (1832), 125 (61 cult.) for John (Jack), 120 (57 cult.) for Henry, 120 (50 cult.) for Michael (1835) and 180 (60 cult.) for William.
The seven non-Laughrea non-Boyce farms were on average 131 arpents large, of which 44 arpents (36%) were cultivated: 185 (65 cultivated) for John Sullivan, 171 (58 cult.) for Michel Labbé, 170 (84 cult.) for François Nadeau, 150 (45 cult.) for Jacques Custeau, 135 (24 cult.) for Neil Patton, 60 (20 cult.) for Jeremiah Mahoney and 54 (15 cult.) for Joseph Collet. The four French-Canadian farms were 137 arpents large on average, of which 51 arpents (37%) were cultivated.
The average 1851 farm on S. Olivier, S. Jacques and S. Thomas ranges was respectively 73, 100 and 119 arpents large, of which 31 (42%), 52 (52%) and 72 arpents (61%) were cultivated. The average 1851 farm on S. André, S. Charles, S. Alexandre and S. Anne ranges was 75 arpents large, of which 29 arpents (39%) were cultivated. The average 1871 farm on Killarney road was 81 arpents large, of which 36 arpents (44%) were cultivated. The average 1871 farm on S. Thomas range was 154 arpents large, of which 114 arpents (74%) were cultivated. These data indicate that fertile (low altitude) farms were generally 50% larger and 100% more cultivated than high altitude farms. For comparison, the two wealthiest North Tipperary immigrants in the Ottawa Valley were William Hodgins and Robert Grant. They profited from their early arrival in 1818. The Hodgins family made its fortune partly in storekeeping and lumbering. Hodgins had holdings of 4000 acres in 1853 in Carleton county, a county which includes the city of Ottawa. He gave 480 acres to his son John. John rented 100 acres but he farmed the remaining 380 acres, of which 270 acres (71%) were under cultivation, over 100 of that in pasturage for his forty steers and heifers, twenty-one cows, twenty-nine horses, forty sheep and fourteen pigs (144 animals in total). The farm was valued at $22,000 in 1861, or $45.63 per acre. This is 3.7 times the value per acre of the farm of Miche Labbé in 1861 and 17 times the value per acre of the farm of PATRICK in 1861. Only four other farms in western Carleton County had a higher value (Irish Migrants in the Canadas).
10 different items produced per farm. All twenty-three families produced potatoes, butter and hay; 22 produced barley, oats and wool; 17 produced various kinds of textiles; 16 produced peas; 14 produced buckwheat. Half produced lard; 10 produced maple sugar; 9 produced wheat; 8 produced tobacco; 6 produced turnip and 5 produced flax + hemp. The average farm produced 9.5 different items (range: 7 to 13 products in 19 of the 23 farms). This rises to 11.9 total items if we add 2.4 types of butchery animals per farm (see section “Cattle, swine and sheep killed or sold for butchery or export”). Note that I regrouped together cloth, linen, flannel and canvas as one single item called “textile”. In general, the higher the altitude of a farm, the lower its productivity for two reasons: the altitude and its smaller size.
The eight Laughrea farms produced 8.4 items each on average (10.7 in total with the 2.3 types of butchery animals of next section): PATRICK, 9, Bridget, 10, James, 9, Owen, 11, Catherine, 8, Mary, 4, Bernard, 8 and Ann, 8. The average Laughrea farm produced:
136 minots potatoes, 65 oats, 13 buckwheat, 11 barley, 10 turnip, 2.5 peas (all minots), 835 haystacks, 197 pounds butter, 61 maple sugar, 23 wool (all pounds), 1.3 barrels lard, and 22 yards of textile. Ratio potatoes/maple sugar: 2.2 minots/pound. Ratio butter/maple sugar: 3.2. A major difference between Irish and French-Canadian farmers was a large production of potatoes and butter among Irishmen and a large production of maple sugar among French-Canadians.
PATRICK, James, Catherine and Bernard lived on Killarney Road in 1861 and 1871. For comparison, the average farm of Killarney road produced in 1871:
128 minots potatoes, 51 oats, 12 buckwheat, 4.3 barley, 1 wheat, 0.8 peas, 0.6 beans (all minots), 602 haystacks, 57 pounds butter, 21 maple sugar, 9 wool, 0.6 flax + hemp (all pounds), 13 yards textile. Ratio potatoes/maple sugar: 6.1 minots/pound. Ratio butter/maple sugar: 3.0.
The eight Boyce farms produced 11.3 items each on average (14.1 in total with the 2.8 types of butchery animals of next section): Patrick Boyce, 13, John (1830), 10, Peter (1833), 10, Michael (1832), 11, John (Jack), 13, Henry, 9, Michael (1835), 10 and William Boyce, 14. The average Boyce farm produced:
173 minots potatoes, 103 oats, 43 buckwheat, 19 barley, 8 peas, 6 turnip, 3 wheat, 1 rye (all minots), 1750 haystacks, 380 pounds butter, 75 maple sugar, 24 wool, 14 tobacco, 9 flax + hemp (all pounds), 1.6 barrels lard and 51 yards textile. Ratio potatoes/maple sugar: 2.3 minots /pound.Ratio butter/maple sugar: 5.1.
Seven of the Boyces lived on S. Olivier range of S. Elzéar, while Michael (1832) lived in S. Sylvestre. For comparison, the average S. Olivier farm produced in 1851:
42 minots oats, 38 potatoes, 6.9 barley, 5.4 peas, 4.2 wheat, 3.2 buckwheat, 3.1 rye (all minots), 491 haystacks, 177 pounds maple sugar, 78 butter, 11.9 flax + hemp, 7.7 wool, 2.4 tobacco (all pounds), 1.9 barrels lard and 14 yards textile. Ratio potatoes/maple sugar: 0.2 minots /pound. Ratio butter/maple sugar: 0.4. We can also note a tendency of Irish farmers to produce buckwheat.
The seven non-Laughrea non-Boyce farms produced 8.9 items on average (10.9 in total with the 2.0 types of butchery animals of next section): John Sullivan, 11, Michel Labbé, 11, François Nadeau, 11, Joseph Collet, 9, Jacques Custeau, 8, Neil Patton, 5 and Jeremiah Mahoney, 7 items. Michel Labbé produced 10 items while in West Broughton. The average non-Laughrea non-Boyce farm produced:
88 minots oats, 70 potatoes, 20 barley, 7 buckwheat, 6 turnip, 3 wheat, 3 peas (all minots), 1611 haystacks, 329 pounds maple sugar, 165 butter, 19 wool, 13 flax + hemp, 4.4 tobacco, (all pounds), 1.4 barrels lard and 37 yards textile. Ratio potatoes/maple sugar: 0.2 minots /pound. Ratio butter/maple sugar: 0.5.
The four French-Canadian farms among them produced 9.75 items on average (12 in total with the 2.3 types of butchery animals of next section):
104 minots oats, 71 potatoes, 25 barley, 5 peas, 1.5 buckwheat, 0.5 turnip (all minots), 1900 haystasks, 313 pounds maple sugar, 152 butter, 27 wool, 12.5 flax and hemp, 1.5 tobacco (all pounds), 0.6 barrel lard and 55 yards textile. Ratio potatoes/maple sugar: 0.2 minots/pound. Ratio butter/maple sugar: 0.5.
Individual details follow:
- PATRICK produced 200 minots potatoes, 18 oats, 8 barley, 4 peas (all minots), 425 haystacks, 225 pounds butter, 9 pounds wool, 3 barrels lard and 31 yards textile.
- Bridget produced 125 minots potatoes, 43 oats, 25 buckwheat, 8 barley, 5 peas (all minots), 225 haystacks, 200 pounds butter, 29 pounds wool, 3 barrels lard and 36 yards textile.
- James produced 75 minots potatoes, 37 oats, 17 barley, 4 buckwheat, 1 peas (all minots), 200 haystacks, 120 pounds maple sugar, 75 butter and 6 wool (all pounds).
- Owen (and Patrick) produced 200 minors potatoes, 150 oats, 70 turnips, 15 buckwheat,10 barley, 10 peas (all minots), 1300 haystacks, 315 pounds butter, 46 pounds wool, 70 yards textile, as well as furs.
- Catherine produced 120 minots oats, 100 potatoes, 40 buckwheat (all minots), 400 haystacks, 60 pounds butter, 12 pounds wool, 4 barrels lard and 10 yards textile.
- Mary produced 50 minots oats, 7 minots barley (potatoes not scored), 1.5 ton hay and 200 pounds maple sugar.
- Bernard produced 100 minots potatoes, 50 oats, 20 buckwheat (all minots), 1500 haystacks, 200 pounds butter, 40 maple sugar, 10 wool (all pounds) and 11 yards textile.
- Ann produced 150 minots potatoes, 50 oats, 40 barley (all minots), 2000 haystacks, 500 pounds butter, 130 maple sugar, 23 wool (all pounds) and 16 yards textile.
- Patrick Boyce produced 200 minots potatoes, 200 oats, 53 buckwheat, 20 barley, 20 peas (all minots), 1300 haystacks, 400 pounds butter, 400 maple sugar, 48 tobacco, 26 wool, 25 flax and hemp (all pounds), 3 barrels lard and 31 yards textile.
- John (1830) Boyce produced 200 minots potatoes, 75 oats, 75 buckwheat, 18 peas, 13 wheat (all minots), 1500 haystacks, 400 pounds butter, 20 wool, 5 tobacco (all pounds) and 44 yards textile.
- Peter (1833) Boyce produced 150 minots potatoes, 50 oats, 50 buckwheat, 24 barley, 3 peas (all minots), 2000 haystacks, 500 pounds butter, 12 tobacco, 10 wool, (all pounds) and 70 yards textile.
- Michael (1832) Boyce produced 156 minots potatoes, 30 turnip, 25 buckwheat, 20 oats, 12 barley, 4 peas (all minots), 800 haystacks, 200 pounds maple sugar, 40 butter, 15 wool (all pounds) and 45 yards textile.
- John (Jack) Boyce produced 125 minots potatoes, 83 oats, 20 barley, 15 buckwheat, 5 turnip, 2 wheat, 2 peas (all minots), 500 haystacks, 300 pounds butter, 25 wool, 20 flax + hemp (all pounds), 4 barrels lard and 38 yards textile.
- Henry Boyce produced 100 minots potatoes, 60 oats, 5 peas, 3 barley (all minots), 1000 haystacks, 500 pounds butter, 20 pounds wool, 3 barrels lard and 13 yards textile.
- Michael (1835) Boyce produced 300 minots potatoes, 250 oats, 100 buckwheat, 30 barley, 2 peas (all minots), 5 000 haystacks, 400 pounds butter, 40 wool, 20 tobacco (all pounds) and 75 yards textile.
- William Boyce produced 150 minots potatoes, 85 oats, 40 barley, 25 buckwheat, 10 rye, 9 turnip, 9 peas, 8 wheat (all minots), 1900 haystacks, 500 pounds butter, 38 wool, 30 tobacco, 25 flax + hemp (all pounds) and 3 barrels lard.
- John Sullivan produced 200 minots oats, 150 potatoes, 44 buckwheat, 40 turnip, 20 wheat (all minots), 700 haystacks, 425 pounds butter, 300 maple sugar, 27 wool (all pounds), 2 barrels lard and 40 yards textile.
- Michel Labbé produced 190 minots oats, 93 potatoes, 30 barley, 12 peas (all minots), 1633 haystasks, 267 pounds butter, 253 maple sugar, 43 flax + hemp, 31 wool (all pounds), 1 barrel lard and 93 yards textile. In West Broughton(1871), he produced 100 minots potatoes, 40 barley, 20 oats, 12 peas (all minots), 400 haystacks, 200 pounds maple sugar, 100 butter, 50 flax + hemp, 12 wool (all pounds) and 62 yards textile.
- François Nadeau produced 170 minots oats, 20 potatoes, 4 peas (all minots), 3200 haystacks, 1000 pounds maple sugar, 200 butter, 50 wool, 25 tobacco, 50 flax + hemp (all pounds), 1.5 barrel lard and 109 yards textile.
- Jacques Custeau produced 120 minots potatoes, 40 barley, 40 oats, 4 peas (all minots), 19 tons hay, 100 pounds butter, 22 pounds wool and 18 yards textile.
- Neil Patton produced 18 minots barley, 15 minots potatoes, 400 haystacks, 100 pounds butter and 2 barrels lard.
- Jeremiah Mahoney produced 40 minots potatoes, 12 barley, 2 peas (all minots), 600 haystacks, 200 pounds maple sugar, 23 pounds butter and 2 barrels lard.
- Joseph Collet produced 50 minots potatoes, 30 barley, 15 oats, 6 buckwheat, 2 turnips (all minots), 800 haystacks, 40 pounds butter, 6 tobacco and 1.5 wool (all pounds).
The lots of John Sullivan, Michel Labbé and François Nadeau might be comparable in fertility to the S. Thomas lots. In 1871, the average S. Thomas lot produced:
216 minots oats, 130 potatoes, 21 barley, 13 peas, 11 wheat, 8 buckwheat, 0.6 beans, 0.5 corn, 1.3 graines de lin, 0.2 apples, 0.5 pears and other fruits (all minots), 2734 haystacks, 566 pounds butter, 447 maple sugar, 35 wool, 15 tobacco, 8 flax + hemp (all pounds), 81 yards textile. It had 2.4 carriages and sleighs, 7.7 cars, wagons and sleds, and 2.1 plows. Ratio potatoes/maple sugar: 0.3 minots/pound. Ratio butter/maple sugar: 1.3.
Cattle, swine and sheep killed or sold for butchery or export. Seventeen families filled the 1871 census, which is the only one describing this facet of farm economy. (In 1871, Mary Laughery lived in New Hampshire, Patrick Boyce was retired, Henry Boyce, Neil Patton and Jeremiah Mahoney were deceased, and François Nadeau was probably deceased.) The average farm owner killed or sold 11.7 animals for butchery or export (FBE): 2.1 cattle, 3 swine and 7.1 sheep. Of the 17 families, 16 killed or sold swine FBE, 14 killed or sold sheep FBE, and 11 killed or sold cattle FBE. The average was 2.4 types of butchery animals per family.
The average Laughrea farm killed or sold 11.6 animals FBE: 1.6 cattle, 2.9 swine and 7.1 sheep. An average of 2.3 different butchery animals per family. Details:
- PATRICK: 2 swine and 2 sheep FBE
- Bridget: 1 cattle, 3 swine and 14 sheep FBE
- James: 2 cattle, 2 swine and 1 sheep FBE
- Owen: 5 cattle, 8 swine and 20 sheep FBE
- Catherine: no cattle, swine or sheep FBE
- Bernard: 4 swine and 4 sheep FBE
- Ann: 3 cattle, 1 swine and 9 sheep FBE
The four Killarney/S. André Laughrea farms each killed or sold 4.3 animals FBE: 0.5 cattle, 2 swine and 1.8 sheep, on averge. An average of 1.75 different butchery animals per family.This was more than the average for 19 Killarney farms, which was 2.1 animals per farm: 0.2 cattle, 1.3 swine and 0.6 sheep.
The average Boyce farm killed or sold 16.8 animals FBE: 3.2 cattle, 3.3 swine and 10.3 sheep. An average of 2.8 different butchery animals per family. This was similar to the average for 39 farms of S. Thomas range, which was 16.6 animals killed or sold FBE: 2.6 cattle, 4.6 swine and 9.4 sheep. Details:
- John Boyce: 4 swine and 2 sheep FBE
- Peter Boyce: 6 cattle, 3 swine and 10 sheep FBE
- Michael (1832-) Boyce: 3 cattle, 1 swine and 6 sheep FBE
- John (Jack) Boyce: 2 cattle, 3 swine and 12 sheep FBE
- Michael (1835-) Boyce: 5 cattle, 5 swine and 14 sheep FBE
- William Boyce: 3 cattle, 4 swine and 18 sheep FBE
The average non Laughrea/Boyce family farm killed or sold 4.25 animals FBE: 0.75 cattle, 2 swine, and 1.5 sheep. An average of 2 different butchery animals per family. Details:
- John Sullivan: 3 swine FBE
- Michel Labbé: 2 cattle, 2 swine and 2 sheep FBE
- Jacques Custeau: 2 swine and 4 sheep FBE
- Joseph Collet: 1 cattle and 1 swine FBE
Farm equipment in 1871. Out of seventeen farms, fifteen had 1 or 2 carriages and sleighs (CS); fourteen had 2 to 5 cars, wagons and sleds (CWS); fourteen had 2 ploughs. On average: the seven Laughrea farms each had 1.6 CS, 2.2 CWS and 2.1 ploughs; the six Boyce farms each had 1.7 CS, 5.2 CWS, and 1.8 ploughs; the four non-Laughrea/Boyce farms each had 1.5 CS, 4.75 CWS, and 1.75 ploughs. By comparison, the average Killarney road farm had 0.7 CS, 2.1 CWS and 1.9 ploughs. Individual details:
- PATRICK: 0, 2, 2 (CS, CWS, ploughs)
- Bridget: 1, 3, 2
- James: 2, 2, 2
- Owen: 3, 4, 4
- Catherine: 2, 0, 2
- Bernard: 2, 4, 2
- Ann: 1, 2, 2
- John (1830) Boyce: 2, 4, 1
- Peter (1833) Boyce: 2, 4, 2
- Michael (1832) Boyce: 2, 5, 2
- John (Jack) Boyce: 2, 5, 2
- Michael (1835) Boyce: 1, 7, 2
- William Boyce: 1, 6, 2
- John Sullivan: 2, 5, 2
- Michel Labbé: 2, 5, 2
- Jacques Custeau: 2, 4, 1
- Joseph Collet: 0, 3, 2
Michel Labbé’s farming from 1851 to 1871: moving to the hills of West Broughton decreased his production by 40%. Michel Labbé’s farm operation was less productive in West Broughton (1871) than in S. Marie (1861) and S. Joseph (1851). He had 47% fewer large animals and 47% fewer sheep in West Broughton than in S. Joseph and S. Marie. He produced 20% of the cereals (barley + oats), 29% of the butter, 30% of the wool, 18% of the haystacks, 71% of maple sugar and 57% of the textile produced in S. Joseph and S. Marie. One wonders why Michel Labbé moved to West Broughton, other than desire for a large piece of land, a pioneer spirit and of course the monetary satisfaction of selling high his previous farm and no doubt buying low his Broughton farm. Specifically:
- In 1851 he owned 100 arpents: 55 forest, 25 pasture and 20 for harvest. He had 36 animals: 21 large ones and 15 sheep.
- In 1861 he owned 162 acres: 52 forest, 55 pasture and 55 for harvest. He had 35 animals: 20 large ones and 15 sheep. The farm had a value of $2000, the two horses a value of $100 and the cattle (2 oxen, 5 cows, 8 heifers/calves) a value of $360.
- In 1871 he owned 250 arpents: 230 forest, 2 pasture, 18 for harvest. He had 19 animals: 11 large ones and 8 sheep. 1871 details are at 00611.jpg, 00629.jpg, 00634.jpg, 00639.jpg, and 00646.jpg of Canadian census for Michel Labbé, Broughton.
In terms of items produced:
- In 1851 and 1861, he produced on average 275 minots oats, 90 potatoes, 25 barley, 12 peas (all minots), 2225 haystacks, 350 pounds butter, 280 maple sugar, 40.5 wool, 40 flax + hemp (all pounds) and 108.5 yards textile.
- But in 1871 he produced 100 minots potatoes, 40 barley, 20 oats, 12 peas (all minots), 400 haystacks, 200 pounds maple sugar, 100 butter, 50 flax + hemp, 12 wool (all pounds) and 62 yards textile.
Litteracy: 46% of family members could read, 30% could write. Of 37 family members in 1871, twenty were illiterate, eleven were literate, and six could read but not write. Of fourteen Laughrea family members, six were illiterate (PATRICK, Bridget, her husband Owen Boyce, Owen, Catherine, and Patrick), five were literate (James, his wife Anne Gallagher, Bernard, Anne and her husband James Gould) and three could read but not write (Mary McGown—wife of PATRICK—, Cecilia Sullivan—wife of Bernard—, Thomas McGee—husband of Catherine). Of thirteen Boyce family members, seven were illiterate (Patrick Boyce and his wife Alice Hinds, Michael (1832) Boyce, John Boyce, Mary McMonigle—wife of Henry Boyce—, William Boyce and his wife Anna McMonigle), five were literate (Peter Boyce and his wife Mary Burns, Michael (1835) Boyce and his wife Mary Sullivan, and Catherine Osborne—wife of John Boyce) and John (Jack) Boyce could read but not write. Of ten non-Laughrea/Boyce family members seven were illiterate (John Sullivan, Joseph Collet, Michel Labbé and his wife Modeste Nadeau, Richard Cyr and his wife Célina Caron, Jacques Custeau), Mary Prendergast—wife of John Sullivan—was literate and two could read but not write (Bridget Boyce—wife of Jacques Custeau—and Délima Vallée—wife of Joseph Collet).
Generation four. The twelve children of BRIDGET Loughrey (1825-1883) and John Owen Boyce (1817-1885), and their 563 descendants
The twelve children of Bridget had 29 children, 98 grandchildren, 225 great-grandchildren and 211 (g.)2-grandchildren, for a total of 563 descendants not counting the (g.)3- and (g.)4-grandchildren. Nine of Bridget’s children reached adult life. Three (Annie, Mary and Catherine) stayed in Quebec. The six others moved to the USA: three to Vermont, two to Washington state and one to New Jersey. Annie, Mary, Michael, John Owen, Susan and Peter E. married and had 4, 7, 1, 9, 6 and 2 children, respectively. Catherine, Patrick and James were bachelors. We will see an identical proportion in next chapter: three of Bernard’s nine children remained bachelors.
a) Ann (Annie) Boyce-Camden(15 Mar 1843 S. Elzéar, Beauce but baptized in S. Marie de Beauce — 31 Oct 1930 S. Patrice de Beaurivage, Lotbinière). It is not surprising that Annie Boyce (1843) and her siblings Mary (1844) and Michael (1846) were baptized in S. Marie even though they lived in S. Elzéar because there was no chapel or church in S. Elzéar before 1845 and no resident priest before spring 1846. Annie married (m.) PatrickCamden (7 Mar 1850 S. Patrice – 31 Dec 1922 idem) on 5 Nov 1872 in Elzéar. Patrick was probably born in an area of S. Gilles or S. Agathe that became S. Patrice in 1871, because his three siblings were born in S. Gilles and S. Agathe between 1854 and 1865. Patrick resided in S. Agathe in 1861 and S. Sylvestre in 1871. His two eldest children were born in S. Séverin in 1873 and 1875. But soon after the family moved to S. Patrice. Patrick owned lot 165 on S. David range of S. Patrice in 1877. It was the 4th lot starting from Belfast Road which separates S. Charles range from S. David range. The first three lots then belonged to John Laurie while the 5th to 9th lots respectively belonged to Patrick McGee, Michael McGee, James McGee, John McGee, and William McGee. I mention these McGees because they may be related to Annie’s uncle Thomas McGee (1836-1902)—husband of Catherine Laughry (1832-1908).
In 1908, Annie and Patrick moved from their farm to a house facing the church parking. They then left their S. David lot in the hands of their eldest son John Camden (1873-1962). John left it to his son Albert Camden (1909-1996) in or before 1962. Albert left it to his eldest son Raymond in 1996. Raymond left it to his son Robert (1984- ) in 2008 and Robert kept it into family hands until 2014. The house of Annie and Patrick in the village was located between the river and S. Patrice Main street, and diagonally to the east of the church. It now belongs to their great-grandson Lewis Camden (1953-). This house has presumably been handed down from Annie to her son James Camden (~1885-1966) and her grandson Patrick Camden (1918-2008) before becoming the property of Lewis. If so, given that James Camden lived on S. David range in 1945, this means that James owned two houses in his middle years, a bit like his brother John (see below).
Patrick Camden (1850-1922) had a wood working shop and made doors, windows, mouldings and stairway banisters on contract for those building houses.
51 summers at the base station of the Cog Railroad of Mount Washington. Patrick Camden worked at the Mount Washington (NH) Cog Railroad for 51 summers: from 1871 to 1922. He was roadmaster from 1892 to 1922. Together with his father John, he worked on the construction of the second “Summit house”, the one destroyed by fire in 1908. On 29 Sep 1879, he was railroad help and a boarder at the base station of Mount Washington. His father, his brother and his brother-in-law were also boarders in the same building. They are: 1) railroad laborer and father John Camden (1827 S. Agathe); 2) railroad help and brother John Camden Jr (~1861 S. Gilles); 3) trackman and brother-in-law Patrick Boyce (1849 S. Elzéar — 1942 Everett, Wash.). Other boarders included trackmen John Owen Boyce (22 and single) and Thomas Camden (38 and married). Annie’s brother John Owen Boyce (1851 S. Elzéar —1926 Websterville, VT) was 27 at the time. Given widespread age approximations in censuses, these two may be the same person. There were sixteen boarders, twelve of whom, including the four Camdens and the two Boyces, were born in Canada. On 19-20 Jun 1900, Patrick Camden was section foreman and a boarder at the base station of Mount Washington. His brother, his two eldest sons and a 2nd brother-in-law were boarders in the same building. They are: 1) railroad laborer and brother John Camden Jr (~1861 S. Gilles), 39 and single; 2) railroad laborer and son John Camden (1873 S. Séverin), 23 and single; 3) fireman (locomotive stoker) and son Patrick Jr Camden (1880 S. Patrice); 4) brakeman and brother-in-law James Boyce (1853 S. Elzéar — 1935 Websterville, VT). A Phillip Camden (31 and single) was among the fourteen boarders, twelve of whom, including James Boyce and the five Camden, were born in Canada. Three boarders were French Canadians and nine were English Canadians. At that time the fireman threw logs into the locomotive’s furnace. When the coal era started around 1910, he had to shovel one ton of coal per ascent. John Camden Jr (~1861) and his nephew John Camden (1873) were listed as “single” in the 1900 census, though they respectively married in Quebec in 1881 and 1896. They probably meant that they lived alone rather than as a family unit during their seasonal work in New Hampshire. There is often loose understanding of the questions and loose answers in censuses, which is why one census can contradict the next. John Camden was 26 at the time of census, which is not that different from 23.
In 1919, a cottage haven was erected by Patrick Camden at the summit of Mount Washington for exhausted skiers and mountain climbers. Every fall, Patrick would equip it with firewood, matches, provisions and blankets, to save the life of climbers caught by the sudden storms at the summit. After Patrick died in 1922, a bronze tablet honoring him was placed on the building, thereafter named Camden cottage. As a memorial to Patrick Camden, railroad officials maintain it and each fall carry the Camden practice of equipping it with life saving essentials. Camden cottage is a well-known landmark near the summit terminus of the Cog Railroad. Before 1931, the Cog Railroad season was short: typically from 1 Jul to 21 Sep. But from 1931 to 1967 the season often lasted from Memorial Day to Columbus Day.
The parents, grandparents and great-grandparents of Patrick Camden. Patrick is the son of John Camden (19 May 1827 S. Agathe, Lotbinière – 11 Aug 1913 idem), who is 75% Irish, and Marie Delina Carrier (~1829 Canada – ~1910 Duluth, MN). John and Marie Delina m. on 15 Jan 1849 in S. Gilles de Beaurivage. She was “married” and lived in S. Agathe on 1 Apr 1871 but John was a “widower” living at the base lodge of the Mount Washington (NH) Cog Railroad on 28 Sep 1879. They were probably separated by 1880. John Camden worked for the Cog Railroad for many years starting between 1869 and 1871. He was roadmaster at the Cog Railroad from 1874 to 1892. The book of Bruce D. Heald relates: “Uncle John Camden, road master, with service dating back to 1874; (…) Patrick Camden, the son of Uncle John and his successor for many years as the road master of the cog road, who more than once made the descent by slide board in three minutes’ time and in whose memory the Camden refuge house was built.” Why John Camden was called “Uncle John” is not clear.
The parents of John Camden are Thomas William Camden (~1793 Ireland — 13 Sep 1884 S. Agathe) and Mary (Marie) Ramsey (3 Feb 1806 – 19 Aug 1897 S. Agathe), who is half Irish. They m. on 24 Jun 1825 in S. Nicolas, Lévis, QC. John’s grandparents are Thomas William Camden (~1756 Ireland – 23 Feb 1825 S. Gilles de Beaurivage), Elizabeth Brennan (~1757 Ireland – ~1825 S. Gilles or Frampton), James Ramsey (~1773 Ireland – 5 Feb 1852 S. Gilles) and French Canadian Marguerite Guilmette (~1775 S. Gilles – ~1855 idem).
The 3 siblings of Patrick Camden. They are:
- Marie Delina Camden (22 Mar 1854 S. Gilles — 18 May 1913 Thetford Mines) m. Télesphore Paquet (17 Aug 1851 S. Antoine de Tilly, Lotbinière — ). My mother had an English teacher in Thetford Mines named Camden. There were twelve Camdens in the telephone directory of Thetford Mines in ~1990.
- John Camden(~1861 S. Gilles, baptized in 1888 in S. Agathe — 29 Jun 1914 Mount Washington base station, of a heart attack; buried in S. Patrice) m. Marie Malvina (Delvina) Boutin (~1858 S. Gilles — 15 Oct 1905 S. Patrice) on 25 Jan 1881 in S. Agathe. He worked at the Mount Washington base station in 1879 and 1900 and died there in 1914, suggesting that he worked 34 summers for the Cog Railroad. They had two children: William Camden (1883 — 6 Aug 1903) and Marie Anna Camden (7 Jul 1895 S. Agathe — ). Marie Anna m. Alphonse Hébert (30 May 1872 Ste Claire —29 Aug 1927 Thetford Mines). Their son is renown actor, producer and theatre director Paul Hébert (28 May 1924 Thetford Mines — ). Thus PATRICK Loughry (1880-1886) is my (g.)2-grandfather (Patrick->Bernard->John->Patrick->Michael) and the (g.)2-granduncle of Paul Hébert (Patrick->Bridget->Annie Boyce, Annie being the grandaunt of Paul Hébert).
- James Joseph Camden (2 Apr 1865 S. Agathe – 11 Feb 1951 Bloomfield, Stoddard, Mo.) lived in Duluth MN from 1880 to 1940 but m. Kate Mullavey (29 Jan 1858 S. Sylvestre — 5 Mar 1919 Duluth MN) in Quebec City on 15 Mar 1890. Kate lived in Duluth from 1880 to her death, suggesting that they m. in Quebec City solely for the benefit of family members. Around nineteen years after the death of Kate, James Joseph m. his grandniece Jenny Camden (1915-1979), daughter of John Camden(1873) and granddaughter of Annie Boyce-Camden (1843). On 21 Aug 1996, the remains of James Joseph were relocated from S. Joseph cemetery in Advance Mo. and buried next to those of Jenny Camden in Englewood cemetery.
Children and descendants of Annie Boyce and Patrick Camden. Of the four children of Annie Boyce and Patrick Camden, three stayed in the area of S. Patrice, one moved to Boston and all are 68.75% Irish thanks to the 100% Irishness of Annie. The Quebec-born grandchildren of Annie-Boyce-Camden (1843) are 34.4 % Irish, i.e. almost as Irish as Patrick Camden (1850) himself, and their USA-born grandchildren are at least 72% Irish.
Annie Boyce and Patrick Camden had 4 children between 1873 and 1885, 25 grandchildren, 50 great-grandchildren, 28 (g.)2-grandchildren and 26 (g.)3-grandchildren:
- John Camden(24 Sep 1873 S. Séverin, Beauce – 9 Apr 1962 S. Patrice de Beaurivage). His godmother was Bridget Loughry. Another source says that John was born in S. Agathe, Lotbinière. He m. Wilhelmina Bourgault (6 Apr 1875 S. Patrice – 4 Sep 1969 idem) on 27 Oct 1896 in S. Patrice. The siblings John and Mary Camden married the siblings Wilhelmina and Jean Bourgault and had the same number of children. John and Wilhelmina had 10 children between 1897 and 1915 and 28 grandchildren, 28 great-grandchildren and 26 (g.)2-grandchildren (22). John lived on S. David range of S. Patrice in 1945. Of their seven adult children, two stayed in S. Patrice and five moved to the USA: one each to Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Vermont and Connecticut.
- Mary Bridget Camden(15 Dec 1875 S. Séverin but baptized in S. Patrice — 1962 S. Patrice) m. Jean Bourgault (26 Jun 1871 S. Sylvestre, Lotbinière — 25 Jan 1947 S. Patrice) on 2 May 1899 in S. Patrice. They may have resided in S. Sylvestre in 1900 but lived in S. Patrice thereafter. The siblings John and Mary Camden married the siblings Wilhelmina and Jean Bourgault and had an identical number of children. Mary and Jean had 10 children between 1900 and 1915 and at least 17 grandchildren (23). Of their four children for whom we have relevant information, three stayed in S. Patrice, S. Sylvestre and S. Agathe, and one moved to Michig. The parents of Jean and Wilhelmina Bourgault are Cléophas Bourgault (8 Nov 1843 S. Gervais, Bellechasse — 23 Oct 1930 S. Patrice) and Elizabeth Brisson (31 Jul 1837 S. Gervais, Bellechasse — 10 Dec 1917 S. Patrice).
- Patrick Jr Camden (3 Jul 1880 S. Patrice – 18 Oct 1951 Dorchester, Suffolk, Mass.) arrived in the USA in 1898 and m. Annie J Lynch (19 Aug 1887 S. Sylvestre – 15 Aug 1985 Dorchester, Suffolk) on 28 Feb 1908 in Brookline, Norfolk, Mass. She had emigrated in 1903. Norfolk Co. is the birthplace of American Presidents John Adams, John Quincy Adams, John F. Kennedy and George Herbert Walker Bush. Patrick Jr was a well-known Nash automobile dealer in Suffolk. He lived in 1930 and 1940 in a house in Boston valued at $8000 and $4500 respectively. Suffolk Co. includes Boston but not Medford or Watertown. Nash Automobiles (1916-1954) became American Motors in 1954. American Motors was acquired by Chrysler in 1987. Before entering the automobile business Patrick Jr was an engineer on the Mount Washington (NH) Cog Railway for several years. On p. 60 of The Mount Washington Cog Railway, there is a photo of Patrick Jr Camden, then track inspector, sliding down the cog railway during 60th anniversary celebrations in 1929. Patrick was also called Patrick P. or Patrick Peter. Patrick Jr and Annie J had three children between 1911 and 1917 and two grandchildren (24).
- James Camden (~1885 S. Patrice – 2 Nov 1966 S. Germaine, QC) m. Celina Fabiola Breton (30 Apr 1892 S. Séverin or S. Jean-de-Québec — ) on 28 Oct 1912 in S. Séverin. They had two childrenand four grandchildren (25). James lived on S. David range of S. Patrice in 1945 (was he the neighbor of his brother John?). Of their two children, one moved to Montreal while the other, Patrick (1918-2008), stayed in S. Patrice, presumably inherited the farm and became the father of Lewis Camden (17 Mar 1953 S. Patrice – ), who was member of parliament from 1985 to 1994 (Lotbinière) and mayor of S. Patrice from 2009 to 2013. The parents of Celina Fabiola were Alphonse Breton (18 Nov 1865 S. Elzéar — 9 Mar 1927 S. Séverin) and Celina Laplante (11 May 1868 “S. Séverin”, i.e. an area of S. Sylvestre which became S. Séverin in 1871 — ).
b) Marie Bridget (Mary) Boyce-Gagné (21 May 1844 S. Elzéar but baptized in S. Marie, Beauce — 16 Mar 1883 S. Patrice) m. Pierre Gagné(10 Aug 1847 S. Sylvestre – ?) on 21 Nov 1871 in S. Patrice in the presence of Catherine Boyce and Honoré Larivière, and died 29 days after giving birth to Alexis William. Of their two children for whom we have sufficient information, one moved to West Virginia and the other to Berlin, NH. Mary and Pierre had 7 children between 1872 and 1883, 25 grandchildren and at least 16 great-grandchildren, but they lost four of their seven children between 1878 and 1887; Mary’s uncle James Loughery lost four of his nine children between 1876 and 1888 (and five between 1876 and 1890). Mary’s seven children are:
- Mary-Ann Gagné(19 Aug 1872 S. Patrice – 21 Aug 1887 idem);
- Suzanne Adeline Gagné(22 Dec 1873 S. Patrice – 12 Feb 1943 Hambleton, Tucker, WV) m. Damase (David) Vachon (Aug 1873 S. Elzear, Beauce – 31 Aug 1949 Tucker) on 2 Sep 1896. They lived in Milan, Coos, NH from 1897 to 1899 and had moved to Tucker by 1900. West Virginia separated from Virginia in 1861. Suzanne had an 8th grade education and Damase was a Mill mechanic in 1920. In 1940 they lived in a house valued at $800. They had 14 children between 1897 and 1921 and at least 12 grandchildren (26).
- Joseph Peter Gagné(10 Jul 1875 S. Patrice – Aug 1966 Berlin, Coos, NH) m. Rose Carrier (Jun 1875 Canada – 30 May 1943 Berlin, NH) on 3 Jun 1895 in Berlin. They had 11 children between 1894 and 1914, and at least 4 grandchildren (27).
- Jean-Baptiste Gagné(6 Oct 1876 S. Patrice – 17 Feb 1878 idem).
- Peter Michael Gagné(11 Sep 1878 idem – 7 Mar 1880 idem).
- Infant (12 Jun 1880 idem – 12 Jun 1880 idem
- Alexis William Gagné(17 Feb 1883 idem – ).
c) Michael Boyce(4 Mar 1846 S. Elzéar but baptized in S. Marie, Beauce – 1 Dec 1901 Kings Co., NY) spent some time in 1870 in Bangor Maine as a clothes salesman marketing his uncle Michael’s professionally tailored suits and dresses, but resided in S. Elzéar in 1871. He m. Sharon A. (Apr 1848 Ashburn Park, NJ — ) around 1879 in Asbury Park, Monmouth, New Jersey and resided there in 1900. They had one daughter: Grace (Jan 1884 Asbury Park, Monmouth, NJ — ).
d) Catherine Boyce(31 Jan 1848 S. Elzéar, Beauce – 1 May 1933 Quebec City) became a nun. She lived in S. Elzéar until at least 1881 and in Quebec city from 1891 till her death.
e) Patrick Boyce(30 Nov 1849 S. Elzéar, Beauce – 1 Mar 1942 Everett, Snohomish, Wash., 40 km north of Seattle) is an adventurer who bought land in Washington state two years before the territory became a state in 1889, and who struck virtual gold in British Columbia, as the following biography indicates: ”Patrick A Boyce, one of the substantial farmers of Snohomish county (Washington), has had a wide and varied experience in various parts of the country and has done his fair share in the development of this locality. (…) he is the son of Owen and Bridget (Loghry) Boyce, the former a native of Ireland, and the latter of Ireland and Scotland. [Patrick A Boyce] is of Irish, English, and Scottish descent and has exemplified in his own makeup the sterling qualities of these nations.” This indirectly suggests that Mary Patton was born in Scotland or had Scottish parents. ”There was no schoolin the locality where Patrick A Boyce was reared, therefore he was deprived of that advantage but has made up for it in later life by much reading and close observation of men and events, so that he is well informed on a wide range of subjects. He remained at home until about 17 years of age, when he went to Maine (~1866) and spent a year in the woods. Then, after a short stay at home, he went to Bethlehem, NH, where he spent two years in the woods (~1867-1869). He next worked on the Mount Washington Cog Railroad, being employed about a year as a section hand, and afterwards for eight years in the machine shop at the base of the mountain (~1869-1878). The railroad was in operation only during the summer months, so he spent his winters at Bethlehem, NH where he was employed as a millwright. Eventually, he became master mechanic on the Mount Washington Railroad, retaining that position two years (~1879-1881), and then for two years he had charge of the mechanical equipment of an extensive private establishment in Florida (~1881-1883?).” But he was mentioned as residing in S. Elzéar in the 1881 census. This suggests a fair degree of back and forth movement between 1867 and 1881 and no permanent US residency over this period. “In 1885 he went to Mount Vernon, Wash., here he spent the winter, and then removed to Snohomish, Wash., where he was employed by Blackman Brothers two years. About 1887 he and his brother, Peter E Boyce, bought 500 acres of marshland, 250 acres being the present home of Mr Boyce. Patrick A Boyce followed mining for twenty years, having worked in the woods until 1897 (~1888-1897), when he went to Dawson, Yukon, where he established himself in business as a machinist. In 1901 he returned to the States and bought mining machinery, which he took to Yukon and cleaned up a good claim, which he later sold. From 1904 until World War I he was mining for gold in British Columbia, and during his work there learned of a molybrite claim, which he investigated and developed. He had demonstrated its value and had closed a deal through which he was to receive one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for it. At that time, however, the United States entered the War and Canada shut off the export of molybrite, and the deal, which was with New York parties, fell through. Mr Boyce did no mining during the war and thus lost his claim to the property, not understanding that it was necessary for him to maintain its active operation. In 1922 he returned to his place in Snohomish, Wash. to which he has since devoted his attention. At one time he had a bad fire in the marshland, which he fought for 35 days, and the gas and poisoned air so affected him that he was confined to a sanatorium for some time. He now has about 100 acres of his land cleared, the remaining being good pasture, but rents the place. In former years Mr Boyce served as a member of the French Creek School Board. He was formerly a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Snohomish, and is now an active member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons there, belonging to the Blue Lodge Chapter and Commandery. He is a man of splendid personal qualities, genial and friendly, and throughout this community he is held in the highest measure of regard.“ Source: Whitfield, William, ed. History of Snohomish County, Washington. 2 volumes. Chicago: Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, 1926. (NW 979.771 WHITFIELD), Pages 785 and 786.
f) John Owen Boyce(15 Nov 1851 S. Elzéar, Beauce – 8 Oct 1926 Lower Websterville, Washington, VT) m. Mary Goils(Jennie Cecilia) O’Connors (19 Jul 1855 S. Sylvestre – 16 May 1936 Larchmont, Westchester, NY) on 22 May 1883 in S. Séverin. The parents of Mary Goils are James O’Connors and Rose Ann Burke. Most O’Connors descend from Conchobhar, King of Connacht (?-971). There are many illustrious O’Connors in Irish history. Mary and John Owen lived in S. Elzéar until 22 Aug 1896, when they emigrated to Websterville, VT with their six children. For comparison, the Laughrea or McGee grandchildren of PATRICK who emigrated did it between 1877 and 1894 while the migrant children of PATRICK moved between 1870 and 1891. John Owen lived in Lower Websterville from 1914 to his death. John Owen was a farmer and quarryman in Vermont. Barre, Graniteville, Websterville, Lower Websteville, Berlin, Northfield and Fayston will be inhabited by many descendants of Bridget. These towns are located within eight km of each other, near highway 89, just south of Montpelier. John Owen and Mary Goils had 9 children between 1884 and 1902, 23 grandchildren, 83 great-grandchildren and at least 139 (g.)2-grandchildren.
- Rose Ann Boyce (23 Dec 1884 S. Elzéar – 18 Oct 1933 Barre, Washington, VT) m. William Donahue (8 Jun 1884 S. George, Charlotte NB – 14 Oct 1933 Lower Websterville, VT) on 5 Oct 1908 in Websterville, VT. They lived in Barre, VT at least from 1910 to 1930. William was a granite quarryman in 1930, living in a house valued at $3500. Rose-Ann and William were struck by a car on 14 Oct 1933 and died within four days. They had 11 children between 1909 and 1925, 39 grandchildren and at least 72 great-grandchildren (28).
- John Owen Boyce (13 Aug 1886 S. Elzéar – 19 Jan 1950 North Smithfield, Providence, R.I.) m. Annie E. Handfield (17 Sep 1889 Providence, Providence R.I. — 21 Feb 1979 Woonsocket, Providence R.I.) on 7 Jan 1913 in Woonsocket. They lived in Woonsocket from 1913 to 1935 and in North Smithfield from 1940 to his death. They had no children. In 1940 John Owen was superintendent of maintenance in a machine shop, living in a house valued at $6500 and earning $2870 for 52 weeks of work at 50h/week. He had a 7th grade elementary education.
- James Patrick Boyce (5 Jan 1888 S. Elzéar – 5 Nov 1976 Seattle, Wash.) lived in Websterville VT from 1896 to 1920 and m. Marion Elizabeth Funk (27 Apr 1898 Monroe, Snohomish, Wash. – 22 Mar 1981 Seattle, Wash.) on 19 Jan 1925 in Monroe, Snohomish, Wash. They stayed in Seattle thereafter and had 3 children between 1926 and 1932, 16 grandchildren and at least 22 great-grandchildren (29).
- Bridget Boyce (13 Jan 1890 S. Elzéar – Sep 1957 Larchmont, Westchester, NY) lived in Westchester Co., NY, from 1920 to her death. In 1940 she was an executive in a construction firm and lived in a house valued at $8000 in Mamaroneck, Westchester NY. Mamaroneck and Larchmont are half way between Bronx NY and Greenwich CT. Bridget remained single. She had a 2nd year high school education.
- Michael Peter Boyce (16 Jul 1891 S. Elzéar – 15 Nov 1895 idem). His godmother was Catherine Laughrea. He was reburied in Barre VT on 13 Dec 1896.
- Catherine Boyce (22 Oct 1893 S. Elzéar — 19 Jul 1950 Hartford CT) remained single for a long time, living with her widowed mother in 1930, but was considered married in 1950.
- William Thomas Boyce Sr (4 Jul 1895 S. Elzéar – 7 Mar 1961 Bayside, Queens, New York City, NY) lived at home in 1920 and worked as an engineer on a steam hoist in the granite quarries. He m. Margaret Mary Porter (20 Feb 1900 Boston, Mass. – Feb 1976 Flushing, Queens, NY) on 15 May 1924 in Jersey City, Hudson, NJ. He was a mechanic in 1930 and 1940. He lived in Bayside, Queens NY at least from 1928 to his death. In 1930 and 1940 his house was valued at $8000 and $4000, respectively. He had an 8th grade elementary education. They had 5 children between 1925 and 1936, 17 grandchildren and at least 32 great-grandchildren (30).
- Helen Margaret Boyce (20 Dec 1897 Websterville, VT – 9 Nov 1992 Reedsburg, Sauk, Wisc.) m. Michael J. Campbell (8 Apr 1892 S. Pierre de Broughton – 28 Feb 1961 West Hartford, CT), nephew of Ellen Laughrea (1877-1909), on 14 Aug 1922 in Graniteville, VT. Helen Margaret had a 4th year high school education. Michael J. had a 2nd year high school education. In 1940 he lived in a $6500 house, working as a watchman and earning $1080 per year for 50 weeks of work at 42h/week. They lived in West Hartford at least from 1930 to 1971 and had one child: Joan L (11 Jul 1942 West Hartford, CT – ) m. George Donnie Oechsle (9 Feb 1933 Louisville, Jefferson, KY – ) on 29 Apr 1967 in West Hartford, CT and had one child: Shane K (6 Aug 1970 – ). Ten years after the death of Michael J. Campbell, Helen Margaret m. Joseph Cyril Rourke (21 Mar 1885 West Hartford, CT – 11 Jan 1979 idem) on 18 Nov 1971 in West Hartford.
Michael J. Campbell is son of James Campbell (23 Dec 1851 S. Gilles, Lotbinière — 2 Apr 1933 S. Agathe, Lotbinière) and Sarah McCaffrey (26 Sep 1862 S. Sylvestre — 17 Jan 1937 Biggar, Saskatchewan). James and Sarah m. in 1880 in West Broughton, lived in S. Pierre de Broughton in 1881, Thetford North from 1891 to 1901, Thetford Mines in 1911, and had moved to Biggar, Saskatchewan by 1916. Sarah is sister-in-law of Ellen Laughrea (1877-1909) and daughter of Owen McCaffrey (~1823 Tyrone, Ireland — 19 Sep 1913 Portland, Maine) and Margaret Johnston (~ 1836 Fermanagh, Ireland —12 Jan 1896 West Broughton). For details, see “The McCaffrey connection” in Chapter Eight. The municipality of Thetford North included what will become in 1909 Pontbriand, Robertsonville and Sacré-Coeur-de-Marie. Thetford North ceased to exist in 1909.
- Henry Joseph Boyce (25 Feb 1902 Websterville, VT – 20 May 1989 Berlin, Washington, VT) was an “engineer” working an “electric hoist” in the granite quarries in 1920, an employee of the Barre and Chelsea Railroad in 1924, a locomotive engineer on the Montpelier/Wells River Railroad in 1927, a quarryman in 1930, an auto mechanic from 1933 to 1942, a Navy shipyard worker in Quincy, Norfolk, Mass. from 1942 to 1946 and a laborer at the Rock of Ages Corporation of Graniteville from 1947 to 1968. He had an 8th grade elementary education. He m. Laura Mary Murphy (8 Aug 1903 Barre, VT – 15 Nov 2001 Berlin, VT) on 29 Jun 1925 in Barre. They lived in Barre at least from 1927 to 1942 and from 1946 to 1987. In 1930 they lived in a house valued at $3800; there was no radio station in the house. In 1940 they lived in a house valued at $3500 and he earned $1200 for 40 weeks of work at 54h/week. From 1942 to 1946 he resided in Dorchester, Norfolk, Mass. He spent his last five months at the Berlin convalescent home after suffering from cancer. Laura Mary continued to live in Barre until Apr 2001. She spent the last six months of her life in Berlin, plausibly at the same convalescent home as Henry Joseph. They had 3 children between 1926 and 1929, 12 grandchildren, among whom Tom Boyce (1956 — ), and at least 16 great-grandchildren (31).
g) James Boyce(29 Sep 1853 S. Elzéar, Beauce – 25 Mar 1935 Websterville, VT) lived at home in S. Elzéar in 1881 and in S. Séveri in 1891 and 1901. But he visited VT at least in 1885 and 1890 and he was a brakeman at the Cog Railroadof Mount Washington in 1900. He was employed at Wetmore and Morse Granite in 1910 and lived in Websterville from 1910 to his death. He has been a permanent resident of the USA at least since 1910. In 1935 he was a retired New Hampshire Cog railroad man and farmer.
h) William Henry Boyce (1 Nov 1855 S. Elzéar – 4 Feb 1856 idem).
i) Susan Boyce-O’Connor(29 Dec 1856 S. Elzéar – 7 Jun 1933 Websterville, Washington, VT, from diabetic coma). Her godparents were Bernard Loughry (1835-1914) and Ann Loughry (1839-1925). She m. James O’Connor(16 Apr 1846 S. Sylvestre – 6 Feb 1899 Barre, VT) on 7 Nov 1882 in S. Elzéar. Her witnesses were Patrick O’Connor and Margaret Laughrey (1858-1947). Her cousin Susan Boyce (1852-1924) m. Patrick O’Connor (1856-1917). To distinguish between the two Susan Boyce-O’Connors in the family, the taller one was called “Big Susan”. Susan apparently shuttled back and forth between Vermont and S. Sylvestre between summer 1887 and summer 1891: she was in S. Sylvestre with her third child Mary Helen on 14 Apr 1891 but Mary Helen arrived in the USA in 1887, and Susan’s fourth child John was born in 1888 in VT. She resided in Websterville VT at least from 1892 to her death. Big Susan and James O’Connor had 6 children between 1883 and 1895, 23 grandchildren, 56 great-grandchildren and at least 37 -g.-grandchildren:
- Joseph William James O’Connor (2 Dec 1883 S. Séverin – Mar 1928 New Haven, CT) resided in S. Séverin in Apr 1891 and in Websterville in 1900.
- Pete O’Connor (27 Apr 1885 S. Séverin – 27 Apr 1947 East Barre, VT) lived in Websterville from 1900 to 1930 and in East Barre from 1940 to his death. In 1940 he was a crane operator earning $1200 for 50 weeks of work at 40h/week. He had a 5th grade education, m. Lula Edna Nye (21 Sep 1890 East Barre, VT – 1 Oct 1987 Berlin, VT) on 5 Jun 1911 in Graniteville, Washington, VT and had 6 children between 1912 and 1927, 22 grandchildren and at least 18 great-grandchildren (32).
- Mary Helen O’Connor (7 Apr 1887 S. Séverin – 29 Aug 1967 Old Saybrook, Middlesex, CT) m. Thomas Nerney (14 Jan 1867 Fayston, Washington, VT – 16 Sep 1934 Websterville, VT) in 1903 at the age of 16. Mary Helen arrived in VT in 1887 and again in 1898. They had 5 children between 1908 and 1922 and at least 5 grandchildren (33).
- John O’Connor(10 Aug 1888 Websterville, Washington, VT – 25 Jan 1892 idem).
- Anna Rose (Annie) O’Connor(25 Sep 1892 Websterville, VT – 16 Dec 1983 Colchester, Chittenden, VT) m. Joseph Gerald Cleary (13 Jul 1887 S. Basile Sud, Portneuf, Quebec – 3 Mar 1965 Colchester, Chittenden, VT) on 1 Aug 1911 in Graniteville VT. The Clearys and O’Clearys descend from Cleirach, who was of the line of Guaire the Hospitable, King of Connacht. Nowadays, many Clearys and O’Clearys are found in Donegal and Derry. Joseph was a quarryman in 1920 and a derrick man earning $1340 for 40 weeks of work in 1940. They lived in Barre at least from 1920 to 1940. They owned a $2000 house in 1940. Both had a 4th grade elementary education. They had 9 children between 1912 and 1930, 19 grandchildren and at least 7 great-grandchildren (34).
- Margaret Katherine O’Connor(25 Jun 1895 Websterville, VT – Dec 1971 New Haven, CT) m. William Joseph O’Brien (28 Aug 1896 New Haven, CT – 8 Jan 1975 idem). The O’Briens descend from King Brian Boru (941-1041). Margaret and Joseph had 3 children between 1922 and 1930, 10 grandchildren and at least 12 great-grandchildren (35).
j) Bridget Boyce(3 May 1859 S. Elzéar – 13 Jan 1877 idem) died of accidental drowning by suspicious means.
k) Peter E. Boyce(26 Jun 1864 S. Elzéar – 4 Aug 1922 Monroe, Snohomish, Wash., 35 km northwest of Seattle) arrived in Snohomish ~1884, became a rancher and a highly successful placer miner during the Klondyke (Yukon)and Nome (Alaska) Gold Rushes of 1896 to 1909. Up to two years before the territory became a state, he, along with his brother Patrick A. Boyce (1849-1942), purchased vast tracts of land in Snohomish and Monroe, Wash., and lived wealthy lives. Peter m. Margaret Genevieve Reilly (16 Oct 1869 Iowa – 13 Oct 1960 Fresno, Fresno, Cali.) on 25 Jan 1893 in Snohomish, Wash. The names Reilly and O’Reilly originate from Cavan in Ulster. Peter and Margaret lived some time in Fresno Cali. between 1896 and 1915 and had two children:
- Catherine Genevieve (Geneva) Boyce (5 Nov 1893 Snohomish, Wash. – 22 Nov 1896 Fresno, Cali.).
- Eugene Patrick Boyce (7 Mar 1895 Monroe, Snohomish, Wash. – 29 Oct 1980 Fresno, Cali.) joined the army for one year in 1917, was a manager in a fuel business in 1930 and lived all his adult life in Fresno, Cali..
l) William H. Boyce(10 Aug 1865 S. Elzéar – 9 May 1866 idem) was born ten years after the first William H. (1855-1856), hence perhaps the identical names.
There are Boyles but no Boyces on the 1876/79 S. Sylvestre map of Steven Cameron, consistent with the vast majority of Boyces living in S. Elzéar.
The population of Coos County peaked at 39,000 in 1940 and slowly declined ever since. The present population (in 2016) is the same as in 1910. The population never grew more than between 1870 and 1900. In the 2010 census, 17% of the population claimed Irish ancestry and another 17% claimed French ancestry. The motto of New Hampshire is “Live Free or Die”.
Generation four. The nine children of BERNARD Laughrea (1835-1914) and Cecilia Sullivan (1836-1901), and their descendants.
BERNARD and Cecilia had six sons and three daughters (John, Patrick, Mary, Michael, Thomas, Cecilia, James, Peter and Ellen). Michael and James moved to the USA before the age of 22 and married before the age of 27. John, Patrick, Thomas and Peter stayed in S. Pierre de Broughton. None married except my grandfather, who can be counted as almost a bachelor since he m. at the age of 46. The three daughters married. Mary moved to Minnesota at the age of 19 while Cecilia and Ellen stayed in S. Pierre de Broughton. Mary, Michael, Cecilia and James had their first child in 1895/96.
a) JOHN Laughrea (2 Apr 1860 S. Elzéar – 14 Aug 1946 Thetford Mines), my grandfather. His godparents were James Laughrey and his wife Ann Gallagher. JOHN is 100% Irish by his four grandparents, named Loughry, Patton, Sullivan and Prendergast. Loughry is a north-west Irish name, Patton is a Scottish name, Sullivan is a south-west Irish name and Pendergast is a south-east Irish name of Norman Assuming my 1.2% scandinavian genetic background, as defined by 23andme, comes from my Irish side, JOHN would also be 4.8% scandinavian. JOHN spent the first fourteen years of his life in S. Elzéar, very near Killarney Road of S. Sylvestre and S. Séverin, the next 47 years (1875 to 1922) in the Leeds East section of S. Pierre de Broughton, two years in S. Sylvestre (1922-1924) while keeping the farm in Leeds East, and the rest of his life in Thetford Mines. He spent at least some seasonal time in the USA before marrying Marie Elodie (Lydia) Cyr (18 Jun 1882 West Broughton part of S. Pierre de Broughton — 26 Oct 1977 Thetford Mines) in S. Pierre de Broughton on 10 Jun 1906. Witnesses were Moïse Cyr and Bernard Laughrea. JOHN and siblings Patrick (1861), Mary (1864), Michael (1866) and Cecilia (1870) were not listed in the 1891 census, but the others were. Mary and Michael were absent because they had already emigrated. JOHN spent time in Leeds East in 1890 to construct a roughly 13 by 20 feet extension to BERNARD’s house.
JOHN and Lydia had 3 children between 1914 and 1920, 9 grandchildren between 1938 and 1959, and at least 20 great-grandchildren and 9 (g.)2-grandchildren. Their children died at 76 on average: 65 (Gérard), 91 (Lucillle) and 71 (Patrick). Details on the descendants of JOHN and Lydia are in Chapter Nine. BERNARD and his two oldest sons JOHN and Patrick had three adjacent farms on the Palmer side of the hill separating the Palmer River from the East Palmer River. Laughrea Road (“Route des Laughrea”) starts at the East Palmer River and successively crosses each farm: BERNARD’s, next Patrick’s and next JOHN’s. When JOHN had a taste for trout, he would walk down to the Palmer River, which his lot almost reached, fish downstream for 1.7 km until it meets the East Palmer River, fish upstream the East Palmer for 1.5 km until Laughrea Road and walk up the road for 800 m until the third house, the first two being BERNARD’s and Patrick’s. He also killed a deer from his kitchen.
Road cross on Laughrea Road. To celebrate their marriage, JOHN and Lydia erected in 1906 a road cross on Patrick’s section of Laughrea Road. A wide family celebration which I remember attending was held in 1956 for the 50th anniversary of the cross. The first road cross of Megantic county was erected in 1884 in S. Pierre de Broughton.
Grocery store, Leeds East school board, and Thetford. JOHN owned a grocery store in S. Sylvestre within the years 1906-1924. It was located at the northeast corner of Main and Côté streets, in front of the presbytery. Lydia worked hard both in the store and on the farm, which may explain why her first three pregnancies resulted in miscarriages or early deaths of newborns. Even though he was without viable children before 1914, JOHN was president of the Leeds East school board from 1910 to 1915. JOHN and Lydia moved to S. Sylvestre in 1922, perhaps to facilitate schooling for their children, and to Thetford Mines in 1924. Gérard attended school from 1920 to 1926 and Lucille from 1923 to 1927. JOHN sold his farm in 1929. Lydia manufactured felt hats at home both in S. Sylvestre and Thetford Mines. In Thetford, JOHN worked for the Royal Bank until he was 80. He was paid $20 a month. His job involved some cleaning and maintaining the furnace in cold weather. Between 1938 and 1948, their street address was 25 S. Charles street, one street north of Notre-Dame street. They may have lived near the corner of S. Joseph and S. Charles street. S. Charles street has been renamed Gangeau in 2001 when the municipalities of Black Lake, Robertsonville, Pontbriand and Thetford South merged with Thetford Mines. The inscription on JOHN’s tombstone in Thetford Mines reads “John Laughera, époux de Lydia Cyr”. Lydia spelled the name “Laughera”. My father Patrick (1920-1991) did the same until he was 20 years old. Around 1967 Lydia still spelled the name “Laughera”. When she gave me the S. Pierre de Broughton book, she wrote under the cover page: “ce livre appartient à Michael fils de Pat Laughera”.
The Cyr connection. Lydia (1882-1977) is the daughter of Richard Cyr (2 May 1833 S. Marie, Beauce – 30 Apr 1889 S. Pierre de Broughton) and Celina Caron (18 Jul 1836 Québec city — before 1906). They m. on 1 May 1855 in S. Sylvestre. Richard settled on the 10th range of Broughton in 1854, ranking him among the pioneers of S. Pierre de Broughton. He worked in various mines (Harvey Hill, Capelton, Black Lake), lost an arm in 1878 while working at Harvey Hill copper mine (S. Pierre de Broughton), and died eleven years later. Lydia was only nine years old. This means that my three French-Canadian grandparents lost their fathers between the ages of five and fourteen and one lost his mother at thirteen. Harvey Hill and Capelton were important copper mines respectively open from 1856 to 1903 and 1863 to 1907. Richard’s sons Joseph and Louis-Richard also worked as miners. In 1871 Richard rented a house on the 11th range of Broughton (Chapter Six). The 10th and 11th ranges are separated by the 11th range Road.
The 9 siblings of Lydia Cyr. Lydia was 12.5 years younger than the youngest of her nine siblings who lived longer than one day. Lydia’s mother was 46 years old when Lydia was born. Lydia’s nine siblings are:
- Celina (Célanire) (23 Mar 1856 S. Pierre de Broughton but baptised on 9 Apr in S. Sylvestre — 10 Jun 1897 Sacré Coeur de Marie or S. Antoine de Pontbriand, QC) m. Georges Paradis (~1852 QC — ) on 24 Jan 1876 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had at least two children: Joseph Georges (25 Nov 1876 S. Pierre de Broughton — ?) and Alexandre (~1881).
- Delina (Delvina) (24 Nov 1857 S. Pierre de Broughton — 26 Mar 1892 Thetford Mines) m. Olivier Turcotte (~1862 — ) on 9 Aug 1880 in S. Pierre de Broughton (West Broughton).
- Marie Zéline (Adeline) (2 Feb 1859 S. Pierre de Broughton — 25 Sep 1934 Thetford Mines) m. Stanislas Hébert on 28 Mar 1883 in Lennoxville, QC.
- Moïse (19 Mars 1860 S. Pierre de Broughton — 8 Mar 1940 idem) owned a lot on the 13th range of Broughton very near BERNARD’s 12th range lot. He m. Modeste Poulin(1858 — 18 Sep 1950) on 9 Aug 1880 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had nine children: Joseph (died young), Onésime (m. Alma Fortier in 1911), Louis-Richard (m. Valéda Fecteau in 1912 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had 17 children), Moise-Albert (m. Emilienne Vachon in S. Pierre de Broughton), Kilda (m. Francis Lavallière), Georgiana (~1888; she m. Hilaire Hébert), Rose-Anna (m. Alphonse Pomerleau), Marie-Anne (died young) and Malvina (m. Wilfrid Morissette). In the 1891 census, the household listed immediately above Bernard Laughrea’s was Joseph and Ann Ford’s household. The next one was the household of Moïse and Modeste Cyr.
- Louis (25 Jun 1862 S. Pierre de Broughton — 18 Oct 1863 idem).
- Joseph (14 Sep 1863 S. Pierre de Broughton – 15 Jul 1893 Biddeford, Maine, from fracture of the skull) m. Eugenie Bergeron (11 Apr 1865 S. Flavien, Lotbinière — 9 Aug 1947 Sherbrooke) on 20 Apr 1885 in Lennoxville QC. They resided in Capelton in 1888 and Black Lake in 1891. Joseph was a mine worker in 1888 in the Capelton copper mine near North Hatley. Joseph and Eugénie had three sons: 1) Thetford dentist Oliva Cyr (30 Aug 1888 Capelton, near Lennoxville – 20 Nov 1980 Sherbrooke), who is thus cousin of my father Patrick (1920-1991). 2) Antonio (9 Aug 1890 Thetford Mines — 21 Nov 1898 Sherbrooke); 3) Joseph (~1893 — 20 Feb 1939 Montreal).
- Georgiana (16 May 1865 S. Pierre de Broughton — 13 Jan 1885 Capelton, buried in S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Paul Gardner on 28 Jan 1884 in Lennoxville at the age of eighteen.
- Marie Sarah (Mary) (24 May 1867 S. Pierre de Broughton — 23 Apr 1911 Black Lake) m. Hermenegilde Belcourt (23 Jun 1858 Baie du Febvre, Yamaska — 12 Feb 1929 Hôtel-Dieu of Québec City) on 19 Jan 1885 in Lennoxville at the age of seventeen. The history of Joseph, Georgiana and Mary suggests that Richard (1833-1889) might have worked around Capelton in 1884/85 despite his missing arm.
- Louis-Richard (22 Dec 1869 S. Pierre de Broughton – 15 Sep 1940 Thetford Mines) discovered soapstone deposits in 1923 in the 11th and 15th ranges of S. Pierre de Broughton. In 1924 he founded the Broughton Soapstone Quarry, which employed 75 people at its peak. It was the most important soapstone mine in Quebec in 1944 but closed in 1976. Louis-Richard managed and administered the company for many years. The famous Christ the Redeemer of Rio de Janeiro is made of soapstone. Louis-Richard started as a miner in Harvey Hill mine, became a foreman in a Black Lake mine and helped exploit a Chromium mine in Coleraine between 1914 and 1918, accumulating some capital. After the war he became prospector and discovered soapstone in 1923. He married three times: Léa Langlois on 13 Feb 1899 in Black Lake (one witness was his brother-in-law Hermenegilde Belcourt); Marie Bilodeau on 1 Mar 1924 in Thetford Mines and Amanda Morin in 1938 in Thetford Mines. From his first marriage, he had a daughter, Juliette, who m. Charles Latimer. Louis-Richard was baptized Richard. He may have been commonly called Louis-Richard to distinguish him from his father.
Oliva Cyr, cousin and benefactor of my father. Oliva Cyr (1888-1980) was échevin (city councillor) of Thetford Mines from 1924 to 1926 (1923 to 1929 according to La Tribune of 25 Feb 1967), mayor of Thetford Mines from 1929 to 1931, president of the Thetford School Board from 1948 to 1950 and 1951 to 1954, and Conservative candidate at the Canadian elections of 1949 (he ran 2nd with 30% of the vote). He married Wilhemine Gagnon (20 Mar 1880 S. Roch des Aulnaies — 3 Apr 1958 Thetford Mines) on 24 Nov 1913 in Quebec city and his step-cousin Marie-Reine Trudeau (24 May 1902 Sherbrooke — 11 Dec 1986 idem) on 16 Jan 1960 in Montreal. He was my pro bono dentist from 1956 to 1977, i.e. from the ages of 68 to 89. He lent me a short genealogical tree of the Cyr family. When Oliva was eleven years old, his mother m. Georges Harton (Hartung in Germany) on 9 Jul 1900 and had five more children. A sister of Georges Harton is the mother of Marie-Reine Trudeau. Thus Oliva and Marie-Reine are step-cousins because the step-grandfather of Oliva is the grandfather of Marie-Reine. Marie-Reine was previously married to Harold J. Hayes (1899-1948). She and Harold are the parents of Margaret Hayes. Oliva attended primary school at Les Frères du Sacré-Coeur of Sherbrooke and classical studies at Séminaire de Sherbrooke. He studied dentistry at the University of Montreal (then called Laval University at Montreal), graduated in 1912 and started practicing in Thetford Mines the same year. On 29 Sep 1962, the Société Dentaire des Cantons de l’Est celebrated the 50th anniversary of dental practice of Oliva Cyr. The entrance cost was $5. Oliva’s greatest disappointment in life was that three of his four sons refused to get an education. My father was for him the son he wished he would have had. This might explain part of his assistance to my father. My father could effectively pass for a son of Oliva because he was born in 1920 and Oliva’s sons were born in 1917 (Gaétan), 1919 (Paul André), 1920 (Benoit) and 1922 (Laurent Marc). As a student, Oliva was himself sponsored by Dr. Forest DDS, of Sherbrooke. Oliva worked for him as a young apprentice around 1906. Dr. Forest recognized his talent and offered to contribute to his tuition. Oliva was from the beginning an important shareholder in the soapstone quarry of his uncle Louis-Richard.
The ancestors of Lydia Cyr: a great explorer, Acadians, and many pioneers
- Lydia is 25% Acadianthrough her g.-g.-grandfather Pierre Cyr (1737 Acadia- ?) who was 100% Acadian and left Acadia for New France in 1755.
- All her European ancestors arrived in New France during the 17th century.Lydia descends from at least 24 pioneers who landed in New France before 1640 and at least six pioneers who landed in Acadia before 1640. One of them is explorer Jean Nicolet (~1598 Cherbourg, Normandy — 1642 Quebec City), who discovered Lake Superior, Lake Michigan, Green Bay and Lake Winnebago in Wisc.. He occupies the 3rd rank among explorers of New France, after Jacques Cartier and Samuel de Champlain. Nicolet River, between the Bécancour and S. Francis Rivers, bears his name. Another ancestor is Jean Guyon (1592 Tourouvre, Normandy —1663 Beauport, Quebec), ancestor of Céline Dion, professor Foreign Affairs minister Stéphane Dion and US secretary of state Hillary Clinton. A third ancestor is Abraham Martin (1589 Dieppe, Normandy — 1664 Québec City), the second settler of New France. The Plains of Abraham of Quebec City are named in his honor. His son Eustache was the first person baptized in New France. Lydia told us she was the cousin of Louis Cyr, reputed to be the strongest man in History, but I have found no evidence for this connection.
- Lydia is 195% native American through her (g.)7-grandmother Jeanne Nipissing, wife of Jean Nicolet. Jeanne was an Algonquin living on Lake Nipissing in Ontario. She and Nicolet had a girl in 1628, Madeleine Nicolet, who is the (g.)6-grandmother of Lydia. Nicolet arrived in Quebec City in 1618. He lived among the Algonquins of Allumette Island, on the Ottawa River, from 1618 to 1620, and among the Algonquins of Lake Nipissing and Lake Huron from 1620 to 1629. He played a key role in the fur trade and in fostering peace between Algonquins and Iroquois.
- 71% of Lydia’s European ancestors come from Normandy and a 100 km radius from La Rochelle, 7% come from Paris and 6 % from Picardy.
For more details, consult “Généalogie et Histoire des ancêtres de Lydia Cyr (1882-1977), épouse de John Laughrea, et Annie Lachance (1889-1962), épouse de Tancrède Labbé (1887-1956)” at http://nodiffamation.com/2013/09/22/genealogie-and-histoire-des-ancetres-de-lydia-cyr-1880-1977-tancrede-labbe-1887-1956-et-annie-lachance-1888-1962/. Or try “généalogie histoire Lydia Cyr” on Google.
b) Patrick (22 Dec 1861 S. Elzéar – 5 May 1954 S. Pierre de Broughton) was a bachelor. His godparents were Michael Boyce and Ann Laughrey. He was city councillorin S. Pierre de Broughton. BERNARD, Patrick and JOHN had adjacent farms, from west to east along Laughrea Road. The houses of JOHN and Patrick no longer existed by the eartly 1960s. During his declining years, or perhaps before, Patrick joined Tom and Pete and lived in BERNARD’s house.
c) Anonymous (3 Dec 1863 S. Elzéar – 3 Dec 1863 idem)
d) Mary Laughrea-Kellow (18 Oct 1864 S. Elzéar but baptized in Lambton, Beauce — 19 Nov 1948 S. Paul, Ramsey, MN) arrived in the USA in 1885, m. Josiah S. Kellow(Nov 1867 Arran, North Bruce, Ontario — 13 Jul 1932 Ramsey Co., MN) on 5 Jun 1894 in S. Paul, MN and resided there for the rest of her life. She was a dress maker in 1940, owning a shop and living in a house valued at $5000. She had an 8th grade education. Mary and Josiah had two daughters: Hazel M. Kellow (Aug 1895 MN — after 1920) and Mabel Lucille Kellow (6 Jul 1899 S. Paul MN — 7 Sep 1981 idem). Lucille m. Edmund A. Granger (1877— after 1940) between 1931 and 1939.
e) Michael Laughrea(23 Nov 1866 S. Elzéar – 24 Aug 1944 Lancaster NH). His godparents were uncle Michael Boyce (2 Nov 1835 S. Marie — 30 May 1918 S. Sylvestre) and aunt Mary Sullivan (28 Dec 1839 S. Sylvestre — 20 Dec 1925 idem) (see section f of Chapter Five for more details). None of them could sign their name. Michael L. emigrated in 1885 or summer 1888 depending on the sources. He was a witness at a Canadian burial in Apr 1888, was not listed in the census of 1891 and was witness at the birth of Lucille Laughrea in 1917, indicating some degree of traveling back and forth. He had an 8th grade education. Lancaster is the first town north of Whitefield-Bethlehem, where uncles James Loughrey and Owen Loughrea, as well as cousin Michael Laughery (son of James), lived. Michael Laughrea married Margaret Morin(Jan 1875 Northumberland, Coos, NH — 23 Aug 1948 Lancaster, Coos, NH) on 14 Jun 1893 in Lancaster NH. Margaret’s parents were born in Canada. Michael lived in Lancaster in 1890, 1900, 1920, 1930 and 1940, and on High street of Lancaster at least from 1920 to 1940. In 1930 he worked as a clerk for the railroad industry. In 1940, at age 73, he worked ten weeks at 20h/week, earning $200 for general work. His house was valued at $4000 in 1930 (he had a radio) and $2000 in 1940. Michael and Margaret had six children and at least five Their four children of known lifespan died at 78.5 years on average: 86 (Geneviève), 50 (Esther), 84 (Beatrice) and 94 (Cecelia).
- Geneviève (25 Dec 1895 Lancaster — 10 Oct 1982 Cambridge, Mass) lived at home in 1920, m. George Willam Ewell (1886 NH — ) on 1 Jan 1927 in Webster, Mass. and lived in Winchester, Middlesex, Mass. at least from 1930 to 1940. They had two children: George M. (~1928 Mass. — ) and Ann (~1937 Mass. — ).
- Esther (Feb 1898 Lancaster NH – 10 Jul 1948 Concord City, Merrimack, NH) lived at home in 1940 and was single.
- Beatrice (18 Apr 1901 Lancaster – 9 Aug 1985 Molalla, Clackamas, Oregon) m. Pilgrim Bortolot (13 Mar 1891 Toppe Cadore, Italy — 19 Sep 1986 Molalla, Clackamas, Oregon) on 6 Nov 1926 in Lancaster NH. They lived in Norton, Essex, VT at least from 1928 to 1940. Norton is at the Quebec border, 25 km east of Stanstead and 25 km west of the Connecticut River. My father Patrick (1920 — 1991) wrote about “uncle Mike and Beatrice” in 1943. Beatrice and Pilgrim had two daughters:
a- Elizabeth Margaret Bortolot (7 Apr 1928 Norton, Essex, VT — 31 Mar 2014 Portland, Multnomah County, Oregon) m. Beverley Owen Salsbery on 19 Apr 1948 in Derby Line VT. In 1945 Pilgrime Bortolot and his family visited my father and my uncle Gérard Laughrea at Newport VT, near which my uncle had a cottage for a while. Elizabeth Margaret graduated that year, suggesting she may have studied at Stanstead College.
b- Patricia Catherine Bortolot (1929-?). My uncle Gérard Laughrea (1914-1979) wrote on 30 May 1945: “Beatrice et ses 2 filles ont été à Lancaster aujourd’hui pour mettre l’épitaphe de mon oncle Mike”.
- Catherine Cecelia (8 Jun 1910 NH – 10 Jul 2004 East Longmeadow, Hampden, Mass.) m. Hayden Spaulding Bradley(6 Apr 1899 Mass. — 4 Nov 1982 East Longmeadow, Mass.) on ? in ?. They resided in East Longmeadow from 1940 to their death. They had two children:
a- Hayden L. Bradley (~1936 Mass. —)
b- ? Bradley
- Homer W. Laughrey (1914-?) was listed as McCrea in the 1920 census and Laughrea in the 1930 census. He is probably a grandnephew of Michael.
- Bernard (1918-?)apparently did not marry. He lived at home in 1940.
f) Thomas (18 Nov 1868 S. Elzéar, but baptized in S. Marie – 8 Jan 1966 S. Pierre de Broughton) was a bachelor. He lived his whole adult life in Bernard’s house on Laughrea Road. When we visited him and Peter in the late 1950s and early 1960s, they would invariably serve us peppermints. They had no phone or radio but got a newspaper. There was one or two wagons in the barn. The long entrance path to the house was lined on each side by about seven large sugar maple trees.
g) Cecilia Laughrea-Custeau (8 Dec 1870 S. Elzéar – 14 Dec 1963 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. James Custeau (28 Jun 1870 S. Sylvestre – 9 Jun 1955 S. Pierre de Broughton)on 18 Sep 1894 in S. Pierre de Broughton. James’ parents are Jacques Custeau (16 Apr 1833 S. Marie, Beauce — 1 Jan 1922 S. Pierre de Broughton) and Bridget Boyce(25 Apr 1838 S. Marie, Beauce – 30 Jun 1906 S. Pierre de Broughton), who m. in S. Elzéar on 22 Oct 1860. James’ grandparents are Louis Custeau (~1800-?), Marie Josephite Belleau Larose (~1800 S. Marie — ), William Boyce (~1805 Kilteevogue, Stranorlar, Donegal – 7 Dec 1879 S. Elzéar, Beauce) and Annie McMonagle (~1812 Ireland — 30 Mar 1890 Frampton, Dorchester). William is brother-in-law of Bridget Loughrey (Chapters Five and Eleven). This means that Bridget Boyce and Cecilia Laughrea are nieces of John Owen Boyce (1817-1885) and Bridget Loughrey, one as daughter of William Boyce and the other as daughter of Bernard Laughrea. James Custeau had seven siblings who lived more than three years. They will generate many cousins of Albert Custeau, my father’s cousin, who inherited Cecilia’s farm and whom I knew well. These seven siblings are:
- Michael Custeau (1 Jan 1866 S. Sylvestre — 7 Dec 1941 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Mary Ann Monahan (Monaghan) (1872 S. Pierre de Broughton — 17 Feb 1953 idem) on 8 Oct 1895 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had eight children between 1896 and 1911 (section d of Chapter Eleven), among whom Joseph, Michael and Emma Ina Custeau (1898-2000), who m. Thomas John Gormley (1892-1952). Michael’s farm was at the corner of 1st range Road (“Route”) and 1st range “Chemin”, namely west of 1st range Road, south of 1st range “Chemin” and in the 1st range of Thetford township. Only 1st range Road separated his farm from that of his father Jacques.
- Joseph Custeau (4 Dec 1867 S. Pierre de Broughton — 3 May 1941 idem) had a farm on the 14th range of Leeds township, presumably very close to that of James Custeau. Joseph was a bachelor who loved hunting, fishing, reading, cooking and talking.
- Henry Custeau (1873 S. Elzéar — 16 Feb 1953 S. Brigid Home but buried in S. Pierre de Broughton) was a bachelor.
- Mary Ann Custeau (17 May 1877 S. Pierre de Broughton – 10 Apr 1960 Thetford Mines; buried in S. Pierre de Broughton) m. John Coarr(8 Apr 1880 S. Pierre de Broughton – 23 Apr 1942 Leeds East section of S. Pierre) on 6 Jul 1909 in S. Pierre de Broughton. They lived on lot 23, 15th range of Leeds, a lot touching the boundary of S. Sylvestre. John Coarr occupied all public posts in S. Pierre de Broughton except that of mayor. They had one child: Dorothy (27 Nov 1918 – after 2005) m. Gérard Goulet (~1909 QC — 1970 Thetford Mines) on 21 Sept 1944 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had 5 children all born in S. Pierre de Broughton: Robert (7 Apr 1946 — ); Léo (27 Mar 1948 — ); Norman (3 Apr 1949 — ); Louise (9 Mar 1954 — ); Doris (20 Jan 1957 — ). John Coarr is son of Thomas Coarr (1838-1905) and Annie Ogle (1841-1933). Annie is daughter of Catherine Boyce (1818-1881) and George Ogle (~1819-1867). Lot 23 was first settled by John Coarr, grandfather of John (1880-).
- Marguerite (Margaret) Custeau (27 Mar 1878 S. Sylvestre — 1973 Pavillon S. Joseph, Thetford Mines; buried in S. Pierre de Broughton) m. James Connolly(~1884 S. Pierre de Broughton —~1951 idem) on 18 Jun 1918 in idem and had two children: Almen and Archie who still lived on the ancestral lot, lot 8, in 1965. James is son of Edward Connolly (1851 — 24 Apr 1928 S. Pierre de Broughton) and Alice Fahey (1840 – 15 Jun 1922 S. Pierre de Broughton). Edward is son of Terence Connolly (1800 – 15 Dec 1884 S. Pierre de Broughton) and Alice Fahey (1823 – 23 Jan 1901 S. Pierre de Broughton), who married on 9 Jan 1849 in S. Sylvestre and had four sons. Only Edward married. The three other brothers (Thomas, James and Joseph) lived next door on the other half of lot 8 and died respectively in 1925, 1928 and 1904. Terence had settled in 1845 on lot 8 of 1st range of Thetford, i.e. adjacent to 15th range of Leeds East. He may have been the first settler of this range.
- Honoré Custeau (Mar 1881 S. Sylvestre — ).
- John Custeau (22 Jan 1883 S. Sylvestre — 12 Oct 1916 accidentally; S.Pierre de Broughton) was a bachelor.
Coming from S. Elzéar, Jacques Custeau was among the first settlers of the 1st range of Thetford in 1859. His lot is located at the corner of 1st range Road and 1st range “Chemin”, namely east of 1st range Road and south of 1st range “Chemin”. The 1st range “Chemin” separates the 1st range of Thetford township from the 14th range of Leeds township. But Jacques’ main pied-à-terre was still S. Elzéar in 1861. In the 1861 census of S. Elzéar, he and Bridget Boyce are listed right above Edward McMonigle and Margaret Connolly. When the parish of S. Antoine de Pontbriand was formed in 1896, Jacques fought hard to ensure that his farm and that of his son Michael stay in S. Pierre de Broughton. Note that the 13th and 14th ranges of Leeds township are wider at its south (Thetford-adjacent) end than at its north (Broughton-adjacent) end. Thus, even though the Leeds/Broughton border is essentially a linear extension of the Leeds/Thetford border, the last Leeds range before entering Thetford township is the 14th range while the last Leeds range before entering Broughton township is a very narrow 16th range. In practice, the 14th range at the south end of Leeds township looks like the extension of the 15th range of the north end of the township
The farm of Cecilia and James is located in the 14th range of Leeds township, just in front of Jacques’ farm. It is at the corner of 14th range Road and 1st range “Chemin”, namely west of 14th range Road and north of 1st range “Chemin”. (14th range Road of Leeds is essentially the extension of the 1st range Road of Thetford.) Only 1st range “Chemin” separated James’s farm from Jacques’s farm. The farm of Cecilia and James is a beautiful place crossed by a stream where one could catch trouts by hand in periods of drought. This stream is a tributary of Perry stream, which has a magnificent 10 m waterfall near Cecilia’s lot and 3.5 km before emptying into the Palmer River. Eventually, Cecilia or her son Albert owned land that reached this waterfall. Cecilia was school teacher. She and James were also postmasters at the Custeau Post Office from 1914 to 1931, at which time mail became home delivered. My father Patrick spent a number of summer weeks there and he also visited during winter by skiing from Thetford Mines to the farm, a 15 km trek. There are many photos of Cecilia’s family in the book Saint-Pierre de Broughton 150 ans d’histoire 1856-2006. The same 69,000 volts electric line crosses the farm of Cecilia as well as those of her brothers John and Patrick, that of her father BERNARD (12th range of Leeds), that of her father-in-law Jacques Custeau and that of her brother-in-law Michael Custeau (1st range of Thetford). Must be the “luck” of the Irish! The line was operational from 1930 to 1994. Cecilia and James had seven children (all boys) between 1895 and 1913, 22 grandchildren between the 1930s and 1962, and at least 29 great-grandchildren. Their six children who are of known lifespan without dying accidentally died at 77 years of age on average: 90 (Joseph), 84 (James), 46 (William), 98 (Eddie), 49 (Georges) and 95 (Albert). Three sons married three Gagnon sisters. The seven sons of Cecilia are 75% Irish. They are:
- Thomas Custeau(2 Aug 1895 S. Pierre de Broughton – 24 Jun 1918 idem) was wounded overseas, according to one source, but he died accidentally in Robertsonville. Witnesses at burial were James Custeau and John Laughrey.
- Joseph Custeau(30 Jun 1902 S. Pierre de Broughton – 23 Nov 1992). Godparents were Bartholomew McCaffrey and Ellen Laughrey. He m. Louise McCauliff on 1 Oct 1940 in New York and had one daughter: Kathleen (? S. Pierre de Broughton – ).
- James Custeau(4 Mar 1905 S. Pierre de Broughton – 3 Dec 1989). Godparents were Bernard Laughrea and aunt Mary Ann Monaghan. He m. Alice Wintinuer or Wintinner on 15 Sep 1930 in S. Johnsbury, Caledonia, VT and had one son, James Jr. Custeau, presumably born in the 1930s.
- William Custeau(15 Nov 1907 S. Pierre de Broughton – 9 May 1953 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Irena Gagnon on 19 Jun 1940 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had four children:
a- Willie (Bill) (11 Apr 1941 S. Pierre de Broughton – ) m. Micheline Gagnon on 19 Jul 1969 in Notre Dame parish of Thetford Mines and had two children: William (16 Jul 1974 S. Pierre de Broughton — ) and Mélanie (25 Aug 1976 S. Pierre de Broughton — ).
b- Louise (19 Jun 1944 S. Pierre de Broughton – ).
c- Wilfrid (24 Aug 1947 S. Pierre de Broughton – ) m. Josiane Lemoyne on 6 Jun 1970 on the Laval University campus in Québec City.
d- Anne (20 Sep 1951 S. Pierre de Broughton – ). Soon after Irena Gagnon lost her husband William, Cecilia moved to Irena’s house in the village and stayed the rest of her life with Irena. This is why I don’t remember seeing Cecilia when we visited Albert. The move probably occurred in 1955, when Cecilia lost her own husband. Alternatively, both Cecilia and James moved with Irena between 1953 and 1955, the house on the 14th Range getting crowded with Albert’s numerous children. Note that Irena was most likely the sister of Albert Custeau’s wife Rita.
- Edward (Eddie) Custeau(2 Nov 1909 S. Pierre de Broughton – 2007 Sherbrooke) m. Iréna Huppé on 14 Oct 1939 in Sherbrooke but she died in 1945. He next m. Mary Gagnon (? — 25 Jan 2001) on 26 Oct 1949 in S. Patrick church, Sherbrooke. They had two children who lived more than one month and six grandchildren:
a- Judith (12 Aug 1950 — ) m. Lennox Béland on 1 Sep 1973 and had two children who lived more than one month: Thomas (14 Jun 1974 — ) and Jason (25 Jul 1979 — ).
b- Barbara (8 Dec 1960 – ) m. Douglas Sullivan on 11 Jul 1992 and had two children who lived more than one month: Lynzey (13 Jun 1994 – ) and Kody (26 Jun – ). Barbara was for many years a librarian at Bishop’s University, Lennoxville.
- Albert Custeau(6 Jul 1911 S. Pierre de Broughton – 13 Jan 2007 idem) m. Rita Gagnon (10 Aug 1922 — ) on 18 Jun 1941 in S. Pierre de Broughton. Albert always lived the house of Cecilia and James. He did sugaring on his farm for 75 straight years. I visited him a number of times. He was still very fit at 90 years of age. Around 1970, after Patrick (1920-1991) had purchased Bernard’s farm, Albert, Patrick and myself walked the perimeter of Bernard’s farm. Albert and Rita had eight children who lived more than one month and 19 grandchildren:
a- Léo (19 May 1943 S. Pierrre de Broughton – ) m. Gisèle Goulet (~1948 S. Pierre de Broughton – ) on 14 Jul 1973 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had three children: Eric (9 Jun 1975 idem – ), Ricky (27 Jan 1979 idem – ) and Melissa (20 Oct 1991 idem – ). Léo cultivates Albert’s 14th range farm.
b- Gérard (19 Apr 1946 S. Pierre de Broughton-) m. Gisèle Nutbrown (~1941 S. Pierre de Broughton – ) on 22 Jul 1967 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had four children:
- Nancy (28 Aug 1968 S. Pierre de Broughton — ) m. Denis Couture on 20 Jun 1992.
- Tina (14 Oct 1972 S. Pierre de Broughton — ) is a bachelor.
- Sandra (25 Jul 1975 S. Pierre de Broughton — ) m. Mario Hallée on 3 Jun 1995 and had two children: Dave and Judy
- Cindy (2 Jun 1978 – ) m. Jamie Dupuis on 28 Jul 2001.
c- Evelyne (7 Mar 1947 — ) m. Donald Beattie on 23 Aug 1969 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had two children: Donald and Debra.
d- Lawrence (2 Feb 1948 — ) did not marry.
e- Edna (19 Jan 1952 S. Pierre de Broughton – ) m. Kevin Campbell (~1949 Ste-Agathe – ) on 4 Aug 1973 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had three children: Jennifer, Julie and Emily.
f- Liliane (31 Jan 1954 S. Pierre de Broughton – ) m. Christian Noel on 19 Aug 1978 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had three children:
- AnnieNoel (5 Apr 1981 — ) m. Dany Bolduc (19 Feb 1973 — )
- ChristinaNoel (22 Feb 1985 — ).
- JonathanNoel (22 Aug 1988 — ).
g- Shirley (18 Oct 1959 S. Pierre de Broughton – ) had two daughters: Jessica and Marissa.
h- Carole (25 Aug 1960 S. Pierre de Broughton – ) m. Alain Thivierge on 20 Aug 1983 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had two children: Sara and Laura.
- George Custeau(13 Apr 1913 S. Pierre de Broughton – 30 Mar 1962 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Cecilia Gagnon (12 Jan 1926 S. Pierre de Broughton – ) on 2 Oct 1948 in S. Pierre de Broughton. Cecilia was for 40 years a teacher in S. Pierre de Broughton. George died accidentally. They had two children and two grandchildren:
a- Vincent (20 Jul 1950 S. Pierre de Broughton – 20 Jul 1950).
b- Bernard (23 Nov 1952 S. Pierre de Broughton – ) was a journalist at La Tribune of Sherbrooke. Bernard m. Francine Grégoire (14 Jul 1950 — ) on 25 Aug 1979 and had two children: Jennifer (10 Feb 1981 – ) and Jonathan (15 Jul 1983 – ). Jonathan became a journalist at La Tribune.
Laughrea family members along the side of BERNARD’s house: James Leary (1925), Giles Laughrea (1898), Patrick Laughrea (1920), Lydia Cyr-Laughrea (1882), Giles Jr Laughrea (1924), Billy Laughrea (1928), James Laughrea (1954). The children are Robert Laughrea (1963) and Patrick James Leary (1964)
h) James Laughrea (6 May 1873 S. Séverin – 9 Jun 1957; S. Patrick cemetery, Watertown Mass.). His godparents were John Boyce and Catherine Boyce. He lived at home in 1891 (but not his brothers John and Patrick), m. Josephine Sands (1861 or 1867 Newry, Northern Ireland – 16 Jun 1957 Watertown, Middlesex Mass.) on 18 Jun 1894 or 12 Jun 1895 in Watertown, Greater Boston, and lived there, near the Charles River, for the rest of his life. He became an American citizen in 1899. In 1920, 1930 and 1940 he was the janitor/manager for a 20-25 unit apartment complex near his house. He owned a house valued at $10,000 in 1930 and $5700 in 1940. James had an 8th grade education. Josephine arrived in Boston in 1885. Family lore, including grandchild James (1936- ), says that Josephine was twelve years older than James, but in the 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930 and 1940 censuses, Josephine gave ages suggesting that she was born in 1867 on average. James and Josephine had 4 children between 1896 and 1903, at least 8 grandchildren, 6 of whom were born between 1922 and 1938, 25 great-grandchildren, 14 great-great-grandchildren and 2 (g.)3-grandchildren. The three adult children died at 75 years of age on average: 63 (Joseph), 73 (Giles), 88 (Frances). The children of James and Josephine are 100 % Irish while those of Cecilia Laughrea are 75% Irish and those of John Laughrea are 50% Irish.
- Joseph Laughrea (27 Mar 1896 Watertown, Middlesex, Mass. — 1957 Watertown) was a machinist in 1920. In 1940 he was a mailman earning $2100 for 52 weeks of work at 40h/week. He had a 4th year high school education, m. Julia Lyons (15 Sep 1893 Cohasset, Plymouth, Mass. — 13 Jun 1976 North Scituate, Plymouth, Mass.) and had two daughters:
a- Mary (1926 Watertown – ).
b- Virginia (1929 Watertown – before 2013).
- Giles Laughrea (29 Mar1898 Watertown – 1 Sep 1971 Watertown) m. Irene Franham Marsh (16 Mar 1902 Kennebunk, Maine – 4 Sep 1991 Boston, Mass.) on 14 Nov 1921 in Watertown and had six children. Their five oldest ones died at 72.5 years of age on average: 64 (Ursula), 73, (Mary), 69 (Giles Jr.), 81 (William) and 75 (Thelma).
a- Ursula A. (1922 Watertown – 26 Feb 1986 Boston) m. Robert Darnell (24 Apr 1923 — 16 Oct 2012 Watertown) and had nine children: John W. m. Dana, Deborah A., Thomas E., Catherine (or Kathleen) m. Paul Eid, Kevin M., Mary A., Alice (deceased), William G. m. Joann, and Ronald P..
b- Mary F. (1923 Mass. – 27 Dec 1996 Waltham) m. Joseph F. O’Connell (18 Apr 1923 Mass. – 1 Nov 2001 Waltham, Mass.) and had five children: James, Maureen, Jay, Patricia, Eileen (deceased) and Michael.
c- Giles Jr. Laughrea (5 Nov 1924 — 21 May 1993 Watertown, Mass.) m. Alice J. Hyde (9 Aug 1923 Watertown – 22 Dec 1982 or 1984 idem) and had two children:
- Ann-Marie (19 May 1952 Boston — ) m. Kenny Powell(10 Jul 1952 S. Agathe, Lotbinière) on 19 Sep 1981 in Watertown and adopted three children:
- 1)Roxanne (20 Mar 1985 Quebec City — ) m. Jerome Royer and had two children: Ashley (24 May 2004 S. Agathe, Lotbinière — ) and Jonathan (21 Oct 2008 Hôtel-Dieu, Lévis — ).
- 2) Simon Royer Bonneau (27 Apr 1990 Quebec City — )
- 3) Allison (18 Feb 1992 Quebec City — )
- James (Jim) (12 Apr 1954 Boston — ) is a bachelor. He tends to spell his name Loughrea.
d- William (Billy) Marsh Laughrea (4 Mar 1928 Watertown Mass. – 3 Jan 2009 Watertown) had a Masters in Education from Boston University. He m. Marie Loughlin (3 Jun 1927 Mass. — ) on 20 Nov 1955 in Watertown Mass. and had three children:
- William M Jr “Biff” (3 Feb 1958 Brighton, Mass. — ) lives in Lowell Mass.
- Nancy M. (14 Nov 1959 Mass. — ) m. George Andrews Downing(23 Nov 1946 Boston — ) on 21 Nov 1987 in Medford, Mass.. They live in Richmond, Virginia, and have two daughters: Molly Marie (19 Sep 1989 Mass. — ) and Megan Jo (4 Jul 1992 Stoneham Mass. — ).
- Robert J. (19 Oct. 1963 Burlington, Mass. — ) m. Cindy Kay Holle (17 May 1966 Lincoln, Nebraska — ) on 22 Feb 1992 in Orlando, FL, where Robert worked as an architect for Walt Disney World. They have two daughters: Cassandra (26 Nov 1994 Orlando, FL — ) and Courtney Elizabeth (20 Jun 1997 Orlando, FL — ).
e- Thelma (29 Jan 1930 Watertown – 30 Nov 2005 Newton NJ) m. James Leary (15 Jul 1925 Brooklyn NY — Mar 2004 Luquillo, Puerto Rico, where they had a secondary residence) and had three children:
- Patrick James Leary(1964 — );
- Amanda Irene Leary(17 May 1965 — );
- Kerry Jane Leary(23 Aug 1967 — 24 Sep 1985 Sparta, NJ, of cancer).
f- James E. Laughrea (17 Jul 1938 — ) m. Pauline Berard (24 Oct 1942 — ) on 16 Jun 1962. They live in Sandwich, Cape Cod, Mass. and have three children:
- David J. (11 Aug 1963 Waltham, Mass. — ) m. Suzanne L. Packard (29 Mar 1956 Los Angeles, Cali. — ) on 12 Aug 1989 in Westlake Village, Cali.. They live in California and had two sons: James David (29 Nov 1992 El Dorado, Cali. — ) and Matthew David (28 Mar 1994 El Dorado, Cali. — ).
- Susan M. (27 Dec 1964 —) m. Michael Anthony Melisi (14 Nov 1962 — ) on 26 Oct 1991 and had four sons: Zachary Michael (7 Sep 1994 — ), Bradley Joseph (12 Sep 1996 — ), Samuel James (12 Sep 1996 — ) and Nicholas Anthony (10 May 2003 — ).
- Donna M. (15 Oct 1966 Waltham, Mass. — ) m. Stephen James Milliard on 17 May 1991 in Sudbury Mass. and had one daughter: Allison Ann (25 Jul 1997 Worcester, Mass. — ).
- Frances Laughrea (1901 Watertown — 1989) m. Mason Foley.
- Mary Laughrea (1903 Watertown — 1926) died in a sledding accident.
James and his son Giles visited often the S. Pierre de Broughton area during summer times. This tradition continued with his two grandsons Giles Jr (1924 — 1993) and William (Billy) (1928 — 2009): both had summer cottages in S. Pierre de Broughton even though they worked in the Greater Boston area. As a result, Ann-Marie, daughter of Giles Jr, married a native Quebecker and lives in S. Agathe de Lotbinière. All “Laughreas” in the world descend from James (1873-1957) and John (1860-1946). The others spell the name differently.
i) Peter Laughrea (28 Jun 1875 S. Pierre de Broughton – 13 Mar 1964 idem) was a bachelor. He lived all his life in Bernard’s house. Witnesses at birth were Thomas Forestall and Anna Forestall, their immediate neighbors on the 12th range: there was a Forestall family named right under Bernard’s entry in the 1881, 1891 and 1911 censuses. The Forestall farm was immediately north of that of Bernard.
j) Ellen Laughrea-McCaffrey (22 Oct 1877 S. Pierre de Broughton – 8 Sep 1909 Thetford Mines). Witnesses at birth were Joseph Ford and Anna Mullen, their immediate neighbors on the 12th range of Leeds. The Ford farm became the farm of Patrick Laughrea (1861-1954) some time after 1891. Joseph and Anna Ford were listed righ above Bernard’s entry in the 1881 and 1891 censuses. From 1875 to at least 1891, Bernard’s farm was sandwiched between the Forestall farm and the Ford farm. Ellen married Bartholomew (Bartholemey) McCaffrey (25 Oct 1868 S. Pierre de Broughton – 11 Aug 1932 Québec City; died suddenly, buried in Thetford Mines) on 3 Sep 1900 in S. Pierre de Broughton. Witnesses were John Laughrea and Susan McCaffrey. They had a farm in the Thetford North section of S. Pierre de Broughton in 1901, i.e. very close to the farms of Jacques Custeau, Michael Custeau and Cecilia Laughrea. Bartholomew lived with his parents in 1891 and presumably until he married. He was a lodger with a Tuite family [Sarah (44), James (29), Veronica (15) and Prescella (6) Tuite] on Alfred street in Thetford Mines in 1911. Where were his children then? Perhaps with their aunt Sarah McCaffrey. Ellen and Bartholomew had 4 children and 2 grandchildren:
- Owen McCaffrey(9 Jun 1901 S. Pierre de Broughton – 1 Jul 1918 Thetford Mines). Godparents were James Custeau and Cecilia Laughrea. He died of accidental drowning in a lake (Black Lake according to family lore).
- Margaret McCaffrey(18 Jan 1903 S. Pierre de Broughton – 17 Dec 2000 Montreal) was a bachelor who moved to Montreal in 1933 after the death of her father. She was a blond and blue-eyed woman whom I met at Father Dowd nursing home in 1992.
- Wilfrid McCaffrey(26 Jul 1905 S. Pierre de Broughton – 10 Jan 1995 Thetford Mines). Godparents were Michael Custeau (brother-in-law and neighbor of Cecilia Laughrea) and aunt Mabel McCaffrey. Restaurant owner and owner of the Bus Terminus in Thetford Mines, he m. Loretta Rachelle Paré on 26 Aug 1941 in Thetford Mines and had two adopted children: Helen (1950-1988) and Leo (1952- ). Owen, Margaret and Wilfrid were eight, six and four years old when Ellen died. Margaret and Wilfrid were 29 and 27 when they lost their father. Wilfrid did not live with his father in 1911 and he was a lodger, together with his uncle, in S. Anne de Bellevue in 1921.
- Mary Ellen (6 May 1907 S. Pierre de Broughton — 5 Jan 1909 S. Maurice Thetford Mines). This indicates that Bartholomew and Ellen moved to Thetford Mines between summer 1907 and fall 1908. In 1905 Thetford Mines was the 10th largest city in Quebec. A second parish, S. Maurice, was created in 1907. College Lasalle opened in 1907. Aziz Setlakwe, the first Armenian in Quebec, opened his clothing store in 1908. The population of Thetford Mines was 500, 2136, 3256 and 7261 in 1886, 1891, 1901 and 1911. There were ten general stores in Thetford Mines in 1910. Thetford was a boom town that prevented many from emigrating to New Hampshire and Vermont between 1890 and 1920. It is during this 1901-1911 period that my grand mother Annie Lachance and her mother returned to Thetford Mines after many years in the factories of Lowell Mass.
The McCaffrey connection. The parents of Bartholomew McCaffrey (1868-1932) are Owen McCaffrey (25 Jun 1822 Tyrone, Ireland — 19 Sep 1913 South Portland, Cumberland, Maine) and Margaret Johnston (~ 1836 Fermanagh, Ireland —12 Jan 1896 West Broughton). Owen landed in Quebec in 1835 and m. Margaret on 12 Jun 1855 in S. Sylvestre. They lived in the Thetford North section of S. Pierre de Broughton at least from 1871 to 1891. After the death of Margaret, Owen lived in the house of Ellen Laughrea (1877-1909) in 1901, with his daughter Sarah in Thetford Mines in 1911 and with his daughter Nellie in South Portland Maine from 1913 until his death. Bartholomew had eleven siblings who lived longer than five years. The twelve brothers and sisters died at 67 years of age on average. Three stayed in Quebec. Seven moved to the USA, one to Ontario and one to Saskatchewan:
- Ellen (Nellie) (26 Feb 1857 S. Sylvestre — 19 Nov 1924 South Portland, Cumberland, Maine) lived at home in early 1891, m. Lawrence J. Sloane on 20 Oct 1891 in Portland, Maine, had three children (Mary E., Margaret J. and Isabelle) and resided in South Portland, Maine at least from 1910 until her death.
- Mary (Katy) (28 Nov 1858 S. Sylvestre — 11 Jun 1935 Geneva, Kane, Ill.) m. John Bourke in Portland, Maine in 1886. They resided in South Dakota in 1910 and Iowa in 1930.
- Sarah McCaffrey(26 Sep 1862 S. Sylvestre — 17 Jan 1937 Biggar, Saskatchewan) m. James Campbell (23 Dec 1851 S. Gilles, Lotbinière — 2 Apr 1933 Biggar, Saskatchewan but died in hospital in South Edmonton, Alberta) in 1880 in the West Broughton section of S. Pierre de Broughton, lived in S. Pierre de Broughton in 1881, Thetford North from 1891 to 1901, Thetford Mines in 1911, and moved to Biggar, Saskatchewan by 1916. She is the mother of Michael J. Campbell, who m. Helen Margaret Boyce. The municipality of Thetford North included what will become in 1909 Pontbriand, Robertsonville and Sacré-Coeur-de-Marie. Thetford North ceased to exist in 1909.
- James C. (20 Sep 1864 S. Sylvestre — 6 Aug 1930 Portland, Cumberland, Maine) arrived in the USA in 1882 and lived in Berlin NH in 1900.
- Elizabeth (Isabelle) (25 Sep 1866 S. Sylvestre — 7 Mar 1936 Detroit, Wayne, Michig.) lived at home in 1891, m. John Batz in Portland, Maine in 1894, and lived in Portland at least from 1900 to 1920. They lived in Detroit in 1930.
- Owen (5 Oct 1870 S. Pierre de Broughton — 3 Dec 1936 Thetford Mines) lived at home in 1891, in Lancaster NH in 1900 and in S. Anne de Bellevue in 1921, where he lodged in the same rooming house as his nephew Wilfrid McCaffrey (1905-1995). However Owen died in Thetford Mines. He had no children. Wilfrid may have spent very little time with his father. He was with him neither in 1911 nor in 1921.
- Michael (18 Feb 1873 S. Pierre de Broughton — 18 Mar 1921 Smooth Rock Falls, Cochrane, Ontario, but buried in S. Anne de Bellevue) lived at home in Thetford township in 1891 and 1901 (Thetford Mines was created only in 1905; parish S. Alphonse de Thetford was created in 1886).
- Mary Margaret (29 Mar 1875 S. Pierre de Broughton — 17 Dec 1945 San Antonio, Bexar, Texas) arrived in the USA in 1898 and m. in 1906 in South Dakota.
- Patrick Joseph (30 Mar 1877 S. Pierre de Broughton — 19 Apr 1941 Québec city);
- Susan (26 May 1879 S. Pierre de Broughton — 28 Sep 1948 Portsmouth, NH) arrived in Portland, Cumberland, Maine in 1900, m. George Odilon Gray on 26 Feb 1906 in Portland and lived in Portsmouth NH at least from 1910 until her death;
- Edward (20 Sep 1881 S. Pierre de Broughton —27 Aug 1952 Worcester, Mass.) was a boarder in Lancaster NH in 1900, became an American citizen in 1916, m. Catherine A. in Worcester Mass. in 1917 and stayed there until his death.
The five uncles and aunts of Bartholomew McCaffrey (1868-1932) are, on the McCaffrey side:
- Patrick (1813 Mayo, Ireland — 5 Oct 1895 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Mary Conway (1819-1908) and had three children who lived longer than eighteen years: Mary Anne (1848-1929), Sarah Jane (1853 — after 1891) and Catherine (1858 — after 1891).
- Mary (~1820 Ireland — ), m. Louis Mailly Magee (1817- ) and had seven children.
- Sarah McCaffrey(23 Dec 1823 Ireland —12 Oct 1908 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Thomas Gormley (~1828 Ireland —12 Mar 1888 S. Pierre de Broughton) and had seven children who lived more than three weeks (section k of Chapter Five), one of whom is James Gormley (10 Jun 1857 Lotbinière —12 Aug 1926 S. Pierre de Broughton), who m. Mary Cecilia Tuite (9 Jan 1869 Lotbinière — 6 Nov 1900 S. Pierre de Broughton) on 25 Nov 1889 in S. Pierre de Broughton. James Gormley is: 1) the cousin by alliance of Ellen Laughrea (via her husband Bartholomew); 2) the cousin by alliance of Peter Laughery (via his wife Catherine Gormley); 3) the cousin of the mother-in-law (Sarah McCaffrey [1862-1937]) of Helen Margaret Boyce, the granddaughter of Bridget Loughrey; 4) the father-in-law of the niece (Emma Custeau) of Cecilia Laughrea; 5) the great-grandfather of my Classical college classmate Walter Gormley.
- Jane McCaffrey (~1828 Ireland — ).
- Marian McCaffrey (~1847 S. Sylvestre).
The grandparents of Bartholomew McCaffrey (1868-1932) are:
- Bartholomew McCaffrey(~1788 Ireland — 8 Aug 1867 S. Sylvestre) and Eleanor “Nellie” Doonan (~1788 Fermanagh, Ireland — 3 Jul 1860 S. Sylvestre). Eleanor’s parents are Owen Paddy Doonan (~1755 Ballyshannon, Donegal, Ireland — ~1835 Ireland) and Helen Catherine Gallagher (~1760 Fermanagh Ireland — ? Ireland). Eleanor had nine siblings born between 1781 and 1806: Susan, Mary, Owen Eugene, Catherine, Patrick, Marguerite Margaret and John “Jack”.
- James Johnston and Elizabeth Thompson.
Another Owen McCaffrey (1832) had a son named Bartholemey (Bartholomew) McCaffrey (8 Aug 1867). In case these two sets of Owen and Bartholomew are related, I provide the following informations. Owen McCaffrey (1832) is the son of Charles McCaffrey (1805), who was mayor of S. Sylvestre in 1864 and 1865. The brothers of Owen (1832) are Patrick (1827), John (1836), Philip (1838) and Richard (1840 ). The children of Owen (1832) are Joseph (~1856), Mary (28 Nov 1858 S. Sylvestre — 1908), Owen (~1860), Patrick (~1862), James (~1865), and Bartholemey (8 Aug 1867). Charles McCaffrey (1805) is the son of Patrick McCaffrey and the brother of Sarah (1801) and Owen (1805). Owen (1805) sold land in S. Sylvestre on 11 Aug 1826. Owen McCaffrey (1805, 1822, 1832 or 1860?) owned lots 133 and 135 at the corner of route King and Craig’s Road in 1880. A Patrick McCaffrey owned lots 574-579 which were located on both sides of the bend of the East Palmer River. These lots end at the border of Leeds and are respectively 600 and 100 m from the lots of Bernard Laughrey and Thomas Harny.
Generation 5. The four children of JOHN Laughrea (1860 — 1946) and Lydia Cyr (1882 —1977), and their descendants.
John Laughrea and Lydia Cyr had two sons and one daughter who reached adult age. Gérard left Thetford Mines in his late twenties and moved to Longueuil in his forties. Lucille and Patrick stayed in Thetford Mines. All three married and each had three children.
a) Anonymous male (22 Mar 1910 S. Pierre de Broughton – 23 Apr 1910 S. Pierre de Broughton).
b) Jean Moïse Gérard Laughrea (26 Mar 1914 S. Pierre de Broughton – 6 Sep 1979 Longueuil). Witnesses at birth were uncle Moïse Cyr and aunt Modeste Poulin. They were also neighbors: in the 1891 census Moïse Cyr and his wife Modeste Poulin were named two lines above Bernard Laughrea’s entry (the 1st line was for Joseph and Ann Ford). Family lore says that before having Gérard after eight years of marriage and at 31 years and 9 months of age, Lydia had three miscarriages because of hard farm work. Gérard had an entrepreneurial spirit. He started various businesses, including bakery, bread delivery and store in 1935, restauration and a dry cleaning business around 1937. At some point, he had about ten dry cleaning employees in Stanstead near the Vermont border. He has never been an employee until 1965, when he became superintendant for three Betty Brite dry cleaning businesses financed and administered from Thetford Mines by his brother PATRICK (1920-1991). The stores were in Longueuil, Granby and Trois-Rivières. Gérard had a 6th grade education: grades one to four were in English in S. Sylvestre and grades five and six in French in Thetford Mines. He m. Marie-Jeanne Doyon (1914-1991) on 27 Oct 1937 in Thetford Mines. They had 3 children, 4 grandchildren and 1 great-grandchild:
- Stanley Laughrea (1938 Thetford Mines – ) m. Rose-Marie Alain (1939- ) in 1963. In 2006 Rose-Marie published a book titled En plein soleil de la vie. Stanley and Rose-Marie had two children:
a- Sandra (24 Sep 1965 Trois-Rivières – ) m. Gilmond Lapointe (1967- ) on 10 Jul 1999 and has one child: Sébastien Laughrea (1999- ), Laughrea being his last name, a generous allowance from her husband. She is a psychologist.
b- Kathleen (28 Sep 1968 Trois-Rivières -) is one of the three strictly spelled Laughrea scholars mentioned in Scopus Database, the others being my sister Patricia Ann and myself. Kathleen has a Doctorate in Psychology and taught a number of years at the University of Moncton in New Brunswick.
- Guy Laughrea(1941-1993) m. Nicole Aird and had one child: Linda (Nov 1964 — ). Linda teached at Dawson College for at least a few years.
- June Laughrea(20 Nov 1947 —) m. Serge Fournier (11 Jan 1948 — 19 Nov 2015) and has one child: Nadia (11 Oct 1976 – ). Nadia is an auxiliary nurse in Brossard. She m. Steve Houle, lives in Longueuil and has two children: Lyane (29 May 2002 — ) and Maude (15 Jun 2007 — ).
c) Lucille Cécilia Esther Laughrea-Gagné(8 Apr 1917 S. Pierre de Broughton – 18 Jan 2009 East Broughton). Witnesses at birth were Michael Laughrea and Cecilia Laughrea. She started working in the houses of C.V. Smith and Mr Johnson in Feb 1936. She m. Gérard Gagné(26 Jun 1914 Sacré Coeur de Marie, now part of Thetford Mines — 19 Jan 2004 Thetford Mines) on 24 Jun 1942 in Thetford Mines after an eight year courtship. Gérard was chief of the Police and Fire Department of Thetford Mines from 1965 to 1979. Lucille had a 4th grade education: her first grade was in English in S. Sylvestre and grades two to four were in French in Thetford Mines. Soon after 1944, Lucille suffered an hysterectomy, a procedure probably too liberally done in those days, like appendicitis and tonsillitis. In conversations with my father in the late 50s and early 60s, I had the impression that, forgetting about accident-related surgeries, half of surgical time was devoted to these two procedures! Lucille and Gérard had 3 children, 7 grandchildren and 7 great-grandchildren:
- Claudette Gagné(1943 Thetford Mines – ) was high school physics teacher and lecturer in the department of Didactics of University of Quebec at Montreal. She m. Jean-Guy Tremblay in 1964 and had one child: Pierre-Alexandre. After a divorce, she m. Réjean Bouchard. They had no children.
- Lise Gagné(6 Jul 1944 Thetford Mines – ) is a nurse. She m. Muzaffar Zaidi (1 Jul 1935 future Pakistan — ) in 1967. They had 4 children and 7 grand-children:
a- Richard (Rais) Zaidi (17 May 1968 — );
b- Shakil Ahmed Zaidi (12 Dec 1969 — ) m. Doreen Zaki (19 Nov 1968 — ) and had three children: Danica Catharina (7 Nov 2004 — ), Rylan Bradley (24 Feb 2006 — ) and Kayley Nayiah (24 Feb 2006 — ),
c- Jalil Ahmed (Tony) Zaidi (5 Oct 1972 —) m. Stéphanie Hill (14 Nov 1975 — ) and had two children: Kyriani Almalyn (12 Mar 2001 — ) and Kaelen Alexander (1 Nov 2002 — );
d- Anyssa Myriam Nyla Sadia Zaidi (16 Jun 1975 — ) m. Robert Paliotti (24 Nov 1978 — ) and had two children: Lukas (27 Apr 2010 — ) and Sophia Anne (3 Oct 2012 — ).
- Jean-François Gagné(1956 Thetford Mines — ), an adopted child, m. Josée Gagnon in 1978 and had two daughters: Caroline and Marie-Claude.
d) Bernard Richard PATRICK Laughrea (21 May 1920 S. Pierre de Broughton – 7 Jun 1991 Kuujjuaq, buried in Thetford Mines), my father. Witnesses at birth were Patrick Laughrea and Suzanne McCaffrey. Patrick lived two years in S. Pierre de Broughton and two years in S. Sylvestre before arriving in Thetford Mines in 1924. He studied in Thetford Mines until the 9th grade in 1935, which was the last grade in commercial studies (“cours commercial”). Robert Lacasse and PATRICK were first and second of their class (PATRICK was first in English). We know this because year-end school results were published in the local newspaper in those days. These results were on the back side of a newspaper clipping about my grandfather Tancrède Labbé. Near the end of their commercial studies, Robert and Patrick were spotted as prospects for the clergy. They both accepted the offer. This meant becoming boarders in a priest-forming school in the Charlesbourg suburb of Quebec City.
PATRICK studied in Quebec City from the age of fifteen to twenty-eight. He arrived at the Juniorat des Pères de S. Vincent de Paul on 27 Aug 1935. The Juniorat had just opened or renovated a new building. This priest training school provided a total educational experience, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 347 days per year. He would live in the Juniorat and its cottage for the next four years, with only two weeks of free time in summer and four days at New year. Christmas and Easter were spent in the Juniorat. Summers 1936, 1937, 1938, and 1939 were spent in the Notre Dame des Bois cottage of the Juniorat. This cottage was one of the first summer camps in Québec. Students and teachers would also visit the cottage a few times over fall and spring weekends to rest and perform maintenance work. They would get there most often by truck; other times by tramway until the end of the line, and then by foot. PATRICK had a wonderful time at the Juniorat, playing hockey and sliding in winter, enjoying the various school visits to Montmorency Falls, Ste Anne de Beaupré basilica, Ile d’Orléans, Quebec City museums, Lévis, etc., as well as other social activities provided by the Juniorat, such as movies, wood work, etc.. He especially enjoyed the two months spent at the cottage every summer. I suspect that this is where he acquired his love for cottage life. However he left in Sep 1939 to join the Séminaire de Québec after realizing priesthood was not his vocation. (Robert had realized this two years before Patrick and moved to the Séminaire two years earlier.) This also meant that Patrick was twenty years old when he got his first summer job. Patrick worked avery summer from 1940 to 1947 in the Sherbrooke and Stanstead area, where his brother Gérard lived.
PATRICK spelled his name “Laughera” until about 1940. At Séminaire de Québec, he usually ranked second, sometimes third, in a class of 74 students. Not unexpectedly, he was one of its 17 “academicians” and graduated Magna Cum Laude in 1943. He was also defence man in the hockey teams of Séminaire de Québec and either Laval University or Laval Medical School. He studied Medicine (1943-1948) and Anesthesiology (1952-1954) at Laval University, which had opened in 1946 in Hôtel-Dieu de Québec the first Canadian Chair in Anesthesiology under Dr. Fernando Hudon. [Hudon was a famous professor of Anesthesiology who discovered a new anesthetic (a halothane/ether mixture) and developed the naso-tracheal intubation. He was president of the Canadian Anesthesiologists’ society in 1949-1950 and vice-president of the American Society of Anesthesiologists in ?-?. From 1953 to 1958 he trained 110 physicians in Anesthesia.] Patrick won the ? prize while a rhetoric student in Séminaire de Québec. He won twice the Morrin prize (36) while a medical student, and published a paper titled “Controlled hypotension in anesthesia with a derivative of thiophanium, arfonad (RO 2-2222)” (P. Laughrea, Union Médicale du Canada, 85, 56-60 (1956)). His cousin Oliva Cyr (30 Aug 1888 — 20 Nov 1980) lent him the money that allowed him to go to Séminaire de Québec and Laval Medical School. Oliva would lend whatever Patrick would ask (basically food, clothing, lodging and tuition). When Patrick had well paying summer jobs, such as taking care of virtually everything—registration, correspondance, answering the telephone, room service and cleaning, setting up tables and serving meals in the dining hall—for several summers at the Lake House Hotel on Lake Massawippi in North Hatley, he warned his mother: “don’t tell Dr. Cyr that I am making this much money”. PATRICK was a general practitioner in Black Lake from 1948 to 1952, and chief anesthesiologist at the Centre Hospitalier de la Région de l’Amiante from 1954 to 1980. From 1980 to 1986, PATRICK worked half-time at the same institution.
PATRICK and my mother Suzanne Labbé (1 Jan 1925 Thetford Mines — ) were engaged on 8 Dec 1949. They married at 11h00 on thursday 8 Jun 1950 in Thetford Mines. PATRICK’s mother Lydia lived with him in Black Lake from 1948 to 1950. Suzanne is the daughter of Annie Lachance (26 Feb 1889 S. Pierre de Broughton – 6 Apr 1962 Thetford Mines) and Tancrède Labbé (18 Jun 1887 East Broughton – 13 Dec 1956 Thetford Mines), who was mayor of Thetford Mines (Feb 1931 — Feb 1937; May 1946 — May 1951), member of Parliament representing Megantic county (1935-1939; 1940-1956) and minister of Mines (1944-1956) in the Government of Quebec. Suzanne started her classical studies in Sep 1939 at Collège Mont Notre Dame, Sherbrooke, because this is where her sister Colette (1913-1935) had gone. In Sep 1941 she moved to Quebec City, studying one year at Collège Bellevue, owned by congregation Notre Dame, and four years at the Ursulines, to gain a B. A. in 1946. Her father often spent three or four days a week in Quebec City for his political work and her brother François (23 Sep 1928 — ) started his classical studies at Séminaire de Québec in 1941. Travel was often by train, and only by train in winter. On a few occasions, Suzanne enjoyed dinner in the dining car during the 2h 15 min train ride from Thetford Mines to Quebec City. The evening terminus was often Lévis, which meant that one had to cross the river by ferry boat to reach Quebec City. Suzanne was a boarder at Bellevue. At Ursulines she was an extern living in a rooming house and eating meals in restaurants. The Ursulines and the Faculty of Medicine of Laval University were near each other in Old Quebec City. From Sep 1944 to Jun 1946, PATRICK and Suzanne lived in nearby rooming houses and ate all their meals in the same two or three restaurants. They knew each other from Sep 1943. Patrick and François were lodging in the same rooming house starting in Sep 1943 and Patrick used to send his laundry to his mother via Tancrède Labbé. They started to date seriously on 30 Oct 1945 but were away from each other from Jun 1946 to spring 1948, at which point PATRICK became a general practitioner in Black Lake, six km south of Thetford Mines. Between 1946 and 1950, Suzanne did office work for her father in Thetford Mines. Classical studies then lasted seven years for women and eight for men. The school years were termed Éléments, Syntaxe, Méthode, Versification, Belles-Lettres, Rhétorique, Philosophie I and Philosophie II. There was no Belles-Lettres for women. This is why Suzanne started her classical studies in 1939 and ended in 1946 while Patrick started in 1935 and ended in 1943.
From 1988 to 1991, PATRICK worked ten to twelve weeks a year in Kuujjuaq and Povungnituk in two-week stints as an anesthesiologist in northern Quebec dental clinics. His 1990-1991 schedule was as follows: 16-30 Mar 1990 and 1-15 Feb 1991 in Povungnituk, 10-24 Feb 1990, 23 Aug to 9 Sep 1990, 24 Nov to 8 Dec 1990, 9-23 Mar 1991, 1-11 May 1991, and 1-13 Jun 1991 in Kuujjuaq. He died of a heart attack on friday evening of 7 Jun 1991 while walking back from an after dinner fishing stint.
In early 1950, PATRICK purchased his first house in Black Lake. He opened a pharmacy there (or carried it over from the previous physician), later expanded intp its own adjacent building, and remained owner of this pharmacy until the 1970s or 1980s, namely until a Quebec law prevented physicians from owning a pharmacy. PATRICK was member of Club Kiwanis from 1948 to 1952. He was president of Club Richelieu Thetford in 1958, governor of Club Richelieu International in 1960-1961, administrator of Club Richelieu International from 1962 to 1965, and again president of Club Richelieu Thetford in 1978-1979.
PATRICK and Suzanne lived in Quebec City from Sep 1952 to Sep 1954, and on Labbé street of Thetford Mines (Labbé in memory of my grandfather) from Sep 1954 to Jun 1956. Then PATRICK gave the Labbé street house to my aunt Lucille and moved to a newly constructed dwelling at 515 Fecteau Nord, where in turn the family, my parents and my mother lived until 2008, when Suzanne moved to a four-room condominium on Pie IX avenue, followed by moves to two-room apartments in a Pie IX avenue senior residence in fall 2014 and at Domaine Bordeaux on 2140 chemin S. Louis in Québec City in Aug 2015.
The private road to the Lac à la Truite cottage, in the township and municipality of Adstock, was built in spring 1956. Tancrède’s brother Ti-blanc cut the trees whose sale paid for road construction. The road was built on a mining claim owned by Tancrède but the cottage was built on adjoining private land purchased by Patrick. Asbestos exploration was done by Tancrède, a pit was dug near a cliff, but the venture was never commercially viable. I remember seeing explosives used to break large stones that could not be moved by machinery, as well as long rows of “pitoune” (four- foot-long fir and spruce logs destined for pulp and paper manufacturing) along the road. From a one room shack in 1955, the cottage became a two floor and six room cottage in 1956 or 1957, a seven room one around 1962 and a thirteen room cottage in 1987, thanks to the addition of a basement containing five rooms. A tennis court was constructed in 1965 and a swimming pool was added in 1990.
Though it is probably the last thing she would want me to say, Suzanne was 1998 female personality of the year, region of Thetford Mines (MRC de l’Amiante) and 2008 laureate “ainés solidaires” of the Centraide Québec Campaign, an honor bestowed by the Lieutenant Governor of Quebec. She was Vice-President of CKLD radio station from 1959 to 1990. In summer 1945, she was president of her English literature class at S. Hilda’s College, University of Toronto (37). During the 1944 electoral campaign, Suzanne spoke on behalf of Union Nationale and her father at CHRC radio station of Quebec City. Suzanne is the 2nd degree cousin of Laurent Beaudoin (13 may 1938 – ) (38), who was chairman and chief executive officer of Bombardier Inc. from 1966 to 2008.
The 3 French-Canadian parents of PATRICK and Suzanne were orphans. PATRICK and Suzanne had a good life. Tancrède was a comfortable businessman by the time he entered politics at the age of 48. Patrick had already a Kodak camera at the age of 19 and he could study for a long time without immediately worrying about financial problems thanks to his cousin Oliva Cyr. Lydia Cyr and John Laughrea had a more modest existence. They did not have a radio set until Patrick gave them one around 1942. They had to sublet rooms in their rented house. Wet clothes hanged everywhere in winter because Lydia laundered at home the clothes and linen of wealthier families. But both Lydia and John were alive and lived to a ripe old age. The same cannot be said of the parents of Lydia Cyr, Tancrède Labbé and Annie Lachance:
- Lydia’s father lost an arm two years before her birth and died when she was nine years old (Chapter Eight);
- Annie’s father died when she was five years old, forcing her mother to work in American factories in Lowell Mass. for a long while. Annie had her own health challenges: she had a stroke around 1949 that left her in a coma for several weeks, and a second stroke around 1958 that left her wheelchair bound until her death four years later;
- Tancrède’s mother and father died when he was respectively 13and 14 years old.
The 3 children of PATRICK and Suzanne, and their descendants. PATRICK and Suzanne had 3 children between 1952 and 1959, 9 grandchildren between 1984 and 1991 and 2 great-grandchildren as of May 2015. The three children are 25% Irish, 2.73% Acadian (because Patrick and Tancrède are each 3.12% Acadian and Annie is 1.56% Acadian) and 0.05% Amerindian. They are:
- Michael Laughrea (29 May 1952 Thetford Mines – ). I am the author of An Irish Family in the New World…, “cousin Mike from Montreal” in the book Here Comes a Miracle of Lavon Mayfield-Brown (Tate publishing, 2005), and seen as “un appui de taille” in the book Mailloux Le Paradoxe (Editions La Semaine, 2012) of Dr. Pierre Mailloux. I married Hilda Magalhaes (Magellan) Lima (16 Jun 1954 Ouro Preto, Brazil – ) on 21 Feb 1987 in Montreal. She is the daughter of Ottilia Magalhaes (22 Nov 1922 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil — 1970 Brasilia, Brazil) and Dr. Manoel Ferreira Lima (22 Dec 1919 Maceio, Alagoas, Brazil — 29 Dec 2002 Rio de Janeiro Hospital), an oncologist and colonel who was director of a research institute of the Brazilian army in Rio de Janeiro but got run down by a city bus in his early fifties, spent several months in coma and never recovered. Ottilia is the daughter of Emilia Da Silva (~1898 Tras-os-Montes, Portugal — ~1968 Brazil) and Manoel Magalhaes ( ? Lisbon, Portugal — ~1967 Brazil). Emilia landed in Brazil around 1908 with her family and married around 1917. Manoel Ferreira Lima is the son of José Ferreira Lima and Maria Beatriz Dos Santos.
Coming out blue at birth (Patrick turned me around before delivery because of my breech position but this wrapped the umbilical cord around my neck), a nun commented that I would not survive. Nevertheless, I started school young, jumped one school grade, won at 16 the medal of the Governor General, was accepted in Medicine at 16, and studied for eleven years at Canadian, American and Swedish universities. As a three-year-old, I kept asking “why” about every fact and statement that came to my attention. To quench my curiosity, my parents sent me to school at the age of four years and three months. From 1st to 5th grade, I was schooled at the Lacerte street home of Mme Turcotte. She taught the 1st to 6th grades singlehandedly in her kitchen and living room. School was morning only in 1st and 2nd grades and all day long from 3rd grade on. We were one to three students per grade. This was good training for self-discipline, self-initiative and self-education.
One of my fond childhood memories was spending the month of March 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960 and 1961 in family travel to Miami Beach FL and back, which variously included side trips such as travel to Key West, the Smokey mountains or even Louisiana, Texas and Monterrey Mexico when I was eight years old. Another was capturing, presenting, identifying and adding new insect species to my collection, which eventually filled eight large (25 by 17 inches) decorative boxes hanging on the walls of the basement in Thetford Mines and in my present basement in Montreal: three for lepidoptera and one each for odonata, coleoptera, orthoptera, hymenoptera and miscellanea (homoptera, diptera, plecoptera, mecoptera, trycoptera…). I was most involved in this collection between the ages of four and twelve at the cottage in Lac à la Truite; a number of insects were also captured while in Florida. If asked about my professional aspirations, my answer at the time was: entomologist. But Entomology was not my only interest. I was an expert in lay-level Astronomy at the age of eight. Perhaps this is why my father bought me a telescope a year later. At the same age, I knew also the location of every name mentioned on my terrestrial globe.
At the end of 5th grade in 1961, I successfully passed the entrance exams for classical studies at Collège Classique of Thetford Mines (8th to 15th grade at the time). I jumped over the 6th grade and spent the 7th grade, a last year of elementary school called “Éléments Français”, in Collège Lasalle before attending Collège Classique from 1962 to 1969. This was an all-boy school ruled by priests and in which Latin, Greek and Religion was taught by priests. After attending Eléments, Syntaxe, Méthode, Versification and Belles-Lettres classes, I completed in 1967 my classical studies, finishing 2nd and youngest in a class of 42. The next grades were Collégial I and Collégial II (13th and 14th grades) rather than Rhétorique, Philosophie I and Philosophie II. This was a transition period towards the CEGEP system (Collège d’Enseignement Général et Professionnel). In Collégial one had to concentrate in the sciences (“sciences pures”) or the humanities (“sciences humaines”), but the same French, Philosophy and Religion classes were obligatory for all. I had two years of Mathematics, two years of Physics, two years of Chemistry and one year of Biology during Collégial I and II. Because it was the begininning of the transition period, the student body was however unchanged except for the addition of ten girls from other classical colleges, to form a class of 52. I completed Collégial II in spring 1969, finishing first and youngest in a class of 52. Meanwhile, I had applied for university studies in Physics, Biochemistry and Medicine and was accepted in all three programs at the age of 16 years. During the high school part of classical studies, I had five years of Latin, English, Mathematics and French (1962 to 1967), four years of Greek (1963 to 1967), three years of History, two years of Geography but only one year of Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Natural Sciences.
I obtained a B. Sc. in Physics from Laval University in Québec City in 1973, finishing 2nd in a class of about 40. After a summer of radio astronomical research at the National Research Council in Ottawa and at the Algonquin Radio Observatory, Ont., I moved to New Haven, CT, to study at Yale University where I obtained a Ph. D. in Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry in 1978 with the mention “Distinguished”. The title of my thesis was Physical properties of ribosomal protein S1 and its interaction with the 30 S subunit of E. coli. I moved in Jan 1978 to Uppsala, Sweden and spent 2.5 years of postdoctoral studies in Molecular Biology at the Wallenberg Laboratory and the Molecular Biology Institute of the University of Uppsala. In Jul 1980 I moved to Montreal to become staff scientist at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research of the Jewish General Hospital. In 1983 I became professor of Experimental Medicine at McGill and I held these two positions until the end of Jun 2014.
My address since summer 1981 is 7445 ave. De Dieppe, Montreal, less than two km from the hospital and with easy access to two perpendicular bus lines and two train lines. The house I had purchased in 1981 (finished basement + two floors) was 23 feet wide by 25 feet deep. I doubled it to 45.5 feet wide by 25 feet deep in 1996, by expanding sideways all three floors to end up with a living space of 3412 square feet. The ground is 52 feet wide by 92.5 feet deep but looks 58 by 98.5 feet (5713 square feet) because a twelve feet wide no man’s land (a former lane) runs along one side and the back end of the plot. This no man’s land is evenly split between the immediate neighbors. For about two years future primer minister Justin Trudeau lived two plots away from us.
My research interests were broad ranging. Investigating molecules, macromolecules, bacteria, bacterial viruses, human cells, human viruses and mammalian organs, I published fifty-two papers in the fields of Optics, Biophysics, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Gerontology, Virology and Cell Biology between 1972 and 2012. These research papers are found in journals such as Optics Communications, Nucleic Acids Research, Biochemistry, Journal of Molecular Biology, Gerontology, Experimental Gerontology, Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, Virology, Journal of Virology and Journal of Cell Science. The focus of much of my work was the structure and function of the ribosome, the accuracy of protein synthesis as a function of mammalian aging, and, from 1992 to 2013, the structure and function of the human immunodeficiency virus. 50% of my papers have two authors or less. Only 35% have more than three authors. This indicates that a wide range of research work was accomplished despite a small research team and an excruciatingly competitive environment in which only one research proposal out of six submitted by scientists was typically funded by research agencies such as the Canadian Institutes for Health Research. According to Scopus, which does bibliographic analysis of 21 000 academic journals in the fields of science, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities, I am the most cited among 53 Laughrea scholars (all spellings accepted) in the World, but this is likely to change with time. My five most cited papers are the following:
- Laughrea M,Moore PB (1977): Physical properties of ribosomal protein S1 and its interaction with the 30S ribosomal subunit of Escherichia coli. J Mol Biol 112: 399-421. Cited by ≥ 113 other papers.
- Laughrea M, Jetté L (1994): A nineteen nucleotide sequence upstream of the 5’ major splice donor is part of the dimerization domain of the HIV-1 genome. Biochemistry33: 13464-13475. Cited by ≥ 255 other papers.
- Laughrea M,Jetté L (1996): Kissing-loop model of HIV-1 genome dimerization: HIV-1 RNAs can assume alternative dimeric forms and all sequences upstream or downstream of hairpin 248-271 are dispensable for dimer formation. Biochemistry 35: 1589-1598. Cited by ≥ 184 other papers.
- Laughrea M,Jetté L, Mak J, Kleiman L, Liang C, Wainberg MA (1997): Mutations in the kissing-loop hairpin of human immunodeficiency virus type 1 reduce viral infectivity as well as genomic RNA packaging and dimerization. Virol 71: 3397-3406. Cited by ≥ 153 other papers.
- Shen N, Jetté L, Liang C, Wainberg MA, Laughrea M (2000): Impact of Human Immunodeficiency Virus type 1 RNA dimerization on viral infectivity and of stem-loop B on RNA dimerization and reverse transcription, and dissociation of dimerization from packaging. Virol. 74: 5729-5735. Cited by ≥ 85 other papers
My first and last scientific articles were on lasers and on the human immunodeficiency virus:
- Rullière C, Laughrea M, Denariez-Roberge MM (1972): Action laser dans le pérylene à 4730 Å. Optics Commun. 6: 407-409.
- Jalalirad M, Saadatmand, J, Laughrea M (2012): Dominant role of the 5′ TAR bulge in dimerization of HIV-1 genomic RNA, but no evidence of TAR-TAR kissing during in vivo virus assembly. Biochemistry 51: 3744-3758.
In between, there were biophysical studies on the bacterial ribosome and gerontological studies on the accuracy of protein synthesis in the aging rat brain:
- Laughrea M, Engelman DM, Moore PB (1978): X-ray and neutron small-angle scattering studies of the complex between protein S1 and the 30S ribosomal subunit. J. Biochem. 85:529-534.
- Filion A-M, Laughrea M (1985): Translation fidelity in the aging mammal: Studies with an accurate in vitro system on aged rats. Ageing Dev. 29:125-142.
Outside professional work, my intellectual interests included politics, ecology, philosophy and theology. Public policies about bicycling, passive smoking and the Israelo-Palestinian conflict attracted my interest. Between 1980 and 2009, I published at least fifty-six Op-Ed articles and letters in Le Devoir (32 articles), La Presse (15 articles), L’Actualité, Québec Science, Policy Options, L’Analyste, Critère, Santé Société and Le Soleil. Fourteen were on passive smoking and published between 1984 and 1989, eleven were on Israel/Palestine and published between 2002 and 2009, seven were on bicycling in a urban context and published between 1981 and 1983, and three were on Sweden. The others were on miscellanea such as drunk driving, the environment and Ireland. Each article was my own except that three on Israe/Palestine were joint texts with other university professors. Because of my contribution to passive smoking, I appeared as TV panelist or interviewee at Radio-Canada, Radio-Québec and Télé-Métropole (future TVA), as well as on radio stations CKVL and CJMS. Because of my contribution on Israel, I was invited for several years at four or five breakfast meetings per year which were held at the Israeli Consulate of Montreal. Here are seventeen examples of my Op-Ed articles:
- Le cycliste demeure l’enfant pauvre du Code de la route (La Presse, 4 Jul 1983)
- La Suède démystifiée (La Presse, 4 Apr 1984)
- Recycler les batteries (Québec Science, Jun 1984)
- Les Québécois et le tababisme: une complaisance nocive (Le Devoir, 23 Aug 1984)
- Fumeurs s’abstenir (Le Devoir, 15 Sep 1984)
- Une réplique à Jean-Paul Desbien (L’Analyste, winter 1984/85
- Comment la fumée de tabac affecte la santé des non-fumeurs (Le Devoir, 17 Jan 1985)
- L’intolérance civilisatrice. Evolution des attitudes envers les fumeurs (Critère, autumn 1985)
- La presse et le tabagisme: la liberté de presse n’existe pas dans les grands médias quand il s’agit d’informer sur le tabagisme (La Presse, 31 Dec 1985)
- Les écrans de fumée de l’industrie du tabac (Santé et Société vol. 8, #2, spring 1986)
- Eloge de l’intolérance des non-fumeurs (Le Devoir, 19 Jul 1986)
- C’est la science qui donne le pouls culturel d’un pays (Le Devoir, 15 Aug 1987)
- La Cisjordanie n’existe pas (Le Devoir, 4 May 2002)
- Le drapeau palestinien (Le Devoir, 21 Jun 2002)
- Pour un discours équilibré sur Israel. Les Israéliens savent qu’à trop chercher la justice, on n’obtient jamais la paix; comme j’aimerais que les Palestiniens et les critiques d’Israel saisissent cette nuance fondamentale (Le Devoir, 8 Aug 2003)
- Les vrais cancers d’Israel: haine planifiée et surfécondité palestinienne (Le Devoir, 7 Oct 2003)
- Ce n’est pas la langue française qui fait l’identité québécoise (Cyberpresse, 28 Oct 2007)
The author with his wife Hilda Lima at the marriage of their nephew Jean-Sébastien Lima in 2012
Hilda and I have three children:
a- Isabel (23 Dec 1988 Montreal -); B. A. in Communications, University of Quebec at Montreal (2012); Master in Management, Ecole des Sciences de la Gestion, University of Quebec at Montreal (2014). Manager at TELUS telecommunications company.
b- Elisabeth (27 Apr 1990 Montreal-); B. Sc. Inf. (Nursing), University of Montreal (2014) . M. Sc. Inf. (Nursing), University of Montreal, in progress. Clinical nurse at the Jewish General Hospital of Montreal and tutor at the University of Montreal
c- Patrick (11 Jul 1991 Montreal-). (…)
- Patricia-Ann Laughrea (13 Jul 1956 Thetford Mines -) is an ophthalmologist in Québec City. She married Pierre Douville (9 Dec 1954 or 1955 Quebec City – ) on 2 Oct 1982. They have three children:
a- Xavier Douville (20 Sep 1985 Quebec City – ) m. Claudine Rancourt on 31 Aug 2014 in Quebec City.
b- Patrick Douville (26 Jul 1987 idem – );
c- Marielle Douville (27 Aug 1989 idem – ) earned the Medal of the Governor General at the end of high school, and a second one at the end of CEGEP.
- John Laughrea (3 Sep 1959 Thetford Mines – ) is a pneumologist in Québec City. He married Ann Laflamme (21 Aug 1958 Black-Lake – ) on 12 Jun 1982 in Thetford Mines. They have three children:
a- Marie-Christine (7 Dec 1983 Quebec City -) has one son with Xavier Kako: Mateo (25 Feb 2013 Montreal – ).
b- Catherine (18 Jun 1986 idem – ) has one daughter with Jacques-Etienne Beaudet: Juliette (29 Apr 2015 Québec City — ).
c- Sophie (4 Nov 1987 idem – ). (…)
e) The Labbé connection: Tancrède Labbé (18 Jun 1887 East Broughton —13 Dec 1956 Thetford Mines) and Annie Lachance(26 Feb 1889 S. Pierre de Broughton — 8 Apr 1962 Thetford Mines). Tancrède m. Annie on 27 Jun 1911 in Thetford Mines.
The parents of Tancrède are Théophile Labbé (8 Jan 1851 S. Joseph, Beauce — 3 Jan 1902 East Broughton) and Odélie Beaudoin (1857 S. Elzéar – 15 Aug 1900 East Broughton). They m. in S. Elzéar on 25 Jul 1876. Their four oldest children (Odélie, Emilie, Raymond and Théophile) had 148 grandchildren. Their three youngest (Tancrède, Arthur and Joseph) had only 16. Théophile Labbé had eight siblings. Odélie Beaudoin had ten siblings, among whom Théophile Beaudoin (~1860 — 28 Feb 1950 S. Pierre de Broughton) and Pierre Beaudoin. Théophile Beaudoin was mayor of S. Pierre de Broughton from 1881 to 1886 and, as early as 1902, owner of a telephone line serving Tring Junction, East Broughton and Broughton station. Pierre Beaudoin opened a general store in Thetford Mines in 1888, five years after the opening of the first general store in Thetford Mines in 1883. Among the children of Odélie’s siblings, one notes the following cousins of Tancrède:
- Jos T. Beaudoin, mayor of Thetford Mines from 1937 to 1938 and 1943 to 1946.
- Leonidas Beaudoin, who founded Beaudoin Dairy of Thetford Mines.
- Pierre-Aurèle Beaudoin, father of Laurent Beaudoin, president and CEO of Bombardier from 1966 to 2008.
- Jean-Robert Beaudoin, judge and father of Louise Beaudoin (26 Sep 1945 – ), Parti Québécois minister of various offices between 1995 and 2003 within the government of Quebec.
- Mgr Edouard Beaudoin, resident head priest (“curé”) of S. Georges de Beauce from 1941 à 1964.
- Arthur Beaudoin, director of Ste-Anne-de-la-Pocatière College.
The grandparents of Tancrède Labbé are Michel Squerette dit Labbé (9 Jun 1814 S. Joseph, Beauce — 23 Oct 1898 East Broughton), Modeste Nadeau (1815 or 1818 S. Joseph, Beauce — 12 Apr 1908), Edouard Beaudoin (~1818 –~1876) and Domitille Lehoux (~1824– ).
The parents of Annie Lachance are Jean-Baptiste Lachance (10 Mar 1862 S. Pierre de Broughton – 13 Nov 1893 idem) and Olive Collet (before March 1854 – 1943 Thetford Mines). They m. in S. Pierre de Broughton on 25 Nov 1884. Jean-Baptiste was a smith. He had ten siblings. Annie Lachance was four years old when Jean-Baptiste died. Olive had to exile herself to Mass. to work in the manufactures of Lowell for a period of about fifteen years (plausibly from 1894 to 1910; minimally from 1897 to 1907). Olive, Annie, and two of Annie’s siblings settled in Thetford Mines after their time in Lowell. Annie worked in the general store of Pierre Beaudoin, uncle of Tancrède Labbé, when she met Trancrède. Soon after the marriage of Annie and Tancrède in 1911, Olive moved in the house of Tancrède and lived there until her death in 1943. Tancrède moved to a large white house on Notre Dame street in 1926. He lived there the rest of his life. His son François (23 Sep 1928 — ) took ownership of the house around 1958 and still lived in it in 2016.
The grandparents of Annie Lachance are Thomas Lachance (1824 — 15 Aug 1903 S. Pierre de Broughton), Adélaïde Vallée, Joseph Collet (22 Jul 1821 — ) and Rose-Delima Vallée (~1828 — 1854 S. Marie, Beauce).
The 7 viable siblings of Tancrède Labbé are:
- Odélie(3 Jul 1877 East Broughton — ) m. Pierre Gravel on 15 Oct 1895. They settled in Marbleton (halfway between Weedon and East Angus) and had 10 children and at least 57 grandchildren.
- Emilie (27 Sep 1880 East Broughton – 13 May 1969) m. Généré Perron on 28 Jun 1898 and had 16 children, all born in East Broughton, and at least 18 grandchildren. Odélie and Emilie, even though married, helped young orphans Théophile, Tancrède, Arthur et Joseph by preparing huge batches of soup or “bouilli” that could last them several days if not the week.
- Raymond( 7 Dec 1882 East Broughton – 4 Aug 1947 Birchton) m. Adélia Vallée on 27 Jan 1903, established himself in Birchton, now part of Cookshire-Eaton, and had 20 children and 48 grandchildren.
- Théophile (2 May 1884 East Broughton – 5 Oct 1969) m. Marie-Louise Bolduc (25 Apr 1891 S. Victor, Beauce – 1 Feb 1975) on 2 Aor 1908 and had 14 children, all born in East Broughton, and at least 25 grandchildren
- Arthur (9 Jul 1889 East Broughton – 9 Dec 1987 Montreal) m. Maria Josèphe and had 4 children, all born in Montreal, and at least 4 grandchildren. His daughter Odette spent many vacations in Tancrède’s house in Thetford Mines.
- Irené (20 Jun 1891 – );
- Joseph (23 Jan 1897 East Broughton – 8 Nov 1936) m. Laura Lafrance on 4 Aug 1919. He was injured in combat during the First World War.
The 3 siblings of Annie Lachance are:
- Jean (1 Jan 1886 East Broughton – ) secured an important position at the Breaky company of Breakeyville, now a suburb of Lévis. His children include Benoit, Arthur, Daniel, Agathe and chanoine Jean-Paul Lachance. For many summers, Jean-Paul used to spend a few days each summer at the cottage of PATRICK and Suzanne at Lac à la Truite, Adstock.
- Laura m. Charles Baillargeon in 1910. She is the mother of abbé Baillargeon, who celebrated my baptism and whom I met several times.
- Gédéon (15 Jan 1893 East Broughton – 3 Mar 1962 Lowell Mass.) staid in Lowell when Olive Collet returned to Thetford Mines around 1909 with Annie, Jean and Laura. Gédéon was 14 in 1907 and 17 in 1910; this is why I think Olive Colletdid not return to Canada before 1907. Gédéon had at least three children: Olivette, Rolande and Jean-Marc, who all lived in Lowell. They often spent weeks in the house of Tancrède during summer time. Olivette’s French was excellent.
The ancestors of Tancrède Labbé and Annie Lachance
- Tancrède and Annie are respectively 3.12% and 1.56% Acadian. Annie and US secretary of state Hillary Clinton have Jean Guyon (18 Sept 1592 Tourouvre, Normandy – 30 May 1663 Beauport, Quebec) as common ancestor.
- The male line ancestor of Tancrède was a pioneer of theBeauce: Jean-Baptiste Squerré (1701, Ambres, Auch, Gascony – 10 Jan 1761 S. Joseph, Beauce) moved to S. Joseph de Beauce between spring 1737 and summer 1738, less than two years after Beauce had become a seigneurie. Six ancestors of Tancrède and two of Annie arrived in Beauce before 1744, i.e. are pioneer settlers of Beauce.
- The male line ancestor of Olive Collet is François Collet (~1741 Brest, Brittany – 10 Nov 1805 S. François-de-la-Rivière-du-Sud). He landed in Quebec City in 1757, two years before its capture by Great Britain.
- The grandfather of Annie is a pioneer of S. Pierre de Broughton: ThomasLachance (1824 — 15 Aug 1903) settled in 1854 on lot 12 of the 11th range of Broughton, much like Richard Cyr (~ 1830—1889), father of Lydia Cyr, who settled in the 10th range of Broughton in 1854.
- Tancrède and Annie each descend from Louis Hébert(~1575 baptized in S. Germain-l’Auxerrois, Paris – 23 Jan 1627 Quebec City), first settler of New France, and from at least 38 other pioneers who landed in New France before 1640.
- Annie descends from Marie d’Abancourt, mother of explorer Louis Jolliet(21 Sept 1645 Quebec City — 5 Sep 1700 Anticosti Island, Quebec). Jolliet discovered and explored the Mississippi River and Illinois in 1673.
- 72% of the European ancestors of Tancrède and Annie come from Normandy and a radius of 110 km form La Rochelle; 12% come from Paris.
For more details on the descendants of the siblings of Odélie Beaudoin, on the descendants of the siblings of Tancrède Labbé, and on the ancestors of Tancrède Labbé, consult http://nodiffamation.com/2013/10/04/genealogie-et-histoire-des-ancetres-de-tancrede-labbe-1887-1956-ministre-des-mines-1944-1956-dans-le-gouvernement-du-quebec/ . If this does not work, try “généalogie histoire Tancrède Labbé” in Google. For more details on Annie Lachance, her siblings and her ancestors, consult http://nodiffamation.com/2013/09/22/genealogie-and-histoire-des-ancetres-de-lydia-cyr-1880-1977-tancrede-labbe-1887-1956-et-annie-lachance-1888-1962/ . If this does not work, try “généalogie histoire Annie Lachance” in Google.
The author at two years and one month
The male line ancestor of Tancrède Labbé is probably of distant Irish origin. The grandfather of Tancrède was Michel Squerette dit Labbé (9 Jun 1814 S. Joseph, Beauce – 23 Oct 1898 East Broughton). From then on Labbé was adopted as surname. Squerette, Squerre, Squeret, Squerry plausibly correspond to Skerret, an Irish name of Anglo-Norman origin. The Skerretts owned land in Connacht as early as 1242. They were part of fourteen merchant families dominating political, commercial and social life in Galway, main city of Connacht, from 1250 to 1850. Two Skeretts refused to sign the capitulation articles at the end of the siege of Galway in 1652. Galway was then the last Irish city to resist Cromwell, who derisively called “the Galway tribes” the fourteen merchant families. There must have been strong pressure for many Skerretts to leave Ireland for friendly Catholic coasts such as Gascony in southwest France. There was an Irish College in Auch, Gascony, in the early 17th century, and Tancrède’s male line ancestor comes from Auch.
John Skerrett and James Skerrett were mayors of Galway from 1491 to 1492 and from 1513 to 1532, respectively. Nicolas Skerret and Mark Skerret were archbishops of Tuam from 1580 to 1583 and 1749 to 1785, respectively. Tuam is 30 km north of the axis Galway – Loughrea, two towns which are also 30 km distant.
Since the middle of the 16th century, Irish youths sought an education at Catholic universities of the continent. Between 1590 and 1681, Irishmen founded twenty Irish colleges on the continent. The largest Irish college was Lombard College in Paris. It was founded in 1605 and had more than 100 students; in 1689 it had 180 students. The other colleges had seven to eighty students each. The Irish college at Bordeaux, founded by Fr Dermot McCallaghan MacCarthy, was open from 1603 to 1793. It was endowed by Anne of Austria and attracted so many young Irish students that numbers of them had to be educated in other centers —Toulouse, Auch, Agen, Cahors, Condom and Périgueux— all subject to Bordeaux. About 1000 priests trained in these Irish colleges returned to Ireland. Others stayed on the continent, some of them having very successful careers. For example, Dominic Lynch became rector of the University of Paris; Peter Wadding became chancellor of the University of Prague. The Irish college at Bordeaux was preponderantly associated with Munster dioceses. The Irish colleges sought to make students proficient in English, Irish, Latin and one of the continental languages (A New History of Ireland).
The children of Tancrède Labbé and Annie Lachance, and some descendants. Tancrède and Annie had seven children, all born in Thetford Mines, but five died prematurely, notably two in the first two days of 1919 and a third later in 1919. Spanish flu hit Thetford Mines in Oct 1918. Tancrède and Annie had 12 grandchildren and at least 18 great-grandchildren. Their seven children are:
- Marguerite (1912 – 1 Jan 1919 Thetford Mines) died of infectious disease at the age of six.
- Colette (19 Oct 1913 – 21 Jun 1935 Thetford Mines) died of tuberculosis at the age of twenty-one. She did her high school studies at Mont Notre Dame in Sherbrooke.
- Françoise (1914 – 1919 Thetford Mines) died of infectious disease at the age of four or five.
- Jean-Marc (13 Mar 1917 – 4 Jul 1948 Thetford Mines) m. Jeanne d’Arc Dubois (19 Oct 1921 – ) on 31 Aug 1940 but died of accidental drowning in Lac à la Truite on 4 Jul 1948 at the age of 31 years 4 months. His wife was 26 years old and their five children, all born in Thetford Mines, were aged from eight months to seven years. They are: 1) Colette (27 Jun 1941— 2 Apr 2016 Magog hospital, buried in North Hatley) m. John Penhale, male line ancestors coming from Wales; Colette did her high school studies at Mont Notre Dame, Sherbrooke 2) Andrée (1942- ) m. Darel Wright (1940- ), g.-g.-grandson of Robert Robin Wright (1795-1846) and Mary Malia; they both came from Ulster, sailed from Belfast and settled on lot 8 of the 3rd range of Inverness; Andrée did her high school studies at Mont Notre Dame, Sherbrooke; 3) Pierre (1944 — 2004 Quebec City); 4) France m. Pierre Chateauneuf; 5) Louise (1948- ) m. Benoit Cartier (1946 Thetford Mines — 2014 idem). The family of Jeanne D’Arc lived in a four-floor house on Cyr street in Thetford Mines from around 1941 to 1973. Tancrède had lent the money to Jean-Marc for its purchase and assumed the cost of the house after Jean-Marc’s death. Jeanne D’Arc has around 17 grandchildren and 23 great-grandchildren as of the end of 2014.
- Denise (1918– 2 Jan 1919 Thetford Mines) died of infectious disease at the age of less than 12 months.
- Suzanne (1 Jan 1925 – ), my mother.
- François (23 Sep 1928 – ) m. Marthe Loubier (22 Sep 1930 — ) and had four children all born in Thetford Mines [Marc (1954 — ); Marie m. Jacques Vachon; Annie m. Réjean Charette; Paul] and five grandchildren. François is a pioneering Canadian mass media owner who started in 1972 the Réseau des Appalaches, which was the first commercial French language radio network in Canada. He studied administration from 1950 to 1953 at Laval University, earning the Medal of the Lieutenant Governor at the end of his studies. From 1941 to 1950 he studied at Séminaire de Québec. Marthe is the sister of Gabriel Loubier (1932- ), who was leader of the opposition in the National assembly of Quebec from 1971 to 1973.
The other Laughreas: the 19th century Canadian Laughreas who could not be linked to PATRICK (1800— 1886)
This chapter describes all 19th century Canadian Laughrea families which could not be linked to PATRICK (1800-1886). First, we focus on sixteen Laughrea patriarchs born within 28 years of PATRICK and characterize, when possible, their male line descendants largely based on the 1831 to 1911 censuses. Second, we describe twenty-seven ill-documented Laughreas who were born in Canada but could not be linked to the sixteen patriarchs, or who immigrated early but had no apparent Canadian progeny. Third, we describe fourteen Laughrea individuals or families who immigrated late, i.e. between 1860 and 1910.
The names of these 57 other Laughreas were spelled Lockrey (14 individuals), Loughery (11 individuals), Lockery (7), Loughrey (6), Laughry (6), Loughry (3), Laughrey (3), Laughery (2), Lochrie (2), Laughray, Loghry and Lockry (1 each).
Remarkably, 63% of the other Laughrea families were Protestant. The denominational distribution is 32% Presbyterian, 32% Methodist, 26% Anglican, 5% Baptist and 5% Episcopalian. Adding PATRICK’s branch to the total, we conclude that 60% of Canadian Laughreas are Protestant, as if the Irish Laughrea families lived at a religious interface and were not conflicted by religion, contrary perhaps to many within religious or political leadership. To explain this 60%, one possibility is that 10% of Laughreas transferred from Catholicism to Protestantism at each generation starting around 1600. Our data indicate that Laughrea immigrants seen more likely to be Protestants the later they are born, but the trend is not statistically significant.
Among the sixteen Laughrea patriarchs, eight were Catholic and eight Protestant (6 Presbyterian, 1 Methodist and 1 Anglican). We know the religion of twenty-six of the ill-documented Laughreas : seven were Catholic and nineteen Protestant (8 Methodist, 4 Anglican, 3 Presbyterian, 2 Baptist and 2 Episcopalian). Regarding the Laughrea late comers, four were Catholic and ten Protestant (5 Anglican, 3 Presbyterian and 2 Methodist). Overall, thirty-nine (68%) of the other Laughreas settled in Ontario, eight (14%) in Quebec, six in New Brunswick and one each in Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan and Alberta.
a) The sixteen patriarchal families: from Henry Loughrey/Loughren (~1786-1854) to John Lochry/Laughry (~1828 — after 1901)
These Laughrea patriarchs were born between ~1786 and 1828. Fifteen were born in Ireland and one in Scotland. Eight were Catholic: Henry Loughrey/en, Patrick Loughry, Patrick Loughry, William Loughrey, Barnabus Lockery, Hugh Loughry, Neel Loughery, and John Laughry. Eight were Protestant: Solomon Lockery, Archebald Loughery, Archibald Loughrey, James Laughrey, Clark Loughrey, William Loughery, Jennet Lochrie and James Laughry. Barnabus had a Methodist wife and their children were raised as Methodists. Therefore seven patriarchs had Catholic children and nine had Protestant children. Six of these Protestant families were Presbyterian, two were Methodist and one was Anglican. One patriarch was born before PATRICK. He is Henry Loughrey/Loughren (~1786 Ireland) but he and his progeny were buried as Loughren/Loughran. Two patriarchs (Henry Loughrey/ren and Barnabus Lockery/ry) immigrated before PATRICK. Ten immigrated after PATRICK. Four are not sufficiently documented to know if they immigrated before or after 1832. They are Patrick Loughry (~1801), William Loughrey (~1801), Hugh Loughry (~1805) and Neel Loughery (~1806). Four patriarchs settled in Quebec (2 Catholic and 2 Protestant), ten settled in Ontario (6 Catholic and 4 Protestant), and two Protestant patriarchs settled in New Brunswick. Recalling that Carleton, Glengarry and Stormont are in eastern Ontario, Brant and Oxford in the London area, and that Hastings, York and Wentworth are respectively in the Kingston, Toronto and Hamilton areas, here are the names, year of birth, religion, line of work, year of immigration and place of settlement of these sixteen patriarchs:
- Henry Loughrey/Loughren (~1786), Catholic farmer, ~1824, Valcartier QC
- Patrick Loughry (~1801), Catholic taylor, before 1835, Stormont Ont.
- Patrick Loughry (~1800), Catholic gentleman (gentilhomme), after 1853, Montreal QC
- William Loughrey (~1801), Catholic farmer, before 1848, Hastings Ont.
- Barnabus Lockery/Lockrey (~1803), Catholic farmer, Methodist progeny, before 1830, Oxford Ont.
- Hugh Loughrie/Loughry (~1805), Catholic weaver, before 1851, Glengarry Ont.
- Neel Loughery/Laughry (~1806), single Catholic farmer, before 1851, Stormont Ont.
- Solomon Lockery (~1809), Presbyterian farmer, 1833, S. John N.B.
- Archebald Loughery/Loughrey (~1810), Scotch Presbyterian farmer, 1845 to 1848, Shefford QC.
- Archibald Loughrey (~1811), Presbyterian saddler, between 1851 and 1856, London Ont.
- James Laughrey/Loughrey (~1814), Methodist merchant, before 1847, Brant Ont.
- Clark Loughrey /Laughrey (~1816), Presbyterian farmer, before 1844, Shefford QC
- William Loughery/Laughery (~1820), Presbyterian farmer, before 1843, Kings N.B.
- Jennet (Janet) Lochrie/Lockrie (~1825 Scotland), Presbyterian woman, between 1850 and 1852, York Ont.
- James Lochery/Laughry (~1828), Anglican laborer, before 1856, Wentworth Ont.
- John Lochry/Laughry (~1828), Catholic farmer, before 1856, Carleton Ont.
- Henry Lochrie/Loughrey/Loughran/Laughran (~1786 Ireland — 7 Jan 1854 S. Gabriel, Valcartier, QC). The earliest Laughrea, if he is one. He was named Loughran in an 1825 petition to obtain an oat mill, Lochrie in the 1831 census, Laughran or Loughran in the 1851 census, Loughran at his burial in 1854 and Laughran at the burial of his wife Elizabeth in 1871. His family and descendants overwhelmingly used the “ran/ren/rine” ending. However they occasionally used the “rey/ry/rie/ery” ending in censuses, births, marriages and deaths records, namely
a – In five of sixteen entries in the 1831 to 1911 census records. Henry Lochrie in 1831; James Laughri (Laughery) in 1861; Henry (Hnery) Laughery, Lawrence Laughery and Patrick Loughrey in 1901; Thomas and Henry (Henery) Laughrine in 1891; Henry Laughran in 1851; Thomas Loughran, Michael Louzheen (but looks like Loughren or Loughreu) and Daniel Loufhreu (but looks like Loughren or Loughreu) in 1861; Thomas and James Loughran in 1881; Henry, Lawrence and Patrick Laughren in 1911.
b – In 5% of the relevant family names reported in births, marriages and deaths records of the Catholic church of S. Gabriel de Valcartier between 1843 and 1912. These records mention Henry and/or his descendants 319 times and distribute the spellings as follows: 164 Loughren, 137 Loughran, 9 Loughrey, 4 Loughry, 3 Laughry and 2 Laughran. The Loughrey, Loughry or Laughry spelling was not used after 1872:
- 5 Jul 1846: James Loughrey was godfather of Bridget Dunlevy
- 2 Oct 1851: James Loughrey is described as friend at marriage of Alexander Leonard and Margaret O’Neil
- 30 Dec 1851: James Loughrey is described as godfather at the baptism of Edward Cassin
- 25 Sep 1853: marriage of James Loughry, son of Henry Loughry, to Winifred McLaughlin
- 1 May 1870: baptism of Patrick Loughrey, son of James Loughrey
- 24 Feb 1871: burial of Elizabeth McElroy, wife of Henry Loughrey. Witnesses are Thomas Loughrey and James Loughrey
- 11 Mar 1871: Mary Ann Loughrey is the godmother at baptism of Debby Helen Ferguson
- 7 Aug 1872: baptism of Thomas Loughran, son of Thomas Loughry and Marguerite Corrigan; the godmother was Jane Loughry
- 16 Dec 1872: burial of Marie Laughry, daughter of Daniel Laughry and Marguerite Cassin
c – On zero of seventeen relevant tombstones in the S. Gabriel de Valcartier Catholic cemetery. Fifteen tombstones display the Loughren spelling and two display the Laughren spellings. Henceforth the family name will be spelled Loughrey/n and “S. Gabriel de Valcartier”, which anyhow englobes the whole of Valcartier, will be shortened to “Valcartier”.
Henry Loughrey/n (~1786 Ireland —7 Jan 1854 Valcartier) was a Catholic farmer living on the 5th range of Valcartier in 1831. He and his wife Elizabeth McElroy (~1793 Ireland — 23 Feb 1871 Valcartier) had eight children: one son born between ~1814 and ~1817, three children born between ~1818 and ~1825, among whom Thomas (~1820 Ireland — 30 May 1891 Valcartier) and James (~1824 QC —18 Nov 1907 Valcartier), and four children born between ~1826 and 1831, among whom Michael (~1826 QC — after 1861), Daniel (~1829 QC — 7 Feb 1866 Valcartier) and Richard (19 Mar 1831 Valcartier — after 1851). Henry’s farm was marginal in 1831, consistent with his recent immigration to a wilderness area. It was 90 arpents large, with only two arpents cultivated. He had only three animals (1 swine and 2 horned animals). He produced only fifty minots of potatoes and nothing else (production typically meaning what was in storage at census time, usually in springtime). But in 1851 he owned 210 (89) arpents, 40 (36) under cultivation. He had nineteen (14.4) animals (1 horse, 3 oxen, 3 cows, 3 swine, 9 sheep). He produced ten items (8.4): five hundred bushels potatoes (136), one hundred and fifty oats (65), eleven buckwheat (13), ten wheat (0), eight peas (2.5) (all bushels), seven hundred haystacks (835), seventy pounds butter (197), forty pounds wool (23), three barrels lard (pork) (1.3), twenty yards textile (22) and zero pounds maple sugar (61). For comparison, the corresponding numbers in the average Laughrea farm of 1851 to 1871 have been put in italics between parentheses (see Chapter Six).
Thomas, James, Michael, Daniel and Richard lived at home in 1851. Thomas, James Michael and Daniel married between 1853 and 1855 and established themselves in Valcartier or in the adjacent parish of S. Edmond, Stoneham. In 1861 Richard had moved or died and Elizabeth McElroy lived with her son Daniel. By mid 1871 only Thomas, James and their children lived in Valcartier. Michael and Daniel had moved or died and Elizabeth McElroy died in Feb 1871. The brothers lived near each other. Thomas and Daniel are listed on the same page in the 1861 census. Thomas is listed next to James in the 1881 census and next to Henry (James’ son) in the 1891 census. In 1891 Valcartier counted two Loughrey/n households: those of Thomas and Henry, Henry being the son and heir of James. Valcartier counted three Loughrey/n households in 1911: those of 1) Lawrence Laughren, bachelor, son and heir of Thomas, 2) Patrick Laughren, bachelor and son of James, and 3) Henry Laughren, son and heir of James. Henry had six children at home in 1911, including two sons: Harry (1891 — after 1943) and Ernest (1894 — 1963 Québec City).
Henry had 28 grandchildren. Sixteen of them died in Quebec, one in the USA and eleven in unkown locations. Even assuming that these unknown locations are in the USA, this still means that at most 43% of the grandchildren of Henry Loughrey/n emigrated or were born in the USA versus 70% of PATRICK’s grandchildren (Chapter Four) and 68% of the grandchildren of the Boyce clan (Chapter Eleven).
Valcartier is located in the valley of the Jacques-Cartier River, 30 km northwest of Quebec City. In 1861, Valcartier’s population of 1667 inhabitants was 96.4% British (mostly Irish) and 3.5% French. Religionwise, it was 57% Protestant and 43% Catholic, Protestants being almost equally divided between Anglicans and Presbyterians. It had three churches—Catholic, Presbyterian and Anglican— in 1851. In 1831 the population of 824 inhabitants was 47% Catholic, 35% Anglican and 18% Church of Scotland, Presbyterian and Congregationalist. For more details on Valcartier and Valcartier genealogies, consult the wonderful website of Patricia Balkom of Montpelier, Vermont: http://www.pbalkcom.com/valcartier/.
The five documented children of Henry Loughrey/n are:
a – Thomas Loughran (~1820 Ireland — 30 May 1891 Valcartier), Catholic farmer, m. Margaret Corrigan (13 Aug 1828 Valcartier — 13 Aug 1898 idem) on 12 Apr 1853 in Valcartier and had nine children born in Valcartier: Mary Ann (10 Mar 1854 — 12 Jan 1913), Henry (1 Sep 1855 — after 1861 and probably before 1871), Jane (4 May 1857 — 8 Apr 1950 Montreal), Margaret (31 Dec 1858 — 30 Dec 1926), Isabella (28 Dec 1860 — 19 Nov 1919 Duluth, Minn. but buried in Valcartier), Catherine (18 Jul 1863 — 1946 Valcartier), Michael (4 Aug 1865 — after 1881), Lawrence (26 Feb 1867 — 22 Apr 1949 Jeffrey Hale’s Hospital, Quebec City), Elizabeth (11 Aug 1869 — 7 Nov 1937 Kenogami, Chicoutimi, QC), and Thomas (27 Jul 1872 — after 1891). In the 1901 and 1911 censuses, Lawrence Laughery/Laughren and his sister Mary Ann, both bachelors, lived together in Valcartier presumably in Thomas’ household.
b – James Laughri/Laughrey/Loughran (~1824 QC —18 Nov 1907 Valcartier), Catholic farmer, m. Winifred McLaughlin (~1830 Ireland — 5 May 1914 Valcartier) on 20 Feb 1853 in Valcartier and had nine children: Ann (24 Aug 1854 Valcartier — 21 Sep 1901 Montreal), Henry (28 Aug 1855 Valcartier — 25 Nov 1925 idem), Elizabeth (23 Nov 1857 Valcartier — 30 Aug 1889 idem), Edward (9 Jun 1858 Valcartier — 5 Feb 1930 Québec City), Catherine (1859 Valcartier — 15 Mar 1897 Montreal), Rose Ann (Rosanna) (~1861— 8 Mar 1926 Valcartier), Sarah (10 Jul 1863 Stoneham — 23 Jan 1946 Valcartier), James (25 Mar 1867— 1 May 1949 Enfant Jésus Hospital, Québec City), Patrick (28 Apr 1870 Tewkesbury — 18 Oct 1918 Valcartier). Tewkesbury and Stoneham are next to Valcartier. In 1861 James’ family lived in S. Edmond de Stoneham. In her testament of 13 Feb 1913, Winifred gave $230 to her sons Henry ($30), James ($100) and Patrick ($100) and gave all her other properties, movable and immovable to Patrick. She writes as if Edward no longer exists. She gave little to Henry presumably because he had inherited the family farm. Henry and Patrick can be tracked using the 1891, 1901 and 1911 censuses. But we could not locate Edward (1858) and James (1867) in the 1891 and 1901 censuses, as if they were outside the country during this period.
- Henry (Henery, Hnery) Laughrine/Laughery/Laughren (1855 Valcartier — 1925 idem), Irish Catholic farmer, m. Mary Fitzpatrick (1 Apr 1853 Valcartier — after 1911) on 17 Jan 1888 in Valcartier and had eight children born in Valcartier: Edward J. (10 Nov 1888 — after 1920), Charles (8 Mar 1890 — before 1901), William Harry (25 Oct 1891 — after 1943), Anney Eveline (Effie) (18 Feb 1893 — 29 Mar 1961 idem), Patrick Ernest (27 Dec 1894 —29 Jul 1963 Québec City), Ellen J. (27 Jul 1897 — after 1911), Nina M. (30 Jun 1898 — after 1911) and Kate (May 1903 — after 1911). In the 1891 census, he was the head of James’ farm and his parents James (~1824-1907) and Winifred (~1830-1914) lived in his household. In 1901 James lived in Henry’s house but Winnifred lived in Patrick’s house, probably to help him because Patrick was bachelor. In the 1901 census Henry was listed five households below Lawrence’s and 15 households below Patrick’s.
- Patrick Loughrey/Laughren (28 Apr 1870 Tewkesbury — 18 Oct 1918 Valcartier), Irish Catholic farmer, was a bachelor. His mother Winnifred (~1830 Ireland) lived with him in 1901 and 1911. Winnifred had immigrated in 1849.
c – Michael Louzheen (Lougheau, but looks like Loughren or Loughreu in the 1861 census) (~1826 QC — after 1861), Catholic blacksmith, m. Esther Burns (~1828 Ireland — after 1861) on 28 Jun 1853 in Loretteville and had four children: John H. (~1854 USA — after 1861), Mary Ann (15 Apr 1858 Valcartier — after 1861), Thomas Vincent (20 Jan 1860 Valcartier — after 1861) and Elizabeth Theresa (17 Oct 1861 Valcartier — after 1861).
d – Daniel Loughran (Loufhreu, Loujhreu; but looks like Loughren or Loughreu) (~1829 QC — 7 Feb 1866 Valcartier), Catholic farmer, m. Margaret Cassin (1 Apr 1832 Valcartier —25 Jun 1874 idem) on 13 Feb 1855 in Valcartier and had five children born in Valcartier: Mary (10 Feb 1856 — 14 Dec 1872 Valcartier), Elizabeth (17 Jan 1858 — 22 Apr 1935 Montreal), Thomas (8 Apr 1860 — after 1873), Ellen (2 Sept 1862 — 18 Dec 1882 Québec City) and Dennis (8 Jul 1865 — after 1873). In 1861 Daniel’s mother Elizabeth McElroy lived in his house. In her will of 15 Jun 1874, Margaret Cassin gave $280 to Thomas ($50), Elizabeth ($70), Ellen ($80) and Dennis ($80).
- Patrick Loughry (~1801 Ireland —after 1851), Catholic taylor, m. Matilda (~1806 Ireland) and had six children born in Canada: Gilley (~1834), Sarah (~1837), Elizabeth (~1843), Ann Jane (~1845), Daniel (~1846), Matilda (~1848). They lived in Osnabruck, Stormont Co., Ont. They immigrated before 1835. (1851 census)
- Patrick Loughry (~1800 Ireland — after 1871), Catholic gentleman (gentilhomme), m. Mathilda (~1814 Ireland — after 1870) and had four children with him in 1871: Mary (~1831 Ireland), Helen (~1847 Ireland), Daniel (~1848 Ireland), Matilda (~1854 Ireland); S. Louis Ward, Montreal East. He immigrated after 1853. (1871 census). Despite some discrepancies, it is tempting to wonder if Patrick (~1801) and Patrick (~1800) might not be the same person.
- William Loughrey (Loughray, Loughua) (~1801 Ireland — after 1871), Catholic farmer, m. Ellen (~1801 Ireland — after 1871) and lived in Tyendinaga township, Hastings Co., Ont., on a 100 acres farm (40 under cultivation in 1851) next to that of his presumed son James (~1822 Ireland — after 1871). William and James lived next to each other from 1851 to 1871. James Loughrey (Loughray, Loughua) (~1822 Ireland — after 1871), Catholic farmer, m. Nancy (~1827 Ireland — after 1871) and had seven children born in Ontario: Ellen (~1847 — after 1871), Michael (~1849 — after 1871), John (~1851 — after 1871), Susan (~1853 — after 1871), Rosy (Rosie) (~1855 — after 1871), James (~1857 — after 1871), Ann (Anny) (~1860 — after 1871). They lived on a 100 acres farm (10 under cultivation in 1851) in Tyendinaga township, Hastings, Ont. Their trace is lost after 1871, as if James had emigrated by 1881.
- Barnabus (Barnay)Lockery (Lockrey) (~1803 Ireland — after 1871), Catholic farmer, m. Mary (~1811 England — after 1871), Episcopalian/Methodist, and had ten Episcopalian/Methodist children at home in 1861: George (~1833 Ont. — after 1901), Barnabus(~1836 Ont. — after 1911), Joseph (~1837 — after 1901), Mary (~1843 — after 1861), Margaret (~1845 — after 1861), William (~1846 — after 1911), twins Anguline (~1849 — after 1861) and Catherine (~1849 — after 1871), and twins Elizabeth (~1851 — after 1871) and Henry (~1851 — after 1911). Barnabus and Mary lived in East Nissouri, Oxford, Ont. in 1861 and 1871. In the 1861 census, their land was ten acres large, worth $250 and listed next to the forty acres of Hugh Lockery (~1834 Ont. — after 1891). Barnabus was also listed near Robert Lockery (~1831 Ont. — after 1881) and Charles Lockery (~1833 Ont. — after 1911). We infer that Robert, Charles and Hugh are children of Barnabus for this proximity reason and because these three have an Irish father and an English mother. We also infer that John Lockrey (~1829 Ont. — 1901) is son of Barnabus because John had an Irish father, an English mother, and lived in East Nissouri. In 1871, Barnabus (~1836), William (~1846), Catherine (~1849), Elizabeth (~1851) and Richard (~1870) (child of Catherine?) lived at home. Oxford Co. is located east of London Ont. The ten documented children of Barnabas are:
a – John Lockrey/Lockery (~1829 Ont. — after 1901), Irish Methodist farmer, m. Mary Ann (~1828 Ont.; of French origin) and had eight children born in Ont.: Francis G. (~1856 — after 1881), Martha A. (~1858 — after 1891), Jane (~1860 — after 1881), Elizabeth R. (~1862 — after 1881), Hannah Margaret (Ann Margret) (~1865 — after 1901), John Frederick (~1867 — after 1901), Mary Ellen (~1869 — after 1891), Nancy C. (~1872 — after 1901) and James Edwards (~1874 — after 1891). They lived in Nissouri East, Oxford North, Ont. in 1871 and 1881, and in Ingersoll, Oxford South, in 1891 and 1901. Francis G., Jane and John Frederick stayed home until at least 1881; Martha A., Mary Ellen and James Edwards, until at least 1891; Hannah Margaret and Nancy C. stayed home until at least 1901. Frederick Lockery (~1868 Ont., both parents born in Ont.), Anglican factory butcher, m. Harriet (~1869 Ont., English parents) before 1892 and had three children: Laura (~1896), Norman (~1897) and Robert (5 Aug 1900). They lived in Ingersoll, Oxford South, Ont. in 1891 and 1901. Frederick’s parents were listed near them in both censuses.
b – Robert Lockery/Lockrey (~1831 Canada — after 1881), Irish Methodist farmer, m. Maria (~1842 Ireland — after 1881), English Methodist, and had six children born in Ont.: Claracy (~1860 — before 1871), Barnay (Barnabes) (~1861 — after 1911), Angelina (~1864 — after 1871), Mary Jane (~1865 — after 1881), Elizabeth (~1867 — after 1881) and Robert (~1870 — after 1881). In the 1861 census, Robert was listed next to Charles Lockery. Robert had 40 acres worth $800. He lived in East Nissouri, Oxford, Ont. in 1861 and 1871 and in Bosanquet, Lambton, Ont. in 1881. Barnabes (Barnabas) Lockrey (~1863 Ont. — after 1911), Irish Presbyterian/Methodist laborer, m. Millie (~1877 Ont. or USA — after 1911), Dutch methodist, and had three children born in Ont.: Annie (~1897 — after 1911), Robert (~1899 — after 1911) and Aloda (~1902 — after 1911). They lived in Bosanquet, Lambton East, Ont. in 1901 and 1911.
c – Charles Lockery (~1833 Ont. — after 1911), Methodist Irish farmer, m. Catherine (~1840 Ont. — between 1891 and 1911) and had ten children born in Ont.: Thomas (~1859 — after 1891), Isabel (~1862 — after 1881), Richard (~1864 — after 1881), Charles (~1865 — after 1881), William (~1867 — presumably after 1911), Alice (~1869 — after 1891), Sarah (Mary) (1871 — after 1891), Robert (~1875 — after 1901), Jay (~1880 — after 1891) and J. F. (~1882 — after 1891). Charles was listed next to Robert Lockery in the 1861 census. Charles then had 50 acres worth $1000, i.e. eight times the value per acre of the Killarney Road farm of PATRICK (1800), even though Charles’ farm was only 52% cultivated. He lived in East Nissouri, Oxford, Ont. in 1861 and 1871, in Warwick, Lambton, Ont. in 1881, in Plympton, Lambton West, Ont. in 1891 and in Dawn, Lambton West in 1911. His grandson Charles (~1893) lived with him in 1911.
- William Lockrey (~1871 Ont. — after 1911), Irish Methodist farm laborer and presumed son, m. Near (~1882 Ont.) and had four children at home in 1911: Allie (~1905), Levurne (~1906), Bertha (~1908), Ester (Jan 1909) and William (Mar 1910 — after 1911). All seven family members lived in Petrolia, Lambton East, Ont. in 1911. William is listed just above Edward Lockrey (~1852) and Charlotte in the 1911 census.
- Robert Lockrey (~1876 Ont. — after 1901), Irish Methodist laborer, m. Mary (~1881 USA — after 1901), had daughter Gertrude (29 Jan 1900) and lived in Dawn, Bothwell, Ont. in 1901. He was listed just below his uncle George Lockrey’s household in the 1901 census.
d – Hugh Lockery/Lockrey/Lockerey (~1834 Ont. — after 1891), Episcopalian living in a log house in 1861 (Methodist in 1871, 1881 and 1891), m. Elizabeth (~1838 — after 1891; of Dutch origin) and had four children born in Ont.: Alvina (Alviria) (~1857 — after 1871), William (~1864 — after 1891), John Franklin (~1866 — after 1881) and Marion (~1872 — after 1881). In the 1861 census, Hugh lived in East Nissouri, Oxford, Ont., on 40 acres worth $800. He was listed next to Barnabus. They probably split a 50 acre farm into 40 acres for Hugh and 10 acres for Barnabus. From 1871 to 1891 Hugh lived in East Nissouri, Oxford North.
e – George Lockrey (~1833 Ont. — after 1901) or George Lockery (Lockrey) (~1837 Ont — after 1911). One of them is the bona fide son of Barnabus (~1801) and Mary. George (~1833) lived in Bothwell while George (~1837) lived in Lambton. These two counties are adjacent in the extreme southwest of Ontario. Dawn townsip is just south of Lambton Shores, which is a municipality regrouping Bosanquet and Thedford. It is possible that one George is cousin of the other George.
George Lockrey (~1833 Ont. — after 1901), Irish Methodist farmer, m. Catherine (~1841 Ont. — after 1901) and had children William (~1869 Ont. — after 1901), Ida (~1880 — after 1901), John F. (~1882 — after 1901), and grandchildren Alice (~1887) and Charles (~1893). They lived in Dawn, Bothwell, Ont. in the 1901 census and were listed right above the household of his putative nephew Robert Lockrey (~1876), his wife Mary (~1881) and their daughter Gertrude (~1900). We found this George only in the 1901 census. The other George Lockrey of the 1901 census was described as born in ~1835.
George Lockery (Lockrey) (~1837 Ont — after 1911) was born in ~1841, ~1835 and ~1835 according to the 1891, 1901 and 1911 censuses. He was a widowed Methodist laborer in 1891, an Irish non sectarian farm laborer in 1901 and an English Anglican in 1911, but in each case he lived in Lambton. We infer that these three George Lockery are the same person. George had a father born in Ireland and a mother born in England, which raises the possibility that he may be the actual son of Barnabus (~1801) and Mary (~1811). He had children Mary (~1872 Ont.) and George (~1878 Ont.). In 1891 he was a lodger living in Bosanquet, Lambton, Ont.. In 1901 and 1911 he lived in the house of his son-in-law William Bryant (~1865 Ont.) in Thedford, Lambton East, Ont.
- Mary (~1872 Ont. — after 1911) m. William Bryant (~1865 Ont.) and had two daughters: Inez (Iros) (~1901 Ont.) and Cullen (~1907). They lived in Thedford, Lambton East, Ont. in 1901 and 1911. Mary may be the same as Mary Lockery (~1871 Ont.) who was a domestic in Forest, Lambton West in 1891. However this domestic claimed that her two parents were born in England.
- George Lockery (Lockrey) (~1878 Ont. — after 1911; both parents born in Ont.) was a Methodist domestic (farm servant) in Bosanquet, Lambton East, Ont. in 1891 and an Irish methodist farm laborer in Thedford, Lambton East, Ont. in 1901. He m. Lillie (~1879 Ont.) and had two children: Mabel (~1897 Ont.) and Hazel (15 Jun 1900). In 1911 he was a widower, lodger and English Methodist laborer in Thedford, Lambton East, Ont. His daughter Mable (~1896 Ont.) then lived in the house of his sister Mary (~1872 Ont.).
f – Barney (Barnabus, Barnabes) Lockery/Lockrey (~1836 Ont. — after 1911), father born in Ireland, mother born in England, Methodist/Prebysterian farmer, m. French Catholic Margaret (~1869 USA — after 1911, father born in USA, mother born in QC) and had three Catholic children: Claude (~1888 Ont. — after 1911), Margaret (~1890 Ont. — after 1901) and Ellen (Nellie) (~1895 Ont. — after 1911). They lived in Bosanquet, Lambton East, Ont. from 1891 to 1911. Claude m. Pearl (~1888 Ont.); they lived in the house of Barnabus and Margaret in 1911.
g – Joseph Lockery/Lockrey (~1840 Ont. — after 1901), Irish Methodist farmer, m. Mary (~1854 Ont. — after 1901) before 1872 and had four children: Wretta (~1882 — after 1901), Joseph (~1884 — after 1901), William (~1888 — after 1901) and Ester (~1893 — after 1901). They lived in Nissouri East, Middlesex East, Ont. in 1871 and in Nissouri West, Middlesex East, Ont. in 1901.
h – Maria Lockery (~1844 Ont.), Methodist domestic (housekeeper), both parents born in England, lived in Bosanquet, Lambton East, Ont. in 1891.
i – William Lockery/Lockrey (~1846 Ont. — after 1911), father born in Ireland, mother born in England, Irish Methodist laborer and farmer, m. Mary (Mary Ann) (~1845 Ont.; father born in Ont.; mother born in Scotland) and had three children: Nancy (Nancy J.) (~1881 Ont. — after 1891), Mary Ann (~1884 Ont. — after 1911) and William (Donald William) (~1887 Ont. — after 1901). They lived in Mosa, Middlesex West, Ont. in 1881, Bosanquet, Lambton East, Ont. in 1891, Thedford, Lambton East, Ont. in 1901 and 1911. In the 1901 census, William is listed as Catholic laborer while Mary Ann is listed as Dutch Presbyterian.
j – Henry Lockrey (~1854 Ont. — after 1911) was a Methodist domestic (servant) living in Plympton, Lambton West, Ont. in 1901, and a widower, Methodist farmer living in Moore, Lambton West, Ont. in 1911. His nephew Thomas Lockery (~1864 Canada) lived in his house in 1911. There is a fair chance this Henry is son of Barnabus.
- Hugh Loughrie/Loughry/Lochry (~1805 Ireland — after 1861), Catholic weaver, m. Ann (~1807 Ireland — after 1861) and had three children: John (~1839 — after 1861), Sarrah (~1841 — after 1861) and Alexander (~1843 — after 1861). They lived in Charlottenburgh, Glengarry Co., Ont. in 1851 and 1861.
- Neel Loughery/Laughry/Laughrey (~1806 Ireland — after 1881), single Catholic farmer, lived in 1851, 1871 and 1881 in the household of Edward Kichey/Cahey (~1804 Ireland — after 1881) and his wife Mary (~1799 Scotland — before 1881), in Roxborough, Stormont Co., Ont.
- Solomon Lockery (Lochery, Loughery)(~1809 Ireland — between 1881 and 1891), Presbyterian farmer, m. Nancy (~1810 Ireland — after 1891) and had seven children: William(~1832 Ireland — between 1901 and 1911), Thomas(~1836 Canada — before 1901), Andrew (~1838 — between 1901 and 1911), Sarah (~1841 — after 1851), Benjamin (~1846 — after 1911), Mathilda (~1850 — after 1851) and Solomon (~1853 N.B. — after 1881). The family immigrated in 1833 and lived in Simonds, S. John N.B. in 1851 and 1881. Solomon (~1853 — after 1881) was a teamster living at home in 1881. Nancy Loughery (~1810 Ireland), Anglican widow of Solomon, lived on her own in S. John Co., N.B. in 1891 but was listed right above William (~1832) and on the same page as Andrew (~1838) and Benjamin (~1846).
a – William Lochery (Loughery, Lochrey) (~1833 Ireland — between 1901 and 1911), Presbyterian ship carpenter in 1881 and 1891 and Presbyterian farmer in 1901, m. Mathilda (~1844 Ireland — after 1911) and had six children: Ashley (Eshley) (~1868 N.B. — after 1901), John (~1874 N.B. — possibly before 1891), George (~1875 N.B. — after 1911), William (Willson, Nilson) (~1878 — after 1901), Lewis (Louis) (~1880 N.B. — after 1911) and Lottie (~1881 — after 1911). William and Mathilda respectively immigrated in 1833 and 1855. They lived in Simonds, S. John N.B. from 1881 to 1901. Mathilda (Matilda) Lockrey (~1843 Ireland — after 1911), Irish Adventist farmer and widow of William, lived with children George (~1875 — after 1911), Louis (~1880 — after 1911) and Lottie (~1883 — after 1911) in S. John, N.B. in 1911. In 1911, she is listed a few lines above her brother-in-law, widowed Benjamin Lockrey (~1846 N.B.), and Martha Lockrey (~1851 N.B.), presumed widowed wife of Andrew Lochery (~1839 N.B.) despite the discrepancies in birthdates. The 1911 census states that Mathilda was born in N.B. but all the other censuses state that she was born in Ireland.
b – Thomas Lockrey (~1836 N.B. — before 1901), Anglican Irish ship carpenter, m. Baptist Lucy (~1838 N.B. — after 1901) and had six Baptist children: William (~1858 N.B. — after 1881), Jane (~1860 — after 1881), Elizabeth (1863 — after 1881), Thomas (~1866 — after 1881), Alice (Allice) (~1867 — after 1901) and Mathilda (~1870 — after 1881). They lived in S. Martin’s, S. John, N.B. in 1881. Lucy Lochrey (~1838 N.B.), Baptist widow, lived in Wellington, Ward, John N.B. in 1901, in the house of her daughter Alice, who was m. to William Dunlop (~1864) and had two children with him.
c – Andrew Lochery (~1839 N.B. — between 1901 and 1911; parents born in Ireland), Irish Methodist ship workman in 1881, Anglican farm laborer in 1891 and Presbyterian farmer in 1901, m. Anglican Martha (~1844 N.B. — after 1911) and had three children: James (~1867 — after 1881), John (~1871 — after 1911) and Alice (~1877 — after 1901). They lived in Simonds, S. John, N.B. from 1881 to 1901. Andrew, Benjamin and William are listed on the same page in the 1891 census. Andrew is listed next to Benjamin in the 1901 census. Martha Lockrey (~1851 N.B.), widowed Irish Anglican farmer, and son John (~1881 N.B.) lived in S. John N.B. in the 1911 census. She is listed just below Benjamin Lockrey. She is likely the widow of Andrew, despite the inconsistencies in ages for herself and her son, both being listed as six to ten years younger than in previous censuses.
d – Benjamin (Benj.) Lochery (~1846 N.B. — after 1911), Irish Methodist ship carpenter in 1881, Irish Presbyterian ship carpenter in 1891, presbyterian farmer in 1901, m. Agnus (Agnes) (~1852 N.B. — between 1896 and 1901) and had eight children: Sarah (~1877 N.B. — after 1901 ), James (~1878 — after 1901), George (~1880 — after 1911), William(~1883 — after 1911), Amie (Mancie) (~1888 — after 1901), Solomon (~1891 — after 1911), Beulah (~1893 — after 1911) and Douglas (~1896 — after 1911). Benjamin lived in Simonds, S. John, N.B. from 1881 to 1911. Andrew and Benjamin were listed next to each other in the 1881 census. George still lived at home in 1911 with his widowed father and a number of siblings. William Laughery (~1883 N.B. — after 1911), Irish Baptist sailor, m. Della (~1889 N.B. — after 1911) and had children Stanley (~1909) and Charles (May 1911). They lived in S. John, N.B. in 1911.
- Archebald (Archibald, Areky, Archy)Loughery/Loughrey (Longley)(~1810 Ireland — after 1871), Scotch Presbyterian/Episcopalian farmer, m. Mary Jane (~1820 Ireland — after 1871, Scotch) and had seven daughters: Mary Eliza (~1845 Ireland — after 1871), Matilda L. (~1848 QC — after 1871), Sarah (~1849 — after 1861), Jean (Janie?) (~1850 QC — after 1861), Nancy R. (~1850 QC — after 1871), Mary (~1853) and May (~1866 USA). They lived in Granby, Shefford, QC in 1861 and 1871. We lose track of this family after 1871. Archebald and Mary may have died and their daughters may have married by 1881. Archebald may be a brother or cousin of Clark Loughrey (Laughrey) (~1816 Ireland — after 1851 or 1901): he and Clark are listed on the same page in the 1851 census and their names are spelled identically.
- Archibald (Arch)Loughrey (~1811 Ireland — between 1891 and 1901), Presbyterian (Congregationalist) saddler, m. Ellen (~1820 Ireland — after 1901) and had seven children: Ellen (~1840 Ireland — after 1881), William(~1842 Ireland — after 1901), Sarah (~1848 Ireland — after 1861), Samuel B. (~1851 Ireland — after 1901), Elizabeth (~1857 Canada — after 1901), Arch (Archibald) (~1858 Canada — after 1911), Michael (~1859 — after 1871). They lived in Ward 7, London, Ont. in 1861 and in Ward 2 of London from 1871 to 1901. Ellen, Samuel, Elizabeth and Arch lived at home in 1881 but not in 1891 except for Elizabeth who was a clerk in a dry good store in 1891 and lived with her parents. The family immigrated in 1856 according to the 1901 census record of Samuel. Ellen Loughrey (~1820 Ireland — after 1901), Congregationalist widow and former wife of Archibald, lived with Elizabeth (~1857 Ont.), in Ward 2 of London, Ont. in 1901. Elizabeth was described as born in ~1863 in the 1891 and 1901 censuses.
a – William Loughrey (Loughry, Loughery, Lockrey) (~1842 Ireland — after 1911), Presbyterian store keeper, saddler and grocer, m. Jane (~1845 Ireland — after 1911, immigrated in 1852) and had six children: Aurelia (Emelia) (~1866 Ont. — after 1881), Adeline (Adline) (~1868 — after 1881), William (~1870 — after 1911), Elizabeth (~1873 — after 1881) and twins Samuel (~1878 — after 1881) and Francis (~1878 — after 1881). They lived in London, Middlsex East, Ont. in 1871, 1881 and 1911 but in Amherst, Cumberland, N.S. in 1901. In 1911 their widowed son William (~1870) lived with them.
- William Loughery (~1870 Ont. — after 1911), Irish Methodist plumber, m. Sarah (~1877, English from N.B. — before 1911) and lived in Amherst, Cumberland, N.S. in 1901, not far from his parents William and Jane.
- Samuel A. Loughery (~1878 Ont. — after 1911), Irish Anglican stagecoach carpenter m. English Canadian Mary (~1882 Ont. — after 1911), had son Edward M. (~1906 Ont.) and lived in London, London, Ont. in 1911.
b – Samuel B. (S. B.) Loughrey (Laughrey) (~1853 Ireland — after 1901; Irish parents), Anglican commercial traveler, m. Emily (~1859 British Guyana — after 1901, English father and British Guyanian mother) and had son George A. (Archibald) (~1883 Ont. — after 1901). They lived in Ward 2, London, Ont. in 1891 and in Ward 4, London, in 1901. Samuel’s mother-in-law Eliza Snelgrove (~1826 British Guyana — after 1901, British father and French mother) lived in the household in 1891 and 1901. Samuel’s family immigrated in 1856, which is highly consistent with him being the son of Archibald (~1811).
c – Archibald (Archie) Loughery (Loughrey) (~1858 Ont. — after 1911), Methodist (Congregationalist) employee at Canadian Pacific Railroad, m. Minnie (~1864 USA — after 1911, German parents) and had four children: Evelyne (~1887 — before 1901), Theadore (~1889 — after 1911), Harold (~1892 — after 1911) and Gladys (~1897 — after 1911). They lived in London, London, Ont. from 1891 to 1911.
- James Laughrey (Loughrey) (~1814 Ireland — after 1861), Methodist merchant in 1851 and gentleman in 1861, m. Mrs (~1836 Ont. — after 1861) and had children Sarah (~1846 Ont. — after 1861) and Emily (~1848 — after 1861), presumably from a first marriage, and Edward (~1858 — after 1861). They lived in Brantford, Brant Co., Ont. in 1851 and 1861.
- Clark Loughrey (Laughrey) (~1816 Ireland — after 1851), Presbyterian farmer, m. Nancy McKirby (~1815 Ireland — before 1853?) before 1843 and had four children living at home in 1851: John (~1843 QC — before 1853?), Elizabeth (Eliza A.) (~1844 QC — after 1871), Clark W. (~1847 QC — before 1855?) and Thomas B. (1850 Terrebone — after 1871). They lived in Lacorne, Terrebonne Co., QC in 1851 and Archibald Loughrey was then listed just below Clark (~1816) with the note that Archibald was from “Granby Eastern Townships”, as if Archibald was a visiting parent. Despite the apparent discrepancies regarding the birthdates of children John (~1843) and Clark (~1847) (see below), our working hypothesis is that Clark (~1816) of Terrebonne in 1851 is the same as Clark (~1816) of Granby between 1861 and 1901 who is described in the next paragraph. For example, perhaps John (~1843) and Clark (~1847) died prematurely and children born approximatively ten years after them were named John (~1853) and Clark (~1855) in their honour. We presume that Clark married Helen (Eleanore) after 1851, which means that Aruce (~1850) might be a stepdaughter of Clark.
Clark Loughery (Laughery) (~1816 Ireland — between 1901 and 1911; Scotch), Presbyterian (Episcopalian, Congregationalist) farmer, m. Helen (Eleanore) (~1826 QC — after 1911; Irish) and had nine children living in his household at some point between 1861 and 1871: Elizabeth (~1846 QC — after 1871), Aruce (~1850 — after 1861), John (~1853 — after 1861), Thomas (~1854 — after 1871), Clark (~1855 — after 1861), Robert (~1861 QC — after 1911), William (~1863 QC — after 1881), Priscilla (Procilla, Violet) (~1865 QC — after 1911) and Maud (~1868 QC — after 1911). They lived in Granby, Shefford, QC in 1861, 1871, 1881 and 1901. Robert, Violet and Maud lived at home in 1901 and were bachelors living together in the parental home in 1911. In the 1861 census, Clark was listed two households below Archibald Loughery (~1810 Ireland) and their names are spelt identically, reinforcing the idea that they are members of the same family. In 1911 Robert Loughry (~1861 QC — after 1911), Congregationalist bachelor farmer, lived in Granby, Shefford, QC and was head of a household consisting of his mother Eleanore (~1826 QC — after 1911) and his two bachelor sisters Violet (~1865 QC —after 1911) and Maud (~1868 QC — after 1911).
- William Loughery (Laughery) (~1820 Ireland — after 1891), Presbyterian farmer, m. Mary (~1814 Ireland — after 1891) and had six children: Eliza M (~1843 N.B. — after 1861), Samuel(~1846 N.B. — after 1901), James(~1847 N.B. — after 1901), Sarah J (~1849 N.B. — after 1871), George (~1851 — after 1871) and William (~1854 N.B. — after 1871 or 1881). They lived in Sussex, Kings, N.B. in 1861 and 1871 and in Waterford, Kings N.B. in 1881 and 1891. In 1881, a William Loughery (~1869 Ireland) lived in the house of William and Mary. In 1891 William and Mary lived in the house of their son Samuel.
a – Samuel Laughery (~1845 N.B.), Irish Presbyterian farmer, m. Agusta (1867 N.B. — after 1901) and had three children: Mary F. (~1894 — after 1901), Wm G. (~1896 — after 1901) and Sarah H. (1898 — after 1901). They lived in Norton, Kings, N.B. in 1901.
b – James Loughery (~1848 N.B. — after 1901), Irish Presbyterian farmer, m. Eliza (~1851 N.B. — after 1901) and had eight children: William J. (~1878 — after 1901), Sarah Mary (Sadie) (~1880 — after 1901), Samuel N. (~1881 — after 1901), Henry (~1882 — after 1891), George (~1884 — after 1901), James (~1886 — after 1901), Anna (Annie) (~1889 — after 1901) and Crandall (~1891 — after 1901). They lived in Waterford, Kings, N.B. from 1881 to 1901.
- Jennet (Janet, Jessie)Lochrie (Lockrie) (~1825 Scotland — between 1901 and 1911), Scotch Presbyterian married woman in 1861 but widowed in 1871, had three children: Elizabeth (~1847 Scotland — after 1901; Irish), James (~1849 Scotland — after 1911) and Jessie (~1852 Ont. — after 1911; Irish). Jennet’s husband was Irish born in Scotland. They immigrated between 1850 and 1852. Jennet lived in York, York, Ont. in 1861 as a married woman but her husband was not listed. In 1871, James (~1849) was married, lived in his own household in York West, York West, Ont. and was listed just below that of Jennet (Jessie), Elizabeth and Jessie. In 1881 Elizabeth (~1847) was married and Jessie (~1852) lived in her household while Jennet lived in James’ household. Jennet continued to live in James’ household in 1891 and 1901: in S. Mark’s ward, York West in 1891 and Toronto, York West in 1901.
a- Elizabeth (~1847 Scotland — after 1901) m. Irish Catholic John Hand (~1847 Ireland — after 1901), perhaps for this reason became Scottish Catholic, and had six Catholic children: Edward (~1873 Ont. — after 1901), Daniel (~1875 — after 1891) John (~1879 Ont. — after 1911), Rosa (Rose) (~1880 Ont. — after 1901), Jesse M. (~1882 — after 1891) and Catherine (~1889 — after 1901). They lived in S. George Ward, Toronto City in 1881, S. Mark’s Ward, York West, Ont. in 1891 and in Ward 6, Toronto, York West, Ont. in 1901, i.e. the same area as James and Jennet in 1891 and 1901. In 1891 John Hand was engineer, rope maker while Edward (~1873) and Daniel (1875) were respectively student and rope maker. We lose track of Elizabeth after 1901 but her son John (~1879) and her sister Jessie lived in Ward 6, York West, Ont. in 1911, suggesting that they lived in the same lodging as in 1901.
b – James Lochrie (Lockrie) (~1849 Scotland — Mar 1930 Toronto), Irish Presbyterian, m. Catherine (~1852 Scotland— between 1901 and 1911; Scotch Presbyterian) and had son Daniel (Dec 1870 Ont. — after 1911). James lived in York West, York West, Ont. in 1871, Brockton, York West in 1881, S. Mark’s Ward, York West in 1891, Toronto, York West in 1901 and Ward 6, Toronto in 1911. He was rope maker in 1871, rope manufacturer in 1881 and 1891 and bicycle manufacturer in 1901. He filed for a bicycle-related patent in 1893 and manufactured Antelope Bicycles from 1895 to at least 1905 at 1403-1411 Bloor West, Toronto, where he also operateda bicycle livery until at least 1908. The bicycles were sold from his showroom on Yonge then College Street, as well as through agents in other towns. After the dramatic fall in demand for bicycles that began in the early 1900s, major Canadian bicycle manufacturers combined into a single company that later became the Canada Cycle & Motor Company (CCM). (My first bicycle was a CCM.) James lived on 1411 Bloor West, Toronto, in 1930 (Bloor’s first bike lane advocate?). His widowed mother Jennet lived as a neighbor in 1871 and in his house from 1881 to 1901. Daniel (Daw A.) Lochrie (~1871 Ont. — after 1911), Presbyterian bicycle manufacturer in 1901 and brick maker in 1911, m. Effie (16 Oct 1870 Ont. — after 1911) and had children James (~1895 — after 1911), Alexander (Alex) (~1899 Ont. — after 1911) and Catherine (~1902 — after 1911). Daniel was listed just below James Lochrie in the 1901 census. In 1911 Daniel, his wife (Mrs Daniel) and his family lived in the house of his widowed father James. In December 1909, The Globe reported that Daniel was fined $15 for exceeding the automobile speed limit, then set at 10mph.
c – Jesse (Jessie, Janet) Lochrie (~1852 Ont. — after 1911, both parents born in Scotland) was a bachelor living in the household of her sister Elizabeth Lochrie-Hand (~1847) from 1881 to 1901 and in that, possibly the same dwelling, of her nephew John Hand (~1879 Ont. — after 1901) in 1911. The location of the dwellings were S. George Ward, Toronto City in 1881, S. Mark’s Ward, York West, Ont. in 1891 and Ward 6, Toronto, York West, Ont. in 1901 and 1911. Jesse was a seamstress in 1881. She was respectively listed as Janet Lochrie (~1852 Ont.), Scotch, Jesse Lochrie (~1852 Scotland), Scotch Catholic, Jessie Lochrie (~1852 QC), single Scotch Catholic and Jessie Lochrie (~1835 Ont.), Scotch Catholic lodger and aunt of John Hand (~1879) in 1881, 1891, 1901 and 1911. Despite the discrepancies in places or years of birth from one census to the other, it is almost certain that these four Jessie are the same person lodging with family members.
- James Lochery (Laughry, Loughery) (~1828 Ireland — after 1881), Anglican laborer, m. Margaret (Margret) (~1828 Ireland — after 1881) and had four children: James (~1855 Ont.), Robert (~1857 Ont.), Samuel (~1866 Ont.) and Alexander (1871 Ont.). They lived in West Flamborough, Wentworth, Ont. from 1861 to 1881. James’ two single brothers Alex (~1833 Ireland) and Joseph (~1843 Ireland) lived with him in 1861. Catharine Laughry (~1849 Ireland), Methodist servant, Flamborough West, Wentworth North, Ont.; may or may not be related to James (1871 census).
- John Lochry (Laughry, Laughery) (~1828 Ireland — after 1901), Catholic farmer, m. Mary C. (Charlot) (~1830 Ont. — after 1871), Presbyterian, and had five children: Mary Jane (~1855 Ont. — after 1871), John Henry (~1857 — after 1871), Emily L. (Emeline) (~1859 Ont. — after 1871), Hugh W. (~1862 USA — after 1871) and Sarah M. (~1868 Ont. — after 1871). They lived in Osgoode, Carleton, Ont. in 1861 and Osgoode, Russell, Ont. in 1871. John was described in 1901 as retired single Catholic living in Osgoode, Russell Ont.
b) The 27 ill-documented or transient Laughreas
We know the religion of twenty-six of the twenty-seven ill-documented Laughreas : seven were Catholic and nineteen Protestant (8 Methodist, 4 Anglican, 3 Presbyterian, 2 Baptist and 2 Episcopalian). Seventeen lived in Ontario (2 Catholic and 14 Protestant), four in Québec (3 Catholic and 1 Protestant), four in New Brunswick (2 Catholic and 2 Protestant), one in Nova Scotia and one in Prince Edward Island (both Protestant). Twenty-six of the twenty-seven ill-documented or transient Laughreas could be documented by only one census.
Two of the ill-documented Loughreys immigrated early but had no apparent progeny in Canada. They are:
- Mary Laughery (~1828 Ireland), Catholic, Williamsburg, Dundas Co., Ont. (1851 census)
- Denis Laughery (~1808 Ireland), Catholic farmer, wife F. Ann O’ Horan (~1838 N.B.) Mann, Bonaventure, QC (1861 census)
The twenty-five other ill-docmented Loughreys (5 Catholic and 19 Protestant) were born in Canada but could not be linked to the sixteen patriarchs. Sixteen lived in Ontario (1 Catholic and 14 Protestant), three in Quebec (2 Catholic and 1 Protestant), four in New Brunswick (2 Catholic and 2 Protestant), one in P.E.I. and one in Nova Scotia (both Protestant). Those from Ontario are regrouped by regions, namely the extreme southwest (Essex, Kent, Lambton), the London (Brant, Middlesex, Oxford, Waterloo), Hamilton (Wentworth), Toronto (Dufferin, Simcoe, Wellington, York) and Kingston (Hastings, Peterborough) areas, and eastern Ontario (Dundas, Leeds, Prescott, Russell, Stormont). For a map of Ontario counties in 1880, see http://digital.library.mcgill.ca/countyatlas/searchmapframes.php .
Extreme southwest of Ontario:
- George Laughry (Oct 1871 Ont.), Catholic laborer, Kingsville, Essex South, Ont. (1901 census)
- Margaret (Margrey) Lockery (~1874 Ont.), Baptist domestic, Forest, Lambton West, Ont. (1901 census)
- James Lockrey (~1880 Ont.), Irish Methodist laborer, Enniskillen, Lambton East, Ont. (1901 census)
The London area:
- James Loughery (~1856 Ont.), Anglican factory hand m. Catherine (~1859) and had son William (~1879), Strathroy, Middlesex West, Ont. (1881 census)
- Maria Lockrey (~1861 Ont.), English Presbyterian domestic (cook), Galt, Waterloo South, Ont. (1901 census)
- Angeline Lockrey (~1863 Ont.), Methodist domestic, Biddulph, Middlesex North, Ont. (1881 census)
- Jennie Lockrey (~1873 Ont., both parents born in Ont.), Anglican domestic, London East, Middlesex East, Ont. (1891 census)
- Marjory Lockrey (~1873 Ont., both parents born in Ont.), Methodist domestic, London East, Middlesex East (1891 census)
- Mary Lockrey (~1874 Ont.), Irish Methodist boarder and dress maker, Ward 1, London, Ont. (1901 census)
- Edith Loughrey (~1861 England), Presbyterian Scotch, London, Ont. (1911 census)
- John Lockrey (~1877 Ont.), Irish Methodist clerk, Ward 2, London, Ont. (1901 census)
- Harriet (Harriott M.) Maria Lockrey (~1879 Ont.), English Methodist widow and children Roy John (~1905) and Blanch War (~1907). Harriet had a Dutch mother in law Elizabeth (~1855 Ont.) and an Irish sister in law Ester Cora (~1893 Ont.). Nissouri West, Middlesex East, Ont. (1911 census)
The Hamilton area: Elmira Loghry (1827 USA), widow, Baptist English, and son Joseph (~1857 USA), laborer. Ward 4, Hamilton, Ont. Maybe she and her husband fled the American Civil War of 1861-1865. (1881 census)
The Toronto area:
- William Lockery (~1844 Ont.) m. Fanny (~1849) and had children E (Emmie?) (~1872), Joseph (~1876), Robert (~1878) and William (~1880). Harriston, Wellington North, Ont. (1881 census)
- Samuel W. Lockrey (~1859 Ont.), Irish Anglican, wife Allice (~1857 Ont.) and children Margaret S. (~1881), Elizabeth M. (~1885), Wiliam R. (~1889), ? (~1891) and Gordon (~1893); Orangeville, Dufferin, Ont. (1911 census)
Thunder Bay: Tom Loughery (~1851 Ont.), unmarried Methodist, Thunder Bay, Ont. (1911 census)
- Catherine Laughery (~1836 QC), Catholic widow, S. Canut, Deux-Montagnes, QC (1861 census)
- William (Wm) Loughery (Loughren) (~1839 QC, of Irish parents), widowed Anglican farmer and children Catherine (~1866 QC, of QC parents), Mary (~1868), Henry (~1871), Samuel (~1873), Annie (~1875), James (~1877), John (1880). Arundel, Argenteuil, QC (1891 census)
- Hermengil Lochrie (~1854 QC), Catholic farmer, m. Rose Delima (~1853 QC) and had children Ludovic (~1884 QC), Armand (~1889 QC), Armadius (~1890), Ann Marie (~1891), Judith (~1894) and Muthild (~1896). S. Camille, Richmond and Wolfe Co., QC. (1901 census)
- Joseph Lockrey (~1839 Canada), Episcopalian farm laborer, stepson of George Johnston, i.e. son of Elizabeth (~1816; Irish). S. Mary’s, York, N.B. (1861 census)
- Mary Jane Lockrey (~1843 Canada), Episcopalian stepdaughter of George Johnson, i.e. daughter of Elizabeth (~1816, Irish). S. Mary’s, York, N.B. (1861 census)
- Margaret (Margarett) Lockery (~1844 N.B.), Irish Catholic widow, had children Margaret (~1880 N.B., milliner), Katherine (~1881, nurse), John (~1882, painter), Father Frank (~1883, clergyman), Edward H. (~1886), Gertrude (~1888) and Louis (~1889) at home in 1911, home being in S. Stephen, Charlotte, N.B. In 1901 Frank Lockery (~1880 N.B., of Irish parents) was a Catholic student in Dorchester, Westmorland, N.B. He and Father Frank are probably the same person.
- Catherine Laughery (~1851 N.B.), Catholic widow, and children Harry (~1881), Rose Anne (~1883), Joseph (~1884) and Cassie (~1887), Kings, N.B. (1901 census)
Prince Edward Island: HR Lockery (~1864 P.E.I; Scotch), Presbyterian Scotch farmer m. Mary (~1868 P.E.I.) and had children Clara M. (~1888 P.E.I.), Annie Karl (~1891 P.E.I.), John Ershire (~1896) and Russell E. (~1897), Township 5, Prince West, P.E.I. (1901 census)
Nova Scotia: Frank Lockrey (~1877 Ont.), Irish Methodist merchant, m. Helen (~1878 N.B.) and had children Edward (~1900 N.S.), Ethel (~1902), Garnet (~1904), Gladys (1906), Frances (daughter) (~1909). Amherst, Cumberland, N.S. (1911 census)
c) The 14 late coming Laughrea individuals or families (i.e. immigration between 1860 and 1910)
Fourteen Laughrea individuals or families immigrated between 1860 and 1910. Among the fourteen individuals or family heads, eight were born in Ireland, two in Scotland, two in England and two in the USA. Twelve settled in Ontario (4 Catholic and 8 Protestant), one in Saskatchewant and one in Alberta (both Protestants):
- Edward Loughery (~1852 Ireland), Catholic laborer, immigrated in 1869. He m. Charlotte (~1845 Ont.), who already had two daughters from a previous marriage: Minnie Willson (~1879 Ont.) and Annie Willson (~1885 Ont.); Petrolia, Lambton East, Ont. (1901 census). Edward and Charlotte were listed just below William Lockrey (~1871 Ont.) in the 1911 census.
- Mary Lockrey (~1851 Ireland), Anglican servant, immigrated in 1870. Wellington Ward, Ottawa, Ont. (1911 census)
- Peter Lockry (~1834 Ireland) m. Maria (~1842 Ireland), both Catholics. They probably immigrated between 1860 and 1871 and had sons Peter (~1872 Ont.) and Timothy (~1875 Ont.). Merritton village, Lincoln and Niagara, Ont. (1891 census).
- Thomas Loughery (~1856 Ireland, Irish parents), Irish Anglican general laborer, m. Scotch Lily Ellen (~1859 Ont., Scottish parents) and had children Ida (~1877 Ont.), Alexander (~1879 Ont.), Thomas (~1883), Ela (~1887) and Ethel (~1889). They lived in Ashburnham, Peterborough East, Ont. in 1881 and in Muskoka, Simcoe East, Ont. in 1891. He probably immigrated around 1876.
- Catherine (Cathine) Loughery (~1831 Ireland — after 1891), Catholic widow and sons Patrick (~1866 Ireland), laborer, and Martin (~1872 Ireland), an Iron worker. They immigrated after 1871. Etobicoke, York west, Ont. (1891 census)
- Robert Lockery (~1836 England), Anglican groom, probably immigrated after 1871. London, Middlesex East, Ont. (1881 census).
- Harry Loughrey (~1858 Ireland), Methodist harness maker, probably immigrated in the 1880s. He m. Libbie (~1861 Ont.). Brockville, Leeds Co. Ont. (1891 census).
- Robert Laughray (~1825 USA), Presbyterian Scotch American mason, immigrated in 1900. Striker, Algoma, Ont. (1901 census)
- Francis Loughery (~1881 Scotland), Irish Catholic tinsmith, immigrated in 1902, m. Elizabeth (~1883, Irish born in Scotland, immigratedf in 1908) and had son Francis (Flarcis) (~1910). Ward 1, Toronto East, Toronto. (1911 census)
- James Laughrey (Loughrey) (~1876 Ireland), Irish presbyterian farm helper m. Annie (~1888 Ireland), had son Norman (~1905 Ireland), immigrated in 1907 and had a second son Ivor (~1907 Canada). Assiniboin, Saskatchewan. (1911 census)
- Nancy Loughery (~1874 Scotland), Presbyterian Scotch dress maker, immigrated in 1908. London, Ont. (1911 census)
- Forest Ray Laughrey (~1887 USA), Irish Methodist American farmer m. Aggie Marie (~1889 USA) and immigrated in 1909. Medicine Hat, Alberta. (1911 census)
- Frank Lockrey (~1879 Ireland), Anglican Irish baker, immigrated in 1909, m. Ada (~1879 Ont.) who had son Frank (~1897 Ont.) from a previous marriage. London, London, Ont. (1911 census)
- James Laughry (~1867 England), Anglican English laborer m. Anne (~1871 England), had daughter Vera (~1903 England) and immigrated in 1910. Ward 6, Toronto West, Toronto. (1911 census)
The 7 siblings of John Owen Boyce, husband of Bridget Loughrey, and their descendants
The Boyce clan, i.e. the eight siblings Patrick, James, John (Jack), William, Henry, Michael, John Owen—m. to Bridget Loughrey—and Catherine Boyce were born between 1795 and 1818. James, Michael and John Owen are of lesser interest in this chapter: 1) James had only one child and we have few details on this child; 2) Michael had already emigrated to Maine by 1836; 3) John Owen is abundantly dealt with in previous chapters because he is also a member of PATRICK’s family. This leaves us with Patrick (1795), John (Jack) (1799), William (~1805), Henry (1809) and Catherine (1818) Boyce. They are interesting from the Laughrea viewpoint as useful controls for the siblings of PATRICK Laughrea, who were born between 1800 and 1812, or PATRICK’s children, who were born between 1825 and 1868. Patrick, William and Henry Boyce spent all their New World life in S. Elzéar. John (Jack) lived in S. Elzéar until at least 1864 and in Québec City thereafter. Catherine lived in S. Elzéar until at least 1862 and in S. Pierre de Broughton thereafter. Bernard Laughrea did something similar by moving from S. Elzéar to Leeds East in 1874/75.
Patrick, John (Jack), William, Henry and Catherine had 33 children who reached adult life and are of known lifespan and known location at death. Ten children (30%) emigrated, with large inter-family variations: 71% of the seven children of Patrick emigrated, but none of the seven of John (Jack). The 10 emigrants moved in 1889 (average) at the average age of 46: three moved to Vermont, three to New Hampshire, three to Maine and one to Michigan. Of the 23 chilfren who stayed in Canada, five moved to Québec City, two to Frampton and sixteen (70%) stayed in the area of S. Sylvestre/Elzéar/Séverin and Megantic county. These 23 Quebec children had 72 children who reached adult life and are of known lifespan and known location at death. Thirty-one (43%) moved to the USA, with again large inter-family variations: 92% of the Quebec grandchildren of Henry emigrated, but only 12% of those of Catherine. The 31 Quebec grandchildren who emigrated did it in 1893 (average) at the average age of 34: eleven moved to New Hampshire, eight to Massachusetts, six to Vermont, four to Maine, one to Michigan and one to Minnesota. Of the 41 Quebec grandchildren who stayed in Canada, twelve (29%) moved to Saskatchewan, ten (24%) to S. Pierre de Broughton and other areas of Megantic county, seven to Québec City, three to Montreal, three to Ontario and six (15%) stayed in S. Sylvestre. Those who moved to Saskatchewan did it between 1906 and 1915.
For comparison, PATRICK had thirteen relevant children. Eleven (85%) emigrated. They did it in 1886 (average) at the average age of 38: nine (82%) moved to northern New Hampshire, one to Vermont and one to Minnesota. Bridget and Bernard did not emigrate. Bridget stayed in S. Elzéar next to PATRICK’s original farm. Bernard moved 19 km away, from S. Elzéar to S. Pierre de Broughton, at the age of 40. Bridget and Bernard had eighteen children who reached adult life and are of known lifespan and known location at death. Nine (50%) moved to the USA. They did it in 1887 (average) at the average age of 29: three moved to Vermont, two to Washington State, and one each to New Hampshire, Massachusetts, New Jersey and Minnesota. Of the nine Quebec grandchildren of PATRICK who stayed in Canada, four (44%) stayed in S. Pierre de Broughton, two moved to S. Patrice de Beaurivage, two to Thetford Mines and one to Quebec City.
Note that for the descendants of the Boyce clan and of PATRICK, there is hardly a difference between the dates of emigration of their children and their Quebec-born grandchildren: ~1887 for the children and ~1890 for the Quebec-born grandchildren.
Patrick, John (Jack), William, Henry and Catherine had 127 grandchildren who reached adult life and are of known lifespan and known location at death. Eighty-six of them, or 68%, emigrated of were born in the USA, vs 70% of the grandchildren of PATRICK (1800-1996). The above paragraphs show that there is a great similarity between the migration patterns of the descendants of PATRICK and of the Boyce clan.
a) The 8 children of Patrick Boyce (19 Oct 1795 Kilteevogue – 19 Dec 1890 S. Elzéar) and Alice Hinds (Hynes) (1795 Ireland – 14 Apr 1889 S. Elzéar). 71% of the children of Patrick and Alice, and 44% of their Quebec grandchildren, moved to the USA. Patrick and Alice had seven children who lived more than 23 years. Five moved to the USA in 1880 (average) at the age of 44 (average): three to Maine, one to Vermont and one to Michigan. Their two children who lived and died in the S. Sylvestre area had nine children who lived more than 25 years: five stayed in Canada (3 in S. Sylvestre, 1 moved to Québec City and one moved to Saskatchewan) and four moved to the USA in 1899 (average) at the age of 24 (average): two to Massachusetts, one to Vermont and one to Michigan. The 8 children of ¨Patrick Boyce are:
- Bridget Boyce (Oct 1828 Kilteevogue – 6 Sep 1900 Cheboygan, Cheboygan, Michig.) m. Patrick O’Neil (~1828 S. Sylvestre – 19 Apr 1863 idem, from accidental drowning) on 2 May 1854 in S. Elzéar. Some claim he was responsible for killing Robert Corriganin S. Sylvestre in 1855, resulting in the “Corrigan Affair“. He and Patrick Donahue, Francis Donahue, Richard Kelly, George Bannon, John McCaffrey and Patrick Monaghan were accused by Robert Corrigan of assaulting and beating him on 17 Oct 1855. Corrigan died of his wounds two days later. Bridget and Patrick O’Neill begat four children living more than one year. Bridget and her children moved to Cheboygan, Cheboygan, Michig. in 1882 or 1883. The four children of Bridget are:
a- Charles O’Neil (28 Nov 1856 S. Sylvestre – 24 Feb 1941 Cheboygan) m. Diantha (Annie) Passino (6 Jul 1866 Toledo, Lucas, Ohio – 26 Feb 1958 Cheboygan) on 8 Aug 1887 in idem and had four children living more than eight months:
- Ella Rose O’Neil (18 Dec 1895 Cheboygan – 7 Jul 1985 Pontiac, Oakland, Michig.) remained single.
- Hazel Mary O’Neil (27 May 1896 Cheboygan – 24 Jan 1974 Michig.) m. George Oren McClelland in May 1928 in Cheboygan. He was police officer.
- Anna Veronica O’Neil (25 Sep 1897 Cheboygan – 10 Oct 1994 Waterford, Oakland, Michig.) m. Fergus Joseph Owens in 1925 in Cheboygan and had two children: 1)Anna M (Feb 1926 Waterford, Oakland, Michig. – past 2013); 2) Charles Robert (7 Jul 1928 Waterford, Oakland, Michig. – 29 Oct 2007 Fort Myers, Lee, FL).
- Isabelle (Belle) Mary O’Neil (12 Nov 1899 Cheboygan – 7 Feb 1977 idem) m. Allan J Nelson (1898 idem – 1974 idem).
b- John (8 Mar 1858 S. Sylvestre – ~1932 Cheboygan, Cheboygan, Michig.).
c- Alice (15 Oct 1859 S. Sylvestre – 1943 Cheboygan) m. John Cluin in 1884 in S. Sylvestre and had no children living more than 3 years.
d- James (16 May 1861 S. Sylvestre – 4 Dec 1921 Cheboygan) m. Mary Ann Felton (1865 – 1891) in 1885 in S. Sylvestre and Alice O’Neil (Nov 1869 Cheboygan – ) around 1895 in Cheboygan.
- John Patrick Boyce(Jan 1830 Kilteevogue – 19 Dec 1907 Bethel, Orange, VT) m. Catherine Osborne (1831 Ireland – 30 Mar 1889 S. Elzéar) on 1 Aug 1854 in S. Sylvestre. They had no children but brought up seven Boyce family orphans. In 1881 they were taking care of the seven children of Michael Boyce (1832-1927) after the death in 1875 of his wife Mary Gould, who was sister-in-law of Ann Laughrey. These children were aged from 12 days to 12 years in 1875. After Catherine died in Mar 1889, John Patrick moved to Websterville VT in summer 1889 and, later participated in the Yukon Gold Rushwith his cousins Patrick and Peter E. Boyce, sons of Bridget Loughrey. He came back to Websterville and lived with Boyce and O’Connor (originally from S. Sylvestre) relatives for several years. He next moved to Bethel, VT where he worked his newly purchased farm. After his death in 1907, his nephew William A. Boyce, son of Michael Boyce (1832 – 1927), transported his body by train to be buried in S. Monica Cemetery, Barre, VT.
- Michael Boyce(6 Jan 1832 Kilteevogue – 22 Jan 1927 S. Sylvestre) m. Mary Gould (24 Oct 1844 S. Marie – 27 Aug 1875 S. Séverin) on 29 Jan 1862 in S. Sylvestre. They had7 children but Mary died one week after giving birth to Mary Belia Isobel. On 25 Oct 1881 Michael Boyce m. Katherine McVey (Aug 1834 Antrim, Ireland – 13 Sep 1912 Somerville, Middlesex, Mass.) in S. Agathe, Lotbinière and had one child: John Joseph (29 Oct 1882 S. Séverin, Beauce – 17 Nov 1961 Chelmsford, Middlesex, Mass.). In 1892, Katherine McVey divorced and moved to Cambridge, Mass. with her son. Michael Boyce lived his entire life in S. Elzear, S. Severin and S. Sylvestre. Among his six children of known lifespan, three (50%) moved to the USA in 1895 on average at the average age of 23. They moved to Vermont, Massachusetts and Michigan. Mary Gould is the sister of James Gould, husband of Ann Laughrey (1839-1925). The seven children of Mary Gould-Boyce are:
a- Margaret Ann Jane (29 Apr 1863 S. Sylvestre – 18 Feb 1933 idem) never married.
b- Patrick James (6 Feb 1865 S. Sylvestre – 9 Jul 1943 idem) m. Julia Brennan (11 Jul 1877 S. Édouard de Frampton, Dorchester – 1962 S. Sylvestre) on 10 Oct 1911 in S. Edouard, and had five children living more than two years:
- Joseph George Edward (2 Jul 1912 S. Sylvestre – 1 Jan 1990 Montreal) m. Gertrude Ellen Meagher (13 Oct 1911 S. Odilon, Cranbourne – 1975 Montreal) and had 3 children: 1)James (Jimmy; Father Jim) (10 Nov 1949 Campbellton, Restigouche, New Brunswick – 21 Feb 2010 New York, NY, from pancreatic cancer); 2) Raymond (13 Oct 1950 Sherbrooke – after 2013) lives in Toronto; 3) Diane (~1953 Sherbrooke – ).
- William (Willie) (2 Jun 1913 S. Patrice de Beaurivage – 18 Jan 2000 Hôtel-Dieu, Lévis) m. Mary Elizabeth Guilfoyle (3 May 1913 S. Sylvestre – 25 Jan 1951 idem) on 14 Sep 1938 in idem and had7 children born in S. Sylvestre and 10 grandchildren (39).
- Anthony Bertrand (22 Jul 1915 S. Sylvestre – 1982 Montreal) m. Margaret Angus.
- Francis Allan (23 Dec 1919 S. Sylvestre – 7 Jun 1944 Normandy, France) was flying officer of the Royal Canadian Air Force. He was wounded on D day while piloting a plane and glider into France. He died the day after and was buried “at sear” on 8 Jun.
- Helen Margaret Marion Boyce(22 Aug 1922 S. Sylvestre – 18 Nov 2001 Montréal); m. Joseph William Donahue (20 Apr 1917 S. Pierre de Broughton – 1994 S. Sylvestre) on 10 Jul 1948 in S. Sylvestre and had 7 children (40). The first six were born in S. Sylvestre.
c- Joseph John (21 Jan 1867 S. Sylvestre – after 1919, when he lived in Edmonton or Quebec City).
d- William A (23 Mar 1869 S. Sylvestre -14 Sep 1942 Barre, Washington, VT) m. Hannah “Anna” Conway (3 Dec 1868 Cork, Ireland – 4 Apr 1931 Barre) in Medford, Middlesex, Mass. on 28 Apr 1902 and adopted Mabel Moran (17 Oct 1906 S. Sylvestre – 10 Feb 1997 Manchester, Hartford, CT), daughter of Marie Alice Boyce and William Moran;
e- Marie Alice (18 Aug 1871 S. Elzéar – 5 Feb 1955 Montreal) m. William Moran (29 Mar 1869 S. Sylvestre – 12 Jan 1953 Montreal) in S. Sylvestre on 28 Aug 1893. She lived in S. Sylvestre until at least 1921. They had eight children:
- Joseph George (2 Jul 1894 S. Sylvestre – 3 Sep 1964 Montreal) m. Mary Ann Redmond on 25 Jun 1925 in Verdun, Québec;
- Thomas (25 Jan 1896 S. Sylvestre – 3 Apr 1917 Berlin, Coos, NH);
- Mary Ethel (17 Mar 1898 S. Sylvestre – 1937 Montreal) m. Anthony Joseph Lawlor (1885 Montreal – 1941 idem);
- James Edward (20 May 1898 S. Sylvestre – 17 Sep 1926 idem) m. Virginia Burke;
- Margaret (1902 S. Sylvestre ~1980 CT) m. John T Burns (21 Feb 1911 CT – 27 Jul 1980 Rocky Hill, Hartford, CT);
- John Francis (3 Jun 1904 S. Sylvestre – ) m. Mary Ellen Lawlor (9 Apr 1916 S. Edouard, Frampton – ) on 27 Apr 1940 in Montreal, and had 3 children: Anne, Helan and Rita;
- Mabel (already mentioned) m. George Last (21 May 1905 NJ – 21 May 1982 Manchester, Hartford, CT);
- William Arthur (23 Apr 1912 S. Sylvestre – 14 Jan 1997 Montreal) m. Hazel Bowie (~1916 Montreal – 31 Jan 1986 Montreal).
f- Mary Helen Migael (9 Nov 1873 S. Séverin – ~1963 Wilmington, Middlesex, Mass.) m. John Joseph Twomey (~1870 Queenstown, Cork, Ireland – ~1940 Springfield, Hampden, Mass.) on 1 Aug 1895 in Cambridge, Middlesex, Mass. and had five children:
- Helena T (15 Jul 1896 Cambridge – 1 Sep 1980 Springfield, Hampden, Mass.);
- Edwin Joseph (8 Mar 1898 Somerville, Middlesex, Mass. – ~1954 Wilmington, Middlesex);
- Mary Marguerite (23 Aug 1900 Somerville, Middlesex – 21 Feb 1997 Springfield, Hampden, Mass.);
- John Francis (12 Jun 1903 Wilmington, Middlesex – 4 Apr 1984 Springfield, Hampden, Mass.);
- Marion Elizabeth (29 Dec 1909 Wilmington – 24 Jun 1997 Springfield, Mass.) m. Joseph W M Grogan(25 Apr 1902 Montague, Franklin, Mass. – 7 Oct 1984 Springfield, Mass.) and had 3 children: 1) M Lucille (7 Jul 1942 Wilmington, Middlesex – 21 Apr 2005 Longmeadow, Hampden, Mass.) m. Robert E Zikus (5 Oct 1943 Springfield, Hampden, Mass. – ); 2) David Boyce Grogan (4 Feb 1944 Wilmington, Middlesex – 7 Oct 2009 Gloucester, Essex, Mass.) m. Mary Shevlin and had 5 children; 3) Richard Joseph (~1948 Wilmington, Middlesex, Mass. – ) m. Virginia (~1949 Lambertville, Hunterdon, NJ – ).
g- Mary Belia Isobel (15 Aug 1875 S. Séverin – 19 May 1960 Grayling, Crawford, Michig.) m. Thomas Peter Cassidy (7 May 1867 Stoco, Hastings, Ontario – 4 Jan 1939 Grayling, Crawford, Michig.) on 10 Mar 1892 in Cheboygan, Cheboygan, Michig. She was 16 years old. They had seven children living more than 1 day:
- Mary Lialas (16 Mar 1895 Cheboygan – 14 Sep 1983 Grand Rapids, Kent, Michig.);
- Bernadette Alice (22 Jun 1896 Cheboygan – Grayling, Michig.) m. Victor A Thelan (22 Jan 1892 S. Johns, Clinton, Michig. – 31 Jan 1977 Grand Rapids, Michig.) on 26 Oct 1926 in Grayling and had one child: Barbara Ann (27 Sep 1927 Grayling – ) m. William Bourn (17 Jul 1926 Michig. – ) and had 2 children: Barbara Jo and William Victor.
- Joseph Leo (21 Oct 1897 Cheboygan, Michig. – 31 Jul 1939 Grayling, Crawford, Michig.);
- Mary Fidelia (20 May 1899 Cheboygan – 25 May 1992 Bay City, Bay, Michig.) m. Earle Joseph Hewitt Sr (3 Oct 1896 Bay City, Michig. – 24 May 1976 idem) on 9 Sep 1919 in Grayling, Crawford, Michig. and had 8 childrenliving more than 10 years and 7 grandchildren (41). The 8 children were born in Grayling, Michig.
- Hazel Sarah (17 Oct 1900 Grayling, Michig. – 26 Feb 1967 Grand Rapids, Kent, Michig.) m. Roy Trudgon (28 Aug 1904 – 15 Sep 1962 Tucson, Pima, AZ);
- Ellen Margaret (23 Jun 1902 Grand Rapids, Kent, Michig. – 6 May 1988 Salisbury, Rowan, NC) m. Paul V Jones;
- Rose Beatrice (16 Apr 1905 Cheboygan, Cheboygan, Michig. – 22 Oct 1932 Grayling, Crawford, Michig.) m. Henry O Ahman (27 Apr 1906 Grayling, Michig. – 2 Sep 1987 Saginaw, Saginaw, Michig.) and had one child: Gwendolyn Jean (7 Mar 1929 Saginaw, Michig. – ).
- Peter Boyce (7 Aug 1833 Ste Marie, Beauce – 1 May 1909 S. Sylvestre) m. Mary Byrnes (10 Apr 1844 S. Edouard, Frampton – 16 Apr 1877 S. Elzéar) on 22 Feb 1870 in S. Edouard, Frampton, and had no children from her. He m. Sarah McMahon (13 Feb 1849 S. Sylvestre – 4 May 1899 S. Elzéar) on 9 Jul 1878 in S. Sylvestre. He may have been a witness at PATRICK Loughry’s funeral. Peter Boyce hadthree children living more than 25 years. One of them moved to Massachusetts around 1910 at the age of around 26; another moved to Saskatchewan around 1914. The three children of Peter and Mary are:
a- William John (26 Jun 1881 S. Elzéar – ~1919 Regina, Saskatchewan) m. Mary C Walsh (1 Mar 1893 S. Pierre de Broughton – 1965 Rosetown, Saskatchewan) on 18 Jun 1912 in S. Pierre de Broughton. Soon after, they moved to Saskatchewan, where they had three children: Wilbert (1916. Rosetown, Saskatchewan — ?), Ethel (~1917 Rosetown, Saskatchewan — ?) and Mildred.
b- Michael Peter (13 Feb 1884 S. Séverin – ~ 1952 Boston, Mass.) m. Mary E. Lynch (~1883 S. Séverin – ~1953 Dorchester, Suffolk, Mass.) and had three children:
- Charles Gerard (9 Apr 1912 Dorchester, Suffolk, Mass. — 16 Jan 1998 Westwood, Norfolk, Mass.) m. Helen Beverly Ruth Trundy (6 Oct 1915 Boston, Suffolk, Mass. – 8 Apr 2011 Needham, Norfolk, Mass.)
- Allen Francis (15 Jul 1913 Boston, Mass. – 1 Jul 1984 Westwood, Mass.) m. Evelyn C (~ 1914 Boston – )
- Robert J (~1921 Dorchester, Suffolk, Mass. – after 2010);
c- Catherine “Katie” (25 Oct 1889 S. Elzéar – ~1972 Québec City) m. Francis Travers (23 Jan 1873 S. Sylvestre – 1958 Québec City) on 14 Nov 1911 in S. Sylvestre and had eight children living more than one day. Francis is son of Thomas Travers (~1836 S. Sylvestre – 16 Apr 1895 idem) and Bridget Lynch (11 Mar 1842 idem – 3 Mar 1921 idem) and grandson of Francis Travers (1799 – 3 Feb 1894 S. Sylvestre) and Cecelia Muldoon. The eight children of Katie are:
- Mary (1912 Québec City – ) m. Jules Thivierge (?-1978) on 14 Sep 1937 in Wendake, Québec City, and had 4 children: Denis, Guy, Hélène, Louise.
- Sarah Ann (19 May 1914 S. Sylvestre – ~ 2007 Ste Foy, Québec City).
- Mary Celia (7 May 1916 S. Sylvestre – 6 Apr 1973 Québec City) m. Arthur Edwin James (1914 Québec City – ) on 20 Aug 1935 in S. Patrick Church, Québec City and had one child: Frank James (~1937 Québec City — ) m. Huguette Matte on 2 Jul 1962 in Québec City.
- Catherine (18 Apr 1918 S. Sylvestre – ) m. Emile Odilon Ferland (9 Oct 1896 S. Sylvestre – 30 Apr 1983 Québec City) on 22 Nov 1939 in Québec City and had 4 children: Ann, Mark, Léo, Rose.
- Thomas (13 Sep 1920 S. Sylvestre – ) m. Lucille LaPierre (~1923 Québec City – ) on 16 Nov 1949 in Québec City and had one child: Allan.
- Margaret (~1923 S. Sylvestre – ) m. Basil Modesto in Montreal and had 3 children: Donald, Peter, Robert.
- Theresa (23 Jun 1928 Québec City – Apr 1967 Los Angeles, Cali.) m. Jacques Ouellette in Montreal on 17 Feb 1956 and had one child: Theresa Rita.
- Frank Hugh (1931 Québec City – ) m. Betty O’Brien in Ottawa and had 2 children: Barry and Brenda.
- Annie Boyce(7 April 1836 Ste Marie, Beauce – Mar 1899 Bingham, Somerset, Maine) m. John Owens(11 Jul 1843 S. Sylvestre – 14 Jul 1910 Bingham, Maine) on 13 Apr 1872 in Moscow, Somerset, Maine and had three children:
a- Thomas Hageon (7 Aug 1873 Bingham, Somerset, Maine – 2 Mar 1951 idem).
b- John Franklin Owens (18 Mar 1875 idem – ~1936 idem) m. Florence Elizabeth Milliken (Apr 1878 Westbrook, Cumberland, Maine – ) on 17 Aug 1904 in Bingham, Somerset, Maine, and had two children:
- Esther C (11 Aug 1905 Bingham, Maine – 22 Aug 1983 Portland, Cumberland, Maine) m. Walter S Perkins (15 Sep 1907 Cornish, York, Maine – 21 July 1970 Saco, York, Maine) on 15 May 1929 in Portsmouth, Rockingham, NH.
- Alice Elizabeth (16 Apr 1910 Bingham, Maine – 4 Jul 1987 idem) m. Richard Nelson Hall on 24 Nov 1937 in idem.
c- Alice L (5 Jun 1876 Bingham, Somerset – 9 Jul 1969 Skowhegan, Somerset) m. Albert B Clark on 20 Apr 1903 in Bingham, Somerset, Maine.
- Patrick C Boyce(1 Jan 1844 S. Elzéar but baptized on 2 Feb 1849 in S. Marie – 7 Jan 1893 Skowhegan, Somerset, Maine). Other documents say he was born on 2 Feb 1846 in S. Elzéar. This seems more likely given that his sister Mary Boyce was born in Feb 1844! Patrick m. Mary Ann O’Leary (4 May 1847 Sillery, Québec City – 1 Sep 1879 idem) on 22 Apr 1872 in Sillery, Québec City, and had two childrenliving more than one year. He next married Eliza Anastasia Brown (29 Jan 1851 Sillery, Québec City – ? Skowhegan, Maine) on 5 Nov 1883 in Sillery and became an American citizen in Sep 1888. The two children of Mary Ann O’ Leary are:
a- Joseph John (13 May 1875 Sillery, Québec City – 15 Apr 1942 Montreal).
b- Elizabeth Alice (21 Apr 1877 Sillery, Québec City – 27 Jun 1964 Verdun, Jacques Cartier, Québec).
- Mary Boyce(13 Feb 1844 S. Elzéar – 15 Apr 1922 Moscow, Somerset, Maine) m. Joseph Pooler (Poulin) (10 May 1838 S. Sylvestre – 3 Jun 1905 Moscow, Maine) on 27 Nov 1866 in S. Elzéar and had eight childrenliving more than two years:
a- Rose E (~ 1870 Bingham, Somerset, Maine – ).
b- Joseph Elwin Pooler (13 Feb 1874 Caritunk, Somerset, Maine – 1 Aug 1948 Presque Isle, Aroostook, Maine) m. Ethel H Kinney (~1878 Hodgdon, Aroostook – 28 Nov 1903 Wade Plantation, Aroostook, while delivering a stillborn son) on 2 Nov 1895 at Washburn, Aroostook, and had one child living more than 14 years: Gladys F Pooler (21 Aug 1898 idem – ). Joseph Elwin next m. Minnie Blanche Raven (26 Jul 1887 idem – 25 Jan 1971 Presque Isle, Aroostook) on 14 Jul 1906 in Washburn, Aroostook, and had seven children living more than two years:
- Evelyn Mary (4 Apr 1907 Wade Plantation, Aroostook – 5 Mar 1979 Lewiston, Androscoggin, Maine) m. Glenwood William (Glen) Wilcox on 19 Nov 1930 in Washburn, Aroostook, and had 3 children: Glenwood Alan (12 Jan 1932 Woodland, Aroostook – 8 Jul 1988 Presque Isle, Aroostook), Hulda M (~1932 Woodland, Aroostook – ) and Dawn (~1949 Caribou, Androscoggin, Maine – );
- Orman L (21 Feb 1909 Wade Plantation, Aroostook — 22 Jul 1963 Limestone (Loring Air Force Base), Aroostook);
- Eugene Clyde (29 Mar 1911 Wade Plantation, Aroostook — 10 Apr 1971 Bangor, Penobscot, Maine);
- Annie Marguerite (29 Jul 1913 Washburn, Aroostook — 21 Apr 1996 Fort Fairfield, Aroostook) m. Norris Leigh Nickerson (17 Feb 1904 Gardner’s Mills, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia — 9 Sep 1976 Fort Fairfield, Aroostook) on 16 Oct 1934 in Washburn, Aroostook, and had one child: Glenice (~1936 Washburn, Aroostook — );
- William B (23 May 1916 Wade Plantation, Aroostook — 11 Apr 1989 Grafton, Worcester, Mass.) m. Geraldine V Dow (~ 1918 Washburn, Aroostook — ) on 21 Jan 1939 in Washburn and had 5 chidren: Bonita L (~1948 Caribou, Aroostook — ), David W (6 Apr 1949 Grafton, Worcester, Mass. — ), Lawrence G (5 Dec 1950 Grafton — ), Daniel E (5 Jan 1952 Grafton — ), and William B Jr (~1954 Grafton — );
c-Alice M (~ 1876 Washburn, Aroostook, Maine – );
d- Mary A (~ 1878 idem – );
e- Florence G (Feb 1879 idem – );
f- Lawrence Graham Pooler (16 Dec 1880 idem – May 1970 Bingham, Somerset, Maine) m. Katherine (Kate) Fitzsimmons (14 Mar 1897 Moscow, Somerset, Maine – 31 Jul 1972 Bingham) on 14 Apr 1915 in Bingham and had five children living more than two years:
- Charles L (~1917 Moscow, Maine — );
- Mary Katherine (24 Oct 1918 Moscow — 30 Jan 2012 Waterville, Kennebec, Maine) m. Laurel O Clark (~ 1918 Maine — ) on 27 Feb 1937 in Moscow and had 3 children: Faylene A (16 Jul 1937 Moscow — ), Lionel (~1940 Moscow — ) and Lawrence (~1942 Moscow — );
- Lawrence J (~1924 Moscow — );
- Eleanor J (~ 1926 Moscow — );
- Alice R (~1929 Moscow — ).
g- Birdena B (30 Apr 1882 Washburn, Aroostook, Maine — 5 Jul 1955 Moscow, Somerset, Maine) m. Joseph Audet Lapoint (1877-1930) on 6 Jan 1904 in Bingham, Somerset, Maine;
h- John Boyce Pooler (10 Oct 1889 Washburn, Maine — 6 Feb 1977 Bingham, Somerset, Maine) m. Nettie M Messer (Mar 1890 Moscow, Somerset, Maine — 12 Apr 1983 Bangor, Penobscot, Maine) on 24 Dec 1908 in Moscow, Maine, and had four children:
- Joseph K Pooler (7 Jun 1910 Moscow — 22 Apr 1987 Skowhegan, Somerset, Maine) m. Helen Lucille Fentiman (11 Dec 1911 Solon, Somerset, Maine — 1 Jul 1961 Moscow, Maine) and had 2 children: Francis (~1933 Bingham, Somerset, Maine — ) and Norman (~1935 Bingham — );
- Birdena Euleta (7 Jul 1916 Moscow — 7 Sep 1991 Tacoma, Pierce, Washington) m. Albert George Hutchins (16 Oct 1906 in Duluth, St Louis, Minn. —17 May 1967 San Diego, Cali.) and had one child: B (~1940 — );
- Unknown (7 Jul 1916 Moscow — ). First born of twins.
- Hilda F (2 Aug 1929 Moscow — ).
- William (14 Oct 1846 S. Elzéar — 1 Jun 1870 United States) was buried in S. Elzéar.
b) The only child of James Boyce (~1797 Kilteevogue — 1859 Sillery) has already been described in Chapter Five.
c) The 7 children of John (Jack) Boyce(9 Jul 1799 Kilteevogue – 9 Jul 1893 Quebec City) andSusan Duffy (1798 County Monaghan, Ireland – 29 Oct 1864 S. Elzéar) stayed in S. Elzéar, Beauce, until at least 1864. They had 7 children who all stayed in Quebec: 5 moved to Québec City, one to Frampton and one stayed in a S. Elzéar area that became S. Séverin in 1872. Of the 21 grandchildren of John and Susan who are of known lifespan and of known location at death, nine (43%) moved to the USA before 1907 (average) at less than 40 years old (average): six moved to Massachusetts and three to Vermont. Twelve stayed in Canada: six lived in Québec City, three in Montreal, two around S. Sylvestre and one in Ont. The seven children of John and Susan are:
- Mary Ann Boyce(12 Sep 1828 Ireland – 18 Dec 1917 Sillery, Québec City) m. Isidore Labbé (1831 S. Sylvestre? – 10 Nov 1868 S. Elzéar) on 13 Nov 1853 in S. Elzéar. Isidore is the son of Jean-Baptiste Labbé and Euphrosine Gousse. They lived in S. Elzéar until at least 1881 but were living in Québec City by 1901. Mary Ann and Isidore had five children living more than 18 years. Her two children of known lifespan stayed in Quebec:
a- Marie Eleanor (22 Dec 1856 S. Elzéar – );
b- Jean (John) (6 Sep 1858 S. Elzéar – 6 Dec 1932 Sillery (St Patrick’s), Québec City) m. Mary Ann Hennessey (20 May 1861 Frampton, Dorchester — ~1920 Sillery) on 22 Jun 1885 in Frampton, and had one child: James Joseph Labbé (1 Nov 1888 Quebec City – 1958 idem) m. Marie Alexandrine Hamel on 28 Apr 1918 in S. Sauveur, Québec City, and had three children: Mary Geraldine (13 Mar 1920 Quebec City — 1986 idem), Martha Joan (17 Oct 1922 Quebec City — 1929 idem) and John Bernard Gérard (24 Jun 1926 Quebec City — 1995 idem);
c- Michael (11 Aug 1860 S. Elzéar – 12 Jan 1936 Québec City) m. Johanna Holland (1861 Ireland — 19 Dec 1932 Quebec City) on 15 Nov 1886 in Sillery and had three children: Florence May (1888 Quebec City — 1936 idem), Michael H (17 May 1890 Quebec City — 28 Apr 1961 San Francisco, Cali.) and Rita (Feb 1897 Quebec City — );
d- Louis-Honoré (25 Aug 1865 S. Elzéar – ) m. Margaret Madden (27 Jul 1872 S. Edouard, Stoneham, Quebec — ) on 7 Nov 1892 in Quebec City, and had two children: Catherine and John;
e- Marie-Rose Delina (21 Sep 1867 S. Elzéar -).
- Sophia (Sophie) Boyce(5 Oct 1832 Ste Marie, Beauce – 29 Nov 1908 S. Séverin) m. Hugh J. O’Rourke (~1835 Ireland — 5 Oct 1913 Salem, Essex, Mass.) on 17 Feb 1857 in S. Elzéar and had seven children living more than 9 years. Six of them (86%) emigrated to Massachusetts. Four emigrated in 1897 (average) at the average age of 35, one in 1924 at 45 and the sixth before 1940 before the age of 69. Suzanna O’Rourke stayed in the S. Séverin/Leeds area and had ten children: seven stayed in Quebec, one moved to Ont., one moved to Massachusetts and another in Indiana. Historicaly, the O’Rourkes provided several Kings of Connacht in the period prior to the Norman invasion. The seven children of Sophia and Hugh are:
a- Patrick E (23 Nov 1857 S. Sylvestre — 9 May 1934 Salem Mass.) m. Nellie (Ellen) McCarthy (1879 Ireland — 21 Sep 1959 Salem Mass.) on 28 Jun 1900 in Salem and had two children: Mary P. (8 Jul 1903 Salem — 18 Oct 1957 Salem) and Sophia A (1907 Salem — 2004 Salem).
b- Suzanna O’Rourke (7 May 1859 S. Sylvestre — 23 Nov 1944 Leeds, Megantic) m. Robert Tuite (22 June 1855 S. Sylvestre — 5 Jun 1893 S. Pierre de Broughton, Megantic) on 3 Nov 1885 in S. Séverin and had six children:
- Mary Margaret (31 Aug 1886 S. Pierre de Broughton — 31 May 1965 S. Mary Convent, Notre Dame, Ind.).
- Ellen Bridget 13 Aug 1888 S. Pierre de Broughton — 11 Jul 1949 Quebec City) m. John Donahue (10 Mar 1873 S. Sylvestre — 3 May 1950 S. Patrice) on 21 Sep 1908 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had 13 children living more than 3 years, 37 grandchildren and at least 17great-grandchildren (42). The 13 children were born in S. Pierre de Broughton.
- William John (Johnny) Tuite (7 Nov 1889 in S. Pierre de Broughton —7 Jan 1974 Leeds) m. Emma Jane Cryan (16 Mar 1898 S. Pierre de Broughton, Quebec — 16 Jul 1925 Thetford Mines) on 13 Jun 1916 in Leeds and had 4 childrenliving more than 2 years, 10 grandchildren and 19 great-grandchildren (43);
- Sophia Mathilde (13 Jan 1891 S. Pierre de Broughton — 22 Feb 1966 Lynn, Mass.)
- Michael Tuite (16 Mar 1892 S. Pierre de Broughton — 16 Mar 1968 S. Jacques, Leeds) m. Eva Poulin (8 feb 1906 Leeds — 12 Oct 1937 Leeds) on 5 Oct 1931 in Leeds and had 3 children born in S. Jacques de Leeds, 5 grandchildren and 5 great-grandchildren(44).
- Mary Ann Tuite (6 Aug 1893 S. Séverin — 21 May 1952 Hôtel Dieu, Lévis) m. Philippe Thomas Blaney (16 Jun 1877 S. Narcisse de Beaurivage, Lotbinière — 31 Jan 1950 idem) on 13 Feb 1912 in S. Patrice and had 12 children born in S. Narcisse, Lotbinière, 5 grandchildren and 5great-grandchildren (45).
Next, Suzanna O’Rourke m. John Downey (5 Aug 1846 S. Sylvestre — 25 Aug 1932 Leeds) on 16 Jul 1895 in S. Séverin) and had four children who lived longer than 1 day:
- James Patrick Joseph Downey (22 Oct 1896 S. Séverin — 4 April 1969 Longueuil, QC) m. Yvonne Poulin (9 Oct 1907 Leeds — 14 Mar 2002 Rosemère) on 24 Aug 1927 in S. Sylvestre and had 6 childrenliving longer than 5 years, 12 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren (46). The six children were born in S. Jacques de Leeds.
- Francis Hugh Downey (26 Feb 1898 S. Séverin — 23 Jun 1985 Fleurimont, Sherbrooke, QC) m. Alice Marie-Louis Poulin (22 Feb 1909 S. Joseph, Beauce — 30 Jan 1996 Sherbrooke) and had 8 children:
- 1)Richard Joseph (28 Jan 1933 Compton, QC — ) m. Cécile Yvette Dion (7 Oct 1934 S. Sylvestre — ) and had 3 children: Daniel R. (10 Apr 1958 Cornwall, Ont. — ), Patrick Francis (30 Sept 1959 Lowville, Lewis, NY — ) m. Linda Labrecque (1 Oct 1963 Sherbrooke — ) and had 3 children; Carolene M. (6 Nov 1964 Lowville — ) m. Pierre Roberge (7 Aug 1962 Montreal — ) and had 4 children.
- 2)Reginald Francis (3 Aug 1934 Ives Hill, Compton — ) m. Kathleen Ann McDonald (17 Sep 1934 Halifax, Nova Scotia — 13 Jul 2011 Halifax) on 8 Apr 1961 in Halifax and had 2 children.
- 3)Maurice Félix (12 Dec 1935 Ives Hill, Johnville, QC — 28 Sep 1995 Sherbrooke) m. Marie Gisèle Rolande Leblanc (21 Oct 1938 L’Alverne, Gaspé, QC — 8 Feb 1991 Lennoxville, QC) and had 4 children.
- 4)Patrick (21 Oct 1940 Ives Hill, Johnville, QC — ) m. Louise Bernard (20 Oct 1941 S. Ephrem, Tring — ) on 21 Sep 1961 in S. Éphrem, Beauce and had 3 children.
- 5)Lewis Albert (4 Feb 1945 Sherbrooke — ) m. Hélène Caroline LeBaron (5 Sep 1945 North Hatley — ) on 24 Des 1961 in Sherbrooke and had one child.
- 6)Lawrence John (28 Jan 1946 Sherbrooke — ) m. Jocelyne Allard (13 Dec 1945 Sherbrooke — 20 Mar 1992 idem) and had 2 children.
- 7)Lucille Marie Irène (14 Jul 1949 Sherbrooke — ) m. Chauncey Henry LeBaron (7 Oct 1949 North Hatley — ) on 27 Aug 1971 in Lennoxville and had 2 children.
- 8)Robert Donald (16 Oct 1952 Sherbrooke — ) m. Lise Simoneau (8 Jan 1951 Sherbrooke — ) and had 2 children.
- Anthony Stanislas Downey (3 Dec 1902 S. Séverin — 7 Aug 2001 North Hatley) m. Marie Cécile Bernadette Bouffard 923 Jun 1913 S. Cécile, Frontenac — 28 Dec 2010 Sherbrooke) on 23 Aug 1939 in Stanstead QC and had 2 children:
- 1)Jeannine (10 Jul 1941 Ives Hill, QC — );
- 2)Normand (2 Apr 1945 Sherbrooke — 23 Aug 1960 idem);
- Rosie Mary Yvonne Downey (13 Jun 1904 S. Sylvestre — 1978 Napanee, Addington/Lennox, Ont.) m. thomas Willard Mace (11 Jun 1902 S. John Methodist Church, Iberbille — Nov 1993 Napanee, Addington/Lennox, Ont.) on 18 Jun 1927 in S. Matthew Anglican church, Québec City, and had 4 children:
- 1)Richard Thomas (20 Mar 1928 Montreal — 2002 Beaconsfield, Montreal Island) m. June Beelsey (~ 1929 — ) in ~1968 and had 2 children.
- 2)Rosemary Louise (22 Jul 1929 Montreal — 8 Oct 2012 Ottawa, Ont.) m. Willam Richard Roffey (18 Jan 1929 Montreal — 12 Oct 2011 Napanee, Lennox, Ont.) and had 3 children.
- 3)Janet Ruth Isabel (21 Mar 1932 Montréal — ) m. Ross Bennett (~ 1931 — ) in 1955 and had 5 children.
- 4)David Ross Cornell (26 Mar 1935 Notre-Dame de Grâce, Montreal — 1 Apr 2001 S. Agathe des Monts).
c- John O’Rourke (5 May 1861 S. Sylvestre — 2 Jan 1901 Salem, Essex, Mass.) m. Annie E. Richardson (1869 Ireland — 1945 Salem, Essex, Mass.) on 5 Apr 1888 in Barre, Washington, VT and had 5 children: Emma A. (19 Apr 1889 VT — 21 Mar 1974 Berverly, Essex, Mass.), Hugh (Oct 1890 VT — 1908 Salem, Essex, Mass.), Francis J. (1892, Barre, Washington, VT — ~1932 Salem, Essex, Mass.), Michael James (19 Mar 1892 Barre, VT — ~1955) and Lawrence (5 Sep 1897 Salem, Essex, Mass. — 1924)
d- Michael O’Rourke (15 May 1865 S. Sylvestre — 1 july 1941 Salem Mass.) m. Mary Josephine McCarty on 21 Sep 1904 in Salem Mass. and had one child: Marie J. (17 Oct 1912 Salem, Mass. — 17 Feb 1992, Danvers, Mass.)
e- Francis E (Frank) O’Rourke (4 May 1867 S. Sylvestre — 26 Mar 1936 Salem, Essex, Mass.) m. Rose Ann Maguire (~1881 Leitrim, Ireland — 2 Feb 1957 Salem, Essex, Mass.) on 26 Nov 1902 in Peabody, Essex, Mass. and had 5 children: Irene Sophia (30 Aug 1903 Salem, Essex, Mass. — 16 Oct 1995 Peabody, Essex, Mass.), Francis M. (18 Jun 1905 Salem, Essex, Mass. — ?), Mary (~ 1906, Peabody, Essex, Mass. — ?), Hugh Joseph, MD (24 Jan 1910 Salem, Essex, Mass. — 20 Jul 1997 Peabody, Essex, Mass.) and James Xavier (7 Nov 1911 Salem, Essex, Mass. — 5 Jun 1970 Salem, Essex, Mass.)
f- James I O’Rourke (12 Jan 1871 —12 Jan 1951 Peabody, Mass. ) emigrated before 1940.
g- Mary Catherine O’Rourke (10 Apr 1879 S. Séverin — 1944 Salem, Essex, Mass.) m. David Lynch (31 Jan 1879 S. Sylvestre, Lotbinière — Feb 1963 Salem, Essex, Mass.) on 27 Sep 1904 in S. Séverin and had one child: Lilian Rose (4 Feb 1909 S. Sylvestre — 14 Feb 1924 idem). Mary Catherine and David emigrated to Salem, Mass. in 1924
- Michael Boyce(14 Nov 1835 S. Marie, Beauce – 8 Apr 1907 Sillery (S. Patrick), Québec City) m. Catherine Thomas on 25 Nov 1856 in Sillery. They started living in Québec City no later than 1881. They had nine children, seven of whom died before the age of 13 months, and one whose age at death is unknown! The one whose age at death is known is John James Boyce (5 Jan 1859 Québec City — 22 Aug 1942 Sillery, Québec City). He had five children who lived longer than three years:
- George Joseph Boyce (24 Aug 1886 Québec City — ~1953) m. Eileen Farrell O’Reilly.
- Cathleen Lily (12 Jul 1890 Québec City — ~1958 Ste Foy, Québec City)
- Gerard Vincent (22 Jan 1896 Québec City — 1 Mar 1960 Montreal QC) m. Mildred Grace (14 Jul 1897 Montreal — 1980 Montreal).
- Mary Eileeen (22 Jan 1899 Sillery, Québec City — 8 Mar 1986 Montreal) m. James Austin Dolan (~1898 — ).
- Maureen Bernadine (20 May 1904 Limoilou, Québec City — 15 May 1997 Limoilou, Québec City)
- Catherine Boyce(20 May 1839 – 12 Dec 1907 Sillery, Québec City) started living in Québec City no later than 1901.
- Bridget Boyce(20 Jun 1840 S. Sylvestre – 14 Feb 1933 S. Edouard, Frampton) m. John Byrns on 30 Jul 1867 in S. Elzéar and had six children who lived more than 9 years.
a- John Edward Byrns (9 Jan 1870 Frampton, Dorchester, QC — 21 Jan 1916 Websterville, Washington, VT) m. Catherine Hogan (9 Sept 1874 S. Sylvestre — ~1954 Websterville) and had three children: Joseph John (4 Sep 1904 Websterville — 5 Aug 1953 idem); Edward Albert (20 Jul 1906 Websteville — 1942 idem); Gladys Mary (6 Aug 1909 Websterville — 27 Jun 2000 Berlin, Washington, VT).
b- Daniel J. Byrns (14 Feb 1875 Frampton — 1954 Websterville, VT) m. Alice E. Bullock (1876 QC — 1957 Barre VT) in 1897 and had one child: Howard D. (23 Jan 1909 Barre VT — 5 Jul 1975 Barre).
c- Michael Thomas (28 Feb 1877 Frampton — 3 Jun 1929 Niagara Falls, Ont.).
d- Edward (20 May 1876 Frampton —1929).
e- Patrick J. (30 Jul 1880 Frampton — 24 Nov 1933 Websterville VT).
f- Thomas (8 Sep 1882 Frampton — 1965 S. Edouard, Frampton) m. Mary Rose Falls (29 May 1882 S. Edouard de Frampton — 30 Apr 1946 idem) and had one child: John (1913 Frampton — 1976 S. Edouard de Frampton).
- Edward Boyce(27 Jul 1842 S. Sylvestre – 21 Nov 1878 Sillery, Québec City) m. Mary Ann Kelly on 15 Nov 1869 in Quebec City. They started living in Québec City no later than 1871. They had seven children, five of whom died before the aged of five years and one of whom died a bachelor at 24 years of age. The one child living longer than 24 years was: Susan Ann Boyce (12 Oct 1870 Québec City — 8 Nov 1954 Montreal) m. James Alosius Sage (23 Feb 1870 Ireland — 12 Nov 1950 Montreal) on 14 Aug 1894 in Québec City and had ten children all born in parish S. Louis de Maisonneuve in Montreal betwen 1895 and 1915: Mary Teresa (14 Dec 1895 — ?), Muriel (28 Nov 1896 — ~1994 S. Louis de Maisonneuve, Montreal), Gerald Francis (18 Oct 1898 — after 1923), Margaret (6 Nov 1899 — ?), James (Jan 1901 — ?), John Anthony (20 Apr 1903 — 1993 Montreal), Frederic Joseph (27 Feb 1905 —13 Nov 2001 S. Louis de Maisonneuve, Montreal), Charles Aloysius (26 Jan 1907 — ~1985), Annabelle Susan (21 Jul 1911 — 3 May 2003) and Henry Michael (7 Aug 1915 — after 2000)
- John Boyce (15 Aug 1844 S. Sylvestre – 31 Oct 1916 Charlesbourg, Quebec City) m. Catherine Hennessey on 6 Apr 1875 in Frampton and had nine children between 1876 and 1891 in S. Elzéar and Charlesbourg. The family moved to Charlesbourg sometime between March 1885 and March 1887. The nine children are:
a- Susan (28 Feb 1876 S. Elzéar — 8 Jun 1897 Quebec City);
b- Mary Catherine (13 Dec 1877 S. Elzéar — ?);
c- Mary Ann (23 Feb 1879 S. Elzéar — after 1920) m. Charles Edward Rodrigue Fortier (~1875 Charlesbourg, Québec City — ) and had 7 children between 1907 and 1920 in Charlesbourg: Yvette (~1908- ); Mary Agnès (~1909- ) m. Evariste Bolduc on 12 Sep 1936 in Charlesbourg; Paul (~1910- ); Sarto (~1910- ); Donat (~1911- ), Léopold (~1912- ) and Roland (~1920- );
d- Helen Nellie Bridget (26 Feb 1881 S. Elzéar — ?) m. Patrick McGrath (~1880- ) on 28 May 1923 in Charlesbourg, Québec City];
e- Mary Margaret (18 Mar 1883 S. Elzéar — ) m. John Adélard Dorion (13 Oct 1882 Charlesbourg — ) and had 12 children born in Charlesbourg and who lived more than 6 months:
- Marie Emma Stella (9 Nov 1910 Charlesbourg — ) m. George Rainville (~1910 Charlesbourg — ) on 27 Oct 1928 in Charlesbourg and had two children;
- Marguerite Marie (7 Mar 1912 — ) m. Etienne Paradis on 8 Sep 1951 in Charlesbourg;
- Suzanne (~1913- );
- Joseph Charles Benoit (17 Sep 1914 — ~1987 Charlesbourg) m. Marie Cedulia Simone Rainville (24 Aug 1920 Charlesbourg — 5 Aug 2010 idem) on 30 Aug 1943 in Charlesbourg and had André Dorion (1945- );
- Joseph Paul Eugène (22 Jan 1916 — 17 Jul 2002);
- Marie Gertrude (28 Mar 1917 — ) m. Claude Vallières (~1913 Charlesbourg — ) and had Jean Vallière (1945- );
- Marie Rose Marguerite (17 Jun 1918 — );
- Marie Anna Rita (22 Jul 1919 — );
- Marie Emma (12 Sep 1921 — );
- Thérèse (~1923 — );
- Joseph Patrick Adrien (15 Jul 1924 — );
- Jean-Louis (~1925 — );
e- Mary Agnes (24 Feb 1885 S. Elzéar — ~1964);
f- Rosanne (10 Apr 1887 Charlesbourg, Québec City — 25 Dec 1974 Sillery, Québec City);
g- Maria (10 Nov 1890 Charlesbourg — ?)
h- John Joseph (4 Jun 1891 Charlesbourg — ?).
d) The 7 children ofWilliam Boyce (~1805 Kilteevogue, Stranorlar, Donegal – 7 Dec 1879 S. Elzéar) and Mary Anna (Annie) McMonagle (~1812 Ireland – 30 Mar 1890 Frampton, Dorchester) who lived more than 37 years. Only Susan (1852) emigrated: she moved to Vermont around 1892 at the age of 40. The six other children (86%) stayed within 25 km of S. Elzéar: four lived in S. Séverin or S. Sylvestre, one moved to Frampton and one to S. Pierre de Broughton. They had twelve children of known lifespan and location at death. Four of these (33%) moved to the USA in 1903 (average) at the average age of 23: two moved to New Hampshire and two to Vermont. Of the other eight, seven lived in the S. Pierre de Broughton area and one moved to Ont. The 9 children of William and Annie are:
- Mary Catherine Boyce(9 Jun 1836 S. Marie, Beauce – 4 Oct 1883 S. Sylvestre) m. James O’Donnell (~1830 Ireland – 17 Apr 1875 S. Sylvestre) and had six children who died beyond 37 years of age:
a- Margaret Ann (22 Jan 1859 S. Sylvestre — 18 Aug 1938 Carroll, Coos, NH) m. Francis Simard (Frank Seymour in NH) (24 May 1852 S. Sylvestre — 4 May 1891 Carroll, Coos, NH) on 15 Feb 1876 in S. Sylvestre and had four children who lived longer than 26 years: Mary Anne (29 Jul 1877 S. Patrice — ); Joseph Alfred (2 Mar 1881 Twin Mountains, Coos, NH — 28 Aug 1967 Whitefield, Coos, NH); John Francis (~1882 S. Sylvestre — 10 Jan 1908 Boston, Mass.); Stella A. (9 Oct 1884 Carroll, Coos, NH — ~1955 Carroll);
b- Martin J. (9 Dec 1864 S. Sylvestre — ~1935 Carroll, Coos, NH) m. Abbie Curran (May 1861 Ireland — before 1930 Carroll) on 12 Nov 1890 in Lancaster, Coos, NH and had four children: Marie Anna (Nov 1893 Carroll — 4 Apr 1935 Dover, Strafford, NH); Margueriet (May 1897 Carroll — ~1973 Whitefield, Coos, NH); Joseph P. (6 Jan 1890 Carroll, Coos, NH — 30 Oct 1980 Braintree, Norfolk, Mass.); Katherine P. (~1904 Carroll — );
c- Mary Bridget (22 Apr 1866 S. Sylvestre — NH)
d- William (28 Jan 1871 S. Sylvestre — )
e- John (2 Sept 1873 S. Sylvestre — )
f- James (16 Oct 1875 S. Sylvestre — ).
- Bridget Boyce(25 Apr 1838 Ste Marie – 30 Jun 1906 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Jacques Custeau (16 Apr 1833 Ste Marie – 1 Jan 1922 S. Pierre de Broughton) on 22 Oct 1860 in S. Elzéar and had eight children who lived beyond three years of age, among whom James, husband of Cecilia Laughrea:
a- Michel (Michael, Mike) (1 Jan 1866 S. Sylvestre – 7 Dec 1941 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Mary Ann Monahan (3 Oct 1872 S. Pierre de Broughton – 17 Feb 1953 QC) on 8 Oct 1894 in S. Pierre de Broughton. His farm is described in section g of Chapter Eight. Mary Ann Monahan is probably the daughter of Thomas Monahan (1831 — 13 Aug 1917) and Ann McTeague (1834 —16 Jun 1924), who had a lot on the 15th range of Leeds East. Mike and Mary Ann had eight children between 1896 and 1911:
- Joseph Custeau (6 Dec 1896 Leeds East — 24 May 1980 Thetford Mines) m. Mary Ann Tuite (25 Jun 1903 S. Pierre de Broughton — ) on 1 Jul 1930 in S. Pierre de Broughton;
- Emma Ina Custeau (19 Sep 1898 Leeds East — 2000 Wainwright, Alberta) m. Thomas Gormley (10 Jun 1(92 S. Pierre-de-Broughton — 3 Oct 1952 Hôpital Laval, Quebec City but buried in S. Pierre de Broughton) and had 4 children:
- 1) Michael John (28 Mar 1925 Robertsonville, QC — );
- 2) Theresa (8 Jun 1929 S. Alphonse, Thetford Mines — ) m. Adonia Perreault (-1980) on 25 Aug 1956 in Lennoxville, QC and;
- 3) Joseph Thomas Leonard (8 Mar 1931 S. Pierre de Broughton — ) m. Thérèse Ménard on10 Jul 1956 in Lennoxville, QC;
- 4) Joseph Clifford (11 Jul 1936 S. Patrice de Beaurivage — );
- James Matthew (20 Nov 1899 Leeds East — );
- Margaret “Maggie” (10 Jul 1902 S. Pierre de Broughton — ) m. Gerald Tuite (~1897 Leeds East — );
- Mary S. (13 Oct 1906 Leeds East — 27 Feb 1998 Berlin, Washington, VT );
- Thomas Burt ( Apr 1908 Leeds East — );
- Annie Mabel (Oct 1909 Leeds East — 2 Aug 1983 Thetford Mines);
- Michael “Mike” (~1911 Leeds East — ).
b- Joseph (4 Dec 1867 S. Pierre de Broughton – 3 May 1941 S. Pierre de Broughton) had a farm on the 14th range of Leeds East, presumably very close to that of James Custeau. Joseph was a bachelor who loved hunting, fishing, reading, cooking and talking.
c- James m. Cecilia Laughrea. See section g of Chapter Eight for details.
d- Henry (22 Mar 1875 S. Elzéar – 16 Feb 1953) was bachelor.
e- Mary Ann (17 May 1877 S. Pierre de Broughton – 10 Apr 1960 Thetford Mines) m. John Coarr (8 Apr 1880 S. Pierre de Broughton – 23 Apr 1942 Leeds East section of S. Pierre) on 6 Jul 1909 in S. Pierre de Broughton. See section g of Chapter Eight for information on her farm, her child and her 5 grandchildren.
f- Margaret (27 Mar 1878 S. Sylvestre — 1973 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. James Connolly (~1884 S. Pierre de Broughton —~1951 idem) on 18 Jun 1918 in idem and had two children: Almen and Archie. See section g of Chapter Eight for information on her two children and on the ancestors of James Connolly.
g- Honoré (Mar 1881 S. Sylvestre — );
h- John (22 Jan 1883 S. Sylvestre — 12 Oct 1916 accidentally);
- Catherine Boyce(29 Jan 1842 S. Elzéar — 27 Jan 1914 S. Séverin) m. Thomas Couture (10 Aug 1830 probably S. Elzéar part of future S. Séverin — 14 Feb 1911 S. Séverin) on 17 Jul 1871 in S. Elzéar) and had five childrenwho may have lived longer than 34 years:
a- Marie-Anne (2 Jun 1872 S. Séverin — ) m. Michael McGee (~1867- ), the son of Catherine Laughry. More details under Catherine Laughry.
b- Joseph Thomas Guillaume (24 Aug 1873 S. Séverin — ~1911 Barre, Washington, VT)
c- Marie Rose Joséphine (24 Sep 1876 S. Séverin — )
d- Jean (22 Aug 1881 S. Patrice — 1 Aug 1919 S. Séverin) m. Rose-Anne Sylvain on 26 Jun 1906 in S. Séverin. Michael McGee was a witness.
e- Joseph Michel Patrice (17 Mar 1884 S. Séverin — after 1918).
- Rosa Boyce (25 Nov 1843 S. Marie — 19 Jan 1914 S. Séverin). Suzanne Patton was her godmother. Rosa m. John Judge (9 Feb 1825 Ireland — 7 Oct 1912 S. Jacques, Leeds) on 20 Oct 1890 in S. Elzéar.
- Margaret Boyce (4 Feb 1847 S. Elzéar — 27 Apr 1914 S. Séverin).
- Ann Boyce(2 Dec 1849 S. Elzéar — 23 Mar 1932 Frampton) m. Denis Hennessey (9 Jun 1848 S. Edouard, Frampton — 1 Mar 1927 idem) on 13 Jul 1886 in S. Elzéar and had 3 childrenliving longer than 28 years:
a- Katherine Hennessey (15 May 1887 S. Elzéar — 12 Jul 1980 Toronto Ont.) m. James William Ogle (30 Dec 1884 S. Elzéar — 22 Jan 1964 Toronto Ont.) on 19 Feb 1917 in S. Edouard, Frampton and had six children all born in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan between 1918 and 1928: Francis William (2 Jan 1918— ); Marie (10 Oct 1919 — 4 Mar 1986); Rosie ( 16 Dec 1920 — ); Dennis (21 Jun 1922 — 17 Sep 1983); Stella (2 Mar 1924 — 27 Mar 1998); George (1928- ). James William is the grandson of George Ogle (~1819-1867) and Catherine Boyce (1818-1881).
b- William Hennessey (Nov 1889 S. Edouard, Frampton — 28 Oct 1994 idem) m. Lucille Brady (~1890 S. Edouard, Frampton — ).
c- Annie Hennessey (27 May 1892 S. Edouard, Frampton — 18 Mar 1924 Graniteville, Washington, VT) m. Thomas James Bagley (8 Jan 1884 S. Sylvestre — 3 Aug 1935 Pembroke, Merrimack, NH) on 27 Nov 1917 in Barre, Washington, VT and had one child who lived longer than two years: Rita Bagley (23 Mar 1922 Barre VT — 1 Aug 1963 Whitefield, Coos, NH) .
- Susan (Little Susan)(15 Dec 1852 S. Elzéar — 9 Nov 1924 Carroll, Coos, NH) m. Patrick O’Connor (Connors) (11 Oct 1856 S. Sylvestre — 19 May 1917 Websterville, Washington, VT) on 25 Dec 1893 in Holyoke, Hampden, Mass..
e) The 5 children of Henry Joseph Boyce (1809 Kilteevogue, Stranorlar, Donegal – 26 Oct 1859 S. Elzéar) and Mary (Anna) McMonigle (~1809 Ireland – 12 Aug 1891 S. Sylvestre, Lotbinière). Among their four children of known lifespan, only Nancy Anastasia emigrated: she moved to Vermont in 1884 at the age of 51. The three other children stayed in Québec. They all lived in S. Sylvestre. They had thirteen children of known lifespan and location at death. Twelve (92%) emigrated in 1908 (average) at the average age of 38: nine moved to New Hampshire and three to Maine. The thirteenth child stayed in S. Sylvestre. The 5 children of Henry Joseph and Anna are:
- Nancy Anastasia (Anna) Boyce(21 Jul 1833 S. Marie, Beauce – 1 Feb 1912 Island Pond, Essex, VT) m. John Osborne (25 Aug 1837 S. Sylvestre — 9 Mar 1883 S. Pierre de Broughton) on 13 May 1856 in S. Elzéar and had eight children living longer than 15 years:
a- Annie Mary (14 Feb 1857 S. Elzéar — 16 Apr 1929 Brighton, Essex, VT) m. Walter Gabriel Vallée (1858 S. Elzéar — 1898 Brighton, Essex, VT). Next, she m. Dr Antonio F. Elie (29 May 1859 Baie du Febvre, QC — 24 Mar 1928 Sherbrooke, QC) on 18 Oct 1911 in Brighton, Essex, VT.
b- Joseph G. (9 Feb 1863 S. Sylvestre — ~1942 Bloomfield, Hartford, CT) m. Mary V. O’Connor (~1865 Nova Scotia — ~1919 Bloomfield, Hartford, CT) on 29 Jul 1890 in Springfield, Hampden, Mass. and had three children: Mildred L. (Jul 1892 Springfield — ), Ruth F. (26 Aug 1895 Springfield — 8 Mar 1981 Hartford CT) and May Rhea (26 May 1897 Springfield — 5 May 1979 East Hartford, Hartford, CT).
c- Henry J. (26 Jan 1865 S. Sylvestre — 4 Jan 1934 Hartford, CT) m. Mary Mahoney (~1867 England — Holyoke, Hampden, Mass.).
d- Anne Jane (1 Sep 1866 S. Sylvestre — 9 Sep 1941 S. Johnsbury, Caledonia, VT) m. John S. Emery (1861 NH — 1930 S.Johnsbury) in 1896 in S. Johnsbury and had two children: Warren John (14 May 1897 S. Johnsbury — 10 Dec 1980 Barbeton, Summit, Ohio) m. Priscilla Crockett (30 Dec 1897 Medford, Middlesex, Mass. — 5 Dec 1989 Barbeton, Ohio); Evelyn (27 Oct 1902 S. Johnsbury — 15 Jul 1988 Concord, Middlesex, Mass.) m. Fred Whelan (1900 S. Johnsbury — 1975 Concord, Middlesex, Mass.).
e- Michael James (6 Oct 1868 S. Sylvestre — ) m. Ellen (Agnes) Donnolly (20 Apr 1873 S. Sylvestre — ) on 11 Aug 1888 in Stratford, Coos, NH.
f- John Patrick (9 Jun 1871 S. Sylvestre — 3 Apr 1934 Island Pond, Essex, VT).
g- William Edwin (29 Jul 1873 S. Sylvestre — Churchill, Manitoba).
h- Edward Francis (31 Jan 1879 S. Sylvestre — 16 Jun 1938 Island Pond, Essex, VT) m. Ada G. Rexford (17 Sep 1893 Island Pond, VT — 11 Nov 1992 Berlin, Coos, NH).
- Michael Boyce(2 Nov 1835 S. Marie, Beauce – 30 May 1918 S. Sylvestre) m. Mary Sullivan (28 Dec 1839 S. Sylvestre – 20 Dec 1925 idem) on 8 Jan 1861 in S. Sylvestre and had nine children who lived beyond the age of seven, all boys. These cousins of my grandfather John Laughrea (1860-1946), as well as their descendants, are described in section f of Chapter Five. They all moved to the USA, usually New Hampshire, before 1909 on average and at the average age of less than 40.
- Mary Ann Boyce(26 Jan 1839 S. Marie, Beauce – 22 Apr 1926 S. Sylvestre) m. Hugh Hopkins (1831 — 1904) on 25 Nov 1873 in S. Elzéar and had four children living longer than 27 years:
a- Sophia Anne (5 Sep 1874 S. Sylvestre — 19 Sep 1952 Auburn, Androscoggin, Maine) m. Harold Mansford (3 Mar 1882 Canterbury, York, New Brunswick — Auburn, Maine) on 6 Aug 1908 in Lewiston, Androscoggin, Maine.
b- Patrick (14 Mar 1876 S. Sylvestre — 22 Nov 1963 Carroll, Coos, NH) started living in Carroll in 1900.
c- John Thomas (25 Oct 1877 S. Sylvestre — ~1949 Maine).
d- Mary Ann Elizabeth (18 Feb 1881 S. Sylvestre — 12 Sep 1944 idem).
- Patrick Henry Boyce(14 Mar 1842 S. Marie, Beauce – 15 Jun 1926 S. Sylvestre de Lotbinière).
- Henry Boyce (~1849 S. Elzéar, Beauce – ?).
f) The 3 childrenofMichael Boyce (8 Jan 1813 Kilteevogue, Stranorlar, Donegal – 12 Aug 1898 Bangor, Penobscot, Maine) and Ruth Hodgdon Dyer (12 Dec 1814 Bangor, Penobscot, Maine – 12 May 1906 idem) are:
- James C. Boyce(4 Oct 1839 Old Town, Penobscot, Maine – 31 Jan 1907 Pittsburgh, Penn.) m. Rebecca Murray (Apr 1845 Oil City, Venango, Penn. — 9 Apr 1933 Pittsburgh, Allegheny, Penn.) around 1870 in Oil City. James C. was a lawyer who became accepted at the NY bar in 1860 and at the Pennsylvania bar in 1872. They had two children:
a- John Welch (13 Jun 1871 Sligo, Clarion, Penn. — 23 Nov 1930 Pittsburgh, Penn.) m. Tacy (Lucy Alice) Carter (8 May 1881 Short Creek (Georgetown), Harrison, Ohio — 22 Aug 1963 Pittsburgh, Penn.) around 1912. He was a physician. They took a 2 week cruise departing from London on 14 Sep 1912 and arriving in Québec City on 28 Sep 1912. This was probably part of their honeymoon. In 1928 they took a 10-day cruise from Cherbourg, France, to New York City.
b- Ella Ruth (14 Jun 1874 Oil City, Venango, Penn. — 16 Jul 1943 Los Angeles, Cali.). She took several cruises: in 1912, from Bremen, Germany to Baltimore, Maryland; in 1920, from Hamilton, Bermuda to New York City; in 1922 and in 1923, from Cherbourg, France to New York City; in 1927 from Southampton, England to New York City; in 1936, from Le Havre, France to New York City
- William Henry Boyce(7 Oct 1842 Bangor, Penobscot, Maine – 10 Apr 1926 Bronx, New York, NY) m. Emma Victoria Wade (14 Jan 1861 Urbana, Champaing, Ohio — 1 Jan 1929 Pittsburgh, Allegheny, Penn.) on 29 Aug 1879 in Manhattan, New York City and had three children:
a- William Henry II (27 Jul 1883 Pittsburgh, Penn. — 17 Oct 1934 idem) m. Pearl Brown Jones (14 May 1878 Braddock, Allegheny, Penn. — 22 Sep 1936 Pittsburgh, Penn.). He was a superintendant at a tractor copany. They had two children: 1) William Hamilton (27 Feb 1911 New Brighton, Beaver, Penn. — 2 Oct 1975 Linden, Warren, Virginia) served as officer in the US Army during World War II; 2) Virginia Ann (24 Nov 1914 — Aug 1987 Olathe, Johnson, Kansas);
b- James Clay (3 Feb 1885 Pittsburgh — 10 May 1960 Orlando, FL) m. Louelle Pleasants (18 Dec 1884 Dallas, Texas — 11 Jan 1975 idem) in ~1914 in Indianapolis, Indiana;
c- McKeen, surgeon-veterinary (21 Jan 1889 Lexington, Fayette, Kentucky — 14 Oct 1950 Ocean Side, San Diego, Cali.) m. Sulan Elmore (21 Aug 1882 Indian City, Payne, Oklahoma — 14 Jan 1960 San Diego, San Diego, Cali.) on 31 Mar 1915 in Walla Walla, Wash., and had one son: James McKeen (1916-2011)
- Mary Ella Boyce(6 Jun 1852 Bangor, Penobscot, Maine – 19 Dec 1930 Pittsburgh, Penn.) m. David Kirk (18 Feb 1831 Lesmohagow, Lanarkshire, Scotland — 22 Dec 1906 Pittsburgh, Penn.) on 26 Jun 1890 in Manhattan, New York City
g) The 8 children of Catherine Boyce (1818 Kilteevogue, Stranorlar, Donegal – 3 Feb 1881 West Broughton, now S. Pierre de Broughton) and George Ogle (~1819 Ireland – 18 Jun 1867 S. Pierre de Broughton) who lived longer than three years. Three children (38%) emigrated to New Hampshire in 1905 (average) at the average age of 51. The five others stayed in Megantic county: three in S. Pierre de Broughton and two in S. Antoine de Pontbriand. It is likely that the two of S. Antoine de Pontbriand lived very close to the border of S. Pierre de Broughton. The five children who stayed in Megantic county had seventeen children of known lifespan and location at death. Of these seventeen Quebec grandchildren of Catherine and George, three stayed in Megantic county, one moved to Ont., eleven (65%) moved to Saskatchewan and two (12%) moved to Maine and Minnesota in 1919 (average) at the average age of less than 33 The 8 children of Catherine and George are:
- Henry Ogle(5 Feb 1843 S. Elzéar – 1 Apr 1922 S. Antoine de Pontbriand) resided in Thetford Mines for at least 25 years and was buried in S. Pierre de Broughton. S. Antoine de Pontbriand has become integrated into Thetford Mines in 2001. Henry m. Ann Mullavey (13 Sep 1847 S. Patrice — 6 Jun 1919 S. Antoine de Pontbriand) on 19 Feb 1878 in S. Patrice de Beaurivage and had two children living more than 13 years:
a- Georges Joseph (11 Aug 1879 S. Pierre de Broughton — 24 Oct 1958 Thetford Mines).
b- Mary Catharine (16 May 1881 West Broughton — 16 Feb 1913 S. Antoine de Pontbriand).
- William Ogle(22 May 1844 S. Elzéar – 1 Dec 1905 S. Antoine de Pontbriand) m. Mary Campbell (18 Dec 1860 S. Agathe, Lotbinière — 26 Aug 1932 Rosetown, Saskatchewan) on 27 Jun 1881 in S. Agathe, Lotbinière and had ten children. Their five children John Daniel, Francis Joseph, Lewis M., Henri Bernard and Catherine were probably born in a section of S. Pierre de Broughton which became part of S. Antoine de Pontbriand in 1896. S. Antoine de Pontbriand was created in 1896 and canonically erected in 1908. Mary Campbell most probably moved to Saskatchewan between 1906 and 1915, i.e. after the death of her husband and before her sons James and John moved to Saskatchewan. The 10 children of William Ogle and Mary Campbell are:
a- George Francis (5 Aug 1882 S. Elzéar, Beauce — 24 Nov 1925 Truckee, Nevada, Cali. but buried in Saskatchewan);
b- James William (30 Dec 1884 S. Elzéar — 22 Jan 1964 Toronto, Ontario) m. Katherine Hennessey (15 May 1887 S. Elzéar — 12 Jul 1980 Toronto) on 19 Feb 1917 and had six already described children because Katherine Hennessey is the daughter of Ann Boyce (1849-1932). The six children were all born in Saskatchewan between 1918 and 1928.
c- John Daniel (23 Apr 1887 future S. Antoine de Pontbriand — 21 Aug 1970 Litchfield, Meeker, MN) m. Margaret McKernan (~1890 — 1990 Litchfield, Meeker, MN) on 2 Aug 1916 in Delisle, Saskatchewan; in 1930 they lived in Litchfield
d- Francis Joseph (29 May 1889 future S. Antoine de Pontbriand — 5 Feb 1935 Regina, Saskatchewan);
e- Lewis M. (16 May 1891 future S. Antoine de Pontbriand — 7 Oct 1986 Rosetown, Saskatchewan;
f- Henry Bernard (29 Mar 1893 future S. Antoine de Pontbriand — Jul 1976 Rosetown, Saskatchewan);
g- Catherine (20 Apr 1895 future S. Antoine de Pontbriand — 4 Jan 1983 Rosetown, Saskatchewan);
h- Joseph Anthony Stanislas (31 May 1897 S. Antoine de Pontbriand — 8 Dec 1963 – Saskatoon, Saskatchewan);
i- Vincent Albert (26 Jan 1900 S. Antoine de Pontbriand —14 Sep 1985 – Lloydminster, Saskatchewan);
j- Michael Edward (23 Aug 1901 S. Antoine de Pontbriand —30 Nov 1986 Rosetown, Saskatchewan).
- John Baptist Ogle(14 Aug 1845 S. Elzéar – 18 Oct 1935 Lancaster, Coos, NH) m. Ellen Campbell on 25 Oct 1881 in S. Agathe, Lotbinière and had two children: John (Aug 1885 future S. Antoine de Pontbriand, Megantic, QC —?) and Ellen (Mar 1904 S. Antoine de Pontbriand — ?). The family resided in S. Antoine de Pontbriand in 1911.
- Annie Ogle (28 Jan 1847 S. Elzéar – 25 Feb 1939 Leeds East part of S. Pierre de Broughton [28 Jul 1933 according to Jos-Alfred Lapointe]) m. Thomas Coarr (Aug 1838 S. Sylvestre — 28 Sep 1905 S. Pierre de Broughton) on 24 Feb 1879 in S. Pierre de Broughton. They lived on one half of lot 23 of the 15th range of Leeds East. Among the 15th range residents, they were the fartherst from the S. Pierre church. Thomas’ brother Christopher became owner of the whole lot 23 when Annie and Thomas moved. Annie and Thomas had three children:
a- John (8 Apr 1880 S. Pierre de Broughton — 23 Apr 1942 Leeds—probably Leeds East section of S. Pierre) m. Mary Ann Custeau (17 May 1877 S. Pierre de Broughton — 10 Apr 1960 Thetford Mines) on 6 Jul 1909 in S. Pierre de Broughton and had one child already described because Mary Ann is the daughter of Bridget Boyce (1838-1906). Annie is also the granddaughter of William Boyce (~1805-1879) and the sister in law of Cecilia Laughrea.
b- Francis Coarr (10 Oct 1881 S. Pierre de Broughton — ) established himself in the Canadian West.
c- Henry Coarr (7 Mar 1884 S. Pierre de Broughton — ~1959 Rosetown, Saskatchewan).
- Katherine Ogle(9 Feb 1850 S. Elzéar – 25 Jan 1892 S. Pierre de Broughton). Her godparents were John Owen Boyce and Bridget Loughrey. She m. Thomas Forrestall on 11 Jan 1880 in Lancaster and had seven children:
a- Katherine (4 Jan 1881 Lancaster, Coos, NH — ~ 1950 Saskatoon, Saskatchewan);
b- Mary Ann (6 Jun 1882 Lancaster, Coos — );
c- Thomas (6 Jun 1884 Thetford Mines — 1948 Portland, Cumberland, Maine) resided in Portland before 1909;
d- Michael (14 Jun 1886 S. Pierre de Broughton;
e- James (~1888 S. Pierre de Broughton;
f- George (4 Apr 1889 Thetford, Mégantic — );
g- Clément (~1889 S. Pierre de Broughton — )
- Mary Ogle(25 Jul 1852 S. Elzéar – 17 May 1922 S. Pierre de Broughton) m. Christopher Coarr (10 Jun 1842 S. Sylvestre — 7 Apr 1917 S. Sylvestre) on 12 Feb 1877 in S. Pierre de Broughton. Christopher is the brother of Thomas. Mary and Christopher lived on the other half of lot 23 of the 15th range of Leeds East, but they had no children. Mary finished her life in the village of S. Pierre de Broughton
- James Ogle(25 Dec 1855 S. Elzéar – 20 Oct 1920 Lancaster, Coos, NH) m. Mary Ann McCartney (29 Jun 1862 Inverness, Mégantic — 1 Apr 1925 Lancaster, Coos, NH) on 3 Feb 1890 in Inverness and had four children. The family resided in Leeds in 1901 and S. Elzéar in 1911.
a- Gertrude (15 Dec 1891 Inverness — Dec 1970 Lancaster, Coos, NH).
b- Joseph William ( 5 Jul 1897 Inverness — 10 Mar 1962 Lancaster, NH) m. Ann Catherine Andrews (21 Mar 1900 Nova Scotia — May 1976 Lancaster, NH) and had one child: Mary Joann (6 Sep 1928 Lancaster — 1 Jan 1980 Berlin, Coos, NH) m. Paul H. Daigle (25 Jun 1928 Lancaster — 14 Jan 2003 White River Junction, Windsor, VT) on 2 Oct 1948 in Lancaster.
c- Alice (28 Jan 1901 Inverness — ).
d- Madeline Teresa Marguerite (23 May 1905 Inverness — 29 Jul 1983 Whitefield, Coos, NH) m. Richard Parker Aldrich (8 Oct 1899 Whitefield — ) on 27 Oct 1934 in Lancaster, NH.
- Michael Francis Ogle(10 Oct 1862 S. Elzéar – 19 Jan 1939 Gorham, Coos, NH) m. Annie Judge (3 Apr 1862 S. Pierre de Broughton — ) on 6 Jul 1891 in Lancaster NH and had four children:
a- Mary Catherine (11 Jun 1892 Lancaster, NH — ~1973 Whitefield, NH) m. Charles Cecil MacDonald (13 Aug 1893 Jefferson, Coos, NH — 26 Sep 1961 Hartford, Windsor, VT) on 8 Jul 1925 in Gorham, Coos, NH.
b- Annie Ellen (3 Aug 1894 Gorham, NH — ~1956 idem).
c- George Michael (25 Jul 1896 Gorham — ~1957 idem).
d- Arthur Judge (5 Jul 1899 Gorham — )
Parish regroupment in 2011. Note that in 2011, the parishes of S. Pierre de Broughton, S. Jacques de Leeds, S. Antoine de Pontrbriand, Très-Saint-Coeur-de-Marie, S. Méthode, S. Clothilde, S. Daniel, Immaculée Conception de Robertsonville and S. Cathreine-de-Labouré of Kinnear’s Mills were suppressed by the religious authorities and consolidated within the parish of Sacré-Coeur-de-Jésus of East-Broughton, which had been founded in 1881 from territories taken to S. Frédéric and S. Pierre de Broughton. The expanded parish of Sacré-Coeur-de-Jésus of East Broughton takes the name of Saint-Esprit des Pentes-Côtes of East-Broughton http://beta.ecdq.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/DÉCRET-Saint-Esprit-des-Pentes-Côtes.pdf